DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/278,752. Claims 1-13 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-6 and 9-13 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The applicant’s amendment filed June 2, 2025 has been entered.
The previous rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 are maintained in this action and discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Bidan et al (US 5,264,157).
Bidan et al teaches a conducting polymer material comprising magnetic particles and conductive polymer (col. 1, lines 7-15). The conducting polymer material is a thin film, which is equivalent to a layer (col. 1, lines 7-15). The magnetic particles include iron oxide (col. 2, line 64 to col. 3, line 2).
Claim 7 is a product by process claim. Patentability of a product by process claim is based on the structure of the claimed product, not on the steps in the process to make the product. MPEP § 2113. Since the conducting polymer material of Bidan et al includes the components and structure of the claimed conducting polymer composite, the product by process requirements are satisfied.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bidan et al (US 5,264,157) in view of Angelopoulos et al (US 5,721,299).
Bidan et al teaches a conducting polymer material as described above. Bidan et al does not teach that the material is reinforced with a polymer deposited on it.
However, Angelopoulos et al teaches a conductive polymer layer coated with an epoxy hard coat (col. 3, line 60 to col. 4, line 10). The hard coating provides scratch and abrasion resistance (id.). The epoxy hard coat reinforces the conductive polymer layer as that term is described in the instant specification. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the hard coating of Angelopoulos et al with the conductive polymer layer of Bidan et al in order to obtain scratch and abrasion resistance.
Claim 8 is a product by process claim. Patentability of a product by process claim is based on the structure of the claimed product, not on the steps in the process to make the product. MPEP § 2113. Since the conducting polymer composite of Bidan et al in view of Angelopoulos et al includes the components and structure of the claimed conducting polymer composite, the product by process requirements are satisfied.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the film of Bidan et al has a different structure because the iron-containing particles have a different oxidation state. However, there is no limitation in claims 1 or 7 which specify the oxidation state of the iron-containing particles. The claims require the polymer film to contain iron oxide. Bidan et al teaches a polymer film containing iron oxide. If the iron is intended to have a specific oxidation state then that feature of the invention should be recited in the claims.
The applicant further argues that the claimed polymer film is flexible. However, there is no limitation regarding flexibility in any claim under examination. The prior art need not teach flexibility since it is not claimed.
Conclusion
No new ground of rejection was presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information