Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-11 include the trademarks for example “Tolonate TM HDT” or “Desmophen NH 1420". If the trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of the 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. In fact, the value of a trademark would be lost to the extent that it became descriptive of a product, rather than used as an identification of a source or origin of a product. Thus, the use of a trademark or trade name in a claim to identify or describe a material or product would not only render a claim indefinite, but would also constitute an improper use of the trademark or trade name. See MPEP 2173.05(u).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP-1038987 to Dickenson (Cited on ISR).
As to claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14, Dickenson discloses a polyurea composition comprising an isocyanate A side that includes 10% by weight propylene carbonate, 60% by weight of MDI-PPG2000 quasi-prepolymer, and 30% by weight of MDI uretonimine and a resin B side comprising 48.3% by weight of polyoxypropylene diamine and 44.5% by weight of a multifunctional blocked (hindered) amine derived from cycloaliphatic diamines (0025) and diethyl maleate (0041, 0044, Example 3). The composition is solvent free.
As to claims 6-7, Dickenson discloses an optional polyhydroxy component used in amounts of 1:1 with secondary amino groups are present in the resin B side (0032).
As to claims 13 and 17-18, Dickenson discloses wherein the A-side and B-side are delivered from two separate chambers of a proportioner (kit) and are impacted or impinged upon each other at high velocity to effectuate an intimate mixing of the two components (0038-0040).
As to claim 15, Dickenson discloses a ratio of 1:1 of isocyanate side to resin side (0032, Example 3).
As to claim 16, Dickenson discloses the addition of 0.8% by mass of epoxide silane (Example 3).
As to claims 19-21, Dickenson discloses applying the coatings to any type of substrate including floor substrates such as plastics, woods, or especially concrete (0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP-1038987 to Dickenson (Cited on ISR).
As to claim 12, Dickenson discloses a polyurea composition comprising an isocyanate A side that includes 10% by weight propylene carbonate, 60% by weight of MDI-PPG2000 quasi-prepolymer, and 30% by weight of MDI uretonimine and a resin B side comprising 48.3% by weight of polyoxypropylene diamine and 44.5% by weight of a multifunctional blocked (hindered) amine derived from cycloaliphatic diamines (0025) and diethyl maleate (0041, 0044, Example 3). The composition is solvent free. Dickenson discloses an optional polyhydroxy component used in amounts of 1:1 with secondary amino groups are present in the resin B side (0032). Dickenson discloses any organic polyhydroxyl compounds known from polyurethane chemistry and include both the low molecular weight polyols and the relatively high molecular weight polyols used to prepare the prepolymers may be used (0031), such as 1,6-hexanediol, trimethylolpropane, or polyether polyols (0016).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the polyhydroxy compounds taught in Dickenson to the resin side of example 3 to prepare polyurethane spray coatings with the desired physical properties (0005).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763