DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180145196 A1, Ha et al. (hereinafter “Ha”) in view of KR 20130079759 A, Ryu et al. (hereinafter “Ryu”).
Regarding claim 1
Ha teaches a solar cell (100) [Fig. 1 and para. 0021] comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (110) [Fig. 1 and para. 0021];
a first semiconductor layer (corresponding to first passivation layer 52 comprising i-a-si) provided on one surface of the semiconductor substrate (110) [Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0034];
a second semiconductor layer (corresponding to first conductive area 20) provided on one surface of the first semiconductor layer (52) [Fig. 1, paras. 0036 and 0040-0042];
a first transparent conductive layer (corresponding to transparent electrode layer 421) provided on one surface of the second semiconductor layer (20) [Fig. 1, para. 0054]; and
a first electrode (corresponding to first metal electrode layer 422) provided on one surface of the first transparent conductive layer (421) [Fig. 1 and para. 0054], wherein the second semiconductor layer (20) comprises a p-type semiconductor material [paras. 0040-0042].
Ha, Fig. 1
Ha does not teach a third semiconductor layer provided on one surface of the second semiconductor layer comprises a p-type semiconductor material including tungsten (W).
Ryu teaches a solar cell wherein a WO3 semiconductor layer (130) is formed on a surface of a p-type amorphous silicon semiconductor layer (141) in order to reduce the recombination at the interface between said p-type amorphous silicon semiconductor layer (141) and a transparent conductive layer (120), thereby increasing the efficiency of the cell [Fig. 3 and Pages 3-4].
Ha and Ryu are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the solar cell of Ha to comprise a third semiconductor layer provided on one surface of the second semiconductor layer comprises a p-type semiconductor material including tungsten (W), as in Ryu, in order to reduce the recombination at the interface between the second semiconductor layer and the first transparent conductive layer, thereby increasing the efficiency of the cell.
Regarding claim 2
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein a bandgap of the third semiconductor layer is less than a bandgap of the second semiconductor layer, and a valence band maximum energy level of the third semiconductor layer is lower than a valence band maximum energy level of the second semiconductor layer (the optical bandgap of the buffer layer 130 including WO3 is wider than that of amorphous silicon) [Ryu, page 4].
Further, because the composition of the second and third semiconductor layers in modified Ha is the same as the ones disclosed in the instant specification (p-type a-Si and WO3) [see paras. 0048-0049 of the instant published specification], the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
The court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 3
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the first transparent conductive layer (421) is formed of a transparent oxide film including indium [Ha, para. 0057].
Regarding claim 4
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the first semiconductor layer (52) is formed of an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer [Ha, Fig. 1, para. 0034].
Regarding claim 5
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, further comprising:
a fourth semiconductor layer (corresponding to second passivation layer 54 comprising i-a-si) provided on the other surface of the semiconductor substrate (110) [Ha, Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0034];
a fifth semiconductor layer (corresponding to second conductive area 30) provided on a surface of the fourth semiconductor layer (54) [Ha, Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0049];
a second transparent conductive layer (corresponding to second transparent electrode layer 441) provided on a surface of the fifth semiconductor layer (30) [Ha, Fig. 1 and para. 0063]; and
a second electrode (corresponding to second metal electrode layer 442) provided on a surface of the second transparent conductive layer (441) [Ha, Fig. 1 and para. 0063], wherein the fifth semiconductor layer comprises an n-type semiconductor material including tin (Sn) [Ha, paras. 0042 and 0049].
Regarding claim 11
Ha teaches a method of manufacturing a solar cell (100) [Fig. 1 and para. 0021] comprising:
a process of forming a first semiconductor layer (corresponding to first passivation layer 52 comprising i-a-si) on one surface of a semiconductor substrate (110) [Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0034];
a process of forming a second semiconductor layer (corresponding to first conductive area 20) on one surface of the first semiconductor layer (52) [Fig. 1, paras. 0036 and 0040-0042];
a process of forming a first transparent conductive layer (corresponding to transparent electrode layer 421) on one surface of the second semiconductor layer (20) [Fig. 1, para. 0054]; and
a process of forming a first electrode (corresponding to first metal electrode layer 422) on one surface of the first transparent conductive layer (421) [Fig. 1 and para. 0054], wherein the second semiconductor layer (20) comprises a p-type semiconductor material [paras. 0040-0042].
