DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said nebulizer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that claim 13 should instead depend from claim 12 and not claim 10. For examination purposes claim 13 will be treated as though it depends from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cupit (WO 2020/229791 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cupit discloses a system (10) (see Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) for removing unwanted materials from a continuing volume of gas, comprising: an enclosure (12) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 4-13) comprising a fan (21a, 21b) (see Fig. 1) for moving a continuing volume of gas (Fig. 1 - air in; pg. 8, In 4 -13) through the enclosure (12) (see Fig. 1), the enclosure (12) having an inlet (18) enabling the continuing volume of air to enter the enclosure (12), and a second opening (20) enabling the continuing volume of gas to exit the enclosure (12), the continuing volume of gas (Fig. 1 - air in) characterized by a temperature (Fig. 1 - the temperature of the air in); at least one cold surface (22) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 23-26) that is at a lower temperature (Fig. 1 - the lower temperature of 22 allowing for condensate to be formed) than the continuing volume of gas (Fig. 4 - air in), such that water in the air condenses and precipitates from the gas as the gas comes into thermal communication with the at least one cold surface (22) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 23-26), forming a condensate (Fig. 1 - the water droplets flowing from evaporator 22 to water storage tank 28) comprising the unwanted materials (pg. 8, In 27-31); at least one hot surface (24) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 14-22) that is at a higher temperature (Fig. 2 - the condenser 24 has a higher temperature than the cooled air passing through the evaporator 22) than the continuing volume of gas (Fig. 1 - air in), that heats the continuing volume of gas (Fig. 1 - air in) as the gas comes into thermal communication with the at least one hot surface (24) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 14-22); and at least one collection reservoir (lower water storage unit 28, see Fig. 1; pg. 9, In 1-9) in fluid communication with the condensate so that it collects the condensate (see Fig. 1 - the water droplets flowing from evaporator 22 to water storage tank 28); and wherein the continuing volume of gas (see Fig. 1 - air out) is motivated though an outlet opening (20) (see Fig. 1 - the outlet opening of 20), wherein the continuing volume of gas (Fig. 1 - air out) that exits the enclosure (12) (see Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 4-13) through the outlet opening has a lower count of unwanted materials (pg. 8, In 27-31) to volume of gas than the continuing volume of gas that entered the enclosure (12) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one cold surface (22) (Fig. 1) is a cold surface of a thermoelectric module (pg. 17, In 14-24 - the heat-absorption surface of the thermoelectric cooler), and wherein the at least one hot surfaces (24, Fig. 1) is a hot surface of a thermoelectric module (pg. 17, In 14-24, "the ATW generation system 10 may include a thermoelectric cooler (that employs the Peltier effect) to replace one or more of the refrigeration cycle components. Such a thermoelectric cooler may comprise an array that contains a laminar structure in which n-type and p-type semiconductor materials are arranged between metal film layers, which themselves have disposed thereon ceramic layers. The ceramic layer on one side forms a heat-absorption surface to extract heat from the surrounding environment (i.e. to cool air passing thereover), and the ceramic layer on an opposite side of the array forms a heat-emission surface. A thermoelectric cooler may be usefully employed in arrangements where space is limited (e.g. small housings), such that the often bulkier conventional refrigeration cycle components cannot be employed, because of their larger size" – the
heat-emission surface of the thermoelectric cooler).
4. Claims 54, 59-60, 64, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winders et al. (US 2018/0356116 A1) (hereafter “Winders”).
Regarding Claim 54, Winders discloses a method (Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) for removing unwanted particles and pathogens (para[0039]) from a continuing volume of gas, comprising the steps of: cooling (80, Fig. 5; para[0038]) the continuing volume of gas (108, Fig. 5) such that water in the air condenses, forming a condensate (Fig. 5- the condensate of pan 106) containing the unwanted particles and pathogens that have been removed from the continuing volume of gas; collecting the condensate (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]); applying the condensate (112, Fig. 5; para[0039]) to at least one hot surface (114, Fig. 5), causing water forming the condensate to evaporate, leaving the unwanted particles and pathogens on the hot surface (114, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 59, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, wherein the step of applying the condensate (112, Fig. 5; para [0039] - misters) to at least one hot surface (114, Fig. 5) is performed by spraying (112, Fig. 5; para [0039] - misters).
