DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed 08/25/2023.
Claim(s) 1-8 have been considered.
- Claim(s) 1-8 are pending.
- Claim(s) 1-8 have been rejected as described below.
- This action is NON-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner acknowledges the entry of following Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) document(s) from applicant:
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 08/25/2023 and 02/18/2025 has/have been considered by examiner.
Note, several references from the IDSs have been used by the examiner in this office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that this application claims priority of or makes reference to being a 371 of PCT/JP2021/034472 filed 09/21/2021.
Acknowledgment is also made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) from application no JP2021-039468 filed 03/11/2021. The certified copy has been filed in instant application no 18/278,957 on 08/25/2023.
Specification
The disclosure (Substitute Specification (clean)) filed 08/25/2023 is objected to due to having below minor informalities:
The title of the disclosure is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings (including the “Replacement sheets”) filed 08/25/2023 are acknowledged and accepted by the examiner for examination.
Claim Interpretation – 35. USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are in Claim(s) 1 – a plurality of control devices that respectively controls; integrated control device that outputs; a control device that controls; operation terminal that outputs; integrated control device generates and outputs; specific control device that controls; the integrated control device or the specific control device generates.
Claim(s) 2 – specific control device generates.
Claim(s) 3 – integrated control device generates.
Claim(s) 4 – the operation terminal switches.
Claim(s) 5 – specific control device that controls; the integrated control device or the specific control device generates.
Claim(s) 6 – specific control device generates.
Claim(s) 7 – integrated control device generates.
Claim(s) 8 – output by an operation terminal; the operation terminal switches.
Note, for the term operation terminal that outputs/switches in claims 1, 4, and 8, examples have been provided in applicant specification (Substitute Specification (clean)), 0018 - teaching pendant 400 (operation terminal).
For the term integrated control device that outputs/generates in claims 1, 3, 5, and 7, descriptions have been provided in applicant specification, 0050-54 (along with Fig. 6 and Fig. 1) that describe exemplary hardware configurations of the device.
For the terms control device(s) and specific control device(s) that control(s)/generate(s) in claims 1, 2, 5, and 6, descriptions have been provided in applicant specification, 0060-64 (along with Fig. 7-8 and Fig. 1) that describe exemplary hardware configurations of the device.
Examiner will interpret the claim terms accordingly under broadest reasonable interpretation in light of these examples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an integrated control device that outputs a command for each of the plurality of movement mechanisms to a control device that controls the movement mechanism;" in L4-5. See the portions that are emphasized – the way the claim limitation is written makes the claim language unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical features to which it refers (such as, it’s not clear which structure is doing what function and the relationships necessary for this process), thereby rendering the scope of the subject-matter of said claim unclear.
To promote compact prosecution, examiner will interpret this as to read “an integrated control device that outputs, to the plurality of control devices, commands for the plurality of movement mechanisms;”.
Dependent claims 2-4 are rejected for their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandes (US 20190146435 A1) in view of Tian (US 20130307459 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brandes teaches:
A system comprising:
a plurality of control devices (Fig. 1 - i.e., industrial devices 120; For a specific example, see industrial robots 122 (plurality of movement mechanisms) in Fig. 1 & 0058 that operate by their own internal controllers (i.e., a plurality of control devices) in conjunction with information exchanged with one or more external controllers.) that respectively controls a plurality of movement mechanisms; (Fig. 1, 0055: "Industrial devices 120 may include … output devices …. ... Output devices may include motor drives, pneumatic or hydraulic actuators, signaling devices, robot controllers, valves, and the like,''. Considering robot controllers as exemplary control devices, note from 0058 that such controllers operate the industrial robots (i.e., plurality of movement mechanisms).)
an integrated control device (Fig. 1 - i.e., industrial controller 118) that outputs a command for each of the plurality of movement mechanisms to a control device that controls the movement mechanism; and (See the 112(b) rejection and claim interpretation above. Fig-1, 0054: "Industrial controllers 118 execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems", 0055: "output devices that respond to control signals generated by the industrial controllers 118 to control aspects of the industrial systems" and 0056: "industrial controllers 118 can be equipped with native hardwired inputs and outputs that communicate with the industrial devices 120 to effect control of the devices.” For the example from 0058 - see industrial robots 122, which may operate in accordance with programs executed by their own internal controllers, in conjunction with information exchanged with one or more external controllers (e.g., industrial controllers 118).)