Ha does not teach the method comprising a process of forming a third semiconductor layer on one surface of the second semiconductor layer, wherein the process of forming the third semiconductor layer comprises a process of forming a p-type semiconductor material including tungsten (W), and the process of forming the third semiconductor layer and the process of forming the first transparent conductive layer comprise a continuous process performed in the same process equipment.
Ryu teaches a method of manufacturing a solar cell comprising a process of forming p-type WO3 semiconductor layer (130) on a surface of a p-type amorphous silicon semiconductor layer (141), wherein the process of forming the third semiconductor layer (WO3 buffer layer 130) and the process of forming the first transparent conductive layer (421) comprise a continuous process performed in the same process equipment (the first electrode 120 and the buffer layer 130 are sequentially deposited) [Ryu, page 5].
The p-type WO3 semiconductor layer of Ryu reduces the recombination at the interface between the p-type amorphous silicon semiconductor layer (141) and a transparent conductive layer (120), thereby increasing the efficiency of the cell [Fig. 3 and Pages 3-4].
Ha and Ryu are analogous inventions in the field of methods for manufacturing solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Ha to comprise a process of forming a third semiconductor layer on one surface of the second semiconductor layer comprises a p-type semiconductor material including tungsten (W), as in Ryu, in order to reduce the recombination at the interface between the second semiconductor layer and the first transparent conductive layer, thereby increasing the efficiency of the cell.
Regarding claim 12
Modified Ha teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the process of forming the first transparent conductive layer (421) comprises a process of forming a transparent oxide film including indium [Ha, para. 0057].
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Ryu, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11-12 above, and further in view of KR 101867969 B1, Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6
All the limitations of claim 1 has been set forth above.
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the fourth semiconductor layer (54) is formed of an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer [Ha, para. 0034].
Modified Ha does not teach an n-type amorphous silicon layer provided between the fourth semiconductor layer (54) and the fifth semiconductor layer (30).
Lee teaches a solar cell wherein an n-type amorphous silicon layer (140B) is provided between an n-type metal oxide film (140A) and an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (120) [Fig. 1, paras. 0051, 0087, 0094, 0096-0099 and 0102].
By providing a further n-type layer (140B) on the n-type metal oxide semiconductor layer (140A), the Fermi levels of the semiconductor substrate and the n-type metal oxide semiconductor (140A) are aligned and bonded such that they can have the same value, and electrons in the conduction band within the semiconductor substrate can easily move to the conduction band of the upper film (140A) by passing through the front passivation film (120) [para. 0106].
Modified Ha and Lee are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the solar cell of modified Ha to comprise an n-type amorphous silicon layer provided between the fourth semiconductor layer and the fifth semiconductor layer, as in Lee, in order to align the Fermi levels of the semiconductor substrate and the fifth semiconductor layer so that electrodes in the conduction band within the semiconductor substrate can easily move to the conduction band of the upper film by passing through the fourth semiconductor layer.
Regarding the limitation “a bandgap of the fifth semiconductor layer is greater than a bandgap of the n-type amorphous silicon layer, and a conduction band minimum energy level of the fifth semiconductor layer is higher than a conduction band minimum energy level of the n-type amorphous silicon layer”, because the structure of the prior art is the same as the one claimed, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 16
All the limitations of claim 11 have been set forth above.
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell and method of making thereof, as set forth above, wherein the fourth semiconductor layer (54) is formed of an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer [Ha, para. 0034].
Modified Ha does not teach an n-type amorphous silicon layer provided between the fourth semiconductor layer (54) and the fifth semiconductor layer (30).
Lee teaches a solar cell wherein an n-type amorphous silicon layer (140B) is provided between an n-type metal oxide film (140A) and an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (120) [Fig. 1, paras. 0051, 0087, 0094, 0096-0099 and 0102].
Lee teaches the process of forming said n-type amorphous silicon layer (140B) performed between the process of forming the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (120; corresponds to the claimed fourth semiconductor layer) and the process of forming the n-type metal oxide film (140A; corresponds to the fifth semiconductor layer) [para. 0092], wherein the process of forming the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (120) and the process of forming the n-type amorphous silicon layer (140B) comprise a continuous process performed in the same process equipment [para. 0093].
