DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 18, 19 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. WO 2020/246993 (hereinafter Zeng) in view of Ferrar et al. US 2021/0162509 (hereinafter Ferrar).
Regarding claim 11, Zeng teaches: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
determine a first impact of a first environmental factor that will cause degradation of powder at a voxel of a three-dimensional print volume due to printing a particular build ([0032] - - temperature is a first impact);
determine a second impact of a second environmental factor that will cause degradation of the powder at the voxel of the three-dimensional print volume due to printing the particular build ([0032], [0033] - - heat generation due to a voxel’s exposure to an optical energy source is a second impact); and
determine an amount of degradation of the powder at the voxel based on the initial amount of powder degradation, the first impact, and the second impact ([0022], [0023] - - determining material properties e.g. elasticity; elasticity indicates an amount of degradation; simulate transient thermal behavior over time, thus the initial condition is considered).
But Zeng does not explicitly teach: determine an initial amount of powder degradation prior to printing, based on an initial color of the powder.
However, Ferrar teaches determine an initial amount of powder degradation prior to printing, based on an initial color of the powder ([0034] - - overall color of an image of the powder indicates the degree of oxidation of the powder).
Zeng and Ferrar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above medium, as taught by Zeng, and incorporating determining powder degradation based on color, as taught by Ferrar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to determining powder condition in a non-destructive way and determine if the powder may be re-used, as suggested by Ferrar ([0012]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zeng and Ferrar teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zeng further teaches: use a first model to represent interactions between the first environmental factor and the powder at the voxel to determine the first impact and to use a second model to represent interactions between the first environmental factor and the powder at the voxel to determine a third impact ([0032]-[0037] - - temperature, heat generation & etc. are impacts; [0022], [0023] - - determining material properties e.g. elasticity; elasticity indicates an amount of degradation).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zeng and Ferrar teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zeng further teaches: perform three-dimensional printing using a three-dimensional print configuration that is selected based on the amount of degradation ([0052] - - perform offline print mode tunning based on simulation result, the offline print mode tunning is selecting a configuration).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. WO 2020/246993 (hereinafter Zeng) in view of Ferrar et al. US 2021/0162509 (hereinafter Ferrar) and further in view of Luan et al. WO 2020/091726 (hereinafter Luan).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zeng and Ferrar teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zeng teaches: to determine the amount of degradation of the powder at the voxel based on the initial amount of powder degradation, the first impact, and the second impact ([0032]-[0037] - - temperature, heat generation & etc. are impacts; [0022], [0023] - - determining material properties e.g. elasticity; elasticity indicates an amount of degradation; simulate transient thermal behavior over time, thus the initial condition is considered).
But the combination of Zeng and Ferrar does not explicitly teach: to use a neural network or a support vector regression to determine powder properties.
However, Luan teaches: to use a neural network or a support vector regression to determine powder properties. ([0008] - - neural network is used for simulation).
Zeng, Ferrar and Luan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above medium, as taught by the combination of Zeng and Ferrar, and incorporating using neural network to determine degradation, as taught by Luan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to monitoring 3D printing, as suggested by Luan (Abstract).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. WO 2020/246993 (hereinafter Zeng) ) in view of Ferrar et al. US 2021/0162509 (hereinafter Ferrar) and further in view of Alonso et al. US 2019/0054696 (hereinafter Alonso).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zeng and Ferrar teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Zeng and Ferrar does not explicitly teach: the three-dimensional print configuration comprises a ratio of fresh powder to recycled powder to use during three-dimensional printing..
However, Alonso teaches: the three-dimensional print configuration comprises a ratio of fresh powder to recycled powder to use during three-dimensional printing ([0063] - - selected ratio of recycled material and fresh material).
Zeng, Ferrar and Alonso are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Zeng and Ferrar, and incorporating selecting a ratio of fresh material to recycled material, as taught by Alonso.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce agglomeration, as suggested by Alonso ([0024]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116