DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/19/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 21-40 are pending.
5. Claims 1-20 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment filed on 4/19/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/19/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 21-24, 27-35, 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. US 20210359808 hereafter Takeda in view of Yi et al. US 20240057108 hereafter Yi [Note: Provisional Application 63/093,686 filed 10/19/2020 includes support for disclosure relied herein in particular Sections 0234, 0237 (discloses configuration for multicarrier repetition scheduling for TBs), 0239, 0292 (discloses receiving PDSCH TBs via multiple carriers/cells operating on different frequency or different frequency ranges 1-3)].
As to Claim 21. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) [i.e. User Terminal/UE-20] configured for operation in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network, the apparatus comprising [Fig. 7, Sections 0162, 0166: FIG. 7 is a diagram of a radio communication system-1 that implements communication using new radio 5G NR. The radio communication system include a base stations and a user terminal-20]:
processing circuitry [Processor-1001, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor], wherein to configure the UE [i.e. User Terminal] for multiple component carrier repetition transmissions in the 5G NR network [Radio communication system-1], the processing circuitry is to [Figs 7, 10. Sections 0022, 0167, 0239: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs/base station as component carrier (CC). The user terminal connected to plurality of base stations use carrier aggregation and dual connectivity (DC) using a plurality of component carriers (CC). User terminal includes a processor-1001]:
decode [Reception Processing Section-220/2212, see 0225 & Fig. 9] downlink control information (DCI) received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the DCI including transport block (TB) information and scheduling information [Fig. 5, Sections 0004, 0055, 0146: The user terminal (UE) controls reception of the PDSCH based on downlink control information (DCI) referred to as DL assignment (i.e. scheduling) transmitted on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). A plurality of CWs generated based on TB scheduled by a DCI. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing for example demodulation and decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI. NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033],
the scheduling information [i.e. DCI/DL assignment] indicating scheduled transmissions of multiple repetitions [i.e. TB/CW duplicates or PDSCH repetition] of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) TB [Sections 0022, 0047: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using component carrier (CC). Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH, see 0021) TB are transmitted] using multiple component carriers [Figs. 1-2 (Depicts repetition of transmission of PDSCHs or channel/signal by TRPs #1-4), Fig. 5, Sections 0024, 0081, 0167: The PDSCH is repeated and transmission is made from a TRP. The UE consider or expect that the CWs scheduled in the DCI #1 are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of a TB. The user terminal use carrier aggregation and plurality of component carriers (CC). NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033];
determine, using the TB information, a TB size associated with the scheduled transmissions [Sections 0041, 0138, 0150: The plurality of CWs generated by duplicating TB, and information bit sequence including a transport block (TB) and a codeword sequence. The TB size-TBS corresponding to each of the CWs/TBs determined based on the DCI indicate CWs are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB. The UE control the soft combining based on the TB size (TBS) which is determined based on the value in the DCI. NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033];
decode [Reception Processing Section-220/2212, see 0225 & Fig. 9] the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB, the multiple repetitions received from one or more base stations [i.e. TRP, see 0022] during the scheduled transmissions [Figs. 1-2 (Depicts repetition of transmission of PDSCHs or channel/signal by TRPs #1-4), Figs. 3, 5, Sections 0024, 0047, 0146: The PDSCH is repeated among a plurality of different time domain resources/slots and transmission is made from a TRP or TRPs #1 to #4. Fig. 2 is an example of repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs in which TB are transmitted from different TRPs using PDSCHs. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI];
and determine PDSCH data [Sections 0028, 0046, 0179: The TB is a transmission unit of data. CW, TB, and “data” are used interchangeably. DCI that schedules PDSCH referred to as DL assignment and PDSCH may be replaced with DL data] based on the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB and the TB size[Figs. 1-2, 5, Sections 0047, 0041, 0138, 0146: Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH, see 0021) TB are transmitted. The plurality of CWs generated by duplicating (i.e. repetition or repeating) TB constituting the same data. The TB size (TBS) determined based on the DCI indicate CWs are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI];
and a memory [Memory-1002] coupled to the processing circuitry [Processor-1001] and configured to store [Storage-1003] the DCI Fig. 10, Sections 0242, 0276, 0298: Each function of the user terminal is implemented by the processor and the memory, and reading or writing of data in the memory-1002 and the storage-1003. The information, signals (i.e. DCI) and so on may be stored in a memory. Furthermore, to determine as used herein interpreted to mean determinations related to receiving information inputting, outputting, accessing data in a memory and so on],
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state the multiple component carriers corresponding to a plurality of different transmit frequencies;
However, Yi teaches the multiple component carriers [i.e. CCs or cells] corresponding to a plurality of different transmit frequencies [Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 22 (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform soft combining [Fig. 10, Sections 0009, 0239: A user terminal includes a control section that controls soft combining. The user terminal-20 includes a processor] of the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB based on the TB size to determine the PDSCH data [Sections 0072, 0134, 0150: When TB duplication (i.e. repetition) is configured, the UE soft combines. The UE consider that the CWs scheduled in the DCI are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB, and soft combine the CWs. The UE control the soft combining of the CWs based on the TB size (TBS) corresponding to each of the CWs/TBs. Note: Duplication or repetition is for PDSCH TB and TB is data, PDSCH carries DL data (see 0028, 0047, 0179)].
