Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed 4/29/26 has been entered. Claims 1-44, 46, 49, 53, 71, 74, 76, 84 are cancelled. Claims 45, 47, 48, 50-52, 54-70, 72, 73, 75, 77-83 are presented for examination.
Specification
The amendments to the specification dated 4/29/26 has been entered.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a simulation module, configured to”, “a determination module configured to”, in claim 70.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
STEP 1
Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claims 45, 47, 48, 50-52, 54-70, 72, 73, 75, 77-83 are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES.
STEP 2A. Prong 1
The claims disclose the abstract idea of determining operating conditions of an intralogistics system.
Exemplary claim 45 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
“A computer-implemented method for determining operating conditions of an intralogistics system (10), wherein the intralogistics system comprises a simulation module, a centralized process data storage, a determination module, a real system, and a plurality of components, having hardware components and software components, wherein each component comprises component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties, the method comprising the steps of:
--simulating the intralogistics system with the simulation module based on the component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties;
--generating simulation process data as process data corresponding to the component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties with the simulation module and storing the generated process data in the centralized process data storage;
--determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system with the determination module; and -- stored process data in the centralized process data storage, wherein the determination module comprises a data processing unit configured to determine the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties by analyzing the process data of the intralogistics system and to optimize a predefined target variable of the intralogistics system, wherein the determination of the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties is based on the optimization of the predefined target variable of the intralogistics system, wherein the predefined target variable is related to a cycle time, a system performance, a peak performance, a system throughput, costs, an energy consumption, an order fulfillment rate and/or component failures; and
--operating a real system of the intralogistics system based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties, using the hardware components and the software components; and
--repeating the steps of simulating, generating, and determining;
--changing at least one of the cycle time, the system performance, the peak performance, the system throughput, the costs, the energy consumption, the order fulfillment rate and the component failures based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties to achieve an optimized predefined target value in the real system;
--wherein the step of generating process data comprises generating real system process data corresponding to the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties with the real system.;
--wherein generating the real system process data comprises measuring the real system process data in the real system using a sensor system having a plurality of sensors; storing the measured real system process data in the centralized process data storage; receiving the measured real system process data by the determination module; and
--wherein the step of determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system comprises analyzing the real system process data of the intralogistics system to acquire modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system. “
The remaining limitations are no more than computer elements (i.e., a simulation module, a determination modules) to be used as a tool to perform this abstract idea.
The recited limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers subject matter viewed as a certain method of organizing human activity with the additional recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by a determining module” language, “determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system”, in the context of this claim encompasses the user determining the change/modification.
The practice of simulating/testing data, as well as determining modification of data is a commercial or legal interaction long prevalent in our system of commerce. The claims recite the idea of performing various conceptual steps generically resulting in the determining operating conditions of an intralogistics system. As determined earlier, none of these steps recites specific technological implementation details, but instead get to this result by testing and determining data. Thus, the claims are directed to a certain method of organizing human activity
STEP 2A, Prong 2
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
The claim recites one additional element: that sensors are used to measure process data (i.e. claim 45); and training an artificial neural network with simulation process data to determine modified component data (claims 66, 67).
The sensors and the AI neural network in the steps are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data. This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
The next issue is whether the claims provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the sensors and the AI neural network at each step of the process is purely conventional. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using sensors to collect data as well as training AI neural network to determine modification amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicants' claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The claimed invention does not focus on an improvement in computers as tools, but rather certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. {Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354). (Step 2B: NO).
There is no indication that indication that the sensors or the AI neural network is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Independent claim 70, 83, 84 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The other dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,1355,112 USPQ2d 1093,1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hoteis.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306,1334,115 USPQ2d 1681,1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363,115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45, 47, 50-52, 56-65, 68-70, 72, 75, 77-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman et al. (US 20180300435 A1), in further view of Thomas et al. (US 20070168170 A1).
Re-claim 45, Eckman et al. t teach A computer-implemented method for determining operating conditions of an intralogistics system, wherein the intralogistics system comprises a simulation module, a centralized process data storage, a determination module, a real system, and a plurality of components, having hardware components and software components, wherein each component comprises component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties, the method comprising the steps of:
(see e.g. [0034] The system 100 also includes a Warehouse Management System 114 (also referred to as “WMS”) that is a specialized computer system to manage storage and retrieval of inventory at the facility, and to interface with devices and components within the facility, such as automated components within the automated warehouse.
[0059] The warehouse automation model can be a computer-based model that represents the component characteristics, the functional relationship among the components, and the physical relationship among the components within the warehouse. Other details can also be represented in the warehouse automation model. The warehouse automation model can be used to simulate different components of the automated warehouse design transporting pallets within the warehouse.)
--simulating the intralogistics system with the simulation module based on the component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties;
(see e.g. [0059] The warehouse automation model can be used to simulate different components of the automated warehouse design transporting pallets within the warehouse.
