CTNF 18/278,686 CTNF 97502 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2025 and 08/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because they are not compliant with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u)(1), which requires that when multiple views are presented in drawings, view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”. In the drawings submitted on 08/24/2023, the view numbers are preceded by “Figure” . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Additionally, The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both the grouping of positive electrode 11, negative electrode 12, and separator 13 as presented in figure 1, and the grouping of 11, 12, and 13 as well as components 20, 21, and 21a, depicted in figure 2, and an entire electrode assembly in figures 4 and 5. Additionally, reference character “12” has been used to designate both the negative electrode active material coated portion in figures 1 and 2, which is distinct from negative electrode lead parts 21, as well as the entirety of the negative electrode in figure 3, which includes the negative electrode lead parts 21. 06-22-03 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the exterior housing can" in lines 3 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the claim provides antecedent basis for a “bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can” Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first electrode" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the claim provides antecedent basis for “an elongated first electrode” Claim 1 recites the limitation "the " in lines 5 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the claim provides antecedent basis for “an elongated second electrode” Claims 2-4 are indefinite as a result of their dependence on an indefinite claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita (US 20110189518 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Fujita is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a cylindrical battery comprising a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can, depicted in their figure 3 comprising a cylindrical electrode assembly that is housed in the exterior housing can (Paragraph 0021, “a cylindrical electrode group”). Fujita further discloses that the electrode assembly comprises an elongated first electrode and an elongated second electrode which have different polarities from each other and which are wound with a separator interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Paragraph 0019, “a positive electrode 5 including positive electrode active material layers formed on respective surfaces of a positive electrode current collector 21, a negative electrode 6 including negative electrode active material layers formed on respective surfaces of a negative electrode current collector 22, a porous insulator 7 as a separator sandwiched between the positive electrode 5 and the negative electrode 6, and a porous body 4 provided on each of the uncoated portions 3. The electrode group is wound, in which a plurality of turns of the electrode group overlap each other.”). Additionally, Fujita discloses a plurality of second electrode lead parts that extend from the second electrode toward a bottom of the exterior housing can, here component 22, depicted in Fujita’s figure 3 (Paragraph 0021, “and the negative electrode current collector 22 exposed at the respective ends of the wound cylindrical electrode group.”). Fujita further discloses a first current collector plate that is disposed on a side of the bottom of the electrode assembly, here the conductive porous body 4 depicted in Fujita’s figure 2 (Paragraph 0030, “The porous body 4 provided at the end of the electrode will be described below.”; Paragraph 0030, “A member into which an electrolyte solution can penetrate, such as a porous ceramic body, nonwoven fabric made of an insulating material, etc., is used as the porous body 4. With use of the member into which the electrolyte can penetrate, the electrolyte can be distributed to the inside and outside of the electrode group.”). Where the porous body contains a conductive electrode, it therefore acts as a conductive material, and acts as a current collector. Additionally, the porous body has two or more through holes at different positions from each other in a radial direction, shown in their figure 2, wherein each of the leads pass through holes at different positions from each other in a radial direction, again shown in figure 2. Additionally, Fujita discloses a second current collector plate 9 that is disposed between the first current collector plate and the bottom, shown in their figure 3 (Paragraph 0049, “a nickel negative electrode current collector plate 9”). Additionally, a tip portion of each of the plurality of second electrode lead parts is held between the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate, as shown in figure 3, where the leads 22 are held between and in contact with the first plate 4 and the second plate 9, and are electrically connected to the second current collector plate (Paragraph 0021, “Then, a positive electrode current collector terminal 8 and a negative electrode current collector terminal 9 are welded to end faces of the positive electrode current collector 21 and the negative electrode current collector 22”). Regarding Claim 2, Fujita anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Fujita discloses structure wherein the plurality of second electrode lead parts are formed of a metal foil constituting a current collector of the second electrode (Paragraph 0028, “ A long, porous or nonporous conductive substrate may be used as the current collector. The conductive substrate used as the positive electrode current collector may be made of, for example, stainless steel, aluminum, titanium, etc. The conductive substrate used as the negative electrode current collector may be made of, for example, stainless steel, nickel, copper, etc.”). Regarding Claim 3, Fujita anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Fujita discloses structure wherein at least one of the plurality of the second electrode lead parts is boded to the first current collector plate (Paragraph 0031, “thereby forming the porous body 4 which has the above-described thickness, and is adhered to the current collector.”). Regarding Claim 4, Fujita anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires structure wherein the first current collector plate has a fitting part that is fitted into a hollow of the electrode assembly, the second electrode lead parts can be interpreted as being a part of the electrode assembly, as the only requirement of the electrode assembly as a unit is that it is “housed in the exterior housing can”. Accordingly, the electrode assembly can be understood as being a group of components, including the first electrode and second electrode, as well as the second electrode lead parts. Accordingly, the gaps between the second electrode lead parts 22 are a hollow of the electrode assembly, and Fujita discloses that the porous bodies 4, which are the first current collector plate, are parts which fit in between the second electrode lead parts 22 to provide pressure on said leads (Paragraph 0030, “The porous body 4 functions as a pressure equalizing member which keeps a uniform distance between adjacent turns of the positive electrode current collector, or adjacent turns of the negative electrode current collector in the wound electrode group.”). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JONATHAN W ESTES whose telephone number is (571)272-4820. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Basia Ridley can be reached at 5712721453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.W.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725 /BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/278,686 Page 8 Art Unit: 1725