Modified Ha and Lee are analogous inventions in the field of methods for manufacturing solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of modified Ha to comprise a process of forming an n-type amorphous silicon layer provided between the fourth semiconductor layer and the fifth semiconductor layer, as in Lee, in order to align the Fermi levels of the semiconductor substrate and the fifth semiconductor layer so that electrodes in the conduction band within the semiconductor substrate can easily move to the conduction band of the upper film by passing through the fourth semiconductor layer.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Ryu, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11-12 above, and further in view of CN 215771168 U, RUIHUI.
Regarding claim 7
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein a thickness of the fifth semiconductor layer (30) is formed within a range of 10 A to 100 A (5 nm to 15 nm; 50-150 A; 1nm = 10A) [Ha, para. 0052]. Modified Ha is silent to a thickness of the second transparent conductive layer (441) within a range of 100 A to 500 A.
Ruihui teaches a solar cell wherein a suitable thickness for second transparent conductive layer (201) comprising indium is in the range of 40 nm to 75 nm (400 A – 750 A) [Pages 2 and 6].
Ruihui and modified Ha are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second transparent conductive layer of modified Ha to be within a range of 100 A to 500 A, as in Ruihui, as such is a suitable workable range known in the prior art for bottom/second transparent conductive oxide layers.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 8-9
Modified Ha teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the first and second transparent conductive layers are formed of a transparent oxide film including indium [Ha, paras. 0057 and 0063].
Modified Ha does not teach a concentration of indium in the transparent oxide film is within a range of 1 at% to 5 at%. Modified Ha is also silent to a content of indium included in the first transparent conductive layer higher than a content of indium included in the second transparent conductive layer.
Ruihui teaches a solar cell wherein the amount of indium within a first and second transparent conductive layer comprising ITO is optimized in order to achieve the desired light transmittance and conductivity [Page 5].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the amount of indium within the first and second transparent conductive layers (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired light transmittance and conductivity of the layers. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Ryu, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11-12 above, and further in view of US 2024/0121969 A1, Puaud et al. (hereinafter “Puaud”).
Regarding claim 10
Modified Ha does not teach the solar cell further comprising a perovskite solar cell provided between the second transparent conductive layer and the second electrode, wherein the perovskite solar cell comprises:
a first conductive charge transporting layer formed of a hole transporting layer contacting the second transparent conductive layer; a light absorption layer formed of a perovskite compound provided on the first conductive charge transporting layer; and
a second conductive charge transporting layer formed of an electron transporting layer provided on the light absorption layer.
Puaud teaches a tandem silicon-pervoskite solar cell, wherein the perovskite solar cell (130) is provided between a second transparent conductive layer (and the second electrode (133) [Fig. 2A and paras. 0083-0086] and a second electrode (170) [Fig. 2A and para. 0113], wherein the perovskite solar cell (130) comprises:
a first conductive charge transporting layer (121) formed of a hole transporting layer (p-type) contacting the second transparent conductive layer (133) [Fig. 2A and para. 0085];
a light absorption layer (131) formed of a perovskite compound provided on the first conductive charge transporting layer (121) [Fig. 1 and para. 0086]; and
a second conductive charge transporting layer (132) formed of an electron transporting layer (n-type) provided on the light absorption layer (131) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0083-0086].
By providing a tandem structure having the pervoskite solar cell as set forth above, the conversion of solar radiation into energy is increased [para. 0003].
Modified Ha and modified Puaud are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the solar cell of modified Ha to comprise a tandem structure including a perovskite solar cell as set forth in Puaud in order to absorb different spectral domains thereby increasing the photoelectric conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 17
Modified Ha does not teach the method further comprising a process of forming a perovskite solar cell between the second transparent conductive layer and the second electrode, wherein the process of forming perovskite solar cell comprises:
a process of forming a first conductive charge transporting layer formed of a hole transporting layer contacting the second transparent conductive layer;
a process of forming a light absorption layer formed of a perovskite compound on the first conductive charge transporting layer; and
a process of forming a second conductive charge transporting layer formed, of an electron transporting layer, on the light absorption layer.
