DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/02/2026.
Claims 1-14 and 16-29 are currently pending.
Claims 279 are rejected.
Claims 1, 10-11 and 25 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-6, 9-10, 16-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Bum KWON et al. (US 2015/0092707 A1), hereinafter KWON, in view of NING YANG et al. (US 2020/0351722 A1), hereinafter YANG.
For claim 1, KWON teaches a method in a network node of a radio access network (RAN), communicating with a user equipment (UE) in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for managing deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (KWON, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 72-77.), the method comprising:
detecting, by the network node, that a condition for deactivating the SCG is satisfied; and causing the SN to deactivate or to release the SCG at the SN based on the determining (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155).
YANG further teaches use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration; (YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration taught in YANG to have method of detecting, by the network node, that a condition for deactivating the SCG is satisfied; determining whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and causing the SN to deactivate or to release the SCG at the SN based on the determining because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE[YANG: paragraph 13].
For claim 2, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the determining includes determining that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and the causing includes causing the SN to deactivate the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have determining that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and causing the SN to deactivate the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 3, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the determining includes determining that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and the causing includes causing the SN to deactivate the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have determining the UE does not support deactivating the SCG; and causing the SN to release the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 4, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the determining, transmitting to the UE, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or release the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have based on the determining, transmitting to the UE, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or release the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 5, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining capability information of the UE, wherein the determining is based on the capability information (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have obtaining capability information of the UE, wherein the determining is based on the capability information; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 6, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 5, wherein obtaining the capability information includes: obtaining the capability information formatted in accordance with a radio access technology (RAT) supported by the network node (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have obtaining the capability information formatted in accordance with a radio access technology (RAT) supported by the network node; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 9, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 5, wherein: the network node is the SN; and obtaining the capability information includes receiving the capability information from the MN (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have the network node is the SN; and obtaining the capability information includes receiving the capability information from the MN; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 10, KWON teaches a network node of a radio access network (RAN) that communicates with a user equipment (UE) in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN) (KWON, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 72-77.), the network node including processing hardware (KWON, Fig. 21 item 2111) and configured to:
detect that a condition for deactivating the SCG is satisfied; and cause the SN to deactivate or to release the SCG at the SN based on the determining (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155).
YANG further teaches use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration; (YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration taught in YANG to have method of detecting, by the network node, that a condition for deactivating the SCG is satisfied; determining whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and causing the SN to deactivate or to release the SCG at the SN based on the determining because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE[YANG: paragraph 13].
For claim 16, KWON and YANG further teach the network node of claim 10, wherein: the network node determines that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and the network node causes the SN to deactivate the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have the network node determines that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; and the network node causes the SN to deactivate the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 17, KWON and YANG further teach the network node of claim 10, wherein: the network node determines that the UE does not deactivating the SCG; and the network node causes the SN to release the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have the network node determines that the UE does not deactivating the SCG; and the network node causes the SN to release the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 18, KWON and YANG further teach the network node of claim 10, further configured to: based on the determining, transmit, to the UE, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or release the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have based on the determining, transmit, to the UE, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or release the SCG; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 19, KWON and YANG further teach the network node of claim 10, further configured to: obtain capability information of the UE, wherein the network node determines whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG based on the capability information (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have the network node determines whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG based on the capability information; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 20, KWON and YANG further teach the network node of claim 19, wherein to obtain the capability information, the network node obtains the capability information formatted in accordance with a radio access technology (RAT) supported by the network node (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to the network node obtains the capability information formatted in accordance with a radio access technology (RAT) supported by the network node; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 22, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the SCG is associated with a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) RAT (YANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 32)
For claim 23, KWON and YANG further teach the method of claim 11, wherein: the second RAT supported by the SN SCG is 5G NR RAT (YANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 32).
9. Claims 7-8, 11-14, 21 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Bum KWON et al. (US 2015/0092707 A1), hereinafter KWON, in view of NING YANG et al. (US 2020/0351722 A1), hereinafter YANG and Dongdong Wei et al. (US 2024/0313933 A1), hereinafter Wei.
For claim 7, KWON and YANG teach all the limitations of parent claim 6. KWON and YANG do not explicitly teach in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs.
However, Wei explicitly teaches in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs (Wei, Fig. Fig. 3 and paragraph 257.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON and YANG with in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs taught in Wei to have the capability information is first capability information; the RAT is a first RAT; the method further comprises obtaining second capability information formatted in accordance with a second RAT, which is different from the first RAT; and the determining includes determining, in view of the first capability information and regardless of the second capability information, whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; thereby reducing power consumption [Wei: abstract].
