DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/279,277 filed on 08/29/2023 in which Claims 42 – 61 were presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 42 - 53 in the reply filed on 04/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 42, 43, 45 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) and Claims 44, 46 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2024 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Title of the Invention
37 C.F.R. 1.72(a) states: "The title of the invention may not exceed 500 characters in length and must be as short and specific as possible" (emphasis added). Thus, the title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. A new title is required that is more clearly and more specifically indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42, 43, 45 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rivas Sabelle et al. (US 2019/0041816) (hereinafter, Rivas).
Regarding Claim 42, Rivas teaches a system for providing liquid (See Rivas’ Abstract), the system comprising:
at least one measurement device for measuring a volume of liquid in a liquid tank (Rivas in par 0104 and Fig. 3, teaches the tank as hydraulic component is associated with variables, among which we can mention the level of water measured by level sensors as a continuous level sensor CLS, high level sensor HLS sensor and/or low level sensor LLS, wherein said sensors become active with the change of level, and when the lower/upper are exceeded, as appropriate); and
an electronic liquid control unit in communication with the at least one measurement device (Rivas in par 0015, further teaches the system of the invention defines that at least a first node of the nodes network is in communication with at least one sensor, at least one actuator and at least one controller belonging to the system, wherein said communication comprises wireless data transmission or by cable corresponding to sensed variables of the operation, the acting of devices, the operating parameters and/or definition of the operating conditions. Rivas in par 0087, further teaches hydraulic components connected each other and in relation to a network level allows a number of control parameters that facilitate the operation, control and monitoring of the system);
the electronic liquid control unit is further in communication with at least one counter through which the liquid is pumped out of the tank (Rivas in par 0085, further teaches the pump as a hydraulic component is associated with variables that may include the input pressure, measured by a PSI sensor in FIG. 1, the output pressure measured by a PSO sensor in FIG. 1, and the flow delivered by the pump, which can be measured by a flowmeter referred to as CSO in FIG. 1) and a controller configured for actuating the pump to expel liquid out of the tank (Rivas in par 0037, teaches that the water management system comprises a set of hydraulic components including at least one water source at least one tant, at least one pump, at least one value and/or at least one injector and other basic components of a hydraulic system used in irrigation systems or leach pads for mining processes. Rivas in par 0085 – 0087, further teaches that the pump as a hydraulic component may be associated with operating parameters obtained by the actuators as a contactor, which drives the pump to turn it on or off and referred to as ON/OFF in FIG. 1, and/or a frequency adjuster to vary the operation of the pump, referred to as SA in FIG. 1, as required. Hydraulic components connected each other and in relation to a network level allows a number of control parameters that facilitate the operation, control and monitoring of the system), wherein said electronic liquid control unit is configured to actuate the pump to expel liquid from the tank for delivering an amount of the liquid according to an output of the electronic liquid control unit (Rivas in par 0117, further teaches that the valve as hydraulic component is associated with variables, including the output pressure measured by a PSO sensor, and the flow measured by a flow sensor SC. Moreover, the valve as a hydraulic component may be associated with operating parameters obtained by actuators, for example a solenoid contactor for the operation of the valve, referred to as ON/OFF in FIG. 4. Rivas in par 0146 – 0147 and Fig(s) 6a-6j, further teaches that figures 6a - 6j show the operation of the system to start irrigation in Sector 2 and its subsequent stop. In FIG. 6a it can be seen that each hydraulic component communicates through its CX hydraulic communication interface, with the hydraulic component located directly upstream. This communication is done through messages sent by the controllers associated with each component downstream, communicated through the nodes, and processed by the upstream component controllers, which allow the system to recognize the state condition of each component. FIGS. 6b to 6d show that each component starts its activation as a result of the requirement to start irrigation after receiving confirmation message on the operating or active state, from upstream to downstream).
Regarding Claim 43, Rivas teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 42. Rivas further teaches:
wherein the at least one measurement device includes at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a pressure sensor (Rivas in par 0117, teaches that the valve as hydraulic component is associated with variables, including input pressure measured by a pressure sensor PSI, the output pressure measured by a PSO sensor, and the flow measured by a flow sensor SC).
Regarding Claim 45, Rivas teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 42. Rivas further teaches:
wherein the electronic liquid control unit analyzes the data from at least one measurement device and the data from the counter and outputs data that allows accurately actuating the pump (Rivas in par 0067, teaches that after the information is processed, a response is set that will drive the hydraulic component giving response to the state condition for the purposes of communicating—through the hydraulic communication interface—the response to the state component whose state should return to a preset condition state, thus generating dynamic control over the system and maintaining it at the level of operation desired against fluctuations in the operation. Rivas in par 0085, teaches that the pump as a hydraulic component is associated with variables that may include the input pressure, measured by a PSI sensor in FIG. 1, the output pressure measured by a PSO sensor in FIG. 1, and the flow delivered by the pump, which can be measured by a flowmeter referred to as CSO in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 53, Rivas teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 42. Rivas further teaches:
wherein the liquid comprises a liquid fertilizer (Rivas in par 0126, teaches that among the operating parameters of the components any kind of parameter previously set or programmed for that component can be considered, for example, in the case of the fertilizer injector, other operating parameters may comprise: maximum/minimum flow of the injector and rated flow of the injector, among others), wherein the system further comprising an irrigation device for delivering the fertilizer to at least one of a crop, earth, field, flowers, or plant (Rivas in par 0037, further teaches that the water management system comprises a set of hydraulic components including at least one water source, at least one tank, at least one pump, at least one valve and/or at least one injector and other basic components of a hydraulic system as used in irrigation systems or leach pads for mining processes. Rivas in par 0043, further teaches that the irrigation sector is that where at least one hydraulic component is located, comprising a set of control and monitoring parameters associated with the irrigation of said sector), and wherein the system is configured to continuously monitor the amount of fertilizer delivered to a plant (Rivas in par 0009, teaches monitoring and control of water use in a given territorial area or field, facilitating the management of water use or other type of fluid in processes where it is involved, for example in the irrigation tasks of agricultural land or in industrial processes using fluids such as leaching).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44, 46 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivas in view of Shimpo et al. (US 2017/0008784) (hereinafter, Shimpo)
Regarding Claim 44, Rivas teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 42. Rivas further teaches:
Rivas teaches the control and monitor a hydraulic system located in the given territorial area by an arrangement of sensors, actuators and controllers deployed in communication with a network of nodes that allows a user to monitor, control and automate the use of water in that territorial area (See Rivas’ Abstract).
