DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 12/29/2025, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 12/29/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Sugimura in view of Hayakawa and Chen
Claims 1, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al.(USPubN 2022/0325503; hereinafter Sugimura) in view of Hayakawa(USPubN 2022/0032874) further in view of Chen(USPubN 2018/0222391).
As per claim 1, Sugimura teaches a monitoring system for allowing a video of a peripheral region of a construction machine to be displayed on a monitoring device located outside the construction machine(“A work machine display system includes an image acquisition unit and a display control unit. The image acquisition unit acquires a captured image in which surroundings of a work machine are portrayed. The display control unit generates a display signal in order to display a display image including a peripheral image based on the captured image on a screen of a display unit after transition when the display control unit receives a transition signal for screen transition while the peripheral image is displayed on the display unit” in Abs, Fig. 1 and 2), wherein:
the construction machine includes a first camera that images the peripheral region of the construction machine, a video recording device that records a moving image or a still image captured by the first camera as a video of the peripheral region(“The swing body 120 is provided with a plurality of cameras 121 that capture images of surroundings of the work machine 100. FIG. 2 is a view showing imaging ranges of the plurality of cameras provided in the work machine according to the first embodiment” in Para.[0024], [0025]),
a first wireless communication device that transmits to the monitoring device or an external server the video of the peripheral region recorded on the video recording device(“the display 1431 may be installed outside the work machine 100. For example, the display 1431 may be provided at a point away from a work site, and the control device 143 may transmit a signal for displaying a display image on the display 1431 via a network such as the Internet” in Para.[0127], The display can be interpreted as monitoring device and it should be communicated with wireless so the work machine should comprises a wireless communication device because it’s installed away from a work site as well known in the art.),
the monitoring device includes a second wireless communication device that communicates with the construction machine or the external server, a display device that displays the video of the peripheral region received via the second wireless communication device(Para.[0127]).
Sugimura is silent about a first authentication-related information display portion that displays first authentication-related information related to only one of identification information and a password for providing the video of the peripheral region, and a second authentication-related information display portion that displays second authentication-related information related to only another of the identification information and the password for providing the video of the peripheral region, of the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion, only the first authentication-related information display portion is arranged in an operator's cab of the construction machine, and of the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion, only the second authentication-related information display portion is arranged outside the operator's cab of the construction machine, the monitoring device includes a monitoring control device, and the monitoring control device causes the display device to display an authentication screen for entering identification information and a password for receiving the video of the peripheral region, and a video display screen that displays the video of the peripheral region when the identification information and the password entered on the authentication screen respectively match true identification information and a true password.
Hayakawa teaches a first authentication-related information display portion that displays first authentication-related information related to only one of identification information and a password for providing connection between the vehicle to the remote operation device, and a second authentication-related information display portion that displays second authentication-related information related to only another of the identification information and the password for providing connection between the vehicle to the remote operation device, of the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion, only the first authentication-related information display portion is arranged in an operator's cab of the construction machine, and of the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion, only the second authentication-related information display portion is arranged outside the operator's cab of the construction machine(“n example of display form in which the authentication code AC is displayed inside the subject vehicle V by the authentication code display device 22. In this example, the authentication code AC is displayed on a display 41 of a navigation device provided on the center console, a display 42 provided on the interior mirror (such as an interior mirror that displays a rear view captured by a camera), a head-up display 43, or the like. In this case, the display 41 of the navigation device, the display 42 provided on the interior mirror, and the head-up display 43 each serve as the authentication code display device 22.” in Para.[0042], “an example of display form in which the authentication code AC is displayed outside the subject vehicle V by the authentication code display device 22. In this example, provided that a device provided outside the subject vehicle V is used, the blinking pattern of a blinker 44 is displayed as the authentication code AC” in Para.[0043], “when start of a remote operation is input, displaying a predetermined authentication code stored in a vehicle inside or outside the vehicle so as to be visible, acquiring the displayed authentication code by a remote operation device, determining whether or not the authentication code acquired by the remote operation device matches the authentication code stored in the vehicle, and, upon matching, completing a paring process between the vehicle and the remote operation device” in Para.[0005], The authentication code can be interpreted as a authentication-related information display portion. The authentication code can be located in a vehicle inside or outside.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura with the above teachings of Hayakawa in order to improve user experience with easily access the vehicle identification.
Chen teaches the monitoring device includes a monitoring control device, and the monitoring control device causes the display device to display an authentication screen for entering identification information and a password for receiving the video of the peripheral region, and a video display screen that displays the video of the peripheral region when the identification information and the password entered on the authentication screen respectively match true identification information and a true password(“To login the App, please provide the registered user email and password” in Para.[0186], “In FIG. 47, By click on the image button, and wait a little while, then we can see the DVR's live image feedback” in Para.[0195]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura and Hayakawa with the above teachings of Chen in order to improve the user experience with user authentication.
As per claim 6, Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sugimura and Hayakawa are silent about wherein: the construction machine is capable of transmitting both a recorded video and a real-time video of the first camera, and the monitoring device performs the following: displaying a display selection screen to select whether to display the recorded video or the real-time video, and displaying the recorded video or the real-time video in accordance with a selection entered on the display selection screen.
Chen teaches wherein: the construction machine is capable of transmitting both a recorded video and a real-time video of the first camera, and the monitoring device performs the following: displaying a display selection screen to select whether to display the recorded video or the real-time video, and displaying the recorded video or the real-time video in accordance with a selection entered on the display selection screen (Para.[0065], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura and Hayakawa with the above teachings of Chen in order to improve the user experience with user authentication.
As per claim 10, the limitations in the claim 10 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Sugimura in view of Hayakawa, Chen and Jefferies
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al.(USPubN 2022/0325503; hereinafter Sugimura) in view of Hayakawa(USPubN 2022/0032874) further in view of Chen(USPubN 2018/0222391) further in view of Jefferies et al.(USPubN 2017/0316621; hereinafter Jefferies).