Regarding Claim 60, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, wherein the step of applying the condensate (112, Fig. 5; para [0039] - wicks) to at least one hot surface (114, Fig. 5) is performed by wicking (112, Fig. 5; para [0039] - wicks).
Regarding Claim 64, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, further comprising the step of at least partially neutralizing a pathogen contained in said condensate (Fig. 5 - the condensate of pan 106) by causing said condensate to come into contact with a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, the condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and/ or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate").
Regarding Claim 66, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, wherein a condensate collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) containing said condensate (Fig. 5 - the condensate of pan 106) comprises a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, the condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and / or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 and 19 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the temperature of the at least one cold surface is between 0 degrees C and 15 degrees C. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the cold surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the cold surface to increase or decrease the amount of condensate is produced and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 3, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the temperature of the at least one hot surface is between 40 degrees C and 70 degrees C. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the hot surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the hot surface to increase or decrease the temperature of air leaving the enclosure and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 5, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the condensate in the at least one collection reservoir is maintained at a temperature of 56 degrees C or greater. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the collection reservoir.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the collection reservoir to increase or decrease the temperature of water to be dispensed and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 6, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, the number of cold surfaces (22, Fig. 1), the number of hot surfaces (24, Fig. 1), and the number of collection reservoirs (lower water storage unit 28, Fig. 1) is the same, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one cold surface is further defined as a plurality of cold surfaces, and wherein said at least one hot surface is defined as a plurality of hot surfaces, and wherein: the cold surfaces and hot surfaces are arranged such that the volume of air comes into thermal communication first with a cold surface, and after that, comes into thermal communication with a hot surface, and then comes into thermal communication with alternating cold surfaces and hot surfaces, as the continuing volume of gas passes through the enclosure. It is obvious to repeat steps already taught by the prior art reference, as part of routine experimentation to optimize a process.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have duplicated the water extraction unit that includes the cold and hot surfaces, and to have duplicated the water dispensing unit that includes the collection reservoir to increase the amount of water extracted from the air introduced into the enclosure.
Regarding Claim 21, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein the temperature of the at least one cold surface is between 0 degrees C and 15 degrees C. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the cold surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the cold surface to increase or decrease the amount of condensate is produced and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 22, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein the temperature of the at least one hot surface is between 40 degrees C and 70 degrees C. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the hot surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the hot surface to increase or decrease the temperature of air leaving the enclosure and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 24, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein the condensate in the at least one collection reservoir is maintained at a temperature of 56 degrees C or greater. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the collection reservoir.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the collection reservoir to increase or decrease the temperature of water to be dispensed and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
7. Claims 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winders as applied to claim 54 above.
Regarding Claim 55, Winders discloses the method of claim 54, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one hot surface is at a temperature in the range of 50 degrees C to 60 degrees C, inclusive. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the hot surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the hot surface to increase or decrease the temperature of air leaving the enclosure and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
8. Claim(s) 4, 23, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winders.
Regarding Claim 4, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein said at least one collection reservoir (lower water storage unit 28, Fig. 1) comprises a UV light (pg. 9, In 10-19) for neutralizing a pathogen (pg. 9, In 10-19), but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one collection reservoir comprises a catalytic material for neutralizing a pathogen. However, Winders teaches a system (Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein a collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) comprises a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, the condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and / or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate") for neutralizing a pathogen.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Winders to the collection reservoir of Cupit to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the condensate further providing cleaner water.
Regarding Claim 23, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, wherein said at least one collection reservoir (lower water storage unit 28, Fig. 1) comprises a UV light (pg. 9, In 10-19) for neutralizing a pathogen (pg. 9, In 10-19), but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one collection reservoir comprises a catalytic material for neutralizing a pathogen. However, Winders teaches a system (Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein a collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) comprises a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and / or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate") for neutralizing a pathogen.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Winders to the collection reservoir of Cupit to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the condensate further providing cleaner water.
