DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed February 25, 2026, claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 14, and 15 have been amended, claims 4, 8, 11, and 18 cancelled, claims 21-24 are new and claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12-17, and 19-24 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraphs 2 – page 8, filed February 25, 2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-7 and 19-24 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No.:2024/0137820).
Regarding amended claims 1, and 14, the applicant argued that, page 7 – page 8, “…As a result, Applicant respectfully submits that even if Kim and Hong could have somehow been combined, the combination of Kim and Hong would still fail to disclose, suggest, or render obvious "a receiver configured to receive, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle (RRC_IDLE) state from a remote UE device in an RRC_INACTIVE state over a PC5 interface, a first RRC message requesting connection to a base station," as recited in amended claim 1 and similarly recited in amended claim 14. For at least the above reasons, the cited references, taken alone or in any combination, fail to disclose, suggest, or otherwise render obvious the features recited in the independent claims. Thus, Applicant submits that the independent claims are allowable. Applicant further submits that the dependent claims are allowable at least by virtue of their dependence on the independent claims, and for the additional features recited. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.”
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 14, Kim clearly teaches a receiver (see Fig.19, UE – with a receiver) configured to receive, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle (RRC IDLE) state (see para. 630, 664, UE1, relay UE in idle state, RRC IDLE) from a remote UE device in an RRC INACTIVE state (see para. 664, UE 2, remote UE in RRC INACTIVE) over a PC5 interface, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message requesting connection to a base station (see Fig.15-16, Fig.19, NG-RAN, see para. 644-650, receiving, from UE-2/a remote UE device in RRC INACTIVE over a PC5 interface, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message requesting connection to NG-RAN/a base station, see also para. 664-674, see Step 7, pages 24-26); and a transmitter (see Fig.19, UE – with a transmitter) configured to transmit, in response to the first RRC message, an RRC connection request message to the base station (see Fig.15-16, Fig.19, NG-RAN, see para. 643-650, transmitting an RRC connection request message to the NG-RAN, pages 24-26).
Please see below examiner note: “When the Relay UE is in RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE and the remote UE needs to the request connection to the gNB, the Remote UE will send an RRC Resume Request (while in RRC_INACTIVE) or RRC Setup Request (while in RRC_IDLE) to the gNB via the Relay UE”.
The Examiner further states that Hong teaches a receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, a transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from a base station (see Fig.6, para. 0183, receiving an RRC reject message including wait time value from eNodeB, by a relay terminal, and based on the reject message, transmitting a rejection/response/failure message for an access request of a remote terminal).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the system as disclosed by Kim and Hong reads upon “a receiver configured to receive, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle (RRC IDLE) state from a remote UE device in an RRC INACTIVE state over a PC5 interface, a first RRC message requesting connection to a base station; and a transmitter configured to transmit, in response to the first RRC message, an RRC connection request message to the base station, the receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from the base station” as recites in the claim.
Examine Note: Instant specification disclose (see page 2 and page 3 of provisional 63/155206), “When the Relay UE is in RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE and the remote UE needs to the request connection to the gNB, the Remote UE will send an RRC Resume Request (while in RRC_INACTIVE) or RRC Setup Request (while in RRC_IDLE) to the gNB via the Relay UE. However, since the Relay UE is not yet connected to the gNB, it would need to send an RRC Resume Request (while in RRC_INACTIVE) or RRC Setup Request (while in RRC_IDLE) of its own to the gNB. And once the Relay UE transitions to RRC_CONNECTED, it may forward the Remote UE's RRC Resume Request or RRC Setup Request to the gNB. The successful case is depicted in Figure 2. Here the Relay UE would only setup its own connection with the gNB if the Remote UE needs to reach the gNB, such as to Resume a connection. In some cases, it may be considered that the PC5 connection remains active even when the Remote UE and the Relay UE are no longer in RRC_CONNECTED state with the gNB”. However, none of the above limitations are included in the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of a device, … to perform the method of claim 21”. For clarification, it is recommended to add the limitation of claim 21 into claim 22..
Claim 24 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of a device, … to perform the method of claim 23.” For clarification, it is recommended to add the limitation of claim 23 into claim 24.
Appropriate correction is required.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 13-15, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO2021034126A1, IDS submitted 3/12/2024), and further in view of Hong (KR 20190033846, IDS submitted 3/12/2024).
