DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 17-29 in the reply filed on 02/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-23, 25-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tachikawa et al. (US 20180236576, hereinafter ‘Tachikawa’).
Regarding claim 17, Tachikawa discloses a device for machining a workpiece W, the device comprising a base, a workpiece spindle A1 mounted rotatably about a first axis AX for receiving the workpiece. A first machining head B has a first tool spindle B2 rotatably relative to a first tool axis B1X for receiving a first machining tool 11. A second machining head C is provided, for receiving a second machining tool 2. At least the first machining head is provided with the first machining tool for power skiving the workpiece (Paragraphs [0036-0037]). The second machining head is variably positionable/orientable relative to the first machining head and independently of the first machining head.
Regarding claim 18, Tachikawa discloses the second machining head being freely positionable/orientable relative to the first machining head and independently of the first machining head.
Regarding claim 19, Tachikawa discloses the first machining head and the second machining head being arranged on the base so as to be displaceable relative to a first direction (e.g. the x direction as illustrated in Fig. 1) independently of one another.
Regarding claim 20, Tachikawa discloses the first machining head and the second machining head being arranged on the base so as to be displaceable relative to a second direction (e.g. the y direction as illustrated in Fig. 1) independently of one another.
Regarding claim 21, Tachikawa discloses the first machining head and the second machining head being arranged on the base so as to be displaceable relative to a third direction (e.g. the z direction as illustrated in Fig. 1) independently of one another.
Regarding claim 22, Tachikawa discloses the first machining head being mounted pivotably with respect to a first pivot axis running perpendicularly relative to the first tool axis (see e.g. Fig. 1, the axis defined by the rotation axis between parts labeled B1 and B3).
Regarding claim 23, Tachikawa discloses the second machining head being mounted pivotably with respect to a second pivot axis running perpendicular to a second tool axis of a second tool spindle mounted rotatably relative to the second tool axis (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 25, Tachikawa discloses the second machining head having a second tool spindle C2 mounted rotatably relative to a second tool axis CX for receiving the second machining tool.
Regarding claim 26, Tachikawa discloses the second machining head being provided with the second machining tool for power skiving the workpiece (Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 28, Tachikawa discloses the first machining head being provided with the first machining tool 11 and wherein the first machining tool is configured for producing a first tooth of the workpiece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa et al. (US 20180236576).
Regarding claim 24, Tachikawa discloses both the first and machining heads being capable of simultaneously working on respective first and second portions of the workpiece depending on the positioning of the tools and the desired programming (see e.g. Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Tachikawa by machining first and second portions of the workpiece with the first and second machining tools simultaneously in order to reduce machining time.
Regarding claim 27, Tachikawa discloses both the first and machining heads being configured for power skiving of a workpiece with two tooth geometries (Paragraph [0056]) as well as the first and second machining tools being capable of simultaneously working on the workpiece depending on the positioning of the tools and the desired programming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Tachikawa by power skiving the workpiece with the first and second machining tools simultaneously in order to reduce machining time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722