an operation terminal (Fig. 1 - i.e. HMI 114) that outputs a first command for a specific movement mechanism to the integrated control device, the specific movement mechanism being any of the plurality of movement mechanisms, wherein (Fig.1, Fig.3, Fig.6, 0057: "HMIs 114 can also be configured to allow operators to submit data to specified data tags or memory addresses of the industrial controllers 118, thereby providing a means for operators to issue commands to the controlled systems (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), to modify setpoint values, etc. HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems.” 0061: “FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a control command 302 initiated by an operator 306 via HMI 114. … The operator input may be, … a setpoint modification (e.g., a change to a speed, position, or level setpoint), a start or stop command, or other such inputs. In response, HMI 114 relays the operator's command input as an operator instruction 308 to industrial controller 118 via network 116 (e.g., a plant network on which the industrial controller 118 and HMI 114 reside, or a direct connection between the controller 118 and HMI 114).” 0072: “Control outputs 612 can also be initiated in response to operator commands 604 received via an HMI 114 … (e.g., the user controls of a motor drive).” Note, here operator instruction 308 (corresponding to operator input 304) or 604 to industrial controller 118 are exemplary first command(s).)
the integrated control device generates a second command corresponding to the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the first command and outputs the second command to a specific control device that controls the specific movement mechanism, (Fig. 1, Fig. 3. Fig. 6, 0057: “HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems.” 0061: “Provided the operator has permission to issue commands to the industrial devices or equipment, the industrial controller 118 will issue the control command 302 corresponding to the operator input 304 to the appropriate industrial device 120.” 0072: “Control outputs 612 can also be initiated in response to operator commands 604 received via an HMI 114 … (e.g., the user controls of a motor drive).” Note, here control command/output(s) 302 (corresponding to operator input 304 based operator instruction 308) or 612 from industrial controller 118 are exemplary second command(s).)
While Brandes teaches the general concept of command-based motion control/other industrial functions as in “In this example, industrial controllers 118 are deployed throughout an industrial plant environment to monitor and control respective industrial systems or processes relating to product manufacture, machining, motion control, batch processing, material handling, or other such industrial functions. Industrial controllers 118 execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems. The control programs executed by industrial controllers 118 can comprise any conceivable type of code used to process input signals read from the industrial devices 120 and to control output signals generated by the industrial controllers and directed to the industrial devices 120, including but not limited to ladder logic, sequential function charts, function block diagrams, or structured text.” (0054),
Brandes does not explicitly teach:
the integrated control device or the specific control device generates an operation profile on a basis of the second command, the operation profile defining a temporal change in an operation of the specific movement mechanism, and the specific control device controls the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the operation profile.
Tian explicitly teaches:
the integrated control device or the specific control device generates an operation profile on a basis of the second command, the operation profile defining a temporal change in an operation of the specific movement mechanism, and the specific control device controls the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the operation profile. (Fig. 3, 0037: “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302. The motion profile 312 defines a trajectory for transitioning the motion device from a current position or velocity to a target position or velocity, where the trajectory is defined in terms of one or more of a position reference, a velocity reference, an acceleration reference, and/or a jerk reference. In response to receiving motion profile data from master controller 302, motor controller 314 will translate the motion profile 312 into control signaling 316, which is sent to the motion device to effect transitioning of the motion device to the target position or velocity.” 0040: “Once the motion profile 312 for the move is calculated, profile generator 306 provides the motion profile 312 to the motor controller 314, which translates the motion profile 312 into control signaling 316 that instructs the motion device to perform the desired point-to-point move in accordance with the motion profile 312.” 0041: “… profile generator 306 may be an integrated component of motor drive 322.” Note, the motion profile 312 can define the trajectory of the point-to-point move over time, as in 0039.)
