Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/05/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, said rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hooke (US 6534212 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hooke discloses a cylindrical battery comprising a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can 22, shown in their figure 1 (Column 3, lines 43-44, “The cell 20 includes a cylindrical outer can 22”), comprising an electrode assembly that is housed in the bottomed cylindrical housing can and in which an elongated first electrode 23 and an elongated second electrode 30 having different polarities from each other are wound with a separator 36 interposed between the elongated first electrode 24 and the elongated second electrode 30 (Column 3, lines 44-45, “positive and negative electrode plates 24, 30 spirally wound with a separator sheet 36 into a winding 38”), shown int heir figure 3.
Additionally, Hooke discloses a plurality of second electrode lead parts that extend from the second elongated electrode toward a bottom of the bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can, shown in their figure 3, where the bottoms of negative electrode plate 3 extend toward the bottom of the can. Additionally, Hooke discloses a first current collector plate 43 that is disposed on a side of the bottom of the electrode assembly, shown in figure 3, and has two or more through holes 52 and 54 at different positions from each other in a radial direction, shown in figure 4. Here, it is noted that though figure 4 depicts a top current collector 40A, Hooke discloses that the structure of the bottom current collector 40B is identical with the exception of differing placement (Column 6, lines 57-65, “As noted above in the illustrated embodiment, the current collector 40B has an identical configuration to that of the current collector 40A. As such, the foregoing discussion regarding the current collector 40A is equally applicable to the current collector 40B with the exception that the lower surface of the current collector 40B is joined to the bottom edge 32 of the negative electrode 30, with the result that the terminal 42 of the current collector 40B extends downwardly.”).
Additionally, Hooke discloses a second current collector plate 42 that is disposed between the first current collector plate 43 and the bottom, as shown in figure 3, where the cylindrical terminal 42 can be considered to be a wrapped or extruded plate. Additionally, Hooke discloses that each of the second electrode lead parts pass through any one of the through holes, through disclosing that the edges of the electrodes are inserted into the through holes 52 and 54 to be welded (Column 8, lines 31-35, “The top current collector 40A is positioned in contact with the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and is welded thereto by inserting a welding tool into the individual perimeter and internal slots 52, 54”). Additionally, where the tips of the second electrode lead parts are inserted into the through holes and welded in place, the tips of the second electrode lead parts are therefore held by means of welding in a position between the bottom side of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate. Additionally, Hooke discloses that the first current collecting plate conducts current from the second electrode lead part to the second current collecting plate (Column 6, lines 8-12, “The collecting web 43 can be formed as a contiguous unit from a high-conductivity material that is compatible for attachment to the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and that can convey current from the positive electrode top edge 26 to the terminal 42.”), resulting in structure where the tip portion of each of the plurality of second electrode lead parts is electrically connected to the second current collector plate.
Additionally, Hooke discloses structure wherein the first current collector plate is made of metal (Column 6, lines 12-16, “For example, if the positive electrode 24 is formed of a lead-containing material, preferably the collecting web 43 is also formed of a lead-containing material, such as "pure" lead (i.e., a material that includes at least 99 percent lead).”) and the second current collector plate is made of metal (Column 5, lines 18-20, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”).
Regarding Claim 2, Hooke anticipates the invention as presented above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, Hooke discloses structure wherein the plurality of second electrode lead parts are formed of a metal foil constituting a current collector of the elongated second electrode, through disclosing that the second electrode lead parts are composed of a metal which is weldable onto the first current collector plate 43 (Column 8, lines 31-35, “The top current collector 40A is positioned in contact with the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and is welded thereto by inserting a welding tool into the individual perimeter and internal slots 52, 54.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Hooke anticipates the invention as presented above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, Hooke discloses structure where at least one of the plurality of second electrode lead parts is bonded to the first current collector plate 43 (Column 8, lines 31-35, “The top current collector 40A is positioned in contact with the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and is welded thereto by inserting a welding tool into the individual perimeter and internal slots 52, 54”).
Regarding Claim 5, Hooke anticipates the invention as presented above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, Hooke discloses structure where the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate are both made of the same metal, through disclosing that the metal of the terminal 42 comprises copper (Column 5, lines 28-30, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”) and disclosing that the collecting web 43 which is the first plate is formed from a high conductivity metal that is compatible to convey current to the terminal 42, thereby disclosing that they may be the same metal, thereby comprising copper (Column 6, lines 8-13, “The collecting web 43 can be formed as a contiguous unit from a high-conductivity material that is compatible for attachment to the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and that can convey current from the positive electrode top edge 26 to the terminal 42.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Hooke anticipates the invention as presented above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, Hooke discloses structure where the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate differ in their metallic content, through disclosing that the metal of the terminal 42 comprises copper (Column 5, lines 28-30, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”) and disclosing that the collecting web 43 which is the first plate is formed from a high conductivity metal that is compatible to convey current to the terminal 42, presenting an example embodiment where the first current collector plate comprises lead (Column 6, lines 12-16, “For example, if the positive electrode 24 is formed of a lead-containing material, preferably the collecting web 43 is also formed of a lead-containing material, such as "pure" lead (i.e., a material that includes at least 99 percent lead).”).
