Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a processor that may sense the position of a cover based on information from a positioning sensor [0094], it does not reasonably provide enablement for a processor to be configured to control power supplied from the battery to the heater based on whether or not the cover opens the hole. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. One of ordinary skill does not know how to configure a processor to identify if a cover opens a hole without sensing circuity. Processors are not known to perform this function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-9, Sayed et al disclose a an aerosol generating device (100) including a housing (102) including a hole (104) for accommodating an aerosol-generating article and a guide (202) separated from the hole (104), and a lid/cover (108a) that moves between a first position ( open position ) and a second position ( closed position ) along the guide (202) in order to open and close the hole (104) [0019], wherein when the cover (108) is located in the first position, the hole (104) is opened, and when the lid/cover (108) is located in the second position, the hole (108) is closed (see, [0038], [0067-0080] and figures 9A-9E below).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the guide (202) is separated from the hole in a first direction and extends in a second direction across the first direction and a remaining part of the guide is located in a second region not corresponding to the hole.
Regarding claims 6-9, a spring biases the lid towards the open position when the lid is in or near the open position or toward the closed position when it is in or near the closed position ([0004], [0075-0078], see also claim 1). The spring moves the cover by elastic force before a threshold position between the first and second portion. Pivot points are used as a first and second maintain portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Newman et al. (US 20050172976 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Sayed et al. do not disclose an air inlet apart from the guide or located at a circumference of the hole. However, Newman et al. disclose a similar smoking device that heats a aerosol generating article which is inserted into a hole and contains an air inlet port around the circumference of the hole (see figure 6, element 1200 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the air inlet port of Newman et al. to provide air for the smoking device of Sayed et al. so that users could draw air through the device during use. The air inlet located at the top of the hole would also have been protected by the lid of Newman et al. The combination would have been predictable and within the level of skill.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bellusci et al. (US 20210007396 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, Sayed et al. disclose a heater configured to heat the aerosol generating article, a battery to power the heater, and a controller such as a processor and memory to control the power supplied to the heater [0045-0046]. Sayed et al. do not disclose that the processor is configured to control power supplied from the battery to the heater based on whether or not the cover opens the hole.
However, Bellusci et al. disclose a similar cover for a similar aerosol generating device. The device of Bellusci et al. contains a detector that provides, “a signal to the controller 18 indicative of whether the cover element 42 is in the closed position or the open position.” [0104]. The controller will not supply power to the heater if the cover is closed because it is assumed that an aerosol generating article is not in the heating cavity [0105]. If the cover is open, the controller may supply power to the heater [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a sensor as disclosed in the invention of Bellusci et al. to detect whether the cover of Sayed et al. is in the open and closed position so that the controller can determine whether or not to provide power to the heating system as described by Bellusci et al.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747