Accordingly, as Brandes and Tian are directed to various industrial control devices and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of controlling point-to-point operation such as motions over time according to provided defined/changed motion profile for transitions, as taught by Tian to the command-based motion control/other industrial functions as taught by Brandes because such a combined system/method would have enabled a well-known way of improving the accuracy and efficiency of a point-to-point move by forcing the total profile time to be a multiple of the motion controller's sample time, for example, as evident in Tian, 0011, 0037-41, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 1.
Tian explicitly teaches:
wherein the specific control device generates the operation profile. (As above, Fig. 3, 0037, 0039, and 0041 teach this. Especially see 0037 - “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302.” Especially see 0041 teaches as one of the exemplary embodiments, “… profile generator 306 may be an integrated component of motor drive 322.”)
Motivation to combine the teachings has been dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 3, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 1.
Tian explicitly teaches:
wherein the integrated control device generates the operation profile. (As above, Fig. 3, 0037, 0039-41 teach this. See the profile generator 306 within the master controller 302. Especially see 0037 - “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302.” 0041 teaches, “… For example, in some scenarios, master controller 302 may be a self-contained controller that includes integrated motor control capabilities. In such applications, the controller 302 may itself translate the motion profile 312 into a suitable control signal 316 and send this control signal 316 to the motion device, rather than providing the motion profile 312 to a separate motor drive 322.”)
Motivation to combine the teachings has been dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 5, Brandes teaches:
A method for controlling a plurality of movement mechanisms, (Fig. 1, 0055: "Industrial devices 120 may include … output devices …. ... Output devices may include motor drives, pneumatic or hydraulic actuators, signaling devices, robot controllers, valves, and the like,''. Considering robot controllers as exemplary specific control devices, note from 0058 that such controllers operate the industrial robots (i.e., plurality of movement mechanisms).) the method comprising:
outputting a first command for a specific movement mechanism to an integrated control device (Fig. 1 - i.e., industrial controller 118), the specific movement mechanism being any of the plurality of movement mechanisms; (Besides the example from 0058, see Fig.1, Fig.3, Fig.6, 0057: "HMIs 114 can also be configured to allow operators to submit data to specified data tags or memory addresses of the industrial controllers 118, thereby providing a means for operators to issue commands to the controlled systems (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), to modify setpoint values, etc. HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems.” 0061: “FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a control command 302 initiated by an operator 306 via HMI 114. … The operator input may be, … a setpoint modification (e.g., a change to a speed, position, or level setpoint), a start or stop command, or other such inputs. In response, HMI 114 relays the operator's command input as an operator instruction 308 to industrial controller 118 via network 116 (e.g., a plant network on which the industrial controller 118 and HMI 114 reside, or a direct connection between the controller 118 and HMI 114).” 0072: “Control outputs 612 can also be initiated in response to operator commands 604 received via an HMI 114 … (e.g., the user controls of a motor drive).” Note, here operator instruction 308 (corresponding to operator input 304) or 604 to industrial controller 118 are exemplary first command(s).)
generating a second command corresponding to the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the first command; outputting the second command to a specific control device that controls the specific movement mechanism;(Fig. 1, Fig. 3. Fig. 6, 0057: “HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems.” For the example from 0058 - see industrial robots 122, which may operate in accordance with programs executed by their own internal controllers, in conjunction with information exchanged with one or more external controllers (e.g., industrial controllers 118). 0061: “Provided the operator has permission to issue commands to the industrial devices or equipment, the industrial controller 118 will issue the control command 302 corresponding to the operator input 304 to the appropriate industrial device 120.” 0072: “Control outputs 612 can also be initiated in response to operator commands 604 received via an HMI 114 … (e.g., the user controls of a motor drive).” Note, here control command/output(s) 302 (corresponding to operator input 304 based operator instruction 308) or 612 from industrial controller 118 are exemplary second command(s).)
