DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 1. Claim (s) 1-2,4-5,7-8,10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orita et al. (WO2020250892A1 using US20220246988 as translation) in view of Viner et al. (US20210057753). As to claim 1, Orita et al. discloses lithium ion secondary battery (figure 2a number 1a) comprising a positive electrode mixture layer (9) , a separation membrane (8) , and a negative electrode mixture layer (10) in the stated order, wherein: the positive electrode mixture layer contains a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (paragraph 0039) , the negative electrode mixture layer contains a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent different from the first solvent (paragraph 0054) , the separation membrane contains a polymer having lithium ion conductivity, a third lithium salt, and a third solvent (paragraph 0029). Orita et al. fail to disclose that the polymer is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound. Viner et al. teaches that the polymer is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with the polymer that is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). As to claim 2, Orita et al. fail to disclose wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). As to claim 4, Orita et al. discloses a separation membrane (figure 2 number 8) for being disposed between a positive electrode mixture layer (9) and a negative electrode mixture layer (10) , in a lithium ion secondary battery (1a) comprising a positive electrode mixture layer that contains a positive electrode active material (paragraph 0039) , a first lithium salt and a first solvent, and a negative electrode mixture layer that contains a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt and a second solvent different from the first solvent (paragraph 0054) , wherein the separation membrane contains a polymer having lithium ion conductivity, a third lithium salt, and a third solvent (paragraph 0029). Orita et al. fail to disclose that the polymer is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound. Viner et al. teaches that the polymer is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with the polymer that is a polymer of polymerizable components that include a monomer and a thiol compound for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). As to claim 5, Orita et al. fail to disclose wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). As to claim 7, Orita et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising: obtaining a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode mixture layer that contains a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (paragraph 0039) ; obtaining a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode mixture layer that contains a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent different from the first solvent (paragraph 0054) ; and providing the separation membrane between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (figure 2a number 8,9,10) . Orita et al. fail to disclose forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane . Viner et al. teaches forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023 ,0116,0146 ).. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023 ,0116,0146 ).. As to claim 8, Orita et al. fail to disclose wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). As to claim 10, Orita et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a separation membrane (figure 2a number 8) for being disposed between a positive electrode mixture layer (9) and a negative electrode mixture layer (10) , in a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode mixture layer that contains a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt and a first solvent (paragraph 0039) , and a negative electrode mixture layer that contains a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt and a second solvent different from the first solvent (paragraph 0054). Orita et al. fail to disclose wherein the method comprises forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane. Viner et al. teaches forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023,0116,0146).. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with forming a slurry containing polymerizable components including a monomer and a thiol compound, a tertiary lithium salt, and a tertiary solvent into a membrane, and then reacting the polymerizable components to obtain a separation membrane for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023,0116,0146).. As to claim 11, Orita et al. fail to disclose wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Orita et al. with wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups. Viner et al. teaches wherein: the thiol compound has two or more thiol groups for the purpose of providing a polymer that is less swellable in the electrolyte, is less brittle, is more flexible, is more ionically conductive, is more readily oxidized, includes an amount and/or type of pores that is more beneficial, and/or has a lower impedance than a polymer lacking one or more of the monomers in the combination (paragraph 0023). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3,6,9,12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to teach or suggest wherein: the monomer includes a first monomer having two (meth)acryloyl groups and a second monomer having three or more (meth)acryloyl groups. Applicant teaches this to provide a separation membrane with higher ionic conductivity and a film formation in a shorter time. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JANE J RHEE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1499 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday (10-6:30) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724