This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-11, and 13-14 are rejected; claims 3, 5, and 12 are withdrawn.
For clarify of the record and consideration for amendments, the Examiner notes the subject matter of the Abstract filed on 08/28/2023 corresponds to structure within the instant disclosure (specification and drawings) however, the subject matter is not directed toward the claimed structure.
The previously filed specification objection remains in place; please refer to section below for additional details and reasonings.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to Korean patent application no. 10-2021-0172190 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 02/25/2022, which is considered the filing date of the US application. To be clear, the objection is not to the priority claim, the objection is only with respect to the incorporation by reference statement; therefore, as such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102172613 (KR’613), provided in IDS filed on 08/28/2023 and NPL provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, in view of An (GB2583162), provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, and further in view of Muramatsu (JP 2020062209), provided in previous Office action filed on 12/10/2025.
Regarding claim 1, KR102172613 (KR’613) discloses a cleaner (figs. 1-2) comprising:
a cleaning module (defines head front device; pp. [0006] in NPL, fig. 3) configured to eliminate debris on a floor surface (via items 19, 20, 42, 46; pp. [0008]; fig. 3); and
a cleaner main body (defined as body above wand 25’, figs. 1-2) comprising a main battery (item 34; fig. 1) configured to supply power to the cleaning module (pp. [0008]; fig. 1), and a handle (item 35; fig. 1) configured to be grasped by a user (pp. [0008]),
wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a module housing (defined as outer structure of cleaning module; fig. 3) having a mop (items 42, 42’, figs. 2-3) disposed at a lower side (defined as side of module housing closest to the surface to be cleaned; fig. 3) thereof;
a water tank (includes items 7, 8; figs. 2-3) coupled to the module housing (via intermediate components) and configured to store water (pp. [0008]);
a steam generator (item 11; figs. 2-3) configured to heat water introduced from the water tank (item 11 heats water from tank through nozzle to dispense on mops 42, 42’; pp. [0008]; figs. 2-3).
KR’613 does not explicitly disclose an auxiliary battery coupling unit provided on the module housing so that an auxiliary battery is detachably inserted into and coupled to the auxiliary battery coupling unit om a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body, and wherein the auxiliary battery coupling unit comprises an auxiliary battery coupling groove that accommodates the auxiliary battery.
However, An (GB2583162) teaches a cleaner comprising two motors, analogous to the two motors in KR’613, wherein one motor is in a cleaning module (item 11; figs. 1-2) and a second motor is in a cleaner main body (item 10; figs. 1-2), wherein the cleaner main body comprises a main battery (item 15; figs. 1-2) configured to supply power to the cleaning module (p. 3-4 of NPL; battery 15 supplies power to cleaner, i.e. cleaning module, and cleaner main body until additional power source, i.e. auxiliary battery, needs to be supplemented in), and wherein the cleaning module comprises an auxiliary battery (item 16; figs. 1-2).
An suggests that the auxiliary battery can/may be detachable from the module housing (p. 2, pp. 11 and p. 3, pp. 14 in NPL), however does not explicitly disclose an auxiliary battery coupling unit provided on the module housing so that the auxiliary battery can be inserted into in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body, and wherein the auxiliary battery coupling unit comprises an auxiliary battery coupling groove that accommodates the auxiliary battery.
However, Muramatsu (JP2020062209) teaches a cleaner (embodiment of figs. 9-10) comprising a cleaner main body (item 110; fig. 9; pp. [0010] in NPL) and a cleaning module (item 130; fig. 10; pp. [0022]), wherein the cleaning module comprises a module housing (defined as outer structure of item 130) and an auxiliary battery coupling unit (item 131; pp. [0039-0040]; fig. 10) provided on the module housing so that an auxiliary battery (item 40, corresponding to auxiliary battery in An) is detachably inserted into (pp. [0010] in NPL) and coupled to the auxiliary battery coupling unit (via items 131ba, 131bb; pp. [0039-0040]; fig. 10), and wherein the auxiliary battery coupling unit comprises an auxiliary battery coupling groove (item 131bb, pp. [0040], fig. 10) that accommodates the auxiliary battery (pp. [0040]; coupling groove 131bb allows connection portion of the battery to be fitted into the battery coupling unit 131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner, as disclosed in KR’613, to include an auxiliary battery in the cleaning module, as taught in An, and to include an auxiliary battery coupling unit on the module housing so that the auxiliary battery can be detachably inserted into, as taught in Muramatsu, in order to couple an auxiliary battery to the cleaner with two motors to extend the operating time of the cleaner and the perceived power rating (p. 2, pp. 9 and p. 4, pp. 7 in NPL of An) and detachably mount the auxiliary battery in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body in order for the auxiliary battery to be removed for recharging and/or replacement while the main battery continues to power the operation of the cleaner (p. 4, pp. 2 and 7 in NPL of An).
