DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on July 1st 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on April 25th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haziza et al. (US 20190296429A1) in view of Ting et al. (US 11095028B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Haziza et al. discloses a patch antenna comprising (Patch antenna structure as seen in figure 3b of Haziza):
a microstrip line on which a signal is transmitted(Delay line 315 which may be a microstrip line is fed the signal from the feeding patch which it in turn transmits; Paragraph 2, 38-41 and 46 as well as figure 3b of Haziza), provided on liquid crystal and extending in a first direction (Delay line 315 is provided on a Variable dielectric plate which comprises a liquid crystal layer 344 and binders 342 and 346 wherein the binder layers may be omitted such that the delay line rests on the crystal layer and it extends in first direction now labeled d1; Paragraph 38 and annotated figure 3a and 3b of Haziza et al.)
a dielectric provided on the microstrip line (Dielectric spacer may be proved on top of the microstrip line; Paragraph 37 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.);
a patch antenna element provided on the dielectric (Patch radiator 310 may be proved over the dielectric layer; Paragraph 37 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.), that obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal (Patch can be configured to obtain rf signals from the delay line 15 in a contactless form, serving as electromagnetic bonding, and transmit said signals; Paragraph 49 and figure 8 of Haziza et al.); and
at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (Software is processed by the controller which is serves as a computer wherein the software contains instructions on how to change the permittivity of the crystal and this the memory storing is inherent to the controller; Paragraph 40-41 and figure 3b of Haziza);
to change permittivity of the liquid crystal based on a voltage applied to the liquid crystal (Software being used by the controller allows it to change the permittivity of the liquid crystal by controlling the voltage applied; Paragraph 40-41 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.).
Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose the changing the permittivity to match an input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency.
However, Ting et al. does disclose changing the permittivity to match an input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency (Frequency tunable antenna 1001 can include a liquid crystal layer wherein the permittivity changed by the voltage can help form a variable capacitance such that the input impedance of the patch antenna can be matched to a frequency that can be determined; Paragraph 14 and 16 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include changing the permittivity of the liquid crystal to match an input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Haziza et al. does disclose the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (Controller serves as a processor and is configured to execute instructions in the form of software; Paragraph 40-41 of Haziza et al.).
Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose instructions to determine that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency.
However, Ting et al. does disclose instructions to determine that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency (Antenna 1001 has the means to have input impedance of the patch antenna be matched wherein the antenna changes the impedance as the frequency changes thus determine a impedance value for each determined frequency; Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include instructions to determine that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Haziza et al. further discloses
a negative electrode provided in contact with a lower face of the liquid crystal (Common signal is applied to a ground plane 355 which is contact with the lower binder of the liquid crystal and would be in direct contact if the binder 346 was omitted and ground plane 355 may serve as negative electrode here; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.); and
a positive electrode provided to be connected to the microstrip line (Electrode 343, which would connect to the microstrip line if binder 342 was omitted, would serve as a positive electrode wherein control signal is applied; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.) wherein
the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to use the positive electrode and the negative electrode to apply the voltage to the liquid crystal (Electrodes are formed such as to apply a voltage to the liquid crystal to change its dielectric constant with this task being performed by the processor; Paragraph 40-41 of and figure 3b-3c of Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Haziza et al .further discloses wherein a meandering transmission line or a spiral transmission line is used instead of the microstrip line (Delay line 15 may be a meandering conductive line and can take any shape as needed; Paragraph 37 and figure 3a Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Haziza et al. further discloses the meandering transmission line is at least one, or the number of the spiral transmission line is at least one (There can be multiple delay lines in this structure and each delay line can have a meandering shape or any other shape as needed like a spiral; Paragraph 37 and figure 2-3a of Haziza).
Regarding Claim 6, Haziza et al. fails to disclose a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction ; and
a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction, wherein
a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction.
