DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 08/29/2023. Per the amendment claims 1-4 and 6-13 are as previously presented, claim 5 is as currently amended, and claim 14 is new. As such, claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
The preamble of claims 1-14 recites an “intelligent massage chair” (see claim 1, line 1). An intelligent massage chair is commonly understood, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to be a massage chair that operates based on artificial intelligence technology and utilizes various sensors and algorithms to customize massages to a user’s body shape and pressure points. Applicant’s specification and claims do not recite the use of artificial intelligence, machine learning, deep learning, or neural networks to personalize the massage function provided to a user. Therefore, the recitation of “intelligent massage chair” in Applicant’s claims will be interpreted as – massage chair – based on Applicant’s specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12: “wherein a positioning groove and a positioning column are respectively provided on the at least one of the armrests (20) and the flipping fixed seat (32) to fit with each other” should read “wherein a positioning groove is provided on the at least one of the armrests (20) and a positioning column (321) is provided on the flipping fixed seat (32), wherein the positioning groove is configured to fit with the positioning column” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (TW I326206 ).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses an intelligent massage chair ([0005], line 2, where body 10 is the body of a massage chair, see provided translation), comprising a chair frame (10; Fig. 1) and armrests (40; Fig. 1) connected on left and right sides of the chair frame (Fig. 1; “an assembly structure for the armrests of a massage chair,” see [0001], line 1 of the provided translation; hence it would be well-understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the massage chair of Chang has armrests arranged on the left side and right side of the chair frame), wherein at least one of the armrests (40) is connected to the chair frame (10) through a flipping device (11 and 20; Fig. 1), wherein the flipping device (11 and 20; Fig. 1) comprises a base (11; Fig. 1) connected to the chair frame (11 connected to 10, see Fig. 1) and a flipping fixed seat (20; Fig. 1) rotatably connected to the base around a rotation axis extending left and right (see Figs. 4-5, where the rotation axis extends from a left side of the armrest 40 to a right side of the armrest 40), wherein the flipping fixed seat (20) is connected to the at least one of the armrests (see Figs. 2-3); wherein when the flipping device (11 and 20) flips the at least one of the armrests (40) to a set position (see Fig. 5), the chair frame (10) has a side entrance on the side of the at least one of the armrests (see Annotated Figs. 2 and 5 below, where the position of the armrest 40 in Fig. 5 is the set position).
Annotated Figs. 2 and 5
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the flipping fixed seat (20) is movably installed on the base (11) around the rotation axis (see Figs. 4-5, see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1,
wherein a fixing groove is opened on the at least one of the armrests (recess in armrest 40, see Annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below), and the flipping fixed seat (20) is tightly fitted into the fixing groove (see Annotated Figs. 1 and 3 below, where 21 of 20 is tightly fitting in a recess within armrest 40).
Annotated Figs. 1 and 3
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein a positioning groove and a positioning column are respectively provided on the at least one of the armrests (20) and the flipping fixed seat (32) to fit with each other (see Figs. 1 and 2, where 40 has grooves to receive screws from 20 to fix 20 to 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Nomura et al. (CN 101513377 A), hereinafter Nomura.
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang fails to explicitly disclose a connecting rod connected between the chair frame and the flipping device, wherein the chair frame comprises a backrest frame and a seat frame rotatably connected with each other, wherein the base is hinged to the backrest frame and an end of the connecting rod, and the other end of the connecting rod is hinged to the seat frame.
However, Nomura teaches an analogous chair (1; Fig. 1) and rotatable armrest assembly (see Fig. 7; [0012], see provided translation) including a backrest (3; Fig. 1) with a backrest frame (31; Fig. 5) and a seat portion (2; Fig. 1) with a seat frame (21; Fig. 2), where the back (3) and seat portion (2) are rotatably coupled by a fulcrum (32; Fig. 2, where it is inherent the backrest 3 includes backrest frame 31, and seat portion 2 includes seat frame 21, which are connected in rotation by fulcrum 32). Nomura further teaches a linkage mechanism (5; Fig. 2) including a main connecting rod plate (51; Fig. 2) and a connecting rod (52; Fig. 2), where connecting rod (52; Fig. 2) connected between the backrest frame (31) and rotation device (see Fig. 5), wherein the main connecting rod plate (51) is rotatably supported by a rotating support shaft (40; Fig. 5) on an armrest (4; Figs. 4-5), the rotating support shaft (40) is rotatably connected to the backrest frame (31, see Fig. 5), a first end of the connecting rod (52) is rotatably connected to the seat frame (21) via a pivot (20, see Fig. 2), and a second end of the connecting rod (52) is rotatably connected to the main connecting rod plate (51) via a pivot (53, see Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chang with the above teachings of Nomura, such that Chang as modified teaches a connecting rod (Nomura 52; Nomura Fig. 2) connected between the chair frame and the flipping device (Nomura 52 connects to Chang 10 and Chang 11 and Chang 20; Nomura Fig. 2), wherein the chair frame (Chang 10) comprises a backrest frame (Nomura 31; Nomura Fig. 5) and a seat frame (Nomura 21; Nomura Fig. 2) rotatably connected with each other (Nomura Fig. 2, where Nomura 21 and Nomura 31 are pivotally connected via Nomura 32, see above), wherein the base (Chang 11) is hinged to the backrest frame (Chang 11 hinged to Nomura 31 via Nomura 40, see Nomura Fig. 5) and an end of the connecting rod (Chang 11 hinged to a first end of Nomura 52 via Nomura 53, see Nomura Fig. 2), and the other end of the connecting rod is hinged to the seat frame (a second end of Nomura 52 is hinged to Nomura 21 via Nomura 20, see Nomura Fig. 2) to improve patient comfort by modifying the angle of the armrests relative to the angle between a reclining seat back and seat portion of the massage chair (Nomura [0013], see provided translation).
