DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claim 18 in the response filed on 1/20/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are still pending in the application and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 5, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the drawing objections will be maintained. The first interface (100) and its adhesive (110) were labeled via the written specification and drawings, while the second interface and its adhesive are not shown or labeled in the written specification and drawings. The claimed subject matter is not shown in the drawings.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see argument below.
Applicant argues “In describing Fig. 2, Alaguero discloses that it "represents a view of a face in which several neodymium magnets are glued." No additional information is provided, and nowhere does Alaguero disclose or suggest that "the first interface is configured to attach to skin of a patient such that the first magnet does not contact the skin," as claimed. Based on the view of Fig. 2, it appears that the magnets do (or at least could) contact the skin of the patient. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Alaguero fails to disclose or suggest the elements of Claim 1”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Alaguero, it was disclosed that the neodymium magnets are glued to the user’s face using body glue or double-sided tape (paragraph 19); therefore, the first magnets do not contact the skin since there is a material (body glue or double-sided tape) between the user’s skin and the first magnets.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see argument below.
Applicant argues “Independent Claim 18 is amended herein to recite similar elements, and Applicant respectfully submits that Moustafa also fails to disclose or suggest that "the first interface is configured to attach to skin of a patient on a first side of a skin wound such that the first magnet does not contact the skin," as claimed. Moustafa discloses only that there is "an adhesive layer that adheres the magnets to the patients skin." (Abstract.) However, the description and figures of Moustafa do not address whether the magnet contacts the user's skin. From the figures of Moustafa (e.g., Fig. 3), it is apparent that the magnets do (at least could) contact the skin of the patient”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Moustafa, each magnet (figure 1a/1b - 14a/14b) has an adhesive layer (figure 1a/1b - 20a/20b) that is between the user’s skin (figure 2a - 54) and the magnets (14a/14b) (paragraph 0038/0041). Therefore, the magnets (14a/14b) are not contacting the skin; it is the adhesive layer (20a/20b) that is contacting the skin (paragraph 0042).
Applicant's arguments, see page 7, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 4-7 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second interface and its adhesive must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alaguero (ES 1255401 U).
Regarding claim 1, Alaguero discloses a treatment system (figure 1/figure 2, a standard mask with neodymium magnets: paragraph 18-19), comprising: a first interface (A – see annotated figure 1, the neodymium magnets are attached to the user’s face using body glue or double-sided tape: paragraph 19) having a first side (see annotated figure 1, the first side faces the user) that includes an adhesive (see annotated figure 1, the first side includes the body glue or double-sided tape that adheres the neodymium magnets to the user’s face: paragraph 19) and a second side (see annotated figure 1, the second side faces away from the user) that includes a first magnet (4 – see annotated figure 1, neodymium magnets: paragraph 19) (see annotated figure 1, the second side includes a first magnet [4] that faces away from the user), wherein the first interface (A) is configured to attach to skin of a patient such that the first magnet (4) does not contact the skin (figure 2, the first interface [A] has an adhesive one side is configured to attach to the skin of the patient; because of the adhesive, the first magnet [4] does not contact the skin: paragraph 19); and a second interface (1/2 – figure 1, a face mask and neodymium magnets: paragraph 18) that includes a medical device (1 – figure 1, a mask made of a protective material: paragraph 18) and a second magnet (2/3 – figure 1, neodymium magnets: paragraph 18) mounted to the medical device (1) (figure 1, the second magnet [2/3] is mounted in the medical device [1]: paragraph 10/18), wherein the second magnet (2/3) is configured to magnetically bind to the first magnet (4) such that the medical device (1) is secured to the patient (figure 1/figure 2, the second magnet [2/3] binds to the first magnet [4] to allow the medical device [1] to remain fixed to the user’s face: paragraph 01/18-19).
Annotated figure 1: magnet attaches to the face via adhesive layer
Regarding claim 2, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Alaguero further discloses wherein the medical device (1) comprises a breathing mask (figure 1, the medical device [1] is a mask composed of a protective material: paragraph 01/18).
Regarding claim 3, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Alaguero further discloses wherein the second magnet (2/3) is embedded within the medical device (1) (the second magnets [2] can be between textile layers of the medical device [1]: paragraph 10).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moustafa (US 20140214078 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Moustafa discloses a treatment system (10 – figure 1A, a wound closure assembly: paragraph 0036) comprising: a first interface (B – see annotated figure 2, a first interface) that includes a first adhesive (20a – see annotated figure 2, an adhesive bottom layer: paragraph 0038) and a first magnet (14a – see annotated figure 2, a magnet: paragraph 0038) attached to the first adhesive (20a) (the first magnet [14a] is attached to the first adhesive [20a]: paragraph 0038), wherein the first interface (B) is configured to attach to skin of a patient on a first side of a skin wound such that the first magnet (14a) does not contact the skin (see annotated figure 2, the first interface [B] is attached to the skin via the first adhesive [20a] on the first side of the skin wound [left side in annotated figure]; therefore, the first magnet [14a] does not contact the skin: paragraph 0038); and a second interface (C– see annotated figure 2, a second interface) that includes a second adhesive (20b – see annotated figure 2, an adhesive bottom layer: paragraph 0038) and a second magnet (14b – see annotated figure 2, a magnet: paragraph 0038) attached to the second adhesive (20b) (the second magnet [14b] is attached to the second adhesive [20b]: paragraph 0038), wherein the second interface (C) is configured to attach to the skin of the patient on a second side of the skin wound (see annotated figure 2, the second interface [C] is attached to the skin via the second adhesive [20b] on the second side of the skin wound [right side of the annotated figure]: paragraph 0038), and wherein the second magnet (14b) is configured to attach to the first magnet (14a) such that the skin wound is closed (figure 3, the purpose of the first [14a] and second magnet [14b] is to draw the edges of a wound close together: abstract/paragraph 0038/0044).