Regarding Claim 33, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein at least a portion of the surfaces of said collection reservoir that come into contact with said condensate comprises a catalytic material. However, Winders teaches a system (Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein a collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) comprises a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, the condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and / or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate") for neutralizing a pathogen.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Winders to the collection reservoir of Cupit to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the condensate further providing cleaner water.
Regarding Claim 34, Cupit and Winders disclose the modified system of Claim 33, Cupit does not specifically teach wherein said condensate is pumped from said collection reservoir and sprayed onto said at least one hot surface. However, Winders teaches a system (102, Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein said condensate (Fig. 5 - the condensate of pan 106) is pumped (110, Fig. 5) from a collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) and sprayed (112, Fig. 5; para[0039] - misters) onto said at least one hot surface (114, Fig. 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the pump and the misters of Winders to the system of Cupit to remove unwanted pathogens from the condensate using heat from the hot surface.
Regarding Claim 35, Cupit and Winders disclose the modified system of Claim 33, Cupit does not specifically teach wherein said condensate is wicked from said collection reservoir by capillary action onto said at least one hot surface. However, Winders teaches a system (102, Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein said condensate (Fig. 5 - the condensate of pan 106) is wicked (112, Fig. 5; para[0039] - wicks) from said collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) by capillary action onto said at least one hot surface (114, Fig. 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the wicks of Winders to the system of Cupit to remove unwanted pathogens from the condensate using heat from the hot surface.
9. Claims 7 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forsberg et al. (US 2005/0139552 A1) (hereafter “Forsberg”).
Regarding Claim 7, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach further comprising an ionizer disposed between the inlet and the at least one cold surface, the ionizer operable to ionize unwanted materials carried by the continuing volume of gas as the continuing volume of gas passes though the ionizer. However, Forsberg teaches a system (Fig. 10; ABSTRACT) comprising an ionizer (Fig. 10; para[0198], "As may be best seen in FIGS. 1 and 10, air entering the housing 1 first passes through a replaceable air filter 119 into a plenum 65 and across an optional, self-contained ionizing device (not shown)" - the ionizer) disposed between the inlet (Fig. 10-the inlet with air filter 119) and the at least one cold surface (16, Fig. 10), the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer) operable to ionize unwanted materials (para[0120], "An air ionizer may be used to further assist in removing particulate matter from the intake air and treating the discharged air") carried by the continuing volume of gas as the continuing volume of gas passes though the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ionizer of Forsberg to the system of Cupit to ionize unwanted materials carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
Regarding Claim 25, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach further comprising an ionizer disposed between the inlet and the at least one cold surface, the ionizer operable to ionize unwanted materials carried by the continuing volume of gas as the continuing volume of gas passes though the ionizer. However, Forsberg teaches a system (Fig. 10; ABSTRACT) comprising an ionizer (Fig. 10; para[0198], "As may be best seen in FIGS. 1 and 10, air entering the housing 1 first passes through a replaceable air filter 119 into a plenum 65 and across an optional, self-contained ionizing device (not shown)" - the ionizer) disposed between the inlet (Fig. 10- the inlet with air filter 119) and the at least one cold surface (16, Fig. 10), the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer) operable to ionize unwanted materials (para[0120], "An air ionizer may be used to further assist in removing particulate matter from the intake air and treating the discharged air") carried by the continuing volume of gas as the continuing volume of gas passes though the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ionizer of Forsberg to the system of Cupit to ionize unwanted materials carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
10. Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Kumar (US 2017/0254053 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, further comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (30, Fig. 1; pg. 9, In 15- 21), but does not specifically teach further comprising at least one ultraviolet light source disposed within the enclosure, the at least one ultraviolet light source irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives at least 10-20 mJ/cm2 dosage. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the system of Cupit to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
Regarding Claim 26, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, further comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (30, Fig. 1; pg. 9, In 15-21), but does not specifically teach further comprising at least one ultraviolet light source disposed within the enclosure, the at least one ultraviolet light source irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas with sufficient intensity to neutralize pathogens in the continuing volume of gas. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the system of Cupit to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
11. Claims 9, 12-13, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit in view of Holland et al. (US 2007/0221582 A1) (hereafter “Holland”).
