Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5 are pending. Claim 1 is amended and presented for this examination. Claims 4-5 are withdrawn. Claims 2-3 and 6 are cancelled.
Status of Previous Rejection
All prior art rejections are withdrawn in view of amendment filed on 08/19/2026.
Four new grounds of art rejection are rendered as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN107287522A) in view of APA (Applicant’s admitted prior art).
As for claim 1, Li discloses a C350(18Ni maraging steel) [0042] having overlapping compositions as illustrated in Table 2 below.
Table 2
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Li et al.
(weight %)
[0032]
Overlap
(weight %)
Ni
17-24
17.5-18.5
17.5-18.5
Mo
3-8
4-5
4-5
Co
11.5-13
11.5-12.5
11.5-12.5
Al
0.01-2
0.1-0.16
0.1-0.16
Ti
0.1-3
1.25-1.5
1.25-1.5
O
0.005-0.04
<=0.0015
0.0015 is close to 0.005
N
0.001-0.03
<=0.0015
0.001-0.015
C
<=0.1
<=0.005
<=0.005
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Li does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Applicant’s admitted prior art [0002] discloses it is possible to manufacture a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life by additive manufacturing using maraging steel as a metal material. The additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Li in a metal powder form for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life because applicant admitted prior art teaches additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohishi (VN10013270B) in view of APA (Applicant’s admitted prior art).
As for claim 1, Ohishi discloses a maraging steel having overlapping compositions as illustrated in Table 3 below.
Table 3
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Ohishi et al.
(weight %)
Claim 1
Overlap
(weight %)
Ni
17-24
8-22
17-22
Mo
3-8
2-10
3-8
Co
11.5-13
2-20
11.5-13
Al
0.01-2
<=0.1
0.01-0.1
Ti
0.1-3
<0.1
0.1
O
0.005-0.04
<=0.005
0.005
N
0.001-0.03
<=0.03
0.001-0.03
C
<=0.1
<=0.01
<=0.01
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Ohishi does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Applicant’s admitted prior art [0002] discloses it is possible to manufacture a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life by additive manufacturing using maraging steel as a metal material. The additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Ohishi in a metal powder form for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life because applicant admitted prior art teaches additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (US20040093983) in view of APA (Applicant’s admitted prior art).
As for claim 1, instant claimed “for additive manufacturing” is intended use and preamble according to MPEP 2111.02 II.
Because the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than a claim limitation, no patentable weight would be given. See MPEP 2111.02 II or if a Prior Art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim.
Mishima discloses a maraging steel comprising overlapping compositions as illustrated in Table 1 below.
Table 1
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Mishima et al.
(weight %)
Claim 6
Overlap
(weight %)
Ni
17-24
8-22
17-22
Mo
3-8
2-9
3-8
Co
11.5-13
5-20
11.5-13
Al
0.01-2
<=1.7
0.01-1.7
Ti
0.1-3
<=2
0.1-2
O
0.005-0.04
<0.01
0.005-0.01
N
0.001-0.03
<0.0015
0.001-0.0015
C
<=0.1
<=0.01
<=0.01
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Mishima does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Applicant’s admitted prior art [0002] discloses it is possible to manufacture a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life by additive manufacturing using maraging steel as a metal material. The additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Mishima in a metal powder form for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having a complicated shape and a long durable life because applicant admitted prior art teaches additive manufacturing method would require the maraging steel in a metal powder form to be melted by laser irradiation and solidified layer by layer.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (US20040093983) in view of Yang (CN110280764A)
As for claim 1, Mishima discloses a maraging steel as indicated in rejection over Chen in view of APA above.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the steel is in powder form.
Yang discloses maraging steel in powder form can be additive manufactured by SLM to make SLM molded part with improved mechanical strength and toughness. (Abstract)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Mishima in a metal powder form as suggested by Yang for the benefit of additive manufacturing a metal product having improved mechanical strength and toughness because Yang teaches additive manufacturing maraging steel in powder form is well known in the art.
Response to Argument
In response to applicant’s argument filed on 08/19/2026 that none of previously cited prior art discloses instant claim 1 amended feature, argument is moot since all prior art rejections are withdrawn. Newly cited Mishima, Li and Ohishi all explicitly disclose similar ranges of amended Ni and Mo as indicated in 103 art rejection above.
In response to argument that withdrawn Group II is subject to rejoinder, argument is not persuasive because elected Group I is not allowed. Hence, there is no common special technical feature shared between Group I and II. Unit of invention is lacking.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733