As to Claim 23. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]:
perform selection diversity reception of the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB based on the TB size to determine the PDSCH data [Sections 0030, 0053, 0150: Therefore, by repeatedly transmitting the TB in a spatial domain and soft combining a plurality of TBs in which the UE has been subjected to, spatial diversity (i.e. selection diversity) can be obtained. The UE apply soft combining and spatial diversity, as a result, the utilization efficiency of time/frequency domain resources can be improved. The UE control the soft combining of the CWs based on the TB size (TBS). Note: Duplication or repetition is for PDSCH TB and TB is data, PDSCH carries DL data (see 0028, 0047, 0179)].
As to Claim 24. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]:
decode the DCI [Section 0146: Therefore, the UE perform reception processing for and decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI] to further determine a redundancy version (RV) associated with a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions [Figs. 4B-C (Depicts DCI includes RV fields), 6B-C (Depicts DCI includes RV field for each CWs including duplicated/repeated CWs/TBs), Sections 0048, 0155, 0157: Rate matching of the CW #1 performed using a RV (redundancy version). When configuration is performed, field in the DCI indicates whether the CWs #1 and #2 are duplicates of a single TB, the UE control the soft combining of the CWs #1 and #2 and RV field for the CW. The UE consider that the CWs scheduled by DCI are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of a single TB, and soft combine the CWs, the UE control the reception processing for decoding of the RV indicated by the value of the other bit of the RV field].
As to Claim 27. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]:
encode [Transmitting section-220/2211, Sections 0220-0221: Transmitting Section-220 perform HARQ retransmission (i.e. HARQ feedback scheme such as ACK/NACK). The Transmitting Section-220 perform transmission processing such as encoding] a one-shot acknowledgment (ACK) or a one-shot non-acknowledgment (NACK) for transmission to the one or more base stations using a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) [Fig. 8, Sections 0069, 0182, 0205: The UE control feedback of delivery acknowledgment information referred to as HARQ-ACK, acknowledgement (ACK) or Non-ACK (NACK) and the like of the CWs (TB). By means of PUCCH, HARQ-ACK may be transmitted. The receiving section-120 of base station-10 receives an uplink signal on uplink control channel (i.e. PUCCH)],
the one-shot ACK or the one-shot NACK associated with a subset of the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB received from the one or more base stations during the scheduled transmissions [Figs. 1-2, Sections 0024, 0047, 0069: The PDSCH is repeated among a plurality of different time domain resources/slots and transmission is made from a TRP or TRPs #1 to #4. Fig. 2 is an example of repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs in which TB are transmitted from different TRPs using PDSCHs. The UE control feedback of delivery acknowledgment information acknowledgement (ACK) or Non-ACK (NACK) of the CWs].
As to Claim 28. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]: decode the DCI to further determine a plurality of carrier indexes, the plurality of carrier indexes associated with the plurality of transmit frequencies [Sections 0146, 0168, 0268: The UE perform decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI. Each CC (component carrier) may be included a frequency range. The bandwidth part (BWP) represent a subset of resource blocks (RB) for a certain numerology in a certain carrier; the RB may be specified by the index of the carrier].
Takeda does explicitly state different frequencies associated with carriers.