Regarding Claim 9, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach further comprising at least one mister in communication with a source of fluid, for increasing the volume of water carried by the continuing volume of gas. However, Holland discloses a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one mister (10, Fig. 1-2) in communication with a source of fluid (1, Fig. 1; para[0028]), for increasing the volume of water carried by the continuing volume of gas.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the mister of Holland to the system of Cupit to introduce water into the continuing volume of gas to be condensed to allow for more removal of unwanted particles.
Regarding Claim 12, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 9, Holland teaches wherein said mister (10, Fig. 2; para[0028]) is a nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0027], "The types of nebulizers which can be employed in the present invention are not limited to that pictured in FIG. 1, but can be any kind of nebulizer which atomizes a liquid through the action of a carrier gas, an applied voltage or ultrasonic waves").
Regarding Claim 13, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 12, Holland teaches wherein said nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0028]) is further defined as an ultrasonic nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0027], "The types of nebulizers which can be employed in the present invention are not limited to that pictured in FIG. 1, but can be any kind of nebulizer which atomizes a liquid through the action of a carrier gas, an applied voltage or ultrasonic waves").
Regarding Claim 27, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach further comprising at least one mister in communication with a source of fluid, for increasing the volume of water carried by the continuing volume of gas. However, Holland discloses a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one mister (10, Fig. 1-2) in communication with a source of fluid (1, Fig. 1; para[0028]), for increasing the volume of water carried by the continuing volume of gas.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the mister of Holland to the system of Cupit to introduce water into the continuing volume of gas to be condensed to allow for more removal of unwanted particles.
Regarding Claim 28, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 27, wherein said mister (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0028]) is a nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0027], "The types of nebulizers which can be employed in the present invention are not limited to that pictured in FIG. 1, but can be any kind of nebulizer which atomizes a liquid through the action of a carrier gas, an applied voltage or ultrasonic waves").
Regarding Claim 29, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 28, wherein said nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0028]) is further defined as an ultrasonic nebulizer (10, Fig. 1-2; para[0027], "The types of nebulizers which can be employed in the present invention are not limited to that pictured in FIG. 1, but can be any kind of nebulizer which atomizes a liquid through the action of a carrier gas, an applied voltage or ultrasonic waves").
12. Claims 10 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Ritchey (US 2008/0314062 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one cold surface comprises a hydrophobic coating. However, Ritchey teaches a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) wherein at least one cold surface (14, Fig. 2; para[0080]) comprises a hydrophobic coating (para[0150], "Other materials may be used also having desirable attributes within the device. These may include hydrophobic coatings (water repelling), and a variety of antimicrobial elements proven to suppress the growth and migration of bacteria. These substances may include silver or other compounds known to reduce bacterial growth as well as a variety of corrosion proofing materials").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the hydrophobic coating of Ritchey to the cold surface of Cupit to repel the water formed on the cold surface to allow the water to move to the collection reservoir.
Regarding Claim 31, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one cold surface comprises a hydrophobic coating. However, Ritchey teaches a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) wherein at least one cold surface (14, Fig. 2; para[0080]) comprises a hydrophobic coating (para[0150], "Other materials may be used also having desirable attributes within the device. These may include hydrophobic coatings (water repelling), and a variety of antimicrobial elements proven to suppress the growth and migration of bacteria. These substances may include silver or other compounds known to reduce bacterial growth as well as a variety of corrosion proofing materials").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the hydrophobic coating of Ritchey to the cold surface of Cupit to repel the water formed on the cold surface to allow the water to move to the collection reservoir.
13. Claims 11 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cupit as applied to claim 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Lanz (US 2006/0257299 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one hot surface comprises a catalytic material. However, Lanz teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) wherein at least one hot surface (6, Fig. 1) comprises a catalytic material (para[0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Lanz to the hot surface of Cupit to neutralize and treat the volatile compounds in the air.
Regarding Claim 32, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, but does not specifically teach wherein said at least one hot surface comprises a catalytic material. However, Lanz teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) wherein at least one hot surface (6, Fig. 1) comprises a catalytic material (para[0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Lanz to the hot surface of Cupit to neutralize and treat the volatile compounds in the air.