[0030] Simulations can be repeatedly performed while varying parts of the simulation, such as varying features that are part of the warehouse automation design, varying the dimensions and/or layout of the warehouse itself (presuming that the warehouse has not yet been constructed), and/or varying the inventory demands on the warehouse.)
--generating simulation process data as process data corresponding to the component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties with the simulation module and storing the generated process data in the centralized process data storage;
(see e.g. [0060, 0061] Machine parameters and historical inventory data can be obtained (406). For example, parameters for the automation components can be used to determine how the automation components behave and operate within the warehouse, such as information identifying acceleration, max speed, delays, capacity, and/or other details. The machine parameters may be included in and/or added to the warehouse automation model, or may be referenced by identifiers for the machines in the warehouse automation model.
[0062] Using the warehouse automation model, the machine parameters, and the historical inventory data use of the automated warehouse design can be simulated for the historical inventory data (408).
--determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system with the determination module; and -- stored process data in the centralized process data storage,
(see e.g. [0042] (F, 130) determining modification to the automation features that are included in the automation design (e.g., increasing/reducing number of conveyors, reducing/increasing size of dock, reducing/increasing number of doors, changing orientation/alignment of components) and repeating the simulation exercise (A-D), as necessary;
[0030] Simulations can be used to make a variety of determinations, such as whether a current automated warehouse design will be suitable for expected inventory demands for the warehouse and/or whether a modification to the inventory demands can be accommodated by the automated warehouse with less than a threshold degradation in performance.
[0057] As depicted in this example, the distribution of pallets at this facility changes over time. For example, at a first time depicted in the graph 350, the facility is storing a large number of tall pallets (around the 80″-85″ bucket) as indicated by the spike 352 and a smaller number of shorter pallets (around the 55″-60″ bucket) as indicated by the smaller spike 354. However, these distributions change so that there is nearly the same number of the tall pallets as there are of the shorter pallets at a last time depicted in the graph 350, as indicated by the spike 356 (around the 80″-85″ bucket) being at nearly the same level as the spike 358 (around the 55″-60″ bucket). The systems, devices, and techniques described throughout this document can account for such volatility and uncertainty represented in graphs 300 and 350, by identifying automated warehouse designs that will provide optimal solutions across the broad spectrum of variation could be encountered.)
wherein the determination module comprises a data processing unit configured to determine the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties by analyzing the process data of the intralogistics system and to optimize a predefined target variable of the intralogistics system, wherein the determination of the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties is based on the optimization of the predefined target variable of the intralogistics system,
(see e.g. [0042] (F, 130) determining modification to the automation features that are included in the automation design (e.g., increasing/reducing number of conveyors, reducing/increasing size of dock, reducing/increasing number of doors, changing orientation/alignment of components) and repeating the simulation exercise (A-D), as necessary; and
[0011] FIG. 1 depicts an example system for optimizing an example warehouse rack.
[0036] the example optimized automation design 132 is depicted in which multiple redundant conveyors, which can be determined to be the optimal configuration for the specific storage facility, its physical parameters, and its specific usage. The computer system 104 can determine customized optimizations storage facilities and may adjust them over time as the use of facilities changes over time (e.g., different products are stored at the facilities, different companies/client are using the storage facility).
wherein the predefined target variable is related to a cycle time, a system performance, a peak performance, a system throughput, costs, an energy consumption, an order fulfillment rate and/or component failures; and
(see e.g. [0011] FIG. 1 depicts an example system for optimizing an example warehouse rack.
[0005] Such warehouse simulations can be repeatedly run on different warehouse automation designs to identify an optimal warehouse automation design that will, for example, maximize the efficiency of the warehouse by minimizing pallet place and pull times, minimizing truck load/unload times, and minimizing/eliminating failures during which the warehouse is not able to meet threshold performance metrics.
[0048] Regarding truck performance, the amount of time that trucks 201 have to wait to be docked at the doors/bays 202 is a first performance factor that can be analyzed.
[0054] The systems, devices, and techniques described throughout this document are specifically configured to identify automated warehouse designs that will provide optimal automated solutions over time and across a wide variety of inventory conditions, including accommodating historic/expected spikes in inventory volume.)
--operating the real system of the intralogistics system based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties, using the hardware components and the software components; and
(see e.g. [0063] If no more designs are to be tested (e.g., current design under test met performance metrics, universe of available options has been exhausted, current design performed better than other designs), then a warehouse automation design can be selected to use for the warehouse based on the simulation results (420). For example, a warehouse automation design with a.sub.— best simulation result (e.g., most efficient) can be selected.
[0077] The table below details the example historical inventory data (“real data”) that is used to drive the simulation and the example actions that are simulated, such as those described above with regard to FIG. 8: TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Simulated Actions From Real Data: (Listed major actions, but not limited to): Trucks time into the facility The time the pallet gets into the facility Trucks ID's The time for pallets on a conveyor or other mechanical equipment The amount of pallets in the Time within the storage area truck The pallets SKUs The time it was requested (as given by outbound truck time) Inbound or Outbound Time it took to get out of the facility The time the truck pulled out of the dock).
