DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to communications filed April 15, 2026. Claims 101, 103, 104, 114 and 120 have been amended. Claims 101-120 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 101-106 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kesler et al. (Kesler; US Pub No. 2017/0098149 A1).
As per claim 101, Kesler discloses a system for dynamically configuring a secondary air-core coupled coil and exciting magnetic fields, the system comprising:
an RFID tag configured to transmit a return signal when energized, the RFID tag affixed to a surgical implement within a patient’s body (paragraph [0070], lines 1-8);
a signal generator configured to generate an energizing signal for the RFID tag (paragraph [0070], lines 4-8); and
a coil antenna operably coupled to the signal generator (Fig. 8, Antenna Coil 810, RFID Reader Electronics 808), the antenna configured to receive a return signal transmitted by the RFID tag (Fig. 8, RFID Antenna 810; paragraph [0105]), the coil antenna configured to excite a magnetic field in multiple directions based on the energizing signal (paragraph [0070], lines 4-8); and
a coil tuning network configured to tune a quality factor “Q” (paragraph [0152], lines 1-3 & 12-16).
As per claim 102, Kesler discloses the system of claim 101, wherein the coil antenna includes:
a coil array including a plurality of coils (Fig. 1B, Coil Array), wherein each coil of the coil array includes:
a primary coil (paragraph [0078]: planar coil); and
a secondary coil (paragraph [0078]: pick-up coil).
As per claim 103, Kesler discloses the system of claim 102, wherein the is configured to tune (paragraph [0120]).
As per claim 104, Kesler discloses the system of claim 103, wherein tuning network includes:
a real part match detection network configured to detect the real part of the energizing signal (paragraph [0193], lines 6-7);
an imaginary part match detection network configured to detect the imaginary part of the energizing signal (paragraph [0193], lines 8-10);
a dynamic matching network configured to tune at least one of [[a]] the quality factor “Q” or a first resonant frequency of the primary coil (paragraph [0192]; paragraph [0193], lines 1-5);
a processor (paragraph [0216], line 8); and
a memory with instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor cause the system to (paragraph [0216], lines 5-9):
detect a real part of the energizing signal, by the real part match detection network (paragraph [0193], lines 6-7);
detect a real part of the energizing signal, by the imaginary part match detection network (paragraph [0193], lines 8-10);
determine a second resonant frequency for the primary coil, based on the detected real part and detected imaginary part of the energizing signal (paragraph [0194]: new resonant frequency); and
tune, by the dynamic matching network, the primary coil to the second resonant frequency, based on the determination (paragraph [0194]: new resonant frequency).
As per claim 105, Kesler discloses the system of claim 104, wherein tuning network further includes a power detection network configured to detect a power level from the energizing signal (paragraph [0103], lines 4-7).
As per claim 106, Kesler discloses the system of claim 105, wherein the instructions when executed further cause the system to:
detect, power detection network, the power level of the energizing signal (paragraph [0103], lines 4-7);
determine a third resonant frequency for the primary coil (paragraph [0192], lines 5-7); and
tune, by the dynamic matching network, the primary coil to the third resonant frequency, based on the determination (paragraph [0192], lines 4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 107 and 108 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesler in view Zhang et al. (Zhang; US Pub No. 2022/0320890 A1).
As per claim 107, Kesler teaches the system of claim 102.
Kesler does not expressly teach wherein the coil antenna further includes a termination network configured to enable or disable discrete secondary coils of the coil array.
Zhang teaches wherein the coil antenna further includes a termination network configured to enable or disable discrete secondary coils of the coil array (Fig. 3, Switch Arrangement 356, Secondary Coil 352).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the switch arrangement as taught by Zhang, since Zhang states in paragraph [0043] that such a modification would result in selectively disabling a circuit in order to eliminate a high voltage condition.