However, Ting et al. does disclose a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction (Ground electrode 43-3 serves as a first grounding line and is placed in a second direction, next to microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2, and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.) ; and
a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction(Ground electrode 43-4 serves as a second grounding line and is placed in a opposite second direction of microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2 and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.), wherein
a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction (The lengths of the 43-3 and 43-4 are smaller than the length of feeding portion 43-3 in the first direction; Figure 4a of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction ; and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction, wherein a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction as taught by Ting et al. such that the liquid crystal may be disposed in the gaps in between to realize the functions of a variable to match impedance (Paragraph 14 and 51 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Haziza et al. fails to disclose wherein a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length.
However Ting et al. does disclose a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length (Ground electrodes 43-3 and 43-4 would have to be set to a certain length that would be pre-determined such that the coil antenna 43-1 can still function and ground electrodes can be coupled to the ends but not with its main portion; Paragraph 41 and figure 4b of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to have a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length.as taught by Ting et al. such that the liquid crystal may be disposed in the gaps in between to realize the functions of a variable capacitor to match impedance and so the antenna may be coupled to the lines (Paragraph 41 and 51 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Haziza et al. discloses a method for controlling input impedance of a patch antenna comprising (Patch antenna structure and its method of manufacturing as well as controlling through a program; Paragraph 7 and 41 as well figure 3b of Haziza et al.):
a microstrip line on which a signal is transmitted (Delay line 315 which may be a microstrip line is fed the signal from the feeding patch which it in turn transmits; Paragraph 2, 38-41 and 46 as well as figure 3b of Haziza et al.), provided on liquid crystal and extending in a first direction(Delay line 315 is provided on a Variable dielectric plate which comprises a liquid crystal layer 344 and binders 342 and 346 wherein the binder layers may be omitted such that the delay line rests on the crystal layer and it extends in first direction now labeled d1; Paragraph 38 and annotated figure 3a and 3b of Haziza et al.);
a dielectric provided on the microstrip line (Dielectric spacer may be proved on top of the microstrip line; Paragraph 37 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.); and
a patch antenna element that obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal (Patch 310 can be configured to obtain rf signals from the delay line 15 in a contactless form, serving as electromagnetic bonding, and transmit said signals; Paragraph 37 and 49 as well as figure 3b and 8 of Haziza),
the method comprising: changing permittivity of the liquid crystal based on a voltage applied to the liquid crystal (Method in the form of a Software being used by the controller allows it to change the permittivity of the liquid crystal by controlling the voltage applied; Paragraph 40-41 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.).;
Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal.
However, Ting et al. does disclose matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal (Frequency tunable antenna 1001 can include a liquid crystal layer wherein the permittivity changed by the voltage can help form a variable capacitance such that the input impedance of the patch antenna can be matched to a frequency that can be determined; Paragraph 14 and 16 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Haziza et al. discloses a program for controlling input impedance of a patch antenna including (Patch antenna structure and its method of manufacturing as well as controlling through a program in the form of software; Paragraph 7 and 41 as well figure 3b of Haziza et al.):
a microstrip line on which a signal is transmitted, provided on liquid crystal and extending in a first direction(Delay line 315 which may be a microstrip line is fed the signal from the feeding patch which it in turn transmits; Paragraph 2, 38-41 and 46 as well as figure 3b of Haziza et al.);
a dielectric provided on the microstrip line(Dielectric spacer may be proved on top of the microstrip line; Paragraph 37 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.); and
a patch antenna element that obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal (Patch 310 can be configured to obtain rf signals from the delay line 15 in a contactless form, serving as electromagnetic bonding, and transmit said signals; Paragraph 37 and 49 as well as figure 3b and 8 of Haziza et al.),
the program causing a computer to carry out: changing permittivity of the liquid crystal based on a voltage applied to the liquid crystal (Software, includes programming to allow voltage control, being used by the controller, controller using software serves as a computer system, allows it to change the permittivity of the liquid crystal by controlling the voltage applied; Paragraph 40-41 and figure 3b of Haziza et al.);
Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal.
However, Ting et al. does disclose matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal (Frequency tunable antenna 1001 can include a liquid crystal layer wherein the permittivity changed by the voltage can help form a variable capacitance such that the input impedance of the patch antenna can be matched to a frequency that can be determined; Paragraph 14 and 16 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include matching input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency by changing permittivity of the liquid crystal as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency.