--repeating the steps of simulating, generating, and determining;
(see e.g. [0042] (F, 130) determining modification to the automation features that are included in the automation design (e.g., increasing/reducing number of conveyors, reducing/increasing size of dock, reducing/increasing number of doors, changing orientation/alignment of components) and repeating the simulation exercise (A-D), as necessary;
--wherein generating process data comprises generating real system process data corresponding to the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties with the real system.;
(see e.g. [0036 -0043] The system 100 can optimize the automated warehouse design 102 (to be have an optimized design 132) over a variety of different steps to identify optimized automation features and to efficiently use the optimized features. ---an optimal automation design has been identified for the specific warehouse, the specific automation components available for inclusion in the warehouse, the specific combination of historic/expected inventory for the warehouse, and/or the layout/dimensions of the facility.)
--wherein the step of determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system comprises analyzing the real system process data of the intralogistics system to acquire modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system.
(see e.g. [0048-0052] Regarding truck performance, the amount of time that trucks 201 have to wait to be docked at the doors/bays 202 is a first performance factor that can be analyzed. For example, if all of the doors/bays 202 are occupied when a truck 201 arrives at the warehouse 200, that truck will have to wait until one of the doors/bays 202 opens up. This waiting is an inefficiency that the simulation can identify. The waiting can be indicated, for example, by a first record indicating a time when the truck 201 was at the warehouse 200 and ready to be docked (a first example checkpoint) and a second record indicating a later time when the truck 201 was able to be docked (a second example checkpoint). The difference between these two times is the wait time for the truck 201.)
Eckman et al. do not teach the limitations as claimed
However, Thomas et al. teach--changing at least one of the cycle time, the system performance, the peak performance, the system throughput, the costs, the energy consumption, the order fulfillment rate and the component failures based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties to achieve an optimized predefined target value in the real system;
(see e.g. [0031] In some implementations, the data center 125 can monitor for changes in the output and correlate those changes with input conditions. In response to a change in excess of a predetermined threshold or at a predetermined or arbitrary time, the system 100 can selectively and automatically update modeling parameters and forecasts of the reservoir simulator 110, change input parameters for the steam generator 120, and/or record such changes and correlations for future analysis. In some implementations, updating of parameters and forecasts, changes in input parameters, and/or recording such changes and correlations can be performed manually. Modeling parameter updates and/or forecasts of the reservoir simulator 110 can also be performed in response to a detected change in the actual output, economic parameters, and/or reservoir conditions, in response to a difference between a predicted output level and an actual output level, or based on some other factor or factors.
[0032] In general, the system 100 uses the data stored in the data center 125 for tuning the reservoir simulator 110. In particular, the system 100 includes a feedback loop for evaluating and modifying performance of the reservoir simulator 110. For example, the system 100 compares the actual outputs (e.g., temperature, pressure, steam, flue gas, water, and oil) with the outputs predicted by the reservoir simulator 110 for a certain set of inputs (e.g., air, water, and fuel supplied to the steam generator 120). Based on this comparison, the reservoir simulator 110 can be tuned by adjusting the initial reservoir modeling parameters in an effort to match the reservoir simulator 110 more closely to the actual behavior and characteristics of the reservoir 105, as measured and/or interpolated from the data in the data center 125. In some cases, the system 100 can also compare the actual inputs (i.e., as measured by sensors 130) with the control inputs to tune the control system.
[0027] Data from the sensors 135 is provided to the data center 125 for use in performing analyses. Thus, the data center 125 stores or otherwise has access to data indicating the input parameters for the steam generator 120 and the corresponding output into or from the reservoir 105.
[0049 Accordingly, multiple changes in the input parameters can be applied and stored, and/or output levels can be continuously monitored, between successive comparisons of actual and predicted outputs. Alternatively, individual processing steps can be performed in parallel on an ongoing basis.
[0050] If it is determined that there is a difference between the actual and predicted outputs (at 260), the reservoir simulator can be tuned (265) to improve the performance of the reservoir simulator. Tuning of the reservoir simulator can involve adjusting the reservoir modeling parameters and can be performed, for example, in real time, on a periodic basis, or upon detecting a change in conditions. The reservoir modeling parameters can be tuned by making adjustments so that predicted outputs match actual outputs for a given set of input parameters. [0028] The data center 125 maintains data for one reservoir 105 or, if multiple reservoirs 105 are associated with the data center 125, data for each reservoir 105 is segmented within the data center 125 to enable separate analyses of each reservoir 105. Typically, each reservoir 105 includes multiple injection wells and multiple production wells (e.g., in a five-spot pattern).
---wherein generating the real system process data comprises measuring the real system process data in the real system using a sensor system having a plurality of sensors; storing the measured real system process data in the centralized process data storage; receiving the measured real system process data by the determination module;
[0027] . Data from the sensors 135 is provided to the data center 125 for use in performing analyses. Thus, the data center 125 stores or otherwise has access to data indicating the input parameters for the steam generator 120 and the corresponding output into or from the reservoir 105.