As per claim 108, Kesler in view of Zhang further teaches the system of claim 107, wherein the termination network includes:
an impedance sensor configured to sense the impedance of each of the secondary coils of the coil array (Kesler, paragraph [0008]);
a step down transformer configured to step down the impedance of each of the secondary coils of the coil array (Kesler, paragraph [0167], lines 13-15);
a dynamic capacitive bank configured to provide a plurality of loads to each of the secondary coils of the coil array via the step down transformer (Kesler, paragraph [0167]);
a processor (Kesler, paragraph [0215], line 10); and
a memory with instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor cause the system to (Kesler, paragraph [0215]):
determine, by the impedance sensor, the impedance of the return signal (Kesler, paragraph [0008]); and
set the dynamic capacitive bank to one of the plurality of loads based on the determination (Kesler, paragraphs [0008] & [0167]).
Claim(s) 109-120 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesler in view of Brunner (US Pub No. 2011/0224537 A1).
As per claim 109, Kesler teaches the system of claim 102.
Kesler does not expressly teach wherein the secondary coil is a configurable air-core coupled secondary coil, including a plurality of configurable secondary coil sections, the configurable air-core coupled secondary coil having a plurality of secondary coil configurations.
Brunner teaches wherein the secondary coil is a configurable air-core coupled secondary coil, including a plurality of configurable secondary coil sections, the configurable air-core coupled secondary coil having a plurality of secondary coil configurations (paragraph [0024]: surgical table embedded with an array of electromagnetic coils having a conductor winded around a non-magnetic material (e.g., air)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the air-core electromagnetic coils as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph [0024] that an electromagnetic coil may be comprised of either a magnetic or non-magnetic core. The selected material is a matter of design choice.
As per claim 110, Kesler in view of Brunner further teaches the system of claim 109, wherein the coil antenna further includes a steering network configured to enable at least one of the plurality of secondary coil configurations (Brunner, paragraph [0025]).
As per claim 111, Kesler teaches the system of claim 101.
Kesler does not expressly teach further including a surgical table, wherein the coil antenna is embedded into the surgical table.
Brunner teaches further including a surgical table, wherein the coil antenna is embedded into the surgical table (paragraph [0024], lines 7-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement a surgical table embedded with a coil array as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph [0023] that such a modification would result in tracking the motion of a scalpel during advanced surgical procedures.
As per claim 112, Kesler teaches the system of claim 102.
Kesler does not expressly teach wherein the coil array includes a first coil and a second coil,
wherein the energizing signal includes a first current and a second current, and
wherein the first coil and the second coil are configured to independently be energized by the first current and the second current respectively.
Brunner teaches wherein the coil array includes a first coil and a second coil,
wherein the energizing signal includes a first current and a second current, and
wherein the first coil and the second coil are configured to independently be energized by the first current and the second current respectively (paragraph [0027], lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement control the current flowing through a coil as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph [0027] that such a modification would result in controlling the shape of a detection field.
As per claim 113, Kesler in view of Brunner further teaches the system of claim 112, wherein the first coil of the coil array is energized with the first current in at least one of a clockwise direction or a counter-clockwise direction (Brunner, paragraph [0027], lines 1-10), and
wherein the second coil of the coil array is energized with the second current in at least one of a clockwise direction or a counter-clockwise direction (Brunner, paragraph [0027], lines 1-10).
As per claim 114, Kesler teaches a coil antenna, comprising:
a coil array configured to receive a return signal transmitted by an RFID tag (paragraph [0004])… wherein each of the first coil and the second coil of the coil array includes:
a primary coil (paragraph [0077]: planar coil); and
a secondary coil (paragraph [0078]: pick-up coil).
Kesler does not expressly teach comprising:
a first coil configured to generate a first magnetic field; and
a second coil configured to generate a second magnetic field,
wherein the coil array is configured to generate a magnetic flux and steer
Brunner teaches comprising:
a first coil configured to generate a first magnetic field (paragraph [0005]); and
a second coil configured to generate a second magnetic field (paragraph [0005]),
wherein the coil array is configured to generate a magnetic flux and steer (paragraphs [0011] & [0027]; paragraph [0046], lines 1-15: controlling direction of magnetic field induced).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the coil configuration as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph [0027] that such a modification would result in controlling the shape of a detection field.