Annotated figure 2: wound closing assembly of Moustafa
Regarding claim 20, Moustafa discloses the invention as discussed in claim 18. Moustafa further discloses wherein the first magnet (14a) comprises a first magnetic strip (figure 4, the first magnet [14a] comprises a first magnetic strip) that conforms to the first side of the skin wound (figure 4, the first magnetic strip is on the left side of the wound in the figure), and wherein the second magnet (14b) comprises a second magnetic strip (figure 4, the second magnet [14b] comprises a second magnetic strip) of a same size and shape as the first magnetic strip (figure 4, the first and second magnetic strip are the same size and shape: paragraph 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaguero (ES 1255401 U) in view of Moustafa (US 20180168653 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Alaguero fails to disclose wherein the first magnet comprises a first magnetic strip that conforms to a face of the patient, and wherein the second magnet comprises a second magnetic strip of a same size and shape as the first magnetic strip.
Moustafa teaches wherein an analogous first magnet (12a – figure 1, a first magnet: paragraph 0039) comprises a first magnetic strip that conforms to a face of the patient (the first magnet [12a] is a flexible elongated strip that is capable of flexing along the longitudinal axis: paragraph 0039), and wherein an analogous second magnet (12b – figure 1, a second magnet: paragraph 0039) comprises a second magnetic strip (the second magnet [12b] is a flexible elongated strip that is capable of flexing along the longitudinal axis: paragraph 0039) of a same size and shape as the first magnetic strip (figure 1, the first [12a] and second magnet [12b] can be the same in size and shape [see paragraph 0047-0048]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second magnet of Alaguero to be a first magnetic strip and second magnetic strip that are the same size and shape as taught by Moustafa in order to provide a treatment system that has an improved first and second magnet to maximize the attractive force between the two magnets (abstract/paragraph 0013-0014, Moustafa).
Regarding claim 6, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Alaguero further discloses the first magnet (4) comprises neodymium (the first magnet [4] are neodymium magnets: paragraph 19).
However, Alaguero fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first magnet comprises a strip.
Moustafa teaches wherein an analogous first magnet (12a – figure 1, a first magnet: paragraph 0039) comprises a strip (the first magnet [12a] is a flexible elongated strip that is capable of flexing along the longitudinal axis: paragraph 0039).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first magnet of Alaguero to be a strip as taught by Moustafa in order to provide a treatment system that has an improved first magnet to better conform with the patient’s skin due to its material property (paragraph 0009/0039, Moustafa).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaguero (ES 1255401 U) in view of Freeman (US 5681579 A).
Regarding claim 5, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Alaguero fails to disclose wherein the adhesive comprises a hydrocolloid dressing.
Freeman teaches wherein an analogous adhesive (15 – figure 2, an adhesive layer on the polymeric support layer [12]: column 5, lines 66-67/column 6, lines 1-4) comprises a hydrocolloid dressing (the adhesive [15] comprises the hydrocolloid-containing polymeric support layer [12]: abstract/column 3, lines 19-22/column 5, lines 1-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the adhesive of Alaguero with a hydrocolloid dressing as taught by Freeman in order to provide a treatment system that has an improved adhesive to provide pathways for the rapid absorption and uptake of body fluids to remove moisture from where the medical device is attached to on the user’s face (column 5, lines 67 & column 6, lines 1-3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaguero (ES 1255401 U) in view of Kurokawa (JP 2005328907 A).
Regarding claim 7, Alaguero discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Alaguero fails to disclose wherein the second side of the first interface also includes the adhesive such that the first magnet is embedded within the adhesive.
Kurokawa teaches wherein an analogous second side of the first interface (D – see annotated figure 3, a second side of the first interface) also includes an analogous adhesive (1 – see annotated figure 3, an adhesive pad made of silicone-based material: paragraph 0009-0010/0014) such that an analogous first magnet (4 – see annotated figure 3, a magnet such as neodymium: paragraph 0010) is embedded within an analogous adhesive (1) (see annotated figure 3, the magnet [4] is embedded into the adhesive [1]: paragraph 0009).
Annotated figure 3: magnet embedded within the adhesive
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning of the first magnet of Alaguero such that the first magnet is embedded into the adhesive on the second side of the first interface as taught by Kurokawa in order to provide a treatment system that has an improved positioning that does not require the magnet to be removed or attached to the adhesive during use (paragraph 0014, Kurokawa).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moustafa (US 20140214078 A1) in view of Kurokawa (JP 2005328907 A).
Regarding claim 19, Moustafa discloses the invention as discussed in claim 18. Moustafa further discloses a first magnet (14a), first adhesive (20a), second magnet (14b), and second adhesive (20b).
However, Moustafa fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first magnet is embedded within the first adhesive and the second magnet is embedded within the second adhesive.
Kurokawa teaches wherein an analogous magnet (4 – see annotated figure 3, a magnet such as neodymium: paragraph 0010) is embedded within the adhesive ((1) (see annotated figure 3, the magnet [4] is embedded into the adhesive [1]: paragraph 0009).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning of the first and second magnets of Moustafa such that they are embedded in the first and second adhesive, respectively, as taught by Kurokawa in order to provide a treatment system that has an improved positioning that does not require the magnets to be removed or attached to the adhesives during use (paragraph 0014, Kurokawa).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW JUN-WAI MOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786