[0030] For example, the data center 125 can be in periodic or continuous communication with the sensors 130 and 135 and can automatically request and/or receive sample readings from the sensors 130 and 135 at predetermined intervals or at intervals determined by the data center 125. The intervals (e.g., every three seconds or every one hour) can be established by the data center 125 or otherwise based on factors such as how quickly sample values change (currently or historically), how input controls have changed or are changing, or the type of parameter being measured.
[0032] In some cases, the system 100 can also compare the actual inputs (i.e., as measured by sensors 130) with the control inputs to tune the control system.
[0043] In some cases, the set of input parameters that are stored (at 240) can include quantities or rates measured by sensors (e.g., at or near the valves). The stored data (settings values and measured values) can be used to accurately track the inputs (and changes therein) to the thermal generation process in real time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eckman et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Thomas et al., in an effort to match the reservoir simulator 110 more closely to the actual behavior and characteristics of the reservoir 105
Re-claim 47, Eckman et al. teach the method according to claim 45, wherein the hardware components comprise: components for storing of goods; components for order fulfillment; components for automated transporting of goods between the components for storing of goods and the components for order fulfillment; and at least one automated storage and retrieval system for transferring goods between the components for storing of goods and the components for automated transporting of goods;
(see e.g. [0002] This document generally describes technology for optimizing the design and use of automated warehouses for storing pallets and other physical goods.
[0009] Such implementations can optionally include one or more of the following features. The automation components can include conveyor belts to transport pallets from a dock to racks in the warehouse, cranes to carry pallets to different rack levels, and carts to transport pallets across rack openings on a same rack level. For each of the automation components, the movement parameters can include a rate of acceleration, a maximum velocity, a receiving delay, a process delay, and an eject delay.)
And wherein the software components comprise: a warehouse management system; and/or a material flow controller.
(see e.g. [0009] Such a system can further include a warehouse management system that is programmed to perform the following operations to direct the automation components on the placement of a pallets in the storage racks.)
Re-claim 50, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein the method further comprises a step of: providing an input/output unit configured to receive inputs from an operator defining the target variable.
(see e.g. [0130] To provide for interaction with a user, the systems and techniques described here can be implemented on a computer having a display device (e.g., a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor) for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device (e.g., a mouse or a trackball) by which the user can provide input to the computer.
[0115, 0128- to display graphical information for a GUI on an external input/output device, such as display 1816 coupled to high speed interface 1808. ---- at least one programmable processor, which may be special or general purpose, coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.)
Re-claim 51, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein the method further comprises a step of: recommending adjusting configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the plurality of components, according to the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties.
(see e.g. [0063] The results for the current warehouse automation design can be evaluated (414), such as being compared against target performance metrics and/or being compared against the performance of alternate warehouse automation designs that have been simulated. Based on the evaluation, a determination can be made as to whether more designs should be tested (416). If more designs are to be tested (e.g., the current design under test did not meet performance metrics and/or did not perform better than other designs), then the design can be modified (418) and fed back into the technique 400 for another simulation.).
Re-claim 52, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein analyzing process data comprises a processing of simulation process data of the simulation module and/or virtual commissioning process data of the virtual commissioning module and/or real-system process data from the real system.
(see e.g. [0109] The analysis can be used to compare the simulation performance against one or more performance metrics
[0025] FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example technique for analyzing the simulation data and determining simulation results.
[0062] Using the recorded data, the simulation data can be analyzed and used to determine results for the current warehouse automation design (412). For example, the simulation data can be used to identify time intervals for the place and pick operations and to determine the overall performance of the warehouse automation design.)
Re-claim 56, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein, after determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties, the method comprises a step of storing component configuration parameters in a configuration database and/or storing of component properties and/or interaction properties in a component property database.
(see e.g. 0068] The system 500 includes a variety of additional databases 514-520 to aid the components 502-506 and 522 in performing their respective operations. The equipment parameters 514 stores parameters for automation equipment (e.g., machines) that are available for incorporation into the automated warehouse design. The historical inventory data 516 stores historical and/or projected inbound and outbound trucks with pallets for the warehouse. The warehouse automation designs 518 stores warehouse automation designs that have and/or will be simulated and tested by the system 500. The simulation results 520 stores the results for the simulations so that they can be compared against each other and against one or more metrics to aid in identifying an optimal solution.)
Re-claim 57, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 56, wherein the method further comprises a step of: subsequently simulating the intralogistics system based on parameters and properties comprising component configuration parameters stored in the configuration database and/or component properties and/or interaction properties stored in the component property database (80).
(see e.g. [0005] For example, warehouse automation can be simulated for the purpose of determining an optimal warehouse automation design given a variety of parameters that are specific to the warehouse, such as the expected customer inventory demands over time, the layout of the warehouse, and/or the specific automation features (e.g., machines) that are possible within the warehouse.