Regarding claim 2, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least a part of the auxiliary battery coupling unit (Muramatsu; defined as outer structure of auxiliary battery coupling unit 131, fig. 10 in Muramatsu) is disposed on a rear surface of the module housing (Muramatsu; rear surface of module housing defined as surface of module housing rear of frontmost suction inlet, designated in annotated fig. 10 below; corresponding to rear surface of module housing in KR’613, fig. 2 of KR’613).
Muramatsu Annotated Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 6, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1. An, as taught in above, discloses the auxiliary battery is connected in series or parallel to the battery (p. 3, pp. 3 in NPL of An). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the auxiliary battery as connected in series to the battery, as taught in An, so the necessary voltage can be provided to operate the cleaner with two motors and the cleaner can function as intended.
Regarding claim 7, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1. An, as taught in above, discloses the auxiliary battery is connected in series or parallel to the battery (p. 3, pp. 3 in NPL of An). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the auxiliary battery as connected in parallel to the battery, as taught in An, so the necessary voltage can be provided to operate the cleaner with two motors and the cleaner can function as intended.
Regarding claim 10, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cleaning module further comprises:
a mop driving motor (item 6; pp. [0008]; fig. 3) disposed in the module housing (mop driving motor 6 is positioned into upper surface of module housing; figs. 3-4) and configured to provide a rotational force to the mop by rotating a motor shaft (pp. [0008], via items 5; figs. 3-4); and
a flow path forming part (items 20, 24; pp. [0008]; figs. 1 and 3-4) formed in the module housing (figs. 3-4) and configured to communicate with an intake port (item 19; pp. [0008]; fig. 3) , the flow path forming part being configured to guide air (pp. [0008]; flow path forming part 20, 24 guides air into suction pipe; fig. 1), which is introduced through the intake port (pp. [0008] air is introduced through intake port 19 and directly into flow path forming part to be guided into suction pipe 25; fig. 1) , to the cleaner main body (pp. [0008]; fig. 1),
wherein an imaginary axial extension line of the motor shaft passes through the flow path forming part (in view of fig. 1 below, an imaginary axial extension line of motor shaft 6 passes through item 19, which is within flow path forming part).
Annotated Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 11, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the auxiliary battery coupling groove is formed in a direction parallel to the floor surface (Muramatsu, in a state of fig. 12, the module housing is positioned on floor surface and battery coupling groove 131bb longitudinally extends parallel to floor surface) from a rear surface of the module housing (Muramatsu, designated in annotated fig. 10 above, corresponding to rear surface of module housing in KR’613) toward a front side of the module housing (Muramatsu, designated in annotated fig. 10 above, corresponding to front side of module housing in KR’613, i.e. side of module housing with suction intake 19, fig. 1 of KR’613) in a state in which the cleaning module is placed on the floor surface (defined as state in which cleaning module is place on floor surface corresponding to position in fig. 12 of Muramatsu and battery coupling unit 131 is parallel with floor surface).
Regarding claim 13, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cleaning module further comprises a diffuser (includes items 7’, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14; figs. 2-3) configured to discharge moisture passing through the steam generator to the mop (pp. [0008]; diffuser is inclined and defined along bottom of water tank 8 thereby, capable of discharging moisture from steam generator to the mop 42 through outlet; fig. 3), and
wherein the diffuser is formed in an annular shape (pp. [0008]; diffuser includes funnel-shaped component to guide moisture to outlet and is inserted around the periphery, i.e. annular of mop; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 13, wherein the cleaning module further comprises a mop driving motor (item 6; pp. [0008]; fig. 3) disposed in the module housing (mop driving motor 6 is positioned into upper surface of module housing; figs. 3-4) and configured to provide a rotational force to the mop by rotating a motor shaft (pp. [0008], via items 5; figs. 3-4), and
wherein the mop driving motor is disposed inside the annular diffuser (mop driving part 6 is structurally disposed inside, i.e. interior, of the rightmost boundary of the diffuser in view of fig. 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102172613 (KR’613), provided in IDS filed on 08/28/2023 and NPL provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, in view of An (GB2583162), provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, Muramatsu (JP 2020062209), provided in Office action filed on 12/10/2025, and further in view of Connelly (US 2020/0060492).