Regarding Claim 7, Hooke anticipates the invention as presented above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, Hooke discloses structure where the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate comprises copper, through disclosing that the metal of the terminal 42 comprises copper (Column 5, lines 28-30, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”) and disclosing that the collecting web 43 which is the first plate is formed from a high conductivity metal that is compatible to convey current to the terminal 42, thereby disclosing that they may be the same metal, thereby comprising copper (Column 6, lines 8-13, “The collecting web 43 can be formed as a contiguous unit from a high-conductivity material that is compatible for attachment to the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and that can convey current from the positive electrode top edge 26 to the terminal 42.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooke (US 6534212 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Eguchi (US 2013/0280571 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Hooke discloses the invention as discussed above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the first current collecting plate has a fitting part that is fitted into a hollow of the electrode assembly, Hooke fails to disclose said structure. Accordingly, we look to Eguchi, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of cylindrical batteries (Paragraph 0020, “A lithium ion secondary battery of the invention is to be described for a cylindrical battery”). Here, Eguchi discloses structure wherein an electrode current collector is press-fit into a hollow of their electrode assembly (Paragraph 0038, “and a positive electrode collector member 27 is press fit into the step 15a.”), disclosing that the press fit method is also used for the negative electrode current collector, and that it provides extra security in connecting the collector to the hollow (Paragraph 0042, “and the negative electrode collector member 21 is press fit into and secured to the step 15b.”). Where Hooke discloses that an attachment between the current collector and adjacent electrode plate is a goal of their invention (Column 2 lines 52-53, “As a result, attachment of the current collector to the adjacent electrode plate is facilitated.”), as well as simplicity of attachment (Column 2, lines 21-25, “Also, this configuration can simplify attachment of the current collector to an adjacent electrode plate by providing access for an attachment tool (such as a welding device) at both internal and perimeter locations on the current collector.”) it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to modify the first current collector plate of Hooke such that it has a protruding structure that can be press-fit into the hollow of the electrode assembly, thereby providing improved security in connection as well as a simple two-part friction-based connection.
Additionally, as depicted in Hooke’s figures 1 and 3, the hollow is a space provided in a center portion of the electrode assembly in the radial direction, the space extending in an axial direction of the electrode assembly from one end to another end in an axial direction.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooke (US 6534212 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Shimura (US 2019/0036373 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Hook discloses the invention as discussed above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate comprises nickel, Hooke fails to disclose said structure. Accordingly, we look to Shimura, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards cylindrical battery structure, as depicted in their figure 3. Here, Shimura discloses that a variety of metals which include iron, aluminum, titanium, stainless steel, and other metals are preferably plated with nickel to prevent electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging (Paragraph 0055, “Examples of materials for the electrode structure storage member (battery can) constituting a cylindrical secondary battery include iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), alloys of these metals, stainless steel (SUS), and others. The battery can is preferably plated with nickel or the like, for example, to prevent electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging of the secondary battery.”). Here, where the first and second current collector plates of Hooke experience charging and discharging as a result of their structure as current collectors, they are therefore subject to electrochemical corrosion. Accordingly, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply a nickel plating layer to the current collectors of Hooke, preventing electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging of the secondary battery, thereby making obvious the limitation wherein the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate comprises nickel.
Regarding Claim 9, Hook discloses the invention as discussed above in regards to claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate are both nickel plate or a different metal plated with nickel, Hooke discloses structure where the current collectors are a different metal through disclosing that the metal of the terminal 42 comprises copper (Column 5, lines 28-30, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”) and disclosing that the collecting web 43 which is the first plate is formed from a high conductivity metal that is compatible to convey current to the terminal 42, presenting an example embodiment where the first current collector plate comprises lead (Column 6, lines 12-16, “For example, if the positive electrode 24 is formed of a lead-containing material, preferably the collecting web 43 is also formed of a lead-containing material, such as "pure" lead (i.e., a material that includes at least 99 percent lead).”). However Hooke does not disclose that the different metal is plated with nickel.
Accordingly, we look to Shimura, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards cylindrical battery structure, as depicted in their figure 3. Here, Shimura discloses that a variety of metals which include iron, aluminum, titanium, stainless steel, and other metals are preferably plated with nickel to prevent electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging (Paragraph 0055, “Examples of materials for the electrode structure storage member (battery can) constituting a cylindrical secondary battery include iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), alloys of these metals, stainless steel (SUS), and others. The battery can is preferably plated with nickel or the like, for example, to prevent electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging of the secondary battery.”). Here, where the first and second current collector plates of Hooke experience charging and discharging as a result of their structure as current collectors, they are therefore subject to electrochemical corrosion. Accordingly, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply a nickel plating layer to the current collectors of Hooke, preventing electrochemical corrosion due to charging and discharging of the secondary battery, thereby making obvious the limitation wherein the metal of the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate comprises a different metal plated with nickel.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hooke makes obvious the invention presented above in regards to claim 9.
Additionally, where the limitation of the instant claim requires that the different metal is cast iron, copper or iron, Hooke discloses structure wherein the first current collector plate and second current collector plate may be made of copper, through disclosing that the metal of the terminal 42 comprises copper (Column 5, lines 28-30, “Preferably, the terminal 42 is formed of a high conductivity material, such as pure copper, brass or some other copper-containing alloy”) and disclosing that the collecting web 43 which is the first plate is formed from a high conductivity metal that is compatible to convey current to the terminal 42, thereby disclosing that they may be the same metal, thereby comprising copper (Column 6, lines 8-13, “The collecting web 43 can be formed as a contiguous unit from a high-conductivity material that is compatible for attachment to the top edge 26 of the positive electrode 24 and that can convey current from the positive electrode top edge 26 to the terminal 42.”).
Accordingly, in view of Shimura who makes obvious nickel plating, as discussed above in regard to claim 9, Hooke in view of Shimura therefore makes obvious structure wherein the different metal is copper plated with nickel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725