[0062] Using the warehouse automation model, the machine parameters, and the historical inventory data use of the automated warehouse design can be simulated for the historical inventory data (408). For example, the historical inventory data can be sequentially simulated as inputs for the automated warehouse design under test, and the warehouse automation model and machine parameters can be used to simulate the transportation and storage of the historical inventory in the automated warehouse design.
[0068] The system 500 includes a variety of additional databases 514-520 to aid the components 502-506 and 522 in performing their respective operations. The equipment parameters 514 stores parameters for automation equipment (e.g., machines) that are available for incorporation into the automated warehouse design.)
Re-claims 58, 59, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 56, wherein the method further comprises a step of: setting component configuration parameters stored in the configuration database and/or component properties and/or interaction properties stored in the component property database of a component of the plurality of components to assumed component configuration parameters, assumed component properties and/or assumed interaction properties, when said component is altered.
Claim 59 --The method according to claim 45, wherein the step of simulating the intralogistics system (10) is furthermore based on assumed component configuration parameters, assumed component properties and/or assumed interaction properties and/or assumed logistics parameters.
(see e.g. [0006] Such warehouse simulations can be repeatedly run with changes to the new/modified customer profile at each iteration to determine whether and what type of adjustment to the new/modified customer storage profile would provide optimal performance for the automated warehouse.
[0009 generating a revised warehouse automation model for the revised automation design; repeating the chronological simulation, detecting, recording, and assessing with the revised warehouse automation model and the same historical inventory data;
[0042] (F, 130) determining modification to the automation features that are included in the automation design (e.g., increasing/reducing number of conveyors, reducing/increasing size of dock, reducing/increasing number of doors, changing orientation/alignment of components) and repeating the simulation exercise (A-D), as necessary)
Re-claim 60, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein the step of simulating the intralogistics system is further based on logistics parameters (86) derived from logistics process data of the real system.
(see e.g. [0077] The table below details the example historical inventory data (“real data”) that is used to drive the simulation and the example actions that are simulated, such as those described above with regard to FIG. 8:
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Simulated Actions From Real Data: (Listed major actions, but not limited to): Trucks time into the facility The time the pallet gets into the facility Trucks ID's The time for pallets on a conveyor or other mechanical equipment The amount of pallets in the Time within the storage area truck The pallets SKUs The time it was requested (as given by outbound truck time) Inbound or Outbound Time it took to get out of the facility The time the truck pulled out of the dock).
Re-claim 61, Eckman et al. teach -the method) according to claim 45, wherein, after the step of determining the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system, the method comprises a step of subsequently simulating the intralogistics system based on the previously determined modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties.
(see e.g. [0060] Machine parameters and historical inventory data can be obtained (406). For example, parameters for the automation components can be used to determine how the automation components behave and operate within the warehouse, such as information identifying acceleration, max speed, delays, capacity, and/or other details. The machine parameters may be included in and/or added to the warehouse automation model, or may be referenced by identifiers for the machines in the warehouse automation model.
[0061] The historical inventory data can be, for example, historical inbound and outbound truckloads of pallets, including information identifying pallets within each truck. )
Re-claim 62, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 61, wherein, following the step of subsequently simulating the intralogistics system, the method comprises a step of generating subsequent process data corresponding to the previously determined modified component configuration parameters with the simulation module.
(see e.g. [0061] Additionally and/or alternatively, the historical inventory data can include predictive inventory data that estimates expected inbound and outbound truckloads at various times in the future. Such predictive inventory data can be generated, for example, by analyzing historical inventory data (e.g., machine learning techniques) to identify trends and expected future behavior.
[0062] Using the warehouse automation model, the machine parameters, and the historical inventory data use of the automated warehouse design can be simulated for the historical inventory data (408). For example, the historical inventory data can be sequentially simulated as inputs for the automated warehouse design under test, and the warehouse automation model and machine parameters can be used to simulate the transportation and storage of the historical inventory in the automated warehouse design.)
Re-claim 63, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 62, wherein the step of determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system comprises: a comparing of simulation process data with virtual commissioning process data and/or real-system process data by the determination module and, based on this comparison; and a selecting one of the simulation process data, virtual commissioning process data or real-system process data with regard to the predefined target variable of the intralogistics system.
(see e.g. [0063] The results for the current warehouse automation design can be evaluated (414), such as being compared against target performance metrics and/or being compared against the performance of alternate warehouse automation designs that have been simulated.
[0068] The simulation results 520 stores the results for the simulations so that they can be compared against each other and against one or more metrics to aid in identifying an optimal solution.)
Re-claim 64, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 63, wherein, after comparing and selecting the process data, the method comprises a step of subsequently simulating the intralogistics system and generating corresponding subsequent simulation process data based on the component configuration parameters, component properties, interaction properties and/or logistics parameters corresponding to the selected process data.
(see e.g. [0009] In response to determining that the current automation design failed, performing additional operations can include modifying one or more of the automation components in the current automation design to generate a revised automation design for the warehouse; generating a revised warehouse automation model for the revised automation design; repeating the chronological simulation, detecting, recording, and assessing with the revised warehouse automation model and the same historical inventory data).