Puaud teaches a method of manufacturing a tandem silicon-pervoskite solar cell, wherein the perovskite solar cell (130) is provided between a second transparent conductive layer (and the second electrode (133) [Fig. 2A and paras. 0083-0086] and a second electrode (170) [Fig. 2A and para. 0113], wherein the process of forming perovskite solar cell (130) comprises:
a process of forming a first conductive charge transporting layer (121) formed of a hole transporting layer (p-type) contacting the second transparent conductive layer (133) [Fig. 2A and para. 0085];
a process of forming a light absorption layer (131) formed of a perovskite compound provided on the first conductive charge transporting layer (121) [Fig. 1 and para. 0086]; and
a process of forming a second conductive charge transporting layer (132) formed of an electron transporting layer (n-type) provided on the light absorption layer (131) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0083-0086].
By providing a tandem structure having the pervoskite solar cell as set forth above, the conversion of solar radiation into energy is increased [para. 0003].
Modified Ha and modified Puaud are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Ha to comprise a forming tandem structure including a perovskite solar cell as set forth in Puaud in order to absorb different spectral domains thereby increasing the photoelectric conversion efficiency.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Ryu, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11-12 above, and further in view of US 2018/0190853 A1, Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee’853”).
Regarding claim 13
Modified Ha teaches the method as set forth above, further comprising:
a process of forming a fourth semiconductor layer (corresponding to second passivation layer 54 comprising i-a-si) provided on the other surface of the semiconductor substrate (110) [Ha, Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0034];
a process of forming a fifth semiconductor layer (corresponding to second conductive area 30) on a surface of the fourth semiconductor layer (54) [Ha, Fig. 1, paras. 0021 and 0049];
a process of forming a second transparent conductive layer (corresponding to second transparent electrode layer 441) provided on a surface of the fifth semiconductor layer (30) [Ha, Fig. 1 and para. 0063]; and
a process of forming a second electrode (corresponding to second metal electrode layer 442) provided on a surface of the second transparent conductive layer (441) [Ha, Fig. 1 and para. 0063], wherein
the process of forming the fifth semiconductor layer (30) comprises a process of forming an n-type semiconductor material including tin (Sn) [Ha, paras. 0042 and 0049].
Modified Ha is silent to the process of forming the fifth semiconductor layer and the process of forming the second transparent conductive layer comprise a continuous process performed in the same process equipment.
Lee’853 teaches the process of forming doped semiconductor layers and transparent conductive layers comprising a continuous process performed in the same chamber (in situ) in order to keep the layers in a vacuum environment without contacting air or atmosphere before the layers are formed [paras. 0027 and 0029]. Further, said technique is disclosed to reduce manufacturing costs [para. 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Ha such that the process of forming the fifth semiconductor layer and the process of forming the second transparent conductive layer comprises a continuous process performed in the same process equipment, as in Lee’853, in order to keep the layers in a vacuum environment without contacting air or atmosphere before the layers are formed, and to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 14
Modified Ha teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the process of forming the fifth semiconductor layer (30) comprises a process of forming SnO by supplying a material including Sn and a material including oxygen (O) in a chamber (the second conductive area 30 comprises SnO2 and may be formed by PECVD) [Ha, paras. 0049 and 0077], and
the process of forming the second transparent conductive layer (441) comprises a process of forming a transparent oxide film including indium by supplying the material including Sn, the material including O, and a material including indium in the chamber (the raw materials for the first and second transparent electrodes is introduced, wherein said first and second transparent electrodes comprise ITO) [Ha, paras. 0057, 0063 and 0080].
Regarding claim 15
Modified Ha teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the process of forming the fifth semiconductor layer (30) and the process of forming the second transparent conductive layer (441) comprise forming an SnO layer by supplying a material including Sn and a material including O in a chamber (both the second conductive area 30 and the second transparent electrode comprise indium oxide) [Ha, paras. 0049, 0057, 0063, 0077 and 0080], and
additionally doping indium on the SnO layer in the chamber to form the fifth semiconductor layer formed of an indium-undoped SnO layer and the second transparent conductive layer formed of a transparent oxide film including indium based on doping of indium (the second transparent electrode comprises ITO, wherein the layers are deposited in the same chamber) [Ha, paras. paras. 0049, 0057, 0063, 0077 and 0080; Lee’853, paras. 0027 and 0029].
Conclusion
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721