DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheng-Bin (U.S. Pub. No. 20050029260).
Regarding Claim 1, Sheng-Bin discloses a foldable storage box (Figure 1), comprising four hard side surfaces in a vertical direction (Figure 1), a soft bottom surface (Figure 1), and a hard support plate that matches the bottom surface 50 (Figure 1) and is disposed on the bottom surface (Figure 3), wherein each side surface has a non-woven fabric interlayer (figure 1), and a hard plug board is inserted in the interlayer (Figure 2); at least one pair of the four side surfaces are capable of being folded along a vertical folding axis (Figure 4); vertical flexible dividing lines are disposed at intersections of the four side surfaces and the vertical folding axis (figure 4), and the flexible dividing lines confine and isolate the respective hard plug boards in a horizontal direction (Figure 2 and 4); and the flexible dividing lines are formed by welding two layers of non-woven fabrics in an ultrasonic welding manner (product by process; figure 1); the side surfaces and the bottom surface are connected in a sewing manner (Figure 1; product by process); and further, a circle of decorative strips is wrapped around outer sides of overlapping positions of the side surfaces and the bottom surface (Figure 1), and the decorative strips not only hide the edges of the overlapping positions of the side surfaces and the bottom surface but also strengthen moldings (figure 1); and an opening portion enclosed by the side surfaces is covered with another circle of the decorative strips (figure 1), the decorative strips hide an edge of the opening portion formed by the side surfaces (figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Sheng-Bin discloses a width of each of the two side surfaces having the vertical folding axis is smaller than or equal to a width of each of the other two side surfaces (figure 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Sheng-Bin discloses the bottom surface is a square (Figure 3), and the vertical folding axis is arranged on a symmetry axis of the side surfaces (figure 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Sheng-Bin discloses a lifting ring 56 (Figure 3) is disposed on an upper side of the hard support plate to lift the hard support plate out of the storage box (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng-Bin (U.S. Pub. No. 20050029260) in view of Ma (U.S. Pub. No. 20110240636).
Regarding Claim 4, Sheng-Bin teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for a circular hole is formed on one of the side surfaces, and an edge of the hole is reinforced by a metal or plastic part. However, Ma teaches a circular hole is formed on one of the side surfaces (Figure 1), and an edge of the hole is reinforced by a metal or plastic part (figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sheng-Bin to include the above, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a reinforced opening and the change to a circular hole is a matter of choice and would not change the function.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng-Bin (U.S. Pub. No. 20050029260) in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20050155891).
Regarding Claim 8, Sheng-Bin teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for an opening portion of the storage box is provided with a box cover. However, Chen teaches an opening portion of the storage box is provided with a box cover 27 (figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheng-Bin to include the above, as taught by Chen, in order to protect the contents of the box.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Sheng-Bin does not disclose decorative strips wrapped around outer sides of overlapping position of the side surfaces and bottom surface. However, Sheng-Bin discloses the strips around the outer edges at 29 (figure 1) which is used to cover and protect the edges.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.J.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733