While Brandes teaches the general concept of command-based motion control/other industrial functions as in “In this example, industrial controllers 118 are deployed throughout an industrial plant environment to monitor and control respective industrial systems or processes relating to product manufacture, machining, motion control, batch processing, material handling, or other such industrial functions. Industrial controllers 118 execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems. The control programs executed by industrial controllers 118 can comprise any conceivable type of code used to process input signals read from the industrial devices 120 and to control output signals generated by the industrial controllers and directed to the industrial devices 120, including but not limited to ladder logic, sequential function charts, function block diagrams, or structured text.” (0054),
Brandes does not explicitly teach:
generating an operation profile on a basis of the second command, the operation profile defining a temporal change in an operation of the specific movement mechanism; and controlling the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the operation profile, wherein the integrated control device or the specific control device generates the operation profile.
Tian explicitly teaches:
generating an operation profile on a basis of the second command, the operation profile defining a temporal change in an operation of the specific movement mechanism; and the specific movement mechanism on a basis of the operation profile, wherein the integrated control device or the specific control device generates the operation profile. (Fig. 3, 0037: “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302. The motion profile 312 defines a trajectory for transitioning the motion device from a current position or velocity to a target position or velocity, where the trajectory is defined in terms of one or more of a position reference, a velocity reference, an acceleration reference, and/or a jerk reference. In response to receiving motion profile data from master controller 302, motor controller 314 will translate the motion profile 312 into control signaling 316, which is sent to the motion device to effect transitioning of the motion device to the target position or velocity.” 0040: “Once the motion profile 312 for the move is calculated, profile generator 306 provides the motion profile 312 to the motor controller 314, which translates the motion profile 312 into control signaling 316 that instructs the motion device to perform the desired point-to-point move in accordance with the motion profile 312.” 0041: “… profile generator 306 may be an integrated component of motor drive 322.” Note, the motion profile 312 can define the trajectory of the point-to-point move over time, as in 0039.)
Accordingly, as Brandes and Tian are directed to various industrial control devices and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of controlling point-to-point operation such as motions over time according to provided defined/changed motion profile for transitions, as taught by Tian to the command-based motion control/other industrial functions as taught by Brandes because such a combined system/method would have enabled a well-known way of improving the accuracy and efficiency of a point-to-point move by forcing the total profile time to be a multiple of the motion controller's sample time, for example, as evident in Tian, 0011, 0037-41, etc.
Regarding claim 6, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 5.
Tian explicitly teaches:
wherein the specific control device generates the operation profile. (As above, Fig. 3, 0037, 0039, and 0041 teach this. Especially see 0037 - “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302.” Especially see 0041 teaches as one of the exemplary embodiments, “… profile generator 306 may be an integrated component of motor drive 322.”)
Motivation to combine the teachings has been dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 7, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 5.
Tian explicitly teaches:
wherein the integrated control device generates the operation profile. (As above, Fig. 3, 0037, 0039-41 teach this. See the profile generator 306 within the master controller 302. Especially see 0037 - “Exemplary motion control system 300 also comprises a motor drive 322, which includes a motion controller 314 for controlling a motion device (e.g., a motor, not shown) in accordance with a motion profile 312 provided by master controller 302.” 0041 teaches, “… For example, in some scenarios, master controller 302 may be a self-contained controller that includes integrated motor control capabilities. In such applications, the controller 302 may itself translate the motion profile 312 into a suitable control signal 316 and send this control signal 316 to the motion device, rather than providing the motion profile 312 to a separate motor drive 322.”)
Motivation to combine the teachings has been dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandes (US 20190146435 A1) in view of Tian (US 20130307459 A1) in further view of Alexander (US 20020068984 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 1.