However, Ting et al. does disclose determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency. (Antenna 1001 has the means to have input impedance of the patch antenna be matched wherein the antenna changes the impedance as the frequency changes thus determine a impedance value for each determined frequency; Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency. as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Haziza et al. further discloses using a positive electrode and a negative electrode to apply the voltage to the liquid crystal (Electrodes are formed such as to apply a voltage to the liquid crystal to change its dielectric constant with this task being performed by the processor; Paragraph 40-41 of and figure 3b-3c of Haziza et al.), wherein the negative electrode provided in contact with a lower face of the liquid crystal (Common signal is applied to a ground plane 355 which is contact with the lower binder of the liquid crystal and would be in direct contact if the binder 346 was omitted and ground plane 355 may serve as negative electrode here; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.); and the positive electrode provided to be connected to the microstrip line (Electrode 343, which would connect to the microstrip line if binder 342 was omitted, would serve as a positive electrode wherein control signal is applied; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Haziza et al. further discloses wherein a meandering transmission line, or a spiral transmission line is used instead of the microstrip line (Delay line 15 may be a meandering conductive line and can take any shape as needed; Paragraph 37 and figure 3a Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Haziza et al. further discloses the meandering transmission line is at least one, or the number of the spiral transmission line is at least one (There can be multiple delay lines in this structure and each delay line can have a meandering shape or any other shape as needed like a spiral; Paragraph 37 and figure 2-3a of Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Haziza et al. fails to disclose wherein a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction; and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction.
However, Ting et al. does disclose a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction (The lengths of the 43-3 and 43-4 are smaller than the length of feeding portion 43-3 in the first direction; Figure 4a of Ting et al.), wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction (Ground electrode 43-3 serves as a first grounding line and is placed in a second direction, next to microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2, and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.); and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction(Ground electrode 43-4 serves as a second grounding line and is placed in a opposite second direction of microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2 and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction; and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction as taught by Ting et al. such that the liquid crystal may be disposed in the gaps in between to realize the functions of a variable capacitor to match impedance (Paragraph 14 and 51 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Haziza et al. fails to disclose wherein a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length.
However Ting et al. does disclose a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length (Ground electrodes 43-3 and 43-4 would have to be set to a certain length that would be pre-determined such that the coil antenna 43-1 can still function and ground electrodes can be coupled to the ends but not with its main portion; Paragraph 41 and figure 4b of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to have a difference between the length of the first grounding line in the first direction and the length of the second grounding line in the first direction is no greater than a predetermined length.as taught by Ting et al. such that the liquid crystal may be disposed in the gaps in between to realize the functions of a variable capacitor to match impedance and so the antenna may be coupled to the lines (Paragraph 41 and 51 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Haziza et al. fails to explicitly disclose determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency.
However, Ting et al. does disclose determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency. (Antenna 1001 has the means to have input impedance of the patch antenna be matched wherein the antenna changes the impedance as the frequency changes thus determine a impedance value for each determined frequency; Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include determining that the input impedance is matched when the input impedance of the patch antenna is within the predetermined impedance range at the predetermined frequency. as taught by Ting et al. in order to transmit and receive signals smoothly (Paragraph 14 of Ting et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Haziza et al. further discloses using a positive electrode and a negative electrode to apply the voltage to the liquid crystal (Electrodes are formed such as to apply a voltage to the liquid crystal to change its dielectric constant with this task being performed by the processor; Paragraph 40-41 of and figure 3b-3c of Haziza et al.), wherein the negative electrode provided in contact with a lower face of the liquid crystal (Common signal is applied to a ground plane 355 which is contact with the lower binder of the liquid crystal and would be in direct contact if the binder 346 was omitted and ground plane 355 may serve as negative electrode here; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.); and the positive electrode provided to be connected to the microstrip line (Electrode 343, which would connect to the microstrip line if binder 342 was omitted, would serve as a positive electrode wherein control signal is applied; Paragraph 38-40 and figure 3c of Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Haziza et al. further discloses wherein a meandering transmission line or a spiral transmission line is used instead of the microstrip line (Delay line 15 may be a meandering conductive line and can take any shape as needed; Paragraph 37 and figure 3a Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 19, Haziza et al. further discloses the meandering transmission line is at least one, or the number of the spiral transmission line is at least one (There can be multiple delay lines in this structure and each delay line can have a meandering shape or any other shape as needed like a spiral; Paragraph 37 and figure 2-3a of Haziza et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Haziza et al. fails to disclose wherein a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction; and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction.