14. Claims 47 and 51-53 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forsberg in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0355395 A1) (hereafter “Yang”).
Regarding Claim 47, Forsberg discloses a method (Fig. 1, Fig. 10; ABSTRACT) for removing unwanted particles and pathogens from a continuing volume of gas, comprising the steps of: motivating (2, Fig. 10; para[0198]) the continuing volume of gas through an enclosure (1, Fig. 10); ionizing (Fig. 10; para[0198], "As may be best seen in FIGS. 1 and 10, air entering the housing 1 first passes through a replaceable air filter 119 into a plenum 65 and across an optional, self-contained ionizing device (not shown)"- the ionizer) the continuing volume of gas; cooling (16, Fig. 10) the continuing volume of gas such that water in the gas condenses, forming a condensate (Fig. 10- the condensate from 16 entering condensate reservoir 27) containing unwanted particles and pathogens that have been removed from the continuing volume of gas; heating (4, Fig. 10) the continuing volume of gas; and collecting (5, Fig. 1; para[0198]) the condensate in a collection reservoir (5, Fig. 1; para[0198]) but does not specifically teach adding water droplets or microdroplets to the continuing volume of gas; and wherein the steps of cooling and heating are alternated. However, Yang teaches a system (10, Fig. 3A-B; ABSTRACT) comprising adding (62, Fig. 4) water droplets or microdroplets (para[0037]) to the continuing volume of gas (40, 42, Fig. 3A-B - the air of air ducts 40 and 42).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the nozzles of Yang to the method of Forsberg to increase the amount of water in the ambient air to therefore increase the amount of water extracted from the air that is introduced into the enclosure and to allow for removal of more contaminants.
Further, It is obvious to repeat steps already taught by the prior art reference, as part of routine experimentation to optimize a process. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have duplicated the system including the cooling and heating means to increase the amount of water extracted from the air introduced into the enclosure.
Regarding Claim 51, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach wherein the condensate in the collection reservoir is maintained at a temperature greater than 56 degrees C. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the collection reservoir.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the collection reservoir to increase or decrease the temperature of water to be dispensed and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 52, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach wherein the step of cooling the continuing volume of gas is performed by causing the continuing volume of gas to come into thermal communication with a cold surface at between 0 degrees C to 15 degrees C, inclusive. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the cold surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the cold surface to increase or decrease the amount of condensate is produced and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
Regarding Claim 53, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach wherein the step of heating the continuing volume of gas is performed by causing the continuing volume of gas to come into thermal communication with a hot surface at between 50 degrees C to 60 degrees C, inclusive. It is known in the art that optimization of size, shape, and scale through routine experimentation is an ordinary skill in the art and it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various design engineering choices could have been used to have arrived at modifying the temperature of the hot surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the temperature of the hot surface to increase or decrease the temperature of air leaving the enclosure and to increase or decrease the amount of energy the system uses.
15. Claims 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winders as applied to claim 54 above, and further in view of Forsberg.
Regarding Claim 61, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of ionizing said continuing volume of gas, so that unwanted materials in the gas are more likely to be carried out of the gas by the condensate. However, Forsberg teaches a system (Fig. 10; ABSTRACT) comprising rising an ionizer (Fig. 10; para[0198], "As may be best seen in FIGS. 1 and 10, air entering the housing 1 first passes through a replaceable air filter 119 into a plenum 65 and across an optional, self-contained ionizing device (not shown)"- the ionizer) disposed between the inlet (Fig. 10-the inlet with air filter 119) and the at least one cold surface (16, Fig. 10), the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer) operable to ionize unwanted materials (para[0120], "An air ionizer may be used to further assist in removing particulate matter from the intake air and treating the discharged air") carried by the continuing volume of gas as the continuing volume of gas passes though the ionizer (para[0198] - the ionizer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ionizer of Forsberg to the system of Winders to ionize unwanted materials carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
16. Claims 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winders as applied to claim 54 above, and further in view of Kumar.