Regarding claim 4, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the auxiliary battery comprises: an auxiliary battery main body (Muramatsu; defined as outer structure of items 40, 150; fig. 9).
Though KR’613 as modified by Muramatsu above suggests a locking mechanism to maintain the auxiliary battery main body in the auxiliary battery coupling unit (pp. [0013] in Muramatsu), Muramatsu does not explicitly disclose the details of the locking mechanism such as the auxiliary battery comprising a coupling button provided on the auxiliary battery main body and configured to be coupled to the auxiliary battery coupling unit by a hook engagement, and wherein at least a part of the coupling button is exposed to the outside of the module housing.
However, Connelly (US 2020/0060492) teaches a battery (item 100; figs. 1-3) detachably connected to a coupling unit of a cleaner (pp. [0027]; fig. 1), wherein the battery comprises a main body (item 105; figs. 2-3), a coupling button (item 205; pp. [0038]; figs. 2-3) provided on the main body and configured to be coupled to the coupling unit by a hook engagement (item 200; pp. [0038]; fig. 2), and wherein at least a part of the coupling button is exposed to the outside (pp. [0038]; button 205 is disposed outside of the module housing, corresponding to module housing in view of KR’613 above, in order for user to press the button when battery is mounted into coupling unit and thereby, detachably couple the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the locking mechanism, as taught in KR’613 in view of An and Muramatsu, to include a coupling button and hook engagement, as taught in Connelly, in order for the auxiliary battery to be detachably coupled to the battery coupling unit and thereby, function as intended (Muramatsu, pp. [0013]; and Connelly, pp. [0027], [0038]) .
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102172613 (KR’613), provided in IDS filed on 08/28/2023 and NPL provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, in view of An (GB2583162), provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, Muramatsu (JP 2020062209), provided in previous Office action filed on 12/10/2025, and further in view of Conrad (US 2017/0215664).
Regarding claim 8, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the auxiliary battery is connected selectively in series or in parallel to the battery.
However, Conrad (US 2017/0215664) teaches a cleaner comprising a cleaning module (item 154; fig. 1), a cleaner main body (item 100; fig. 1) comprising a battery (item 174 within handle; pp. [0577]; fig. 5) configured to supply power to the cleaning module (pp. [0577-0580]), wherein the cleaning module comprises a module housing (defined as outer structure of item 154; fig. 1) and an auxiliary battery (item 174 within housing; fig. 1), wherein the auxiliary battery is connected selectively in series or parallel to battery (pp. [0578]; batteries 174, e.g. battery in handle and battery in module housing, can be switchable from parallel to series connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the connection between the battery and auxiliary battery, as disclosed in KR’613 as modified by An, to be connected selectively in series or in parallel, as taught in Conrad, in order to change the voltage and/or run time for different applications, such as the batteries are switched to series to give a higher combined voltage and provide higher suction motor power and the batteries are switched to parallel when used in hard floor cleaning to provide lower suction motor power but a longer run time (Conrad; pp. [0578] and [0580]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102172613 (KR’613), provided in IDS filed on 08/28/2023 and NPL provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, in view of An (GB2583162), provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025, Muramatsu (JP 2020062209), provided in previous Office action filed on 12/10/2025, and further in view of KR100662110 (KR’440), provided in IDS filed on 08/28/2023 and NPL provided in Office action filed on 09/23/2025.
Regarding claim 9, KR’613 as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 1. KR’613 is silent to how the water is heated, specifically wherein the auxiliary battery supplies power to the steam generator, as required by the claim.
However, KR 100662440 (KR’440) teaches a cleaner comprising a cleaning module (item 100; figs. 1-2) including a module housing (outer structure of fig. 1) and an auxiliary battery (item 30; fig. 1; p. 5 of NPL translation) mounted on the module housing (fig. 1) to supply power to a steam generator (item 100; fig. 2; p. 5, pp. 4-6 of NPL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the auxiliary battery, as disclosed in KR’613 as modified by An and Muramatsu, to supply power to the steam generator, as taught in KR’440, in order for the water to be continuously heated without a power cord, thereby improving the degree of freedom of cleaning (KR’440; p. 6 of NPL).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/879560 in view of KR102172613 (KR’613) and An (GB2583162). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 in application no. 18/879560 teaches all of the same limitations as claim 1 in the instant application except for the limitation of the battery configured to supply power to the cleaning module, and wherein the cleaning module comprises a module housing having a mop disposed at a lower side thereof, a water tank coupled to the module housing and configured to store water, a steam generator configured to heat water introduced from the water tank, and wherein the auxiliary battery is coupled in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body.