As per claim 2, Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen are silent about wherein: the first authentication-related information includes an identification number of the construction machine, and the identification information for providing the video of the peripheral region includes a combination of the identification number of the construction machine and a code representing a type of the construction machine.
Jefferies teaches wherein: the first authentication-related information includes an identification number of the construction machine, and the identification information for providing the video of the peripheral region includes a combination of the identification number of the construction machine and a code representing a type of the construction machine (Para.[0057], [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen with the above teachings of Jefferies in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 3, Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sugimura is silent about wherein: the first authentication-related information and the second authentication- related information are respectively displayed using two-dimensional barcodes on the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion, the monitoring device includes a second camera that images the two- dimensional barcodes, and the monitoring control device reads the two-dimensional barcodes imaged by the second camera to enter identification information and a password for receiving the video of the peripheral region on the authentication screen based on the first authentication-related information and the second authentication-related information.
Hayakawa teaches wherein: the first authentication-related information and the second authentication- related information are respectively displayed using two-dimensional barcodes on the first authentication-related information display portion and the second authentication-related information display portion(Fig. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura with the above teachings of Hayakawa in order to improve user experience with easily access the vehicle identification.
Jefferies teaches wherein: the first authentication-related information are respectively displayed using two-dimensional barcodes on the first authentication-related information display portion, the monitoring device includes a second camera that images the two- dimensional barcodes, and the monitoring control device reads the two-dimensional barcodes imaged by the second camera to enter identification information and a password for receiving the video of the peripheral region on the authentication screen based on the first authentication-related information (Para.[0047], [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen with the above teachings of Jefferies in order to improve user experience with easily access the vehicle identification.
Sugimura in view of Hayakawa, Chen, and Akanuma
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al.(USPubN 2022/0325503; hereinafter Sugimura) in view of Hayakawa(USPubN 2022/0032874) further in view of Chen(USPubN 2018/0222391) further in view of Akanuma et al.(USPubN 2019/0020867; hereinafter Akanuma).
As per claim 4, Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sugimura and Hayakawa are silent about the monitoring system includes a plurality of construction machines, the monitoring device displays a list of the plurality of construction machines for each of which identification information and a password for providing a video of a peripheral region have been entered, and an icon representing a type of a body of each construction machine is displayed on the list.
Chen teaches the monitoring device displays a vehicle for each of which identification information and a password for providing a video of a peripheral region have been entered(Para.[0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura and Hayakawa with the above teachings of Chen in order to improve the user experience with user authentication.
Akanuma teaches the monitoring system includes a plurality of construction machines, the monitoring device displays a list of the plurality of construction machines, and an icon representing a type of a body of each construction machine is displayed on the list(Para.[0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen with the above teachings of Akanuma in order to improve user experience for accessing multiple work vehicle on a display at same time.
Sugimura in view of Hayakawa, Chen, Akanuma and Umezawa
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al.(USPubN 2022/0325503; hereinafter Sugimura) in view of Hayakawa(USPubN 2022/0032874) further in view of Chen(USPubN 2018/0222391) further in view of Akanuma et al.(USPubN 2019/0020867; hereinafter Akanuma) further in view of Umezawa et al.(USPubN 2022/0300913; hereinafter Umezawa).
As per claim 5, Sugimura, Hayakawa, Chen and Akanuma teach all of limitation of claim 4.
Sugimura and Hayakawa are silent about wherein: the identification information for providing the video of the peripheral region includes an identification number of the construction machine, the monitoring system further includes a construction machine database that stores the identification number of each construction machine and a model name and a machine number of the construction machine corresponding to the identification number in association with each other, and the monitoring device displays on the list of the construction machines the model name and the machine number of each construction machine obtained from the construction machine database.
Chen teaches wherein: the identification information for providing the video of the peripheral region includes an identification number of the vehicle (Para.[0191]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura and Hayakawa with the above teachings of Chen in order to improve the user experience with user authentication.
Umezawa teaches the monitoring system further includes a vehicle database that stores the identification number of each vehicle and a model name and a machine number of the vehicle corresponding to the identification number in association with each other, and the monitoring device displays on the list of the vehicles the model name and the machine number of each vehicle obtained from the vehicle database (Para.[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa, Chen and Akanuma with the above teachings of Umezawa in order to improve searching, browsing filtering, matching and selection of construction machine to view and watch.
Sugimura in view of Hayakawa, Chen and Moradi
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al.(USPubN 2022/0325503; hereinafter Sugimura) in view of Hayakawa(USPubN 2022/0032874) further in view of Chen(USPubN 2018/0222391) further in view of Moradi et al.(USPubN 2005/0033855; hereinafter Moradi)
As per claim 7, Sugimura, Hayakawa, and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen are silent about wherein: the monitoring device performs the following: displaying a password changing screen to change the password for receiving the video of the peripheral region, and transmitting a new password entered on the password changing screen to the first wireless communication device, and the first wireless communication device uses the received new password.
Moradi teaches wherein: the monitoring device performs the following: displaying a password changing screen to change the password for receiving the video of the peripheral region, and transmitting a new password entered on the password changing screen to the first wireless communication device, and the first wireless communication device uses the received new password(Para.[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen with the above teachings of Moradi in order to improve the user experience.
As per claim 8, Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen teach all of limitation of claim 7.
Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen are silent about wherein the construction machine is provided with an initialization button to initialize the password for providing the video of the peripheral region.
Moradi teaches wherein the construction machine is provided with an initialization button to initialize the password for providing the video of the peripheral region (Para.[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sugimura, Hayakawa and Chen with the above teachings of Moradi in order to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484