Regarding claim 4, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, including a pulley (14; Fig. 1) and a chute (211; Fig. 1), wherein the pulley is located in the chute (see Fig. 4), wherein the pulley and the chute are guided and fit with each other (see Figs. 4-5). Chang as modified above fails to explicitly disclose the pulley is installed on the backrest frame, and the chute is opened in the base.
However, Nomura teaches a main connecting rod plate (51; Fig. 6) with a chute (81; Fig. 6) located therein, and a protrusion (71; Fig. 6) provided on a side near a backrest (3, see [0055] of provided translation; Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the arrangement of the pulley and chute taught by Chang with the pulley and chute arrangement taught by Nomura such that, the pulley (14) is installed on the backrest frame (14 installed on Nomura 31, see Nomura [0055] of provided translation; Fig. 6), and the chute (211) is opened in the base (221 opened in 11, see Nomura 81 opened in Nomura 51; Fig. 6) to ensure the armrest remains in a horizontal, or “closed”, position regardless of the angle of the backrest relative to the seat portion (Nomura [0056], see provided translation).
Regarding claim 14, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein the flipping fixed seat (20) is movably installed on the base (11) around the rotation axis (see Figs. 4-5, see claim 1 above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Nomura (CN 101513377 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kapusky et al. (WO 2020169344 A1), hereinafter Kapusky.
Regarding claim 3, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein the base (11) includes a first shaft hole (12; Fig. 1), but Chang as modified above does not teach the base is attached to the backrest frame through the first shaft hole (12; Fig. 1), wherein an angle is formed between a center axis of the first shaft hole and the rotation axis of the flipping fixed seat.
However, Kapusky teaches an chair with an analogous armrest system (see Figs. 2A-2C) with two armrests (5 and 6; Fig. 2A) that are pivotable between a horizontal use position, UP, (see Figs. 2B-2C) and a vertical stowed position, SP, (see Figs. 2B-2C). Kapusky further teaches an armrest carrier structure (20; Fig. 4) with a pivot joint (8; Fig. 4) that is tilted at a 45° axis relative to a mounting plate (11; Fig. 4, see axis OP tilted at 45° angle relative to axis ZMP), where the mounting plate (11) has a first mounting surface (11.1; Fig. 4) that is mounted on a backrest (3; Figs. 3A-3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the flipping device taught by Chang, as modified by Nomura above, with the tilted armrest carrier structure taught by Kapusky above, such that the base (Kapusky 11; Kapusky Fig. 4) includes a first shaft hole (see Annotated Kapusky Fig. 4 below, where Kapusky 11.1 is attached to Nomura 31, see Kapusky pg. 15, lines 25-28), where a center axis of the first shaft hole is not parallel to the rotation axis of the flipping fixed seat (see Annotated Kapusky Fig. 4 below), wherein an angle is formed between a center axis of the first shaft hole and the rotation axis of the flipping fixed seat (see Annotated Kapusky Fig. 4, where an angle is formed between a center axis of the first shaft hole and the rotation axis of Kapusky 8) to ensure the armrest is completely out of the way of the side entry when positioned in an “open” position (Kapusky pg. 16, lines 9-23) to mitigate any difficulty, or interference of the armrest, when a user is entering or exiting the massage chair.
Annotated Kapusky Fig. 4
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Kim (KR 102208273 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 5, wherein the flipping device (20 and 11) further comprises a base shaft (23; Fig. 1) extending axially along the rotation axis (see Fig. 1, where 23 extends axially along the rotation axis), a rotating base sleeve (12; Fig. 4) threadedly connected to an outer periphery of the base shaft (23 has recess 231, see Figs. 1 and 4, where 12 is threadedly connected to an outer periphery of 23 via 30 positioned within 231; [0005], see provided translation), but fails to disclose a drive source connected to the base, and a transmission unit, wherein the drive source is connected to the rotating base sleeve through the transmission unit and drives the rotating base sleeve to rotate, wherein the base shaft is fixedly connected to the base, and the rotating base sleeve is fixedly connected to the flipping fixed seat.