However, Yi teaches different frequencies associated with carriers [Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and resources such as bandwidths/frequency are specified by carrier index with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells having identifiers/indexes to correspond to different transmit frequencies for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 29. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]:
encode [Transmitting section-220/2211, Section 0221: The Transmitting Section-220 perform transmission processing such as encoding] uplink data [i.e. PUSCH transmission] for transmission to the one or more base stations using multiple repetitions of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) TB using a plurality of component carriers[Sections 0021, 0028, 0031, 0179: Transmission of a channel or a signal (channel/signal) in a repeated manner (repetition) in the NR is, for example an uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The TB is a transmission unit of data. Hereinafter, an embodiment according to the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to repetition transmission of uplink channels (for example, a PUSCH). PUSCH may be replaced with UL data. Note: PUSCH is transmitted to base station],
the plurality of component carriers corresponding to the plurality of transmit frequencies [Sections 0167-0168, 0174: The user terminal connected to plurality of base stations and use at carrier aggregation and dual connectivity (DC) using a plurality of component carriers (CC). Each CC (component carrier) may be included a frequency range. The radio access method or multi-carrier transmission method used as the UL (uplink) radio access method].
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state different transmit frequencies;
However, Yi teaches different transmit frequencies Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 30. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the one or more base stations comprise a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs) [Section 0022: The term “TRP” may be paraphrased as base station], and wherein the uplink data [i.e. PUSCH transmission] is encoded [Transmitting section-220/2211, Section 0221: The Transmitting Section-220 perform transmission processing such as encoding] for transmission to the plurality of TRPs using the plurality of transmit frequencies [Sections 0021, 0028, 0031: Transmission of a channel or a signal (channel/signal) in a repeated manner (repetition) in the NR is, for example an uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The TB is a transmission unit of data. Hereinafter, an embodiment according to the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to repetition transmission of uplink channels (for example, a PUSCH). Note: Per section 0291, the user terminal in the present disclosure may be replaced with a base station to perform functions described above].
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state different transmit frequencies;
However, Yi teaches different transmit frequencies Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 31. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 21, further comprising: transceiver circuitry [Transmitting/receiving section-220] coupled to the processing circuitry [Processor-1001 or Control Section-210]; and one or more antennas [Antenna-230] coupled to the transceiver circuitry [Figs 9-10, Sections 0211, 0214: The user terminal includes a control section-210 and a transmitting/receiving section-220, and a transmitting/receiving antenna-230. The control section control transmitting/receiving section 220 and the transmitting/receiving antenna 230].
As to Claim 32. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [Memory-1002] that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors [Processor-1001] of a base station [i.e. BS-10/TRP, 0239], the instructions to configure [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245: The processor-1001 reads programs (program codes), software modules, data, and so on from memory 1002, and executes various processing according to these. The memory-1002 is a computer-readable recording medium, that can store a program (program codes) which are executable for implementing the radio communication method], the base station for multiple component carrier repetition transmissions in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network, and to cause the base station to perform operations comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0022, 0162, 0166: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs (base station) as component carrier (CC). FIG. 7 is a diagram of a radio communication system-1 that implements communication using new radio 5G NR. The radio communication system include a base stations-10 and a user terminal-20]:
encoding [Transmitting/receiving section-120; Section 0198: The transmitting/receiving section-120 perform transmission processing such as encoding] a first downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to a user equipment (UE) via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the first DCI including first transport block (TB) information and scheduling information [Fig. 5, Sections 0004, 0055, 0146: The user terminal (UE) controls reception of the PDSCH based on downlink control information (DCI) referred to as DL assignment (i.e. scheduling) transmitted on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). A plurality of CWs generated based on TB scheduled by a DCI. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing for example demodulation and decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI. NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033],
