Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-8 recite the limitations “a PRACH configuration includes … a first list of preamble index ranges, a second list of preamble index ranges, and an indication of one or a coverage enhancement (CE) mode and a non-CE mode for transmission without repetition; and each of the first and second list is associated with one synchronization signal and physical broadcasting channel block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs” and “in a case that at least one of the plurality of SSBs, that has a synchronization signal (SS)-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold is available, select the second list from the plurality of SSBs,” “in a case that no SSB, that has an SS-RSRP above a second RSRP threshold A, among the one or more second RSRP threshold, is available, select RSRP Level 2 and select the second list from any SSB.” It is unclear how a single “second list of preamble index ranges” can be “from the plurality of SSBs” and/or “from any SSB.” In Applicant’s Specification, if each SSB is associated with its own distinct set of lists of preamble indexes, then the claim language should reflect that scenario. On the other hand, if there is only a single set of lists of preamble indexes, and the that set of lists of preamble ranges is associated with a plurality of SSBs, then the list is not “from the plurality of SSBs” and/or “from any SSB.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2023/0007702) in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0322454).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses a user equipment (UE) (Park, paragraph [0002], UE; paragraph [0009], UE receiving random access configuration information from a base station), comprising:
reception circuitry configured to receive, from a base station, system information, including physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration information, for a serving cell (Park, paragraph [0009], UE receiving random access configuration information from a base station; paragraph [0092], random access configuration information provided to UEs via SIB1; paragraph [0140], UE receives random access configuration via system information),
wherein: the PRACH configuration information includes a first reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, one or more second RSRP thresholds (Park, Figs. 4, 5, 6, 10, 11 , 12; paragraph [0141], Table 5, numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA; rsrp-ThresholdSSB; rsrpThresholdSSB-SUL; rsrp-ThresholdSSB-repetition; groupCconfigured; numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupB; offsetOfRAPrearnblesGroupC; numRepetitionPerPrearnble; sub-group-list; numberOfRAPrearnblesSubGroup; ssb-perRACHOccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB-RCNR; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines repetition level based on RSRP value and predetermined threshold value; paragraph [0205], preamble index groups corresponding to a predetermined number of time of repetitive transmission based on SSB RSRP; paragraph [0259], within a preamble group corresponding to each SSB, a set of preamble indices corresponding to repetition level configured as a preamble sub-group),
a first list of preamble index ranges, a second list of preamble index ranges (Park, Fig. 5, paragraph [0188], preamble groups A, B, C associated with a single SSB #k),
and an indication of one of a coverage enhancement (CE) mode and a non-CE mode for transmission without repetition (Park, Fig. 5, paragraph [0149], number of times that a random access preamble is repeatedly transmitted and a parameter related to adjustment of transmission power may be used for the purpose of compensation associated with coverage for an RC UE; paragraph [0188], preamble groups A, B do not have repetition levels, preamble group C has sub-groups with repetition levels #1, #2, #3; Fig. 13, S1320 Type of UE, only the second type of UE proceeds to steps with a repetition level); and
each of the first and second list is associated with one synchronization signal and physical broadcasting channel block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs (Park, Figs. 5, 6, 10, 11, paragraph [0188], preamble groups A, B, C associated with a single SSB #k),
the first list is associated with the non-CE mode (Park, Fig. 5, paragraph [0188], preamble groups A, B do not have repetition levels; Fig. 13, S1320 Type of UE, only the second type of UE proceeds to steps with a repetition level), and
the second list is associated with the CE mode and an RSRP level (Park, Figs. 4, 5, 6, 10, 11 , 12; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines repetition level based on RSRP value and predetermined threshold value, if less than the threshold then preamble is transmitted I times, and if greater than threshold then preamble is transmitted j times; Park, Fig. 5, paragraph [0188], preamble group C has sub-groups with repetition levels #1, #2, #3; paragraph [0205], preamble index groups corresponding to a predetermined number of time of repetitive transmission based on SSB RSRP; paragraph [0259], within a preamble group corresponding to each SSB, a set of preamble indices corresponding to repetition level configured as a preamble sub-group; Fig. 13, S1320 Type of UE, only the second type of UE proceeds to steps with a repetition level); and
control circuitry configured to;
in a case that the indication indicates the non-CE mode, select the first list and select RSRP level 0 (Park, paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines repetition level based on RSRP value and predetermined threshold value, if less than the threshold then preamble is transmitted I times, and if greater than threshold then preamble is transmitted j times; Park, Fig. 5, paragraph [0188], paragraph [0188], preamble groups A, B do not have repetition levels, preamble group C has sub-groups with repetition levels #1, #2, #3; paragraph [0205], preamble index groups corresponding to a predetermined number of time of repetitive transmission based on SSB RSRP; paragraph [0259], within a preamble group corresponding to each SSB, a set of preamble indices corresponding to repetition level configured as a preamble sub-group),
in a case that the indication indicates the CE mode:
in a case that at least one of the plurality of SSBs, that has a synchronization signal (SS)-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold is available, select the second list from the plurality of SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold, and select RSRP Level 0 (Park, paragraph [0096], rsrp-ThresholdSSB: an RSRP threshold value for selecting an SSB; paragraph [0122], UE selects an optimal SSB having a highest SSB-RSRP; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines repetition level based on RSRP value and a predetermined threshold value, if less than the threshold then preamble is transmitted I times, and if greater than threshold then preamble is transmitted j times; paragraph [0253], UE selects SSB#k based on an optimal SSB-RSRP, then UE determines a repetition level, then UE selects a preamble from the preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level),