Re-claim 65, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein, before the step of simulating the intralogistics system, the method comprises a step of deriving assumed component configuration parameters and/or assumed interaction properties and/or assumed logistics process data by analyzing process data by the determination module.
(see e.g. [0106] The log of actions for the simulation can be accessed (1502) and can be used to determine a variety of duration information indicating how long the automated warehouse being simulated took to perform various tasks on the historical inventory data being used for the simulation. For example, the log actions can be used to determine: the wait time for each inbound and outbound truck (1504), the load/unload time for each truck (1506), and the timing information for each pallet being placed/pulled in the warehouse (1508), which can include the dock time for each pallet (1510), the conveyor time for each pallet (1512), the crane and/or cart time for each pallet (1514), and the overall pull/place time for each pallet (1516).
Re-claim 68, Eckman et al. teach -the method according to claim 45, wherein the method further comprises a step of applying the modified component configuration parameters to the virtual commissioning module and/or the real system.
(see e.g. [0109] For example, to identify suitable modifications, variations in the automated design can be generated (e.g., add conveyor, reconfigure conveyors) and a mini-simulation can be run on a window of time around instances when the performance metric was not met to determine whether the modification will remedy the problem. Such mini-simulations can be performed iteratively and repeatedly on modifications until a suitable modification is identified.
[0063] If more designs are to be tested (e.g., the current design under test did not meet performance metrics and/or did not perform better than other designs), then the design can be modified (418) and fed back into the technique 400 for another simulation.)
Re-claim 69, Eckman et al. anticipate – the method according to claim 45, wherein the process data and/or component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties comprise component failure and/or component outage data.
(see e.g. [0005] minimizing/eliminating failures during which the warehouse is not able to meet threshold performance metrics.)
Claim 70 recites similar limitations as claim 45 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Furthermore, Thomas et al. teach--a centralized process data storage configured to store generated process data of the intralogistics system and configured to allow low latency data access;
(see e.g. [0065] FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating an example data processing system 400 in which one or more components of a system for controlling thermal recovery operations can be implemented. The data processing system 400 includes a central processor 410, which executes programs, performs data manipulations, and controls tasks in the system 400.
[0047] Because of the delay between a change in input parameters and a corresponding change in outputs, however, real-time comparisons do not generally imply use of the real-time input data as it is collected. Instead, input parameters and the corresponding predicted outputs can be stored and used for comparisons at an appropriate time when actual outputs are detected.
[0048] In addition, quasi-real-time comparisons can be delayed from a real-time collection of output data. For example, as actual output data is collected, it can be averaged or filtered over a period of time. Similarly, the input parameters and the corresponding predicted outputs can be averaged or filtered over a corresponding period of time. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eckman et al., and include the steps cited by Thomas et al. ., so that input parameters and the corresponding predicted outputs can be stored and used for comparisons at an appropriate time when actual outputs are detected. (see e.g. [0047).
Claim 72 recites similar limitations as claim 47 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 75 recites similar limitations as claim 50 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 77 recites similar limitations as claim 54 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 78 recites similar limitations as claim 56 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Re-claim 79, Eckman et al. teach -the intralogistics system according to claim 78, further comprising an input/output unit configured to display component parameters for a selected component of the plurality of components and/or to receive inputs from an operator defining component parameters for the selected component.
(see e.g. [0130] To provide for interaction with a user, the systems and techniques described here can be implemented on a computer having a display device (e.g., a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor) for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device (e.g., a mouse or a trackball) by which the user can provide input to the computer.
[0115, 0128- to display graphical information for a GUI on an external input/output device, such as display 1816 coupled to high speed interface 1808. ---- at least one programmable processor, which may be special or general purpose, coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.)
Re-claim 80, Eckman et al. teach -the intralogistics system according to claim 70, further comprising: a simulation scenario module configured to control the simulation module (40) to perform iterative simulation cycles to generate a plurality of simulation process data (48) sets based on a plurality of component configuration parameters, component properties, logistics parameters and/or interaction properties.
(see e.g. [0005] This document generally describes computer-based technology for simulating warehouse automation designs and evaluating the results of such simulations to inform a variety of decisions. For example, warehouse automation can be simulated for the purpose of determining an optimal warehouse automation design given a variety of parameters that are specific to the warehouse, such as the expected customer inventory demands over time, the layout of the warehouse, and/or the specific automation features (e.g., machines) that are possible within the warehouse. Such warehouse simulations can be repeatedly run on different warehouse automation designs to identify an optimal warehouse automation design that will, for example, maximize the efficiency of the warehouse by minimizing pallet place and pull times, minimizing truck load/unload times, and minimizing/eliminating failures during which the warehouse is not able to meet threshold performance metrics.
