DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “0.05 wt.% to 70.0 wt.%” in line 2 and “30.0 wt.% to 99.95 wt.%” in line 3. Claims must be one sentence in length, so the presence of a period calls into question if the claim is one sentence or more. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken to read as “0.05 wt% to 70.0 wt%” in line 2 and “30.0 wt% to 99.95 wt%” in line 3.
Claim 15 recites “0.05 wt.% to 50.0 wt.% or from 0.05 wt.% to 30.0 wt.%” in lines 2-3 and “50.0 wt.% to 99.95 wt.% or from 70.0 wt.% to 99.95 wt.%” in lines 3-4. Claims must be one sentence in length, so the presence of a period calls into question if the claim is one sentence or more. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken to read as “0.05 wt% to 50.0 wt% or from 0.05 wt% to 30.0 wt%” in lines 2-3 and “50.0 wt% to 99.95 wt% or from 70.0 wt% to 99.95 wt%” in lines 3-4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava et al (US 2015/0115500 A1) in view of Scott Bader Co. (GB 2077750 A).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 15: Bhargava teaches a rheology modifier composition containing 50-99wt% of a water-soluble polymer and 1-50wt% of a cationic polymer (para. 0003), wherein the water-soluble polymer is a cellulose ether (para. 0034) and the cationic polymer is an acrylamide copolymer (para. 0015, 0033).
Bhargava does not teach that the acrylamide polymer is in the form of an inverse emulsion.
Scott Bader Co. teaches inverse/water-in-oil emulsions of cationic acrylamide copolymers (p.1, lines 10-19), wherein the water-in-oil emulsions are easy to produce and handle, rapidly soluble, and efficient in thickening applications as compared to other solid or liquid thickeners (p.1, lines 46-48). Bhargava and Scott Bader Co. are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely thickening compositions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cationic acrylamide copolymer of Bhargava with the same copolymer in an inverse emulsion system for ease of production, handleability, and efficiency as thickeners.
Regarding Claims 4-5: Because the anionic copolymer is not positively claimed, the limitations of claims 4-5 are taken to be optional.
Regarding Claim 10: Bhargava teaches the cellulose ether is HEC, HPC, EHEC, CMC, CMHEC, HPHEC, MC, MHPC, MHEC, CMMC, HMCMC, HMHEC, HMHPC, HMEHEC, HMHPHEC, HMMC, HMMHPC, HMMHEC, HMCMMC, cationic HEC, or cationic HMHEC (para. 0035).
Regarding Claims 11-13: Bhargava teaches that the cellulose ether is preferably hydroxyethyl cellulose/HEC (para. 0035), which is optionally glyoxal-treated (para. 0036-0037).
Regarding Claim 14: Bhargava teaches that the cellulose ether is provided in the form of a powder (para. 0036).
Regarding Claim 18: Bhargava further teaches a dispersant (para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 19: Bhargava teaches that the rheology modifier composition is in the form of a liquid/solution (para. 0053).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava et al (US 2015/0115500 A1) in view of Scott Bader Co. (GB 2077750 A) and Pabalan et al (US 2015/0183979 A1).
Bhargava and Scott Bader Co. teach all of the limitations of Claim 1, as set forth above. However, Bhargava and Scott Bader Co. are silent to the molecular weight of the acrylamide polymer.
Pabalan teaches a rheology modifier/composition for enhancing viscosity of a fluid (para. 0024) comprising a cationic acrylamide copolymer having a weight average molecular weight of 35,000-10,000,000 Daltons (para. 0118). This overlaps the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the molecular weight of the cationic acrylamide copolymer of Bhargava to an overlapping range and would have been motivated to do so since Pabalan teaches that a rheology modifier having a polymer of said molecular weight retains the viscosity when subjected to shear, heat, or high electrolyte concentration when employed in applications requiring viscous liquids (para. 0013, 0024, 0030-31).
Pabalan and Bhargava are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely rheology modifier compositions.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava et al (US 2015/0115500 A1) in view of Scott Bader Co. (GB 2077750 A), Fuhr (Rheology of waterborne paints, 1 Dec 2017, UL Prospector), and Sau (US 5574127 A).
Bhargava and Scott Bader Co. teach all of the limitations of Claim 1, as set forth above. However, Bhargava and Scott Bader Co. are silent to the inclusion of an associative polymer.
Fuhr teaches that a combination of non-associative thickeners, such as cellulose ethers, and associative thickeners tailor the needs of a rheological profile for the best performance (p.3, Associative and non-associative thickeners). Fuhr and Bhargava are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely rheology modifiers in aqueous systems.
Sau teaches that associative polymer thickeners provide water-based systems with good film build, flow and leveling, and gloss (col. 2, lines 1-20). Sau further teaches that hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymers (col. 3, lines 50-55) in particular provide an improved combination of paint properties, such as stability, flow and leveling, film build, spatter resistance, and sag resistance (col. 4, lines 5-37). Sau and Bhargava are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely thickener compositions for aqueous systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an associative polymer to the non-associative thickening composition of Bhargava to tailor the rheological profile of the system, as taught by Fuhr, and they would have further found it obvious to add the hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymer taught by Sau as said associative polymer to improve the stability, flow and leveling, film build, spatter resistance, and sag resistance of the composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 8-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/278470 in view of Scott Bader Co. (GB 2077750 A).
Reference claim 1 teaches a rheology modifier composition containing 0.05-70wt% of an acrylamide polymer having a weight-average molecular weight of greater than 6 million Daltons, and 30-99.5wt% of a cellulose ether. Although reference claim 1 does not teach that the acrylamide polymer is in the form of an inverse emulsion, Scott Bader Co. teaches inverse/water-in-oil emulsions of cationic acrylamide copolymers (p.1, lines 10-19), wherein the water-in-oil emulsions are easy to produce and handle, rapidly soluble, and efficient in thickening applications as compared to other solid or liquid thickeners (p.1, lines 46-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the acrylamide polymer with the same polymer in an inverse emulsion system for ease of production, handleability, and efficiency as thickeners. This reads on instant claims 1, 6, and 8-9.
Reference claims 2-15 further limit reference claim 1 in such a manner that they read on instant claims 2-6 and 8-18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/278593 in view of Scott Bader Co. (GB 2077750 A).
Reference claim 1 teaches a fluidized polymer suspension-based rheology modifier composition comprising 0.05-70wt% of an acrylamide polymer and 30-99.95wt% of a cellulose ether. Although reference claim 1 does not teach that the acrylamide polymer is in the form of an inverse emulsion, Scott Bader Co. teaches inverse/water-in-oil emulsions of cationic acrylamide copolymers (p.1, lines 10-19), wherein the water-in-oil emulsions are easy to produce and handle, rapidly soluble, and efficient in thickening applications as compared to other solid or liquid thickeners (p.1, lines 46-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the acrylamide polymer with the same polymer in an inverse emulsion system for ease of production, handleability, and efficiency as thickeners. This reads on instant claim 1.
Reference claims 2-19 further limit reference claim 1 in such a manner that they read on instant claims 2-19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767