DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Specie I in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (KR 10-2020-0066208 A) (refer to English translated as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Joo discloses a compound represented by chemical formula A-1
, which reads on instant claimed Chemical Formula 1.
Joo discloses compound 31
as a specific compound of chemical formula A-1. Compound 31 corresponds to the compound of instant claims chemical formula 1 wherein X is S; Ar1 and Ar2 are unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl); R1 is hydrogen or unsubstituted C1 or C4 alkyl; n1 is 1 or 5; and R2 is unsubstituted C2 alkyl (ethyl).
Although specific examples do not disclose that at least one R1 is benzofuranyl, dibenzofuranyl, benzothiophenyl or dibenzothiophenyl, Joo in a broader disclosure explicitly discloses R isa substituted C2 -s0 heteroaryl group; and the heteroaryl group includes a benzothiophene group (
) or a benzofuranyl group (
) (see [0045] and [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used benzothiophene group or benzofuranyl group as at least one of the R1 substituents because choosing from finite number of identified results is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2 or 3, Joo discloses Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently phenyl (see compound 31).
Regarding claim 4 or 5, Joo as modified discloses R1 is unsubstituted C1 or C4 alkyl (see compound 31), and at least one R1 is
or
(as modified above).
Regarding claim 6, Joo as modified discloses R1 is unsubstituted C1 alkyl or methyl (see compound 31), and at least one R1 is
or
(as modified above).
Regarding claim 7 or 8, Joo discloses R2 is C2 alkyl or ethyl (see compound 31).
Regarding claim 9 or 10, Joo as modified discloses that the compound represented by formula 1-1 (compound 31 as modified).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Joo discloses an organic light emitting device comprising: a first electrode; a second electrode that is provided opposite to the first electrode ([0008]); and at least one organic material layer or light emitting layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0009-0010]), wherein the at least one organic material layer or the light emitting layer comprises the compound of claim 1 (see [0010]).
Conclusion
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721