However, Kim teaches a vehicle armrest unit (100; Fig. 3) with a fixed housing (110; Fig. 3), rotation housing (120; Fig. 3), piston part (130; Fig. 3), a stopper portion (180; Fig. 3) having a protrusion (182; Fig. 6), an actuator (150; Fig. 3), a first gear (151; Fig. 3), and a second gear (121; Fig. 3). Kim further teaches the fixed housing (110) extends axially along a rotation axis (see Fig. 3) and is coupled to a frame part of a seat back (110 coupled to F of seat back 1, see [0029] of the provided translation; Fig. 4), the rotation housing (120) is mounted on the fixed housing (see first sentence of [0022] of provided translation) and is rotatably coupled to the fixed housing (110, see Fig. 4 and [0020] of the provided translation; see [0032] of provided translation where 120 is threadedly connected to 110 via a guide pin, 122, and 112). Furthermore, Kim teaches the actuator (150) applies a rotational force to the rotation housing (120) via the first gear and the second gear (151 and 121, see [0036] of the provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the flipping device of Chang with the armrest rotation device of the vehicle armrest unit taught by Kim above, such that the flipping device (20 and 11) further comprises a base shaft (Kim 110; Kim Fig. 3) extending axially along the rotation axis (see Kim Fig. 3), a rotating base sleeve (Kim 120; Kim Fig. 3) threadedly connected to an outer periphery of the base shaft (see first sentence of Kim [0022] of provided translation; see Kim Fig. 4 and Kim [0020] of the provided translation; see Kim [0032] of provided translation where Kim 120 is threadedly connected to Kim 110 via a guide pin, Kim 122, and Kim 112), a drive source (Kim 150; Kim Fig. 3) connected to the base (Kim 150 connected to Chang 11, see Kim Figs. 3-4 where Kim 150 is coupled to a base component of Kim F), and a transmission unit (Kim 151 and Kim 121; Kim Fig. 3), wherein the drive source (Kim 150) is connected to the rotating base sleeve through the transmission unit (Kim 150 connected to Kim 120 via Kim 151 and Kim 121, see Kim Figs. 3-4) and drives the rotating base sleeve to rotate (Kim [0036], see provided translation), wherein the base shaft is fixedly connected to the base (Kim 110 connected to Chang 11), and the rotating base sleeve is fixedly connected to the flipping fixed seat (Kim 120 is fixedly connected to Chang 20) to automate a manual activity of raising and lowering the armrest (see MPEP 2144.04.III).
Regarding claim 7, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 6, wherein the flipping device (20 and 11) further comprises a flipping connecting sleeve (Kim 180; Fig. 3) sleeved on an outer periphery of the rotating base sleeve (Kim 180 sleeved on outer periphery of Kim 120, see Kim Fig. 3), wherein an end of the flipping connecting sleeve (Kim 180) is provided with a limiting flange part (Kim 182) fixedly connected to the flipping fixed seat (Kim 182 connect to Chang 20, see Kim [0033] and Kim [0041] of provided translation, where Kim 182 connects to Kim 130, and Kim 130 connects to Kim 140 to actuate the rotation of Kim 140), wherein the limiting flange part (Kim 182) is located between the flipping fixed seat and the base shaft in an axial direction of the base shaft (Kim 182 is located between Kim 130 and Kim 110 in an axial direction of Kim 110 as Kim 182 protrudes toward Kim 122, see Kim [0033] of provided translation and Kim Figs. 4-5, hence Kim 182 can be located between Chang 20 and Kim 110 in an axial direction of Kim 110), and is capable of abutting against the base shaft (Kim 182 can abut against Kim 110 as Kim 182 is retained within Kim 112 of Kim 110, see Kim [0033] of provided translation), wherein the other end of the flipping connecting sleeve is fixedly connected to the rotating base sleeve (end of Kim 180 opposite of Kim 182 is connected to Kim 120, see Kim Figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 6, wherein the transmission unit (Kim 151 and Kim 121; Kim Fig. 3) comprises a transmission worm (Kim 151) rotatably supported in the base (Kim 151 rotatable supported by Kim 150, where Kim 150 connected to Chang 11, see claim 6 above), and a turbine sleeve (formation and connection of Kim 121 to Kim 120, see Kim Fig. 4) fixed on the outer periphery of the rotating base sleeve (Kim Fig. 4, where formation and connection of Kim 121 is fixed on an end of Kim 120), wherein a turbine portion (Kim 121) is provided on the turbine sleeve (see Kim Figs. 3-4) and is in transmission engagement with the transmission worm (see Kim Figs. 3-4; Kim [0036], see provided translation), and the drive source (Kim 150) is in transmission connection with the transmission worm (Kim 150 drives transmission and rotation of Kim 151, see Kim [0036] of provided translation), driving the transmission worm to rotate (Kim [0036], see provided translation).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Kim (KR 102208273 B1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20050094909 A1), hereinafter Kim ‘909.