in a case that no SSB, that has an SS-RSRP above a second RSRP threshold A, among the one or more second RSRP threshold, is available, select RSRP Level 2 and select the second list from any SSB (Park, paragraph [0096], rsrp-ThresholdSSB: an RSRP threshold value for selecting an SSB; paragraph [0122], UE selects an optimal SSB having a highest SSB-RSRP; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines repetition level based on RSRP value and a predetermined threshold value, if less than the threshold then preamble is transmitted I times, and if greater than threshold then preamble is transmitted j times; paragraph [0253], UE selects SSB#k based on an optimal SSB-RSRP, then UE determines a repetition level, then UE selects a preamble from the preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level), and
select RSRP Level 1 and select the second list from any SSB, that has an SS-RSRP above the second RSRP threshold A (Park, paragraph [0096], rsrp-ThresholdSSB: an RSRP threshold value for selecting an SSB; paragraph [0122], each UE selects an optimal SSB index having a highest SSB-RSRP appropriate for a corresponding channel environment; paragraph [0126], base station identifies RC UE based on preamble selection; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines the repetition level based on RSRP value and rsrp-ThresholdSSB-repetition, UE uses repetition level i if less than threshold value and repetition level j if greater than threshold value; paragraph [0253], UE selects SSB#k based on an optimal SSB-RSRP, then UE determines a repetition level, then UE selects a preamble from the preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level) in a case that:
the at least one of the plurality of one or more SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold is not available, and at least one of the plurality of one or more SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the second RSRP threshold A, among the one or more second RSRP thresholds, is available (Park, paragraph [0096], rsrp-ThresholdSSB: an RSRP threshold value for selecting an SSB; paragraph [0122], each UE selects an optimal SSB index having a highest SSB-RSRP appropriate for a corresponding channel environment; paragraph [0126], base station identifies RC UE based on preamble selection; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines the repetition level based on RSRP value and rsrp-ThresholdSSB-repetition, UE uses repetition level i if less than threshold value and repetition level j if greater than threshold value; paragraph [0253], UE selects SSB#k based on an optimal SSB-RSRP, then UE determines a repetition level, then UE selects a preamble from the preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level), and
select a preamble from the selected one of the first list and the second list (Park, paragraph [0126], base station identifies RC UE based on preamble selection; paragraph [0150], UE selects a preamble corresponding to a repetitive transmission level and a transmission power offset value based measurement channel information and channel measurement threshold values set for each repetition level; paragraph [0152], UE determines the repetition level based on RSRP value and rsrp-ThresholdSSB-repetition, UE uses repetition level i if less than threshold value and repetition level j if greater than threshold value; paragraph [0253], UE selects SSB#k based on an optimal SSB-RSRP, then UE determines a repetition level, then UE selects a preamble from the preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level).
Although Park discloses all of the claim limitations, in order to advance prosecution, the Examiner includes the Choi references, which more clearly discloses that multiple repetition levels {Coverage Enhancement levels] correspond to multiple threshold RSRP intervals.
Choi disclose in a case that at least one of the plurality of SSBs, that has a synchronization signal (SS)-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold is available, select the second list from the plurality of SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold, and select RSRP Level 0 (Choi, paragraph [0092], UE measures RSRP and compares to preconfigured RSRP threshold, if the RSRP exceeds threshold 1, the UE transmits a preamble on a resource allocated to a CE level 0; paragraph [0102], UE may compare a plurality of measured SS-RSRP with one threshold configured to determine SSBs that may select as a basis of preamble transmission; paragraph [0128], if there is one or more SS-RSRP exceeding the threshold);
in a case that no SSB, that has an SS-RSRP above a second RSRP threshold A, among the one or more second RSRP threshold, is available, select RSRP Level 2 and select the second list from any SSB (Choi, paragraph [0092], if measured RSRP is smaller than threshold 1 and greater than threshold 2, UE transmits a preamble with CE level 1, UE determines to transmits preamble a CE levels 2, 3, 4 in the same manner, CE increases by increasing the number of preamble repetitions; paragraph [0129], if there is no SS-RSRP exceed the threshold, the UE may compare several thresholds based on measured SS-RSRP to determine CE level, paragraph [0132], if RSRP is smaller than the RSRP threshold 1 and greater than threshold 2, determine CE level 1, if RSRP is small than threshold 2, determine CE level 2), and
select RSRP Level 1 and select the second list from any SSB, that has an SS-RSRP above the second RSRP threshold A in a case that: the at least one of the plurality of one or more SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the first RSRP threshold is not available, and at least one of the plurality of one or more SSBs, that has the SS-RSRP above the second RSRP threshold A, among the one or more second RSRP thresholds, is available (Choi, paragraph [0092], if measured RSRP is smaller than threshold 1 and greater than threshold 2, UE transmits a preamble with CE level 1, UE determines to transmits preamble a CE levels 2, 3, 4 in the same manner, CE increases by increasing the number of preamble repetitions; paragraph [0129], if there is no SS-RSRP exceed the threshold, the UE may compare several thresholds based on measured SS-RSRP to determine CE level, paragraph [0132], if RSRP is smaller than the RSRP threshold 1 and greater than threshold 2, determine CE level 1, if RSRP is small than threshold 2, determine CE level 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the repetition levels of Park to correspond to threshold RSRP intervals. The motivation to combine the references would have been to increase reliability by using increase numbers of repetitions to compensate for lower reception quality.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Park and Choi do not disclose the amended claim limitations, but Applicant does not provide any reasoning or analysis to explain or support that assertion. However Applicant is incorrect. As discussed in the claim rejections above, Park in view of Choi discloses all of the claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419