However, Ting et al. does disclose a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction (The lengths of the 43-3 and 43-4 are smaller than the length of feeding portion 43-3 in the first direction; Figure 4a of Ting et al.), wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction (Ground electrode 43-3 serves as a first grounding line and is placed in a second direction, next to microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2, and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.); and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction(Ground electrode 43-4 serves as a second grounding line and is placed in a opposite second direction of microstrip linear feeding portion 43-2 and extends in a first direction; Paragraph 43 and figure 4a of Ting et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught Haziza et al. to include a length of the first grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction, and a length of the second grounding line in the first direction is smaller than a length of the microstrip line in the first direction wherein a first grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a second direction intersecting the first direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction; and a second grounding line provided on the liquid crystal in a direction opposite to the second direction of the microstrip line, and extending in the first direction as taught by Ting et al. such that the liquid crystal may be disposed in the gaps in between to realize the functions of a variable capacitor to match impedance (Paragraph 14 and 51 of Ting et al.).
Response to Arguments
“Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections of independent claims 1, 8, and 9.
In the rejection of claim 1, the Examiner cites the combination of Haziza and Ting as allegedly teaching the features of claim 1. However, Haziza, at para. [0037], merely describes "[a] top dielectric spacer 305 is generally in the form of a dielectric plate or a dielectric sheet, ... ,thereby causing the desired phase shift in the RF signal." Furthermore, Ting, at p4, lines 40 – 9 and p5, merely describes "a frequency tunable antenna, ... ,so as to better control the alignment of the liquid crystals."
Haziza and Ting do not disclose a configuration according to an embodiment of claim 1 in which a liquid crystal, a microstrip line, a dielectric, and a patch antenna element are arranged, and the patch antenna element receives a signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding, and matches the input impedance by changing the permittivity of the liquid crystal." Thus, Haziza and Ting, alone and in combination, do not disclose "a microstrip line on which a signal is transmitted, provided on liquid crystal and extending in a first direction; a dielectric provided on the microstrip line; a patch antenna element provided on the dielectric, that obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal; and at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to; change permittivity of the liquid crystal based on a voltage applied to the liquid crystal to match an input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency." “
Applicant's arguments in regards to claim 1 filed on July 1st 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Haziza and Ting fail to disclose "a microstrip line on which a signal is transmitted, provided on liquid crystal and extending in a first direction; a dielectric provided on the microstrip line; a patch antenna element provided on the dielectric, that obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal; and at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to; change permittivity of the liquid crystal based on a voltage applied to the liquid crystal to match an input impedance of the patch antenna at a predetermined frequency."
Paragraph 37-42 of Haziza discloses a delay line 325 serving as a microstrip line that generates a desired delay to cause a desired phase shift in the RF signal wherein the delay in the delay line is controlled by the VDC plate (Liquid crystal layer) whose permittivity can be changed based on a voltage applied to the plate. Haziza further discloses a patch antenna, a dielectric, a memory storing instructions, a processor, and a patch antenna obtains the signal from the microstrip line through electromagnetic bonding and transmits the signal.
Paragraphs 14-16 of Ting disclose a liquid crystal layer having a voltage applied to it that changes a permittivity of the layer and thus induces a variable capacitance that helps match the input impedance of a patch antenna at a predetermined frequency of operation.
Therefore, by giving claim 1 the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) we see that Haziza and Ting do disclose the limitations as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150380789 A1 (JAKOBY; Rolf et al.) relates to a configuration of a device that includes a patch antenna with a variable liquid crystal layer and positive and negative electrodes to alter the permittivity.
US 20220013902 A1 (Bueno-Baques; Dario et al.) relates to a configuration of an antenna device with a variable liquid layer and a program to control its permittivity as well as help with impedance matching of the antenna structures.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845