As per claim 1, Kim disclose A relay user equipment (UE) device (see Fig.15-16, Fig.19, UE-1, Relay UE) comprising:
a receiver (see Fig.19, UE – with a receiver) configured to receive, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle (RRC IDLE) state (see para. 630, 664, UE1, relay UE in idle state, RRC IDLE) from a remote UE device in an RRC INACTIVE state (see para. 664, UE 2, remote UE in RRC INACTIVE) over a PC5 interface, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message requesting connection to a base station (see Fig.15-16, Fig.19, NG-RAN, see para. 644-650, receiving, from UE-2/a remote UE device over a PC5 interface, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message requesting connection to NG-RAN/a base station, see also para. 664-674-, see Step 7, pages 24-26); and
a transmitter (see Fig.19, UE – with a transmitter) configured to transmit, in response to the first RRC message, an RRC connection request message to the base station (see Fig.15-16, Fig.19, NG-RAN, see para. 643-650, transmitting an RRC connection request message to the NG-RAN, pages 24-26).
Kim however does not explicitly disclose the receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message,
the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from the base station.
Hong however disclose a receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, a transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from a base station (see Fig.6, para. 0183, receiving an RRC reject message including wait time value from eNodeB, by a relay terminal, and based on the reject message, transmitting a rejection/response/failure message for an access request of a remote terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, a transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from a base station, as taught by Hong, in the system of Kim, so that when the relay terminal and the remote terminal are in the IDLE state after the link, connection, if the corresponding access barring parameter configuration information is changed, the relay terminal forwards the changed system
information, or the access barring parameter configuration information for the changed remote
terminal to the remote terminal, see Hong, paragraphs 21-22.
As per claim 2, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the first RRC message comprises at least one of the following: an RRC Setup Request when the remote UE device is in an RRC IDLE state (see para. 0689-681, the remote UE device is in an RRC IDLE state) and an RRC Resume Request when the remote UE device is in the RRC INACTIVE state (see para. 712-715, remote UE device is in the RRC INACTIVE, see page 25, Fig.9, the relay UE transmit a RRC setup request message to the base station).
As per claim 5, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the RRC connection request message comprises at least one of the following: an RRC Resume Request when the relay UE device is in the RRC INACTIVE state (see para. 686-689, when the relay UE device is in the RRC INACTIVE), and an RRC Setup Request when the relay UE device is in the RRC IDLE state (para. 712-715, the relay UE device is in the RRC IDLE state, see page 25, Fig.9, the relay UE transmit a RRC setup request message, RRCSetupRequest message / an RRC Setup Request, step 1, see also pages 26-27).
As per claim 6, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the RRC response message comprises at least one of the following: an RRC Setup message when the remote UE device is in an RRC IDLE state, and an RRC Reject message (see page 25, Fig.9, step 2 and 2a, the base station transmit a RRC Setup message, RRCSetup message to relay, see also pages 26-27).
As per claim 7, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the RRC response message causes the relay UE device to transition to an RRC_CONNECTED state with the base station, and the transmitter is further configured to forward the first RRC message to the base station (see page 25, Fig.9, step 2 and 2a, upon receiving the RRCSetup message from the base station the relay UE enter the RRC CONNECTED state, see also pages 26-27).
As per claim 9, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 8.
Hong further disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message to inform the remote UE device of a failure of the relay UE device to receive an RRC response message from the base station due to Radio Link Failure (RLF) (see Fig.6, para. 0183, receiving an RRC reject message including wait time value from eNodeB, by a relay terminal, and transmitting a rejection/response/failure message for an access request of a remote terminal).
As per claim 13, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the status update message is an RRC message forwarded from the base station (see page 26-27, steps 8-9, an update message is an RRC message forwarded from the base station).
As per claim 14, claim 14 relates to a remote user equipment (UE) device and has substantially the same technical features as claim 1 except for the feature of "due to a failure of the relay UE device to connect to the base station". However, the different feature would be easily derived from the disclosure of Hong (see paragraph [0183]: a relay terminal may be in a state in which it is difficult to transition to
an RRC connected state for a specific reason including radio link failure).
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO2021034126A1), in view of Hong (KR 20190033846) and further in view of Wang (US Pub, No.:2022/0338092).
As per claim 3, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 1.
The combination of Kin and Hong however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message comprises a Sidelink Shared Channel (SL-SCH) subheader, the SL-SCH subheader containing an indication that the first RRC message is intended for the base station.