While Brandes (and Tian combined) implicitly teach plurality types of movement mechanisms controlled based on commands from associated screens (Brandes, 0144 – “In an example scenario, the industrial control device may be configured to monitor and/or control a set of industrial input and output devices (e.g., valves, pumps, meters, pneumatic actuation devices, etc.) and the equipment grouping configuration data can specify a subset of the industrial devices to be included in an equipment group; e.g., based on the fact that the subset of the industrial devices work in collaboration to perform a common operation of a controlled industrial process. The equipment grouping configuration data can also define hierarchical levels of the subset of industrial devices comprising the group based on functional relationships between the industrial devices.” 0057 – “HMIs 114 can also be configured to allow operators to submit data to specified data tags or memory addresses of the industrial controllers 118, thereby providing a means for operators to issue commands to the controlled systems (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), to modify setpoint values, etc. HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems. Example display screens can visualize present states of industrial systems or their associated devices using graphical representations of the processes that display … relevant data to the operator.”),
Brandes and Tian do not explicitly teach the switching aspect as in the following limitation:
[wherein the plurality of movement mechanisms includes a first type of movement mechanism and a second type of movement mechanism, and the operation terminal] switches GUIs (Graphical User Interfaces) in accordance with a type of movement mechanism that is an operation target, the GUIs being each for setting a parameter of the movement mechanism that is the operation target.
Alexander explicitly teaches:
[wherein the plurality of movement mechanisms includes a first type of movement mechanism and a second type of movement mechanism, and the operation terminal] switches GUIs (Graphical User Interfaces) in accordance with a type of movement mechanism that is an operation target, the GUIs being each for setting a parameter of the movement mechanism that is the operation target. (Fig.6, Fig.7, 0044: "… the user can choose a device from a list of available devices to be manipulated and choose control instructions to manipulate the selected device." and "the user communicates various selections, such as a particular device for manipulation or device control requests, by using the input devices (e.g., a mouse) to select portions of a graphical template relating to their desired action. For instance, to control the pan, tilt, zoom ("PTZ”) of an image capture device, a user can manipulate a graphical image of a compass rose." and also see claim 1). See also the “toggle” feature for the user in 0045, 0050 etc.)
Accordingly, as Brandes, Tian and Alexander are directed to various industrial control devices and related technology including displays, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of user being able to choose a device among many devices and manipulate that device from the associated graphical template, as taught by Alexander to the command-based motion control/other industrial functions which includes controlling point-to-point operation such as motions over time according to provided defined/changed motion profile for transitions as taught by Brandes and Tian because such a combined system/method would have enabled a well-known way of implementing common user interface for supporting different hardware device protocols in a network, as evident in Alexander, 0007-08, 0044-45, 0050, etc.
Regarding claim 8, Brandes and Tian teach all the elements of claim 5.
Brandes further teaches:
… the first command is output by an operation terminal, … (Fig.1, Fig.3, Fig.6, 0057: "HMIs 114 can also be configured to allow operators to submit data to specified data tags or memory addresses of the industrial controllers 118, thereby providing a means for operators to issue commands to the controlled systems (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), to modify setpoint values, etc. HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems.” 0061: “FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a control command 302 initiated by an operator 306 via HMI 114. … The operator input may be, … a setpoint modification (e.g., a change to a speed, position, or level setpoint), a start or stop command, or other such inputs. In response, HMI 114 relays the operator's command input as an operator instruction 308 to industrial controller 118 via network 116 (e.g., a plant network on which the industrial controller 118 and HMI 114 reside, or a direct connection between the controller 118 and HMI 114).” 0072: “Control outputs 612 can also be initiated in response to operator commands 604 received via an HMI 114 … (e.g., the user controls of a motor drive).” Note, here operator instruction 308 (corresponding to operator input 304) or 604 to industrial controller 118 are exemplary first command(s).)