the scheduling information [i.e. DCI/DL assignment] indicating scheduled transmissions of multiple repetitions [i.e. TB/CW duplicates or PDSCH repetition] of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) TB [Sections 0022, 0047: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs as component carrier (CC). Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH, see 0021) TB are transmitted] using a first component carrier of a plurality of available component carriers [Figs. 1-2 (Depicts repetition of transmission of PDSCHs or channel/signal by TRPs #1-4), Fig. 5, Sections 0024, 0081, 0167: The PDSCH is repeated and transmission is made from a TRP. The UE consider or expect that the CWs scheduled in the DCI #1 are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of a TB. The user terminal use carrier aggregation and plurality of component carriers (CC). NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033];
and encoding [Transmitting/receiving section-120; Section 0198: The transmitting/receiving section-120 perform transmission processing such as encoding] at least a second DCI for transmission to the UE via the PDCCH [Figs. 3, 4A-4B (Depicts DCI#1 (first DCI) and DCI#2 (second DCI), Sections 0055, 0059, 0046: DCI transmitted on a PDCCH. The DCI #2 (i.e. second DCI) schedules PDSCH #2 (i.e. CW/TB 2). The CW, TB, and “data” are used interchangeably],
the second DCI including second TB information and second scheduling information [Sections 0059, 0046, 0028: The DCI #2 (i.e. second DCI) schedules PDSCH #2 (i.e. CW/TB 2). The CW, TB, and “data” are used interchangeably. In MIMO transmission, two transport blocks (TBs) are transmitted in a plurality of layers], the second scheduling information indicating additional scheduled transmissions of multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB using a second component carrier of the plurality of available component carriers[Figs. 3, 4A-B, Sections 0026, 0047, 0106, 0167: In NR, MIMO transmission is adopted in which different data are transmitted from a plurality of TRPs. Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH) TB are transmitted using different TRPs (i.e. CC/carrier see 022). The DCI #2 indicates that it is new data (i.e. second TB/CW) and the UE consider that the CWs #1 and #2 scheduled in the DCI #1 and DCI #2. The user terminal connected to plurality of base stations use carrier aggregation and dual connectivity (DC) using a plurality of component carriers (CC)],
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state the first component carrier and the second component carrier corresponding to different transmit frequencies.
However, Yi teaches the first component carrier and the second component carrier [i.e. CCs or cells] corresponding to different transmit frequencies [Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 33. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 32 [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245], wherein the first TB information and the second TB information are associated with a TB size of each of the scheduled transmissions and the additional scheduled transmissions [Figs. 3, 4A-4B (Depicts DCI#1 (first DCI) and DCI#2 (second DCI), Sections 0026, 0106, 0138: In NR, MIMO transmission is adopted in which different data are transmitted from a plurality of TRPs. The DCI #2 indicates that it is new data (i.e. second TB/CW) and the UE consider that the CWs #1 and #2 scheduled in the DCI #1 and DCI #2. The TB size (TBS) corresponding to each of the CWs determined based on the DCI indicate CWs are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB].
As to Claim 34. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [Memory-1002] that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors [Processor-1001, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor] of a user equipment (UE), the instructions to configure [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245: The processor-1001 reads programs (program codes), software modules, data, and so on from memory 1002, and executes various processing according to these. The memory-1002 is a computer-readable recording medium, that can store a program (program codes) which are executable for implementing the radio communication method]
the UE for multiple component carrier repetition transmissions in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network, and to cause the UE to perform operations comprising [Fig. 7, Sections 0022, 0162, 0166-0167: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs as component carrier (CC). FIG. 7 is a diagram of a radio communication system-1 that implements communication using new radio 5G NR. The radio communication system include a base stations and a user terminal-20. The user terminal connected to plurality of base stations use carrier aggregation and dual connectivity (DC) using a plurality of component carriers (CC)]:
decoding [Reception Processing Section-220/2212, see 0225 & Fig. 9] downlink control information (DCI) received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the DCI including transport block (TB) information and scheduling information [Fig. 5, Sections 0004, 0055, 0146: The user terminal (UE) controls reception of the PDSCH based on downlink control information (DCI) referred to as DL assignment (i.e. scheduling) transmitted on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). A plurality of CWs generated based on TB scheduled by a DCI. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing for example demodulation and decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI. NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033],
the scheduling information [i.e. DCI/DL assignment] indicating scheduled transmissions of multiple repetitions [i.e. TB/CW duplicates or PDSCH repetition] of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) TB [Sections 0022, 0047: In NR, repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs as component carrier (CC). Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH, see 0021) TB are transmitted] using multiple component carriers [Figs. 1-2 (Depicts repetition of transmission of PDSCHs or channel/signal by TRPs #1-4), Fig. 5, Sections 0024, 0081, 0167: The PDSCH is repeated and transmission is made from a TRP. The UE consider or expect that the CWs scheduled in the DCI #1 are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of a TB. The user terminal use carrier aggregation and plurality of component carriers (CC). NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033],
