Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5 are pending. Claim 1 is presented for this examination. Claims 4-5 are withdrawn. Claims 2-3 and 6 are cancelled.
Status of Previous Rejection
All prior art rejections are withdrawn in view of amendment filed on 05/14/2026.
Two new grounds of art rejection are rendered as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (JP2018145516A) in view of APA (Applicant’s admitted prior art).
As for claim 1, instant claimed “for additive manufacturing” is intended use and preamble according to MPEP 2111.02 II.
Because the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than a claim limitation, no patentable weight would be given. See MPEP 2111.02 II or if a Prior Art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim.
Chen discloses a maraging steel excellent in toughness comprising overlapping compositions as illustrated in Table 1 below.
Table 1
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Chen et al.
(weight %)
Abstract
Overlap
(weight %)
Ni
14-24
7-15
14-15
Mo
2-8
0.1-2
2
Co
11.5-13
8-12
11.5-12
Al
0.01-2
0.01-0.2
0.01-0.2
Ti
0.1-3
1-3
1-3
O
0.005-0.04
<=0.01
0.005-0.01
N
0.001-0.03
<=0.01
0.001-0.01
C
<=0.1
<=0.02
<=0.02
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Applicant’s admitted prior art [0002] discloses it is possible to manufacture a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life by additive manufacturing using maraging steel as a metal material. The additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Chen in a metal powder form for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life because applicant admitted prior art teaches additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (JP2018145516A) in view of Kuse (WO2019082638A1).
As for claim 1, Chen discloses a maraging steel as indicated in rejection over Chen in view of APA above.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Kuse discloses maraging steel in powder form can be additive manufactured by 3D printing to make shaped objected having a complicated shape.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Chen in a metal powder form as suggested by Kuse for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having a complicated shape because Kuse teaches maraging steel in powder form can be additive manufactured by 3D printing to make shaped objected having a complicated shape.
Response to Argument
In response to applicant’s argument filed on 05/14/2026 that none of previously cited prior art discloses instant claim 1 amended feature, argument is moot since all prior art rejections are withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s argument that inventive example demonstrated improved fatigue properties and reduced inclusion per unit weight as compared to comparative example due to claimed O range, it should be noted “Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range, see MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e)”.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 716.02(d) II and MPEP 2144.05 III.
In the instant case, Inventive Example with O at 0.015% is incommensurate in scope with claimed O range 0.005-0.04%. A single O amount is insufficient to demonstrate unexpected result over the entire claimed range.
Second, closest prior art is Chen, not applicant’s Inventive example with O at 0.015%.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733