Regarding claim 9, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 6, but fails to teach wherein an oil groove is opened on an inner peripheral surface of the rotating base sleeve.
However, Kim ‘909 teaches a shaft (40; Fig. 1) within a rotating sleeve (20; Fig. 1), where the rotating sleeve (20) has oil grooves (22; Fig. 2) on an inner circumferential surface of the rotating sleeve (see Fig. 2; [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the inner circumferential surface of the rotating base sleeve (Kim 120), as taught by Chang as modified in claim 6 above, to have oil groove (Kim ‘909 22, see Kim ‘909 Fig. 2), as taught by Kim ‘909, to reduce friction between the rotating base sleeve and the base shaft (Kim ‘909 [0011]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Kim (KR 102208273 B1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kawagoe & Takarabe (US 20190110945 A1), hereinafter Kawagoe.
Regarding claim 10, Chang as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 6, wherein the drive source (Kim 150) is a motor (Kim [0036], see provided translation), but fails to teach a controller and a current detector, and the current detector is used to detect a current of the drive source, wherein both the current detector and the drive source are connected to the controller.
However, Kawagoe teaches a massage unit (17; Fig. 2) with a motor (43; Fig. 2), a current detection resistor (85A; Fig. 4) to detect the current of the motor ([0053]), and a controller (60; Fig. 3), where the current detector resistor (85A) and the motor (43) are connected to the controller (43 connected to 60, see [0043]; 85A connected to 66, see Fig. 4, where 66 is included in 60, see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chang with the current detector and controller taught by Kawagoe, such that Chang as modified teaches a controller (Kawagoe 60; Kawagoe Fig. 3) and a current detector (Kawagoe 85A; Kawagoe Fig. 4), and the current detector (Kawagoe 85A) is used to detect a current of the drive source (Kawagoe 85A detects current of Kim 150; Kawagoe [0053]), wherein both the current detector (Kawagoe 85A) and the drive source (Kim 150) are connected to the controller (Kawagoe 85A connected to Kawagoe 60, see Kawagoe Figs. 3-4 and explanation provided above; Kim 150 connected to Kawagoe 60, see Kawagoe [0043]) to improve accuracy in the automated actuation of the armrest by rotating the armrest in a predetermined direction at a constant speed (Kawagoe Abstract).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (TW I326206) in view of Newfer et al. (US 20160279003 A1), hereinafter Newfer.
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang fails to disclose wherein a limiting boss is fixed on the at least one of the armrests, and a limiting groove is provided in the chair frame; wherein when the at least one of the armrests is not flipped and blocks the side entrance, the limiting boss is located in the limiting groove.
However, Newfer teaches a chair (10; Fig. 1) with an analogous armrest assembly (22 and 24; Figs. 2-3), where at least one armrest (22) including a latching mechanism upper portion (112; Figs. 4 and 6) and a pivoting hook (152; Fig. 6), and at least one arm base (24; Figs. 1 and 4) including a lower frame portion (128; Figs. 4 and 6) with a latching mechanism lower portion (132; Figs. 4 and 6) and an eyelet (150; Fig. 6), wherein the latching mechanism upper portion (112) is located in the latching mechanism lower portion (132, see Fig. 5) such that the pivoting hook (152) engages the eyelet (150, see Fig. 5) when the armrest (22) is in a closed position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the armrest and chair frame taught by Chang to have the latching mechanism taught by Newfer (see above), such that a limiting boss (Newfer 112; Newfer Figs. 4 and 6) is fixed on the at least one of the armrests (Newfer 112 fixed on Chang 40), and a limiting groove (Newfer 132; Newfer Figs. 4 and 6) is provided in the chair frame (Newfer 132 provided on Chang 10); wherein when the at least one of the armrests is not flipped and blocks the side entrance (see Chang Fig. 4), the limiting boss is located in the limiting groove (see Newfer Fig. 5, where Newfer 112 is located in Newfer 132) to selectively secure the armrest to the chair frame (Newfer [0013]) to provide a reliable and sturdy armrest for a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fukunaga & Ono (US 20200281359 A1): Regarding a massage chair with a backrest pivotable relative to a seat portion, rotatable armrests, and a controller to control the movements of the chair and its components therein.
Rye (US 6003947 A): Regarding a chair with armrests, where the position of the armrests can be adjusted by an arm adjustment device.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785