determining, using the TB information, a TB size associated with the scheduled transmissions [Sections 0041, 0138, 0150: The plurality of CWs generated by duplicating TB, and information bit sequence including a transport block (TB) and a codeword sequence. The TB size (TBS) corresponding to each of the CWs determined based on the DCI indicate CWs are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB. The UE control the soft combining based on the TB size (TBS) which is determined based on the value in the DCI. NOTED: CWs are considered as TB see 0033];
decoding [Reception Processing Section-220/2212, see 0225 & Fig. 9] the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB, the multiple repetitions received from one or more base stations [i.e. TRP, see 0022] during the scheduled transmissions [Figs. 1-2 (Depicts repetition of transmission of PDSCHs or channel/signal by TRPs #1-4), Figs. 3, 5, Sections 0024, 0047, 0146: The PDSCH is repeated among a plurality of different time domain resources/slots and transmission is made from a TRP or TRPs #1 to #4. Fig. 2 is an example of repetition transmission of a channel/signal using a plurality of TRPs in which TB are transmitted from different TRPs using PDSCHs. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI];
and determining PDSCH data [Sections 0028, 0046, 0179: The TB is a transmission unit of data. CW, TB, and “data” are used interchangeably. DCI that schedules PDSCH referred to as DL assignment and PDSCH may be replaced with DL data] based on the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB and the TB size [Figs. 1-2, 5, Sections 0047, 0041, 0138, 0146: Repetition transmission of a channel/signal (i.e. PDSCH, see 0021) TB are transmitted. The plurality of CWs generated by duplicating (i.e. repetition or repeating) TB constituting the same data. The TB size (TBS) determined based on the DCI indicate CWs are duplicates (i.e. repetition) of TB. Therefore, the UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI]
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state the multiple component carriers corresponding to a plurality of different transmit frequencies;
However, Yi teaches the multiple component carriers [i.e. CCs or cells] corresponding to a plurality of different transmit frequencies [Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 35. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 34, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]: decoding the DCI to further determine a redundancy version (RV) associated with a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions [See Claim 24 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 38. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 34, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]: encoding a one-shot acknowledgment (ACK) or a one-shot non-acknowledgment (NACK) for transmission to the one or more base stations using a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the one-shot ACK or the one-shot NACK associated with a subset of the multiple repetitions of the PDSCH TB received from the one or more base stations during the scheduled transmissions [See Claim 27 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 39. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 34, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]:
decoding the DCI to further determine a plurality of carrier indexes, the plurality of carrier indexes associated with the plurality of transmit frequencies [Sections 0146, 0168, 0268: The UE perform decoding of CWs (code words) and TB based on the DCI. Each CC (component carrier) may be included a frequency range. The bandwidth part (BWP) represent a subset of resource blocks (RB) for a certain numerology in a certain carrier; the RB may be specified by the index of the carrier],
Takeda does explicitly state different frequencies associated with carriers.
However, Yi teaches different frequencies associated with carriers [Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and resources such as bandwidths/frequency are specified by carrier index with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells having identifiers/indexes to correspond to different transmit frequencies for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 40. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 39, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]
encoding [Transmitting section-220/2211, Section 0221: The Transmitting Section-220 perform transmission processing such as encoding] uplink data [i.e. PUSCH transmission] for transmission to the one or more base stations using multiple repetitions of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) TB using a plurality of component carriers [Sections 0021, 0028, 0031, 0179: Transmission of a channel or a signal (channel/signal) in a repeated manner (repetition) in the NR is, for example an uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The TB is a transmission unit of data. Hereinafter, an embodiment according to the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to repetition transmission of uplink channels (for example, a PUSCH). PUSCH may be replaced with UL data. Note: PUSCH is transmitted to base station],
the plurality of component carriers corresponding to the plurality of transmit frequencies [Sections 0167-0168, 0174: The user terminal connected to plurality of base stations and use at carrier aggregation and dual connectivity (DC) using a plurality of component carriers (CC). Each CC (component carrier) may be included a frequency range. The radio access method or multi-carrier transmission method used as the UL (uplink) radio access method].