While Brandes (and Tian combined) implicitly teach plurality types of movement mechanisms controlled based on commands from associated screens (Brandes, 0144 – “In an example scenario, the industrial control device may be configured to monitor and/or control a set of industrial input and output devices (e.g., valves, pumps, meters, pneumatic actuation devices, etc.) and the equipment grouping configuration data can specify a subset of the industrial devices to be included in an equipment group; e.g., based on the fact that the subset of the industrial devices work in collaboration to perform a common operation of a controlled industrial process. The equipment grouping configuration data can also define hierarchical levels of the subset of industrial devices comprising the group based on functional relationships between the industrial devices.” 0057 – “HMIs 114 can also be configured to allow operators to submit data to specified data tags or memory addresses of the industrial controllers 118, thereby providing a means for operators to issue commands to the controlled systems (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), to modify setpoint values, etc. HMIs 114 can generate one or more display screens through which the operator interacts with the industrial controllers 118, and thereby with the controlled processes and/or systems. Example display screens can visualize present states of industrial systems or their associated devices using graphical representations of the processes that display … relevant data to the operator.”),
Brandes and Tian do not explicitly teach the switching aspect as in the following limitation:
[wherein the plurality of movement mechanisms includes a first type of movement mechanism and a second type of movement mechanism, … and the operation terminal] switches GUIs (Graphical User Interfaces) in accordance with a type of movement mechanism that is an operation target, the GUIs being each for setting a parameter of the movement mechanism that is the operation target.
Alexander explicitly teaches:
[wherein the plurality of movement mechanisms includes a first type of movement mechanism and a second type of movement mechanism, … and the operation terminal] switches GUIs (Graphical User Interfaces) in accordance with a type of movement mechanism that is an operation target, the GUIs being each for setting a parameter of the movement mechanism that is the operation target. (Fig.6, Fig.7, 0044: "… the user can choose a device from a list of available devices to be manipulated and choose control instructions to manipulate the selected device." and "the user communicates various selections, such as a particular device for manipulation or device control requests, by using the input devices (e.g., a mouse) to select portions of a graphical template relating to their desired action. For instance, to control the pan, tilt, zoom ("PTZ”) of an image capture device, a user can manipulate a graphical image of a compass rose." and also see claim 1). See also the “toggle” feature for the user in 0045, 0050 etc.)
Accordingly, as Brandes, Tian and Alexander are directed to various industrial control devices and related technology including displays, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of user being able to choose a device among many devices and manipulate that device from the associated graphical template, as taught by Alexander to the command-based motion control/other industrial functions which includes controlling point-to-point operation such as motions over time according to provided defined/changed motion profile for transitions as taught by Brandes and Tian because such a combined system/method would have enabled a well-known way of implementing common user interface for supporting different hardware device protocols in a network, as evident in Alexander, 0007-08, 0044-45, 0050, etc.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009,158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Pertinent Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Di Cairano et al. (US 20160288256 A1) relates to an operation of a processing machine with redundant actuators that is controlled according to a reference trajectory by selecting, from a set of points forming a segment of the reference trajectory to be processed for a period of time, a subset of points corresponding to a fraction of the period of time. The subset of points is selected such that the redundant actuators are capable to position the worktool at each point in the subset within the period of time and are capable to maintain the worktool at the last point of the subset after the period of time while satisfying constraints on motion of the redundant actuators. The segment of the reference trajectory is modified in the time domain and the control inputs for controlling the motion of the redundant actuators are determined using the modified segment of the reference trajectory. … One of the embodiments discloses a processing machine including redundant actuators for jointly positioning a worktool along each axis of motion, the redundant actuators include a fast actuator and a slow actuator, wherein a range of motion of the slow actuator is greater than a range of motion of the fast actuator, and wherein acceleration and velocity constraints of the fast actuator are greater than acceleration and velocity constraints of the slow actuator; a trajectory generator for determining spatial and time domains of a reference trajectory for positioning the worktool according to a processing pattern only with motion of an actuator having acceleration and velocity constraints of the fast actuator and unlimited range of the motion; a reference governor for modifying sequentially segments of the reference trajectory, such that the slow actuator is capable to process the modified segment of the reference trajectory within a period of time and is capable to maintain a position of the worktool around a point in the modified segment of the reference trajectory within the range of motion of the fast actuator for any time after the period of time; a predictive controller for determining a motion profile of the slow actuator for processing the modified segment within the period of time with an accuracy defined by the range of motion of the fast actuator; and a filter for determining a motion profile of the fast actuator based on a difference between the modified reference trajectory and the motion profile for the slow actuator.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARZIA T MONTY whose telephone number is (571)272-5441. The examiner can normally be reached on T-F: 11am -5pm (approximately). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARZIA T MONTY/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117