KR’613 teaches a cleaner (figs. 1-2) comprising a cleaning module (defines head front device; pp. [0006] in NPL, fig. 3) configured to eliminate debris on a floor surface (via items 19, 20, 42, 46; pp. [0008]; fig. 3);
wherein the cleaning module comprises: a module housing (defined as outer structure of cleaning module; fig. 3) having a mop (items 42, 42’, figs. 2-3) disposed at a lower side (defined as side of module housing closest to the surface to be cleaned; fig. 3) thereof; a water tank (includes items 7, 8; figs. 2-3) coupled to the module housing (via intermediate components) and configured to store water (pp. [0008]); and a steam generator (item 11; figs. 2-3) configured to heat water introduced from the water tank (item 11 heats water from tank through nozzle to dispense on mops 42, 42’; pp. [0008]; figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning module, as disclosed in application no. 18/879560, to include a module housing having a mop, a water tank, and a steam generator, as taught in KR’613, in order to simultaneously perform steam, mop, and vacuum cleaning, thereby thoroughly clean the surrounding dust and foreign substances with a vacuum when mopping, maintain the cleanliness of the mop by steaming or mopping, and perform clean cleaning to sterilize and mop the floor (KR’613, pp. [0003]).
Further, An (GB2583162) teaches a cleaner comprising two motors, analogous to the two motors in KR’613, wherein one motor is in a cleaning module (item 11; figs. 1-2) and a second motor is in a cleaner main body (item 10; figs. 1-2), wherein the cleaner main body comprises a main battery (item 15; figs. 1-2) configured to supply power to the cleaning module (p. 3-4 of NPL; battery 15 supplies power to cleaner, i.e. cleaning module, and cleaner main body until additional power source, i.e. auxiliary battery, needs to be supplemented in), and wherein the cleaning module comprises an auxiliary battery (item 16; figs. 1-2), wherein the auxiliary battery to the module housing in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the main battery and auxiliary battery, as disclosed in application no. 18/879560, to supply power to the cleaning module and be coupled to the module housing in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body, as taught in An, in order for the cleaner to function as intended and further, in order to couple an auxiliary battery to the cleaner with two motors to extend the operating time of the cleaner and the perceived power rating (p. 2, pp. 9 and p. 4, pp. 7 in NPL of An).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application, claim 1
App no. 18/879560, claim 1
Claim 1, ll. 1-2: A cleaner comprising a cleaning module configured to eliminate debris on a floor surface
Claim 1
Claim 1, ll. 3-4: a cleaner main body comprising a main battery…and a handle configured to be grasped by user
Claim 1
main battery = battery in application no. 18/879560
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the main battery to supply power to the cleaning module, as taught in An from above
Claim 1, ll. 5-8: a module housing having a mop…a water tank…a stream generator configured to heat water
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner to include a mop, a water tank, and a steam generator, as taught in from KR’613 above
Claim 1, ll. 9: an auxiliary battery coupling unit provided on the module housing
Claim 1
auxiliary battery coupling unit = auxiliary battery housing in application no. 18/879560
Claim 1, ll. 10: auxiliary battery is detachably inserted and coupled to auxiliary battery coupling unit
Claim 1
Claim 1, ll. 11: in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auxiliary battery to be coupled to the coupling unit in a state in which the main battery is coupled to the cleaner main body, as taught in from An above
Claim 1, ll. 12-13: wherein the auxiliary battery coupling unit comprises an auxiliary battery coupling groove that accommodates the auxiliary battery
Claim 1
auxiliary battery coupling groove = auxiliary battery receiving groove in application no. 18/879560
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same primary and teaching references, KR102172613 (KR’613), An (GB2583162), and Muramatsu (JP 2020062209), from Non-Final Rejection filed on 12/10/2025.
However, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conrad (US 2026/0033678) discloses a cleaner comprising a cleaner main body comprising a main battery and a cleaning module comprising an auxiliary battery.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723