Regarding Claim 62, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, an ultraviolet light (para[0026] - ultraviolet lights), but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of irradiating said air with UVA, UV-B, or UV-C light energy such that the continuing volume of gas receives at least 10-20 mJ/cm2 dosage. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the system of Winders to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
Regarding Claim 63, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, an ultraviolet light (para[0026] - ultraviolet lights), but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of irradiating said air with UVA, UV-B, or UV-C light energy such that the continuing volume of gas receives at least 10-200 mJ/cm2 dosage. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising co at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the system of Winders to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
17. Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winders as applied to claim 54 above, and further in view of Lanz.
Regarding Claim 65, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, but does not specifically teach wherein at least a portion of said at least one hot surface comprises a catalytic material. However, Lanz teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) wherein at least one hot surface (6, Fig. 1) comprises a catalytic material (para[0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Lanz to the hot surface of Winders to neutralize and treat the volatile compounds in the air.
18. Claims 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forsberg in view of Yang applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Kumar.
Regarding Claim 48, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of irradiating the continuing volume of gas with UV-A, UV-B, or UV-C light energy such that the continuing volume of gas receives at least 10-20 mJ/cm2 dosage. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the method of Forsberg to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
Regarding Claim 49, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of irradiating the continuing volume of gas with UV-A, UV-B, or UV-C light energy such that the continuing volume of gas receives at least 10-200 mJ/cm2 dosage. However, Kumar teaches a system (Fig. 1; ABSTRACT) comprising at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) disposed within an enclosure (Fig. 2a - the enclosure of the system), the at least one ultraviolet light source (5, Fig. 1; para[0026]) irradiating at least a portion of the continuing volume of gas such that the portion of continuing volume of gas receives a dosage (para[0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the ultraviolet light source of Kumar to the method of Forsberg to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the continuing volume of gas further providing cleaner air.
19. Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forsberg in view of Yang as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Winders.
Regarding Claim 50, Forsberg and Yang disclose the modified method of Claim 47, but does not specifically teach wherein the collection reservoir comprises a catalytic material for neutralizing a pathogen. However, Winders teaches a system (Fig. 5; ABSTRACT) wherein a collection reservoir (106, Fig. 5; para[0038]) comprises a catalytic material (para[0039], "In some embodiments, the condensate pan 106 may include substances or materials that treat the condensate to remove algae or other contaminants that may clog the nozzles 112 and/or conduits 113 directing the condensate toward the coils 114. For example, injectors 115 may be fluidly coupled to the condensate pan 106 and may be configured to inject various substances into the condensate pan 106 to remove the contaminants from the condensate") for neutralizing a pathogen.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the catalytic material of Winders to the method of Forsberg to sterilize bacteria and viruses carried by the condensate further providing cleaner water.
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 14-18, 20, 30, 36-46, and 56-58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 14, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 9, but does not specifically teach wherein said source of fluid is a flash boiler that is in communication with the at least one collection reservoir, such that condensate from said at least one collection reservoir is communicated to the flash boiler, where the condensate is heated such that pathogens in the condensate are neutralized, and wherein the resulting heated condensate is communicated to the mister for increasing the amount of water in the continuing volume of gas. In similar art, Forsberg teaches a system (Fig. 12; ABSTRACT) comprising a flash boiler (133, Fig. 12; para[0211]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein said source of fluid is a flash boiler that is in communication with the at least one collection reservoir, such that condensate from said at least one collection reservoir is communicated to the flash boiler, where the condensate is heated such that pathogens in the condensate are neutralized, and wherein the resulting heated condensate is communicated to the mister for increasing the amount of water in the continuing volume of gas.