For claim 8, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the method of claim 7, wherein: the network node is the MN; and the method further comprises: providing to the SN, the second capability information (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155).
For claim 11, KWON teaches a method in a user equipment (UE), communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with a radio access network (RAN) via a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for managing deactivation and activation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (KWON, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 72-77.), the method comprising:
receiving, from the RAN, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or to release the SCG; and
deactivating or releasing the SCG at the UE in accordance with the indication (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155).
YANG further teaches use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration; (YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration taught in YANG to have method of providing, from the UE to the RAN, capability information that indicates whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; receiving, from the RAN, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG at the UE in accordance with the indication because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE[YANG: paragraph 13].
Wei further teaches in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs (Wei, Fig. Fig. 3 and paragraph 257.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON and YANG with in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs taught in Wei to have providing first capability information formatted in accordance with a first RAT supported by the MN and providing second capability information formatted in accordance with a second RAT supported by the SN; thereby reducing power consumption [Wei: abstract].
For claim 12, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the method of claim 11, wherein providing the capability information includes: providing the capability information indicating whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG for a particular DC frequency band combination (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG for a particular DC frequency band combination; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 13, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the method of claim 11, wherein providing the capability information includes: providing the capability information indicating that the UE does not support deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes releasing the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating that the UE does not support deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes releasing the SCG. Because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 14, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the method of claim 11, wherein providing the capability information includes: providing the capability information indicating that the UE supports deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to deactivate the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes deactivating the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating that the UE supports deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to deactivate the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes deactivating the SCG. Because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 21, KWON and YANG teach all the limitations of parent claim 20. KWON and YANG do not explicitly teach in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs.
However, Wei explicitly teaches in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs (Wei, Fig. Fig. 3 and paragraph 257.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON and YANG with in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs taught in Wei to have the capability information is first capability information; the RAT is a first RAT; the network node obtains second capability information formatted in accordance with a second RAT, which is different from the first RAT; and the network nodes determines, in view of the first capability information and regardless of the second capability information, whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; thereby reducing power consumption [Wei: abstract].
For claim 24, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the method of claim 11, wherein: the second RAT supported by the SN SCG is 5G NR RAT (YANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 32.).
For claim 25, KWON teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising processing hardware (KWON, Fig. 2) and configured to communicate in dual connectivity (DC) with a radio access network (RAN) via a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), and to manage deactivation and activation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (KWON, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 72-77.), the method comprising:
receiving, from the RAN, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG at the UE in accordance with the indication (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155).
YANG further teaches use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration; (YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with use of UE connectivity capability (single vs dual connectivity; DC capability) to determine SCG configuration taught in YANG to have method of providing, from the UE to the RAN, capability information that indicates whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG; receiving, from the RAN, an indication that the UE is to deactivate or to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG at the UE in accordance with the indication because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE[YANG: paragraph 13].
Wei further teaches in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs (Wei, Fig. Fig. 3 and paragraph 257.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON and YANG with in the DC scenario, the master station and the secondary station may use a different RATs taught in Wei to have providing first capability information formatted in accordance with a first RAT supported by the MN and providing second capability information formatted in accordance with a second RAT supported by the SN; thereby reducing power consumption [Wei: abstract].
For claim 26, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the UE of claim 25, wherein the capability information indicates whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG for a particular DC frequency band combination (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating whether the UE supports deactivating the SCG for a particular DC frequency band combination; because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 27, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the UE of claim 25, wherein: the capability information indicates that the UE does not support deactivating the SCG, wherein: the received indication indicates that the UE is to release the SCG; and the UE releases the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating that the UE does not support deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to release the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes releasing the SCG. Because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 28, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the UE of claim 25, wherein to provide the capability information, the UE is configured to: provide the capability information indicating that the UE supports deactivating the SCG; wherein: the received indication indicates that the UE is to deactivate the SCG; and the UE deactivates the SCG (KWON, Fig. and paragraphs 101-105. See also KWON, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 150-155. YANG, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 39-72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in KWON with YANG to have providing the capability information indicating that the UE supports deactivating the SCG, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving an indication that the UE is to deactivate the SCG; and deactivating or releasing the SCG includes deactivating the SCG. Because the configuration indication information is configured to instruct the target MN to configure an MCG for the UE and configure an SCG for the UE based on the respective cell set corresponding to each node and the measurement result of each cell to optimize the battery consumption of the UE [YANG: paragraph 13]).
For claim 29, KWON, YANG and Wei further teach the UE of claim 25, wherein: the second RAT supported by the SN is 5G NR (YANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 32.).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412