Wang however disclose wherein a first RRC message comprises a Sidelink Shared Channel (SL-SCH) subheader, the SL-SCH subheader containing an indication that the first RRC message is intended for a base station (see Fig.6, para. 0031-0034, At step 681, relay UE 603 sends a Sidelink UE information (SUI) RRC message to the gNB 604. The SUI RRC message includes the discovered remote UE IDs of remote UE 601 and remote UE 602. SUI RRC message requests relaying communication resource for both RX and TX and gNB 604 configures the resource pool in, either Mode A or Mode B, for both relay UE 603 and remote UEs 601 and 602. See also Fig.7-9, para. 0041-0042, 0047-0049, 0055, FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary structure of MAC PDU over sidelink for communication between the two UEs in accordance with embodiments of the current invention. The exemplary MAC PDU over the sidelink includes SL-SCH sub-header and multiple MAC service data units (SDUs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first RRC message comprises a Sidelink Shared Channel (SL-SCH) subheader, the SL-SCH subheader containing an indication that the first RRC message is intended for a base station, as taught by Wang, in the system of Kim and Hong, so as to provide enhancements for sidelink configuration and traffic forwarding for L2-based UE-to-UE relay, see Wang, paragraphs 4-6.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO2021034126A1), in view of Hong (KR 20190033846) and further in view of Jung (US Pub, No.:2020/0221532).
As per claim 10, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 8.
The combination of Kim and Hong however does not explicitly disclose wherein the status update message is a PC5 release message.
Jung however disclose wherein a status update message is a PC5 release message (see Fig.16, para. 0297, 0301, an update message is a PC5 release message, transmitted by using a PC5 signaling protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a status update message is a PC5 release message, as taught by Jung, in the system of Kim and Hong, so as to provide is a method of releasing a link performed by a remote user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system. The method includes receiving a connection release message for releasing a link between a relay UE and the remote UE and releasing the link on the basis of the connection release message. The remote UE does not attempt to establish a link for the relay UE in a time duration determined in a UE specific manner, see Jung, paragraphs 7-15.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO2021034126A1), in view of Hong (KR 20190033846) and further in view of Jung007 (US Pub, No.:2020/0229007).
As per claim 12, the combination of Kim and Hong disclose the relay UE device of claim 8.
The combination of Kim and Hong however does not explicitly disclose wherein the status update message is a PC5-RRC message containing an RRC connection failure indicator.
Jung007 however disclose wherein a status update message is a PC5-RRC message containing an RRC connection failure indicator (see Fig.8, para, 0360, In operation 850, the different vehicle terminal 802 /relay identify/detect a radio link failure (RLF) in a sidelink with the vehicle terminal 801, the NAS layer generates a PC5 signaling message. [0362] The vehicle terminal 802/relay transmits a PC5 MAC CE message to the vehicle terminal 801, thus indicating that the RLF has been identified and/or indicating the transmission of a V2X message through a separate transmission resource pool. [0363] The vehicle terminal 802 may transmit a PC5 RRC message to the vehicle terminal 801, thus indicating that the RLF has been identified or including specific details about the RLF including the cause of the RLF (rlf-Cause), see also para. 0154, 0284).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a status update message is a PC5-RRC message containing an RRC connection failure indicator, as taught by Jung007, in the system of Kim and Hong, so as to identify whether a condition related to a radio link failure (RLF) for the sidelink is satisfied, control the transceiver to release the communication with the UE for the sidelink in case that the condition is satisfied, and control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, information on the RLF for the sidelink, in case that the first UE is radio resource control (RRC)-connected with the base station, see Jung007, paragraphs 8-12.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 12.
As per claim 21, claim 21 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 22, Kim further disclose A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of a device, cause the device to perform the method of claim 21 (see Fig.22, page 32, memory 1010 storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, which are executed by processing circuitry, processor 1020, of a device UE 100).
As per claim 23, claim 23 is rejected the same way as claim 14.
As per claim 24, Kim further disclose A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of a device, cause the device to perform the method of claim 23 (see Fig.22, page 32, memory 1010 storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions which, which are executed by processing circuitry, processor 1020, of a device UE 100).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1, 14, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. No.:2024/0137820), and further in view of Hong (KR 20190033846, IDS submitted 3/12/2024).