Regarding Claim 15, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein said enclosure comprises a plurality of stackable stages, including at least one inlet stage and at least one outlet stage, wherein the inlet stage receives a continuing volume of gas, passes the continuing volume of gas in proximity to a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, and exits the continuing volume of gas into a following stage, which may be a first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair or an outlet stage; and wherein: in the case in which the following stage is a first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair, wherein, in the intermediate stage pair, the continuing volume of gas passes through the intermediate stage pair, coming into thermal communication with a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, resulting in the formation of condensate when the gas comes into thermal communication with the cold surfaces of the intermediate stage pair, and wherein the continuing volume of gas exits into a following stage, which may be another first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair, or an outlet stage; and in the case in which the following stage is an outlet stage, in the outlet stage. the continuing volume of gas passes through the outlet stage, coming into thermal communication with a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, resulting in the formation of condensate when the gas comes into thermal communication with the cold surfaces of the outlet stage, and wherein the continuing volume of gas exit the enclosure through an outlet opening in the outlet stage. In similar art, Murphy teaches a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) comprising: an enclosure (36, Fig. 1-2) comprises a plurality of stages (22, 26, Fig. 1-2). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein said enclosure comprises a plurality of stackable stages, including at least one inlet stage and at least one outlet stage, wherein the inlet stage receives a continuing volume of gas, passes the continuing volume of gas in proximity to a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, and exits the continuing volume of gas into a following stage, which may be a first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair or an outlet stage; and wherein: in the case in which the following stage is a first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair, wherein, in the intermediate stage pair, the continuing volume of gas passes through the intermediate stage pair, coming into thermal communication with a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, resulting in the formation of condensate when the gas comes into thermal communication with the cold surfaces of the intermediate stage pair, and wherein the continuing volume of gas exits into a following stage, which may be another first intermediate stage of an intermediate stage pair, or an outlet stage; and in the case in which the following stage is an outlet stage, in the outlet stage, the continuing volume of gas passes through the outlet stage, coming into thermal communication with a plurality of alternating cold and hot surfaces, resulting in the formation of condensate when the gas comes into thermal communication with the cold surfaces of the outlet stage, and wherein the continuing volume of gas exit the enclosure through an outlet opening in the outlet stage.
Regarding claims 16-18, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a system as claimed since they are dependent on claim 15.
Regarding Claim 20, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, wherein the at least one cold surface (22, Fig. 1) is a cold surface of a thermoelectric module (pg. 17, In 14-24 - the heat-absorption surface of the thermoelectric cooler), but does not specifically teach wherein said continuing volume of gas is directed to pass between the cold surfaces of a pair of thermoelectric modules arranged so that their cold surfaces are opposing, forming an open volume between them, through which said air passes causing said air to come into thermal communication with said cold surfaces such that the temperature of said air is lowered, forming condensate. In similar art, Murphy teaches a system (Fig. 1-9; ABSTRACT) wherein said continuing volume of gas is directed to pass between the cold surfaces (22, Fig. 3-4) of a plurality of thermoelectric modules (Fig. 3-4 - the thermoelectric modules including cold sinks 22 and heat sinks 26; para[0033]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein said continuing volume of gas is directed to pass between the cold surfaces of a pair of thermoelectric modules arranged so that their cold surfaces are opposing, forming an open volume between them, through which said air passes causing said air to come into thermal communication with said cold surfaces such that the temperature of said air is lowered, forming condensate.
Regarding Claim 30, Cupit and Holland disclose the modified system of Claim 27, but does not specifically teach wherein said source of fluid is a flash boiler that is in communication with the at least one collection reservoir, such that condensate from said at least one collection reservoir is communicated to the flash boiler, where the condensate is heated such that pathogens in the condensate are neutralized, and wherein the resulting heated condensate is communicated to the mister for increasing the amount of water in the continuing volume of gas. In similar art, FORSBERG teaches a system (Fig. 12; ABSTRACT) comprising a flash boiler (133, Fig. 12; para[0211]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein said source of fluid is a flash boiler that is in communication with the at least one collection reservoir, such that condensate from said at least one collection reservoir is communicated to the flash boiler, where the condensate is heated such that pathogens in the condensate are neutralized, and wherein the resulting heated condensate is communicated to the mister for increasing the amount of water in the continuing volume of gas.