[0109] The analysis can be used to compare the simulation performance against one or more performance metrics which, if not met, can indicate that the automated warehouse design is not sufficient for the inventory that is being stress tested on the design----For example, to identify suitable modifications, variations in the automated design can be generated (e.g., add conveyor, reconfigure conveyors) and a mini-simulation can be run on a window of time around instances when the performance metric was not met to determine whether the modification will remedy the problem. Such mini-simulations can be performed iteratively and repeatedly on modifications until a suitable modification is identified.).
Claim 81 recites similar limitations as claim 63 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 82 recites similar limitations as claims 66, 67 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 83 recites similar limitations as claim 45 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 48, 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman et al. (US 20180300435 A1), in view of Thomas et al. (US 20070168170 A1), further in view of McGregor et al. (US 20210141870 A1).
Re-claim 48, Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al., do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, McGregor et al. teach -- The method according to claim 45, wherein the method further comprises a step of: emulating the intralogistics system with a virtual commissioning module based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties determined by the determination module, wherein the virtual commissioning module is configured to emulate the intralogistics system by using the software components and by simulating the hardware components; and wherein generating process data comprises generating virtual commissioning process data corresponding to the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties; and
wherein the step of determining modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system comprises analyzing the virtual commissioning process data of the intralogistics system to acquire modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties of the intralogistics system.
(see e.g. [0015] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating exporting of the enhanced digital model to a control design and testing platform as part of a virtual commissioning procedure.
[0031] Control design platforms 106 may also include a digital simulation platform that emulates execution of the control program against a virtual model of the automation system in order to test the control programming and the mechanical design, a process referred to as virtual commissioning. Such simulation platforms can mimic the behavior of the automation system's mechanical assets in response to execution of the control program on an emulated industrial controller so that proper operation can be verified. During commissioning of the physical system, the completed control code, device configurations, and HMI applications are downloaded to the appropriate field devices 108 of the automation system.
[0068] Marking up the mechanical model 402 with aspect metadata 508 as described above yields an enhanced digital model 502 of the automation system being designed, which can be exported to a separate simulation platform for virtual commissioning. FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating exporting of the enhanced digital model 502 to a control design and testing system 302 as part of a virtual commissioning procedure.
[0069] In the present example, control design and testing system 302 comprises a controller emulation component 308 that emulates execution of an industrial control program being testing on a virtualized (or emulated) industrial controller, and a simulation component 306 that simulates operation of a virtualized model of an industrial automation system under control of the industrial control program. Within the control design and testing system 302, the enhanced digital model 502 of the automation system—comprising the mechanical model 402 augmented with aspect metadata 508 and master I/O list 702—can be interfaced with control programming (e.g., ladder logic) being developed for the automation system to yield a virtual testing environment that allows both the mechanical and control designs to be virtually simulated and tested before finalizing the overall design and proceeding to the building and installation phase.
[0070] Since the enhanced digital model 502 models mechanical characteristics of the automation system as well as behavioral properties of components that make up the model (by virtue of the aspect metadata 508), the enhanced digital model 502 can be used to simulate expected operation and behavior of the automation system while under control of an emulated control program 1008. This can include viewing and verifying the simulated system's responses to control inputs in terms of movement, speeds, flows, temperatures, fill levels, movement of product through the system, etc. In the example depicted in FIG. 10, controller emulation component 308 of the testing system 302 acts as an industrial controller emulator to execute control program 1008, which is being developed and tested against the virtual model 502 of the automation system created within the CAD system 202.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al. and include the steps cited above, as taught by McGregor et al., so that proper operation can be verified (see e.g. [0031])
Claim 73 recites similar limitations as claim 48 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 54-55, 66, 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman et al. (US 20180300435 A1), in view of Thomas et al. (US 20070168170 A1), in further view of CELLA et al. (US 20210133670 A1),
Re-claims 54, 55, Eckman et al. anticipates a unified process data format (see e.g. [0074] the data can be recorded in any of a variety of formats), , Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al., but do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However Cella et al. teach --The method according to claim 45, wherein, before storing process data into the process data storage, the method comprises a step of converting the process data to a unified process data format.
(see e.g. [0541] The machine learning model 3000 may, for example, receive state data 1140 and event data 1034 related to a particular value chain entity 652 of the plurality of value chain entities 652 and perform a series of operations on the state data 1140 and the event data 1034 to format the state data 1140 and the event data 1034 into a format suitable for use by the digital twin system 1700 in creation of a digital replica of the value chain entity 652).
The method according to claim 45, wherein storing of process data comprises providing the process data in a domain data model.
(see e.g. [1095] . In embodiments, an artificial intelligence system may be trained, such as on a labeled industry-specific or domain-specific data set, to automatically generate an industry-specific or domain-specific digital twin for an instance of an EMP for an organization, with default configuration of data types, entities, features and granularities for various roles within an organization of that industry or domain. The defaults can then be reconfigured in a user interface of an authorized user to reflect company-specific variations from the industry-specific or domain-specific defaults.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Cella et al., in order to process and structure data into a format that can be consumed by an enterprise digital twin.(see e.g. [1144]).