As per claim 115, Kesler in view of Brunner further teaches the coil antenna of claim 114, wherein the coil antenna further includes a coil tuning network configured to tune at least one of a quality factor “Q” or an operating frequency of the primary coil (Kesler, paragraph [0120]).
As per claim 116, (see rejection of claim 104 above) the coil antenna of claim 114, wherein tuning network includes:
a real part match detection network configured to detect the real part of the energizing signal;
an imaginary part match detection network configured to detect the imaginary part of the energizing signal;
a dynamic matching network configured to tune at least one of a quality factor “Q” or a first resonant frequency of the primary coil;
a processor; and
a memory with instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor cause the system to:
detect a real part of the energizing signal, by the real part match detection network;
detect a real part of the energizing signal, by the imaginary part match detection network;
determine a second resonant frequency for the primary coil, based on the detected real part and detected imaginary part of the energizing signal; and
tune, by the dynamic matching network, the primary coil to the second resonant frequency, based on the determination.
As per claim 117, (see rejection of claim 107 above) the coil antenna of claim 114, wherein the coil antenna further includes a termination network configured to enable or disable discrete secondary coils of the coil array.
As per claim 118, Kesler in view of Brunner further teaches the coil antenna of claim 117, wherein the termination network includes:
a sensor configured to sense at least one of an impedance, a voltage, or a current of each of the secondary coils of the coil array (Kesler, paragraph [0012]).
As per claim 119, (see rejection of claim 109 above) the coil antenna of claim 114, wherein the secondary coil is a configurable air-core coupled secondary coil, including a plurality of configurable secondary coil sections, the configurable air-core coupled secondary coil having a plurality of secondary coil configurations.
As per claim 120, Kesler teaches a method for interrogation and detection of surgical implements within a patient’s body, the method comprising:
transmitting an energizing signal by a coil antenna operably coupled to a signal generator, the antenna configured to receive a return signal transmitted by an RFID tag, the coil antenna including a coil array (Fig. 8, Antenna Coil 810, RFID Reader Electronics 808; paragraph [0070], lines 1-8; paragraph [0105])…
detecting a real part of the energizing signal, by a real part match detection network (paragraph [0193], lines 6-7);
detecting a real part of the energizing signal, by an imaginary part match detection network (paragraph [0193], lines 8-10);
determining a second operating frequency for the primary coil, based on the detected real part and detected imaginary part of the energizing signal (paragraph [0194]: new resonant frequency); and
tuning, by a dynamic matching network, the primary coil to the second operating frequency and a quality factor “Q”, based on the determination (paragraph [0194]: new resonant frequency; paragraph [0152], lines 1-3 & 12-16).
Kesler does not expressly teach receiving a return signal, by the coil array, wherein the coil array is configured to generate a magnetic flux and steer at least one of a direction of the magnetic flux or a magnitude of the magnetic flux based on the energizing signal.
Brunner teaches receiving a return signal, by the coil array, wherein the coil array is configured to generate a magnetic flux and steer at least one of a direction of the magnetic flux or a magnitude of the magnetic flux based on the energizing signal (paragraphs [0011] & [0027]; paragraph [0046], lines 1-15: controlling direction of magnetic field induced).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the coil configuration as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph [0027] that such a modification would result in controlling the shape of a detection field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to Applicant’s argument that the prior art of Kesler does not disclose the claim limitation “a coil tuning network configured to tune a quality factor “Q”” (Remarks, pgs. 8-9), Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art of Kesler discloses tuning the quality factor of a transmitter resonator coil (Kesler, paragraph [0152]). Therefore, the prior art of Kesler discloses the newly added claim limitations as outlined in the rejection of claims 101 and 120 above. With respect to Applicant’s argument that the prior art of Brunner does not teach the claim limitation “wherein the coil array is configured to generate a magnetic flux and steer a direction of the magnetic flux based on an energizing signal from a signal generator” (Remarks, pgs. 9-10), Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art of Brunner teaches controlling the direction of an induced magnetic field (Brunner, paragraph [0046], lines 1-15). Therefore, the prior art of Kesler in view of Brunner teaches the newly added claim limitations as outlined in the rejection of claim 114 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAOMI J SMALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685