Regarding Claim 36, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 19, wherein said at least one thermoelectric module is defined as plurality of an even number of thermoelectric modules, wherein two thermoelectric modules form a thermoelectric module pair, wherein the thermoelectric modules comprising the thermoelectric module pair are arranged so that their cold surfaces are opposing one another. forming an open volume between them, through which said air passes, causing said air to come into contact with, or pass near, said cold surfaces such that the temperature of said air is reduced, causing condensate to form on said cold surfaces, said condensate containing unwanted particles or pathogens that have been removed from said air. In similar art, Murphy teaches a system (Fig. 1-9; ABSTRACT) wherein said continuing volume of gas is directed to pass between the cold surfaces (22, Fig. 3-4) of a plurality of thermoelectric modules (Fig. 3-4 - the thermoelectric modules including cold sinks 22 and heat sinks 26; para[0033]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein said at least one thermoelectric module is defined as plurality of an even number of thermoelectric modules, wherein two thermoelectric modules form a thermoelectric module pair, wherein the thermoelectric modules comprising the thermoelectric module pair are arranged so that their cold surfaces are opposing one another, forming an open volume between them, through which said air passes, causing said air to come into contact with, or pass near, said cold surfaces such that the temperature of said air is reduced, causing condensate to form on said cold surfaces, said condensate containing unwanted particles or pathogens that have been removed from said air.
Regarding claims 37-43, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a system as claimed since they are dependent on claim 36.
Regarding Claim 44, Cupit discloses the system of Claim 1, further comprising; at least one fan (21a, 21b, Fig. 1) for motivating said air into, and through said enclosure (12, Fig. 1; pg. 8, In 4-13), such that at least a portion of said air comes into thermal communication with said cold surfaces (22, Fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a controller operable to control said fan; wherein said controller is in communication with a physical memory comprising non-transitory computer readable and executable instructions for controlling power to said fan and said thermoelectric modules: and wherein said controller is adapted to receive user commands for controlling power to said fan and to said thermoelectric modules through at least one of a human user interface or a remote user in communication with said controller. In similar art, Ritchey teaches a system (Fig. 1-2; ABSTRACT) comprising: at least one fan (12, Fig. 1; para[0080]) for motivating said air into, and through said enclosure (Fig. 1-2- the enclosure of the system) such that at least a portion of said air comes into thermal communication with said cold surfaces (16, Fig. 2), a controller (48, Fig. 1; para[0087]-para[0088]) operable to control said fan (12, Fig. 1); and wherein said controller is adapted to receive user commands for controlling power to said fan through at least one of a human user interface (180, Fig. 14; para[0091]) or a remote user (195, Fig. 14) in communication with said controller. However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system comprising wherein said controller is in communication with a physical memory comprising non-transitory computer readable and executable instructions for controlling power to said fan and said thermoelectric modules; wherein said controller is adapted to receive user commands for controlling power to said fan and to said thermoelectric modules.
Regarding claims 45-46, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a system as claimed since they are dependent on claim 44.
Regarding Claim 56, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, but does not specifically teach further comprising the step of removing the unwanted particles and neutralized pathogens from the hot surface. In similar art, Forsberg teaches a system (Fig. 10; ABSTRACT) comprising a hot surface (4, Fig. 10; para[0198]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein the method comprises the step of removing the unwanted particles and neutralized pathogens form the hot surface, in combination with the claimed environment.
Regarding Claim 57, Winders discloses the method of Claim 54, but does not specifically teach wherein the step of cooling the continuing volume of gas is performed by passing said continuing volume of gas between opposing cold surfaces of at least one thermoelectric module pair, wherein at least a portion of said continuing volume of gas is in thermal communication with at least one of said cold surfaces. In similar art, Murphy teaches a system (Fig. 1-9; ABSTRACT) wherein said continuing volume of gas is directed to pass between the cold surfaces (22, Fig. 3-4) of a plurality of thermoelectric modules (Fig. 3-4 - the thermoelectric modules including cold sinks 22 and heat sinks 26; para[0033]). However, the prior art does not disclose/teach individually nor fairly suggest in combination a system wherein the step of cooling the continuing volume of gas is performed by passing said continuing volume of gas between opposing cold surfaces of at least one thermoelectric module pair, wherein at least a portion of said continuing volume of gas is in thermal communication with at least one of said cold surfaces.
Regarding claim 58, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a method as claimed since the claim is dependent on claim 57.
Conclusion
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799