DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on June 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “hydrophobic agents including waxes, silicones and hydrocarbons;” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the scope of the claim includes other hydrophobic agents not listed. The examiner suggests either amending to “hydrophobic agents;” or “waxes; silicones; hydrocarbons;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdick et al (WO 99/25313) in view of Hessefort et al (US 2009/0069522).
Regarding claim 1, 11 and 15, Burdick teaches a fluidized polymer suspension (Abstract) which incorporates: 10 to 65 % by weight (page 4, lines 20-25) of a cationic polysaccharide such as a hydroxyethyl cellulose (cellulose ether) (page 3-4). Burdick teaches that the cationic polysaccharide acts as a thickener (page 8, lines 1-2) and therefore, the composition is a rheology modifier.
Burdick teaches that this composition is used for personal care products (page 1).
Burdick teaches that additives can be added to the composition (page 8), however fails to teach the addition of the acrylamide polymer.
Hessefort teaches a personal care product ([0005]) which incorporates 0.01 to 40 % by weight ([0029]) of a polyacrylamide ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the polyacrylamide of Hessefort as an additive of the suspension of Burdick. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having a personal care product with great wetting behavior (Hessefort, Examples).
Regarding claims 2 and 4-5, modified Burdick teaches that the polyacrylamide is an anionic (Hessefort, [0019]) copolymer (Hessefort, [0020]) which incorporates a monomer such as acrylic acid (Hessefort, [0029]).
Regarding claim 6-9, modified Burdick teaches that the weight average molecular weight of the polyacrylamide ranges from 10,000 to 10 million (Hessefort, [0020]).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Burdick teaches that the cellulose ether is cationic hydroxyethyl cellulose (page 3, last line) which is non-glyoxal treated.
Regarding claim 14, Burdick teaches that the cellulose ether is in a fluidized polymer suspension form (page 6, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Burdick teaches that the composition can further comprise surfactants and preservatives (page 8, lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 19, Burdick teaches that the composition is a liquid blend (page 5, lines 10-20).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdick et al (WO 99/25313) in view of Hessefort et al (US 2009/0069522) and Bhargava et al (US 2013/0233205).
The discussion regarding Burdick and Hessefort in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 13, Burdick teaches that the cellulose ester can be a hydroxyethyl cellulose (page 3, last paragraph), however fails to teach that it is glyoxal treated.
Bhargava teaches a glyoxalated cellulose ether ([0026]) which can be a hydroxyethyl cellulose ([0024]). This is for use in personal care formulations ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hydroxyethyl cellulose of Burdick be glyoxalated as taught by Bhargava. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of creating smooth, lump free solutions (Bhargava, [0002]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdick et al (WO 99/25313) in view of Hessefort et al (US 2009/0069522) and Sau (US 2002/0006985).
The discussion regarding Burdick and Hessefort in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claims 16-17, Burdick teaches that various additives can be incorporated into the composition (page 8); however, it fails to teach the inclusion of an associative polymer.
Sau teaches personal care products which include hydroxyethyl cellulose ([0005]) and also incorporates a polyacetal-polyether polymer (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyacetal-polyether polymer of Sau as an additive of Burdick. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving process, handling and flow of the composition (Sau, [0004]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdick et al (WO 99/25313) in view of Postma et al (US 2019/0270064).
Regarding claim 1-3, Burdick teaches a fluidized polymer suspension (Abstract) which incorporates:
10 to 65 % by weight (page 4, lines 20-25) of a cationic polysaccharide such as a hydroxyethyl cellulose (cellulose ether) (page 3-4). Burdick teaches that the cationic polysaccharide acts as a thickener (page 8, lines 1-2) and therefore, the composition is a rheology modifier.
Burdick teaches that this composition is used for personal care products (page 1).
Burdick teaches that additives can be added to the composition (page 8), however fails to teach the addition of the acrylamide polymer.
Postma teaches a composition which is used for personal care products (page 26) which incorporates 0.01 to 20 % by weight ([0048]) of a cationic acrylamide copolymer ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cationic acrylamide copolymer of Postma as an additive of Burdick. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of controlling the viscosity of the composition (Postma, [0045]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/278,548 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a rheology modifier comprising a blend of an acrylamide polymer and a cellulose ether in a fluidized polymer suspension form.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764