However, Rivas does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one counter provides a plurality of spaced apart pulses, each pulse of the plurality of pulses having a pulse duration and the electronic liquid control unit is configured to count the pulses.
Shimpo teaches a chemical injection method that can control an injection amount such that a chemical concentration is obtained as per a target even in a boiler feed-water facility where a flow rate of feed-water varies to a large extend in a short period (See Shimpo’s Abstract).
Shimpo in par 0003, further teaches that injection of a chemical liquid into the small once-through boiler is generally controlled in a manner using a microcomputer, an ON/OFF signal from the feed-water pump, or a pulse signal or an analog signal from a flowmeter. Shimpo in par 0006, further teaches that the chemical concentration in the feed-water can be held close to a target concentration, because the number of strokes per minute of the chemical injection pump is determined in proportion to the flow rate of the feed-water. In the case of supplying the feed-water by merely controlling the chemical injection pump in accordance with the pulse signal or the analog signal from the feed-water flowmeter, an error between an actual injection amount and a target injection amount increases when the performance of the feed-water pump or the chemical injection pump degrades.
Shimpo in par 0076, further teaches that the feed-water flowmeter 40 detects the integrated flow rate by employing a pulse signal of 1 pulse/0.1 L, and detects the instantaneous flow rate by employing analog signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 3500 L/h. The injection amount was adjusted with the chemical injection pump 37 by controlling the number of strokes per minute with signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 38 mL/min. Shimpo in par 0088 and Table 2, teaches that the number of pulses applied to the chemical injection pump was corrected at timings (3) and (4) in checking the injection amount.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Shimpo with the teachings as in Rivas to control the pump of Rivas with a pulse signal as disclosed in Shimpo. The motivation for doing so would have been to effective control the amount of water feed in to the irrigation system based on the number of strokes per minute of the pump that is determined in proportion to the flow rate of the feed-water (See Shimpo’s par 0006).
Regarding Claim 46, Rivas in view of Shimpo teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 44. Shimpo further teaches:
wherein the electronic liquid control unit calculates a data output comprising a correction factor calculated by dividing the number of counted pulses by the actual measured volume of liquid pumped out of the tank in the same period the pulses were counted (Shimpo in par 0076, teaches that the feed-water flowmeter 40 detects the integrated flow rate by employing a pulse signal of 1 pulse/0.1 L, and detects the instantaneous flow rate by employing analog signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 3500 L/h. The injection amount was adjusted with the chemical injection pump 37 by controlling the number of strokes per minute with signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 38 mL/min).
Regarding Claim 52, Rivas teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 45. Rivas further teaches:
Rivas teaches the control and monitor a hydraulic system located in the given territorial area by an arrangement of sensors, actuators and controllers deployed in communication with a network of nodes that allows a user to monitor, control and automate the use of water in that territorial area (See Rivas’ Abstract).
However, Rivas does not specifically disclose wherein accurately actuating the pump comprises providing a calculated volume of liquid per counted pulse and providing a calculated volume of liquid from the tank to the irrigation device.
Shimpo in par 0006, further teaches that the chemical concentration in the feed-water can be held close to a target concentration, because the number of strokes per minute of the chemical injection pump is determined in proportion to the flow rate of the feed-water. In the case of supplying the feed-water by merely controlling the chemical injection pump in accordance with the pulse signal or the analog signal from the feed-water flowmeter, an error between an actual injection amount and a target injection amount increases when the performance of the feed-water pump or the chemical injection pump degrades.
Shimpo in par 0076, further teaches that the feed-water flowmeter 40 detects the integrated flow rate by employing a pulse signal of 1 pulse/0.1 L, and detects the instantaneous flow rate by employing analog signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 3500 L/h. The injection amount was adjusted with the chemical injection pump 37 by controlling the number of strokes per minute with signals of 4 to 20 mA corresponding to 0 to 38 mL/min).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Shimpo with the teachings as in Rivas to control the pump of Rivas with a pulse signal as disclosed in Shimpo. The motivation for doing so would have been to effective control the amount of water feed in to the irrigation system based on the number of strokes per minute of the pump that is determined in proportion to the flow rate of the feed-water (See Shimpo’s par 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 47 – 51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118