DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 01/27/2026, in which claims 1-2 were amended, claim 3 was canceled, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2021-0102550 filed on 08/04/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0102550 has been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0102550 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2021-0102550 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 comprises compounds in which R1 is not deuterium, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl as required by claim 1 on which claim 8 depends. For example, the following compounds have R1 is hydrogen.
Accordingly, it is unclear whether or not “R1 is biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl” is required or not.
For the purpose of this Action, the limitation “R1 is biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl” is omitted in claim 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN113024529A) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 20180040829) and as evidenced by Iida et al. (US Pub. 20030130511).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0006]-[0010] a compound
represented by of the following Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 1 and 2:
X1 and X2 are each independently O or S;
each R1 is independently phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl [“R4 or R6 are each independently selected from substituted or non-substituted C6-C18 aryl”. Phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl are known C6-C18 aryl as evidenced in paragraph [0046] of Iida et al.];
n is an integer of 0 to 6.
L is a direct bond, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 arylene, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroarylene containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S [R3 selected from at least one of hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C8 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C8 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C6 alkene group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C6 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C18 aryl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted 4 to 12 membered aromatic heterocyclic group]; and
Wang et al. fails to disclose
Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4:
each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring;
each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S;
Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S.
However, Wang et al. suggests R3 can include a substituted or unsubstituted 4 to 12 membered aromatic heterocyclic group.
Lee et al. discloses in paragraph [0010]-[0023], [0074]-[0086], [0105] aromatic heterocyclic group in which
Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4:
each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring;
each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S;
Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4: each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring; each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S; Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable group bonded to a five-membered ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S to enhance light coupling efficiency and/or enhancing lifespan properties [paragraph [0009], [0020], [0023] of Lee et al.].
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong et al. (KR20200100972A) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 20180040829) as evidenced by Iida et al. (US Pub. 20030130511).
Regarding claim 1, Yong et al. discloses in paragraph [0009], [0028], [0032]-[0062] a compound represented by of the following Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 1 and 2:
X1 and X2 are each independently O or S;
each R1 is independently deuterium, phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl [Yong discloses in paragraph [0028], R1 is selected from deuterium, a substituted or non-substituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms”. Phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl are known aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms as evidenced in paragraph [0046] of Iida et al.];
n is an integer of 0 to 6;
L is a direct bond, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 arylene, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroarylene containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S.
Yong et al. fails to disclose
Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4:
each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring;
each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S;
Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S.
Lee et al. discloses in paragraph [0010]-[0023], [0074]-[0086], [0105]
Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4:
each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring;
each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S;
Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the method of Yong et al. to include Z is the following Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 3 and 4: each A is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aromatic ring fused with an adjacent five-membered ring, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaromatic ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S fused with an adjacent five-membered ring; each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S; Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-60 heteroaryl containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yong et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable group bonded to a five-membered ring containing any one or more heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, O, and S to enhance light coupling efficiency and/or enhancing lifespan properties [paragraph [0009], [0020], [0023] of Lee et al.].
Regarding claim 2, Yong et al. discloses in Yong et al. discloses in paragraph [0009]-[0062]
Incorporating group Z disclosed by Lee et al. into the compound of Yong et al. would result to the claimed compound of claim 2 including
the Chemical Formula 1 is any one formula selected from the group consisting of the following Chemical Formulas 1-1 to 1-6, and
the Chemical Formula 1 is any one formula selected from the group consisting of the following Chemical Formulas 2-1 to 2-6,
wherein, in Chemical Formulas 1-1 to 1-6 and Chemical Formulas 2-1 to 2-6:
X1, X2, L, and Z are as defined in claim 1;
each R1 is independently deuterium, phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl [Yong discloses in paragraph [0028], R1 is selected from deuterium, a substituted or non-substituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms”. Phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, naphthyl-phenyl, phenanthrenyl, or phenyl-phenanthrenyl are known aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms as evidenced in paragraph [0046] of Iida et al.]; and
each R' is independently hydrogen or deuterium [Yong et al. discloses in paragraph [0028] “R2-R4 may each independently be any one selected from hydrogen, deuterium”]
Regarding claim 4, Yong et al. discloses in paragraph [0020], [0042] and Lee et al. discloses in paragraph [0010]-[0023], [0074]-[0086], [0105]
L is a direct bond, or any one selected from the group of the following
Regarding claims 5-7, Lee et al. discloses in paragraph [0010]-[0023], [0074]-[0086], [0105]
wherein each A is independently benzene, naphthalene, carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene [benzene, carbazole];
each R2 is independently hydrogen, deuterium, phenyl, naphthyl, 9-phenylcarbazolyl, carbazole-9-yl, or phenanthrene-9-yl [hydrogen],
Ar1 is phenyl, biphenylyl, naphthyl, phenyl-naphthyl, or naphthyl-phenyl [phenyl].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee et al. and Yong et al. would result to the compound is one from the group consisting of the compounds listed in claim 8. For example, replacing Z group
in compound 67 of Yong et al. with Z group
in formula 1-28 of Lee et al. would result to the compound
Regarding claims 9-10, Yong et al. discloses in paragraphs [0001]-[0003], [0007], [0012], [0053], [0072]-[0073], [0080] and Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, paragraphs [0010]-[0023] an organic light emitting device, comprising:
a first electrode;
a second electrode that is opposite to the first electrode; and
one or more organic material layers that are between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein one or more layers of the one or more organic material layers comprises the compound of claim 1;
wherein: the organic material layer comprising the compound is a light emitting layer.
Oath/Declaration
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 01/27/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-10 based upon Wang et al. (CN113024529A), Yong et al. (KR20200100972A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. 20180040829) as applied under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action and in this Office action because:
The rejection is based on the combination of Wang et al. and Lee et al. or Yong et al. and Lee et al. The affidavit only provides comparisons of the compounds not including Z disclosed by Wang et al./Yong et al. and the claimed compound but does not provide any comparison of the compounds including Z of Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4 disclosed by Lee et al. and the claimed compound. The affidavit includes statements which amount to an affirmation that the claimed subject matter functions as it was intended to function. Therefore, the affidavit is not relevant to the issue of nonobviousness of the claimed subject matter and provides no objective evidence thereof. There is no showing that the objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims. See MPEP § 716.
“Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor. See, for example, In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).”
Besides, similar to Applicant’s statement of “improved lifetime” and “high efficiency” in page 10 of the Affidavit, Lee et al. suggests in paragraph [0009], [0020], [0023] that the compounds including Z of Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4 would enhance light coupling efficiency and/or enhancing lifespan properties. Thus, incorporating the teaching of Lee et al. into the compounds of Wang et al./Yong et al. would achieve the same result of “improved lifetime” and “high efficiency” as the claimed invention.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As stated above, the affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 01/27/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-10 based upon Wang et al. (CN113024529A), Yong et al. (KR20200100972A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. 20180040829) as applied under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth above.
Lee et al. suggests in paragraph [0009], [0020], [0023] that the compounds including Z of Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4 would enhance light coupling efficiency and/or enhancing lifespan properties. Thus, incorporating the teaching of Lee et al. into the compounds of Wang et al./Yong et al. would result to the claimed compounds of chemical formula 1 or chemical formula 2 and would achieve the same result as the claimed invention.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893