Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments concern claim amendments that are addressed in the rejections below (e.g. elastic member, etc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) in view of Tanaka (US 20210015151A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-9, Sayed et al disclose a an aerosol generating device (100) including a housing (102) including a hole (104) for accommodating an aerosol-generating article and a guide (202) separated from the hole (104), and a lid/cover (108a) that moves between a first position ( open position ) and a second position ( closed position ) along the guide (202) in order to open and close the hole (104) [0019], wherein when the cover (108) is located in the first position, the hole (104) is opened, and when the lid/cover (108) is located in the second position, the hole (108) is closed (see, [0038], [0067-0080] and figures 9A-9E below).
The spring of Sayed et al. biases the lid towards the open position when the lid is in or near the open position or toward the closed position when it is in or near the closed position ([0004], [0075-0078], see also claim 1). The spring moves the cover by elastic force before a threshold position between the first and second portion. Pivot points are used as a first and second maintain portions.
Sayed et al. disclose a spring (i.e. elastic member) has a wound portion between and end and the other end, but Sayed et al. do not expressly disclose that as the cover moves the movement path of the wound portion forms a curve.
However, it is known in the art that other types of springs are readily available. For instance, Tanaka discloses a smoking device with a lids and a guide member along with a torsion spring. The spring applies tension and is illustrated in three different position and that winding forms a curve through the illustrated movement path (see figure 6, element 60a, 60b, and 60c, below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the spring of Tanaka in place of the spring of Sayed et al. because it is well known in the art to replace one element of the same type for the same purpose. Replacing one known spring biasing a moving lid with another known spring biasing a moving lid would have been obvious and would have had predictable results.
The guide of Sayed (202) comprises a protrusion (as illustrated) on a surface of the housing. Portion 204 on the bottom of the lid (108b) goes under the protrusion while the top of the lid (108a) goes on top of the protrusion creating a groove where the protrusion from the housing is inserted (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the guide (202) is separated from the hole in a first direction and extends in a second direction across the first direction and a remaining part of the guide is located in a second region not corresponding to the hole.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) and Tanaka (US 20210015151A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Newman et al. (US 20050172976 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Sayed et al. do not disclose an air inlet apart from the guide or located at a circumference of the hole. However, Newman et al. disclose a similar smoking device that heats a aerosol generating article which is inserted into a hole and contains an air inlet port around the circumference of the hole (see figure 6, element 1200 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the air inlet port of Newman et al. to provide air for the smoking device of Sayed et al. so that users could draw air through the device during use. The air inlet located at the top of the hole would also have been protected by the lid of Newman et al. The combination would have been predictable and within the level of skill.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) and Tanaka (US 20210015151A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bellusci et al. (US 20210007396 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, Sayed et al. disclose a heater configured to heat the aerosol generating article, a battery to power the heater, and a controller such as a processor and memory to control the power supplied to the heater [0045-0046]. Sayed et al. do not disclose that the processor is configured to control power supplied from the battery to the heater based on whether or not the cover opens the hole.
However, Bellusci et al. disclose a similar cover for a similar aerosol generating device. The device of Bellusci et al. contains a detector that provides, “a signal to the controller 18 indicative of whether the cover element 42 is in the closed position or the open position.” [0104]. The controller will not supply power to the heater if the cover is closed because it is assumed that an aerosol generating article is not in the heating cavity [0105]. If the cover is open, the controller may supply power to the heater [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a sensor as disclosed in the invention of Bellusci et al. to detect whether the cover of Sayed et al. is in the open and closed position so that the controller can determine whether or not to provide power to the heating system as described by Bellusci et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747