Re-claims 66, 67, Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al., do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However Cella et al. teach -- The method according to claim 45, wherein in the step of determining modified component configuration parameters of the intralogistics system the determination module is based on a trained artificial neural network and/or machine learning. ---The method according to claim 66, wherein the method further comprises the step of training the artificial neural network with simulation process data, virtual commissioning process data, real-system process data and corresponding component configuration parameters, component properties (54) and/or interaction properties.
(see e.g. [0074] an artificial intelligence system configured to input the sensor data into a machine learning model such that the sensor data is used as training data for the machine learning model, and the machine learning model is configured to transform the sensor data into simulation data; and a digital twin system configured to create a digital replica of the set of value chain entities based on the simulation data, wherein the digital replica of the value chain entities is configured to be used to provide a substantially real-time representation of the value chain entities and provide a simulation of a possible future state of the value chain entities via the simulation data.
[0070] In embodiments, a value chain system that provides recommendations for designing a logistics system includes a machine learning system that trains a machine-learned model that outputs a logistics design recommendation given a respective set of input features relating to a specific respective logistics system, wherein the machine learning system trains the machine-learned model based on training data sets that define features of logistics systems and outcomes of the logistics systems; an artificial intelligence system that receives a request for logistics system design and determines a logistics system design recommendation based on the machine-learned model and the request; and a digital twin system that generates an environment digital twin of a logistics environment that incorporates the logistics system design recommendation and one or more physical asset digital twins of physical assets, wherein the digital twin system: executes a logistics simulation based on the logistics environment digital twin and the one or more physical asset digital twins, issues a logistics system design request from the artificial intelligence system based on a state of the logistics simulation; and adjusts the state of the logistics simulation based on the logistics system design recommendation output by the artificial intelligence system in response to the logistics system design request.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eckman et al., in view of Thomas et al., and include the steps of training the artificial neural network, as taught by Cella et al., in order to replicate the operation of the workforce in the defined set of roles. (see e.g. [0202]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the amended
Applicant’s argument:
Claim 45 has been amended to affirmatively recite the step of changing at least one of the cycle time, the system performance, the peak performance, the system throughput, the costs, the energy consumption, the order fulfillment rate and the component failures based on the modified component configuration parameters, component properties and/or interaction properties to achieve an optimized predefined target value in the real system.
Claim 70 has been amended correspondingly.
As such the claims relate to an inventive concept by effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article (here the real system) to a different state or thing under MPEP 2106.05 I. A. iv.
Examiner’s response:
Please see MPEP 2106.05(c) Particular Transformation [R-07.2022]
It is noted that while the transformation of an article is an important clue, it is not a stand-alone test for eligibility. Id.
("[I]n Mayo, the Supreme Court emphasized that satisfying the machine-or-transformation test, by itself, is not sufficient to render a claim patent-eligible, as not all transformations or machine implementations infuse an otherwise ineligible claim with an "inventive concept.").
In this case, the system is not transformed to cause a different function or use. Therefore, the claims do not satisfy the machine-or-transformation test.
Applicant’s argument:
Contrary to the Examiner's position, Applicant's method as set forth in amended claim 45 improves existing technology and represents a technological solution to a technological problem. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Applicant's method as set forth in amended claim 45 permits operators and engineers to handle the complex technology in intralogistics and flexibly adapt a configuration and settings of an effectively allow performance optimization in a novel and non-obvious way as discussed infra in connection with the prior art cited by the Examiner.
Examiner’s response:
The above paragraphs highlight the problem Applicants seek to solve, which is for determining operating conditions of an intralogistics system. It does use computer automation to solve the problem, but the problem is one of supply chain realm and uses computer technology as a solution, rather than solving a technical computer problem, or improving the performance of the computer itself.” The current invention does not disclose such an improvement in the claims or specification.
Relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible. See Alice, (use of a computer to create electronic records, track multiple transactions, and issue simultaneous instructions" is not an inventive concept);
Applicant’s argument:
It is respectfully submitted, however, that Eckman et al. discloses neither operating a real intralogistics system using modified component configuration parameters determined from simulation results, nor measuring real system process data via sensors and feeding such data back into the parameter determination process.
In contrast, Applicant's method as set forth in amended claim 45 requires that the real intralogistics system is operated using the modified parameters, that real system process data is measured via sensors, centrally stored, and subsequently analyzed in order to iteratively update component configuration parameters, component properties, and/or interaction properties. This requirement results in a continuous optimization process based on actual system behavior rather than simulation data alone.
The secondary reference to Cella et al. describes a broad enterprise-level platform for monitoring and managing value-chain or supply-chain entities using loT data, analytics, and digital-twin concepts.
Examiner’s response:
Please see the new reference Thomas et al. for “measuring real system process data via sensors and feeding such data back into the parameter determination process” as described in the rejection above. The arguments regarding Cella et al. is now moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CAI (20210294930)-- COMPUTER-AIDED WAREHOUSE SPACE PLANNING
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
July 8, 2026