As per claim 1, Wang disclose A relay user equipment (UE) device (see Fig.1, a relay radio device 100-RL) comprising:
a receiver (see Fig.1, a reception module 102-RL) configured to receive, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle (RRC IDLE) state (see para. 0178, relay UE is in RRC_IDLE,) from a remote UE device in an RRC INACTIVE state (see para. 0178, remote UE is in RRC_INACTIVE) over a PC5 interface (see para. 0178, the remote UE first sends the RNAU signaling (i.e., Uu RRC Resume Request) to the relay UE via the PC5 link), a first RRC message requesting connection to a base station (see para. 0178-0180, receiving a message requesting connection to a base station); and
a transmitter (see Fig.1, a transmission module 104-RL) configured to transmit, in response to the first RRC message, an RRC connection request message to the base station (see para. 0178-0180, the relay UE apply at least one of the below options to forward the RNAU signaling to the gNB. Option 1: initiate a random access / an RRC connection request message (also referred to as random access procedure or random access channel, RACH, procedure) on behalf of the remote UE towards the gNB. The random access may be a 2-step random access or 4-step random access),
the receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message (see Fig. 4, para. 0069, 0167, a response from the RAN / an RRC response message in response to the relay radio device having transmitted the mobility update report to the RAN.),
the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from the base station (see para. 0282, the UE-to-Network relay UE 100-RL sends the indirect communication response message to the Remote UE, see para. 0167, initiates a step 304-RM of receiving at the remote radio device from the relay radio device, on the SL).
Although Wang disclose the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, the RRC response message received from the base station.
Wang however does not explicitly disclose the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from the base station.
Hong however disclose a receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, a transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from a base station (see Fig.6, para. 0183, receiving an RRC reject message including wait time value from eNodeB, by a relay terminal, and based on the reject message, transmitting a rejection/response/failure message for an access request of a remote terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a receiver further configured to receive, from the base station, an RRC response message, a transmitter further configured to transmit, to the remote UE device, a status update message based on the RRC response message received from a base station, as taught by Hong, in the system of Wang, so that when the relay terminal and the remote terminal are in the IDLE state after the link, connection, if the corresponding access barring parameter configuration information is changed, the relay terminal forwards the changed system information, or the access barring parameter configuration information for the changed remote terminal to the remote terminal, see Hong, paragraphs 21-22.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babaei (US Pub. No.:2023/0361926) – see para. 0079, “The RRC sublayer may provide the following services and functions over the PC5 interface: Transfer of a PC5-RRC message between peer UEs; Maintenance and release of a PC5-RRC connection between two UEs; and Detection of sidelink radio link failure for a PC5-RRC connection based on indication from MAC or RLC. A PC5-RRC connection may be a logical connection between two UEs for a pair of Source and Destination Layer-2 IDs which may be considered to be established after a corresponding PC5 unicast link is established. There may be one-to-one correspondence between the PC5-RRC connection and the PC5 unicast link. A UE may have multiple PC5-RRC connections with one or more UEs for different pairs of Source and Destination Layer-2 IDs. Separate PC5-RRC procedures and messages may be used for a UE to transfer UE capability and sidelink configuration including SL-DRB configuration to the peer UE. Both peer UEs may exchange their own UE capability and sidelink configuration using separate bi-directional procedures in both sidelink directions”.
Agiwal (US Pub. No.:2021/0314979) – see para. 0552, “The RRC sublayer provides the following services and functions over the PC5 interface: [0553] Transfer of a PC5-RRC message between peer UEs; [0554] Maintenance and release of a PC5-RRC connection between two UEs; [0555] Detection of sidelink radio link failure for a PC5-RRC connection”.
Zhang (US Pub. No.:2024/0224366) – see para. 0019-0025, “In the foregoing processing method for remote UE, preferably, the following steps are further comprised: [0023] receiving, by the remote UE when the relay UE considers that a radio link failure has occurred, a PC5-RRC message carrying the radio link failure from the relay UE, wherein the PC5-RRC message is a message transmitted on the PC5-RRC connection; and [0024] performing, by the remote UE upon receiving the PC5-RRC message, or when the remote UE, on the basis of the PC5-RRC message, considers that the current PC5-RRC connection is released, the following operation on the basis of the RRC state of the remote UE: [0025] when the remote UE is in the idle/inactive state and the timer T300/T319 is running, the remote UE stops the timer T300/T319; [0026] when the remote UE is in the connected state, the remote UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure.”
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469