DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 31-34 in the reply filed on 01 June 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 35-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites a “chemical-based” drug in the last line of the claim. The claim is indefinite because the scope of the claim is unclear. It is not clear which drugs are considered chemical-based and which ones are not, or what a chemical-based drug’s distinct features would be, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know when a drug infringes on the claimed invention. At best, page 26, line 25 of the instant Specification lists exemplary classes of drugs that are considered to be a “chemical-based” drug. Moreover, it is further unclear how a “chemical-based” drug differs from the other types of therapeutic agent recited in claim 34. For example, it is unclear to the Examiner how a chemotherapeutic differs from a “chemical-based” drug. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis et al. (US 2018/0161252 A1, 06/14/2018, IDS reference of 11/29/2023) (hereinafter Francis) in view of Cai et al. (CN 105596294 A, 05/25/2016) (hereinafter Cai).
Francis discloses an array ([0031]) of dissolvable microneedles that can penetrate the skin surface (abs), comprising hyaluronic acid (HA) that is cross-linked, including disulfide-crosslinked HA. The disulfide crosslinking may be by any suitable method and derivatization scheme ([0038]). The microneedles may be affixed to a substrate layer ([0040]).
Francis differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the disulfide-crosslinked HA comprises a specific structure as instantly claimed.
However, Cai discloses hyaluronic acid linked by disulfide bond (HA-s-s-NH2) with a structure of:
([0043]),
which provides drug-loaded structures with good biocompatibility (abs).
Accordingly, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a structure of the HA-s-s-NH2 of Cai in the microneedles of Francis, since it is a known and effective disulfide-linked hyaluronic acid structure suitable to deliver drugs with good biocompatibility as taught by Cai.
Regarding claim 32, Francis further discloses wherein the microneedles have a height of about 100-1500 µm, and a base of about 50 µm - 600 µm ([0018]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. height of about 100 µm to about 1,500 µm and a base having a radius of about 100 µm to about 1,500 µm) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 33, Francis further discloses wherein suitable polymers for the substrate layer include poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) ([0042]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 34, Francis further discloses wherein the microneedles may contain one or more therapeutic agents or compounds (i.e. active ingredient) ([0027]), including proteins ([0058]).
Double Patenting
Claims 31-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34-53 of copending Application No. 18/278,903 (reference application) in view of Francis et al. (US 2018/0161252 A1, 06/14/2018, IDS reference of 11/29/2023) (hereinafter Francis) and Cai et al. (CN 105596294 A, 05/25/2016) (hereinafter Cai). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite a plurality of microneedles projecting from a polymeric, biodegradable substrate, wherein the plurality of microneedles comprises a degradable hyaluronic acid polymer comprising a disulfide bond coupled to a terminal amine group, and an immunoregulator, and thus read on the pending claims.
Moreover, in any case, the features of the copending claims are known in the art. As noted in the current rejections, the teachings of Francis and Cai render obvious claims 31-34. Therefore, as claims 34-53 of copending Application No. 18/278,903, Francis, and Cai all disclose a degradable hyaluronic acid polymer with disulfide linkage, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copending application and to include the teachings of Francis and Cai as discussed in the rejections above, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as instantly claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." See MPEP 2144.06(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McAllister et al. (US 2018/0133447 A1, 05/17/2018, IDS reference of 11/29/2023), directed to drug delivery devices comprising separable microneedles and a substrate, wherein the release rate of the drug may be altered by the porosity within the microneedle.
Prausnitz and Lee (WO 2008/011625 A2, 01/24/2008, IDS reference of 11/29/2023), directed to dissolvable/swellable microneedle devices comprising a base substrate and one or more microneedles extending from the base substrate.
Li et al. (“Redox-sensitive micelles self-assembled from amphiphilic hyaluronic acid-deoxycholic acid conjugates for targeted intracellular delivery of paclitaxel,” March 2012, IDS reference of 11/29/2023), directed to a method of delivering actives wherein the shell comprises hyaluronic acid linked with disulfide bond.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612