Although Takeda discloses that channel/signal is repeatedly transmitted by a plurality of different frequency domain resources (0006-0007); and the UE uses plurality/multiple component carriers (CCs) or cells (0167), it does not explicitly state different transmit frequencies;
However, Yi teaches different transmit frequencies Fig. 10A, Sections 0135, 0255, 0310: In an example, up to 32 CCs (component carriers) may have different bandwidths (i.e. frequencies) for downlink and uplink. A DCI, based on the multi-carrier repetition scheduling comprise resource assignments of a plurality of cells for a number of repetitions of a TB over the plurality of cells for a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) over the plurality of cells. For example, a wireless device receive a first PDSCH of a TB via first downlink (DL) carrier/cell and a second PDSCH of the TB via the second downlink carrier/cell simultaneously operate in a first frequency range and the second downlink carrier may operate in a second frequency range; first frequency range maybe different from the second frequency range].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to channels i.e. PDSCH carrying TBs can be repeatedly transmitted to UE using different frequency domain resources, and repetition transmission of a channel/signal uses component carrier (CC)/cells with the teaching of Yi relating to CC/component carriers/cells have different bandwidths and operate with different frequencies or frequency ranges for multi-carrier repetition. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious for the multiple carriers/cells to correspond to different transmit frequencies since in NR standard, the component carriers/CCs/cells can use different frequencies and/or bandwidths in a communication systems for the wireless device/UE and base station to operate without undue experimentation.
2. Claims 25-26 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Takeda et al. US 20210359808 hereafter Takeda in view of Yi et al. US 20240057108 hereafter Yi and in further view of JUNG et al. US 20210321442 hereafter Jung.
As to Claim 25. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]:
determine additional RVs associated with subsequent transmissions of the scheduled transmissions occurring after the subsequent transmission, based on the RV [Figs. 6B-C (Depicts DCI includes RV field for each duplicated/repeated CWs/TBs), Sections 0040,
0105, 0157, 0146: The RVs described above may be different among the plurality of CWs. RV field may be different between the DCI #1 and the DCI #2 (i.e. carry additional RV. The UE control decoding of the RV indicated by the value of the other bit of the RV field.
The UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI],
Although Takeda discloses RV sequence/pattern (0042) it does not explicitly state RV pattern correspond to RV offset; and Yi discloses the wireless device may apply a redundancy version based on the actual repetition(0306); the combination of Takeda and Yi do not explicitly state and a pre-configured RV offset applied to a pre-configured RV pattern.
However Jung teaches and a pre-configured RV offset applied to a pre-configured RV pattern [Sections 0059, 0425-0427: The disclosure relates to methods and devices for repeatedly transmitting data between a UE and a plurality of transmission nodes. RV indicated by the DCI indicate a selection of redundancy version (RV) sequence (i.e. pattern); in general, a sequence of RV is repeatedly transmitted as default and, in each transmission, data having the RVid transmitted; the RV sequence transmitted from each TRP may be defined as follows. The selected RV sequence is linked to the first TRP and the RV sequence linked to the second TRP is determined by the RV offset from the selected RV sequence. Also, RV offset is determined by the set RRC value].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to RV field in each DCI, RV applies to repetition/duplication of downlink data/PDSCH TB and RVs can be applied in sequence/pattern and the method of Yi relating to the wireless device may apply a redundancy version based on the actual repetition with the teaching of Jung relating to by default (i.e. preconfigured) RV sequence or pattern is selected and indicated in DCI and RV pattern/sequence is linked to RV offset for the TRPs. By combining the methods/systems the UE can use the RV sequence/pattern linked to RV offset to obtain gain via soft combining of received retransmitted data as suggested by Jung.
As to Claim 26. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to [Figs 10, Section 0239: The user terminal-20 includes a processor]: determine the PDSCH data [i.e. PDSCH transmission or DL TB] further based on the RV and the additional RVs [Figs. 6B-C (Depicts DCI includes RV field for each CWs including duplicated/repeated CWs/TBs), Sections 0040, 0105, 0157, 0146: The RVs described above may be different among the plurality of CWs. RV field may be different between the DCI #1 and the DCI #2 (i.e. carry additional RV); for example, the RV field of the DCI #1 may indicate 0 and the RV field of the DCI #2 indicate 0 or 2. The UE control decoding of the RV indicated by the value of the other bit of the RV field. The UE perform reception processing and decoding of CWs and TB (i.e. PDSCH data) based on DCI].
As to Claim 36. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]:
determining additional RVs associated with subsequent transmissions of the scheduled transmissions occurring after the subsequent transmission, based on the RV and a pre-configured RV offset applied to a pre-configured RV pattern [See Claim 25 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 37. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 36, the operations further comprising [Figs. 7, 10, Sections 0244-0245]:
determining the PDSCH data further based on the RV and the additional RVs [See Claim 26 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rastegardoost et al. US 20210144743 and CHENG et al. US 20190020506.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 23, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477