DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, compound A-29
depicts a labeled atom “A”. It is unclear what subject matter is encompassed by compound A-29 as “A” is not an atom and is not a defined variable, rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. For purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted as not including compound A-29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura et al. (US 2019/0194219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura teaches a composition for an organic optoelectronic device (Example 4), the composition comprising;
a first compound represented by a combination of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2
a1 and a2 are each a linking carbon
b1 and b2 are each a linking carbon
a1 is linked to b2
a2 is linked to b1
b3 and b4 are CRa
Ra, R1 to R10 are each a hydrogen
L1 and L2 are each a single bond
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group
X is O
A second compound represented by Chemical Formula 3
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 3
Z1 to Z3 are N
L3 is an unsubstituted C12 arylene group
Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group
R11 to R15 are each a hydrogen
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura further teaches wherein the first compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1E.
where in the Claimed Formula 1E
R1 to R10, L1, L2, Ar1, Ar2, and X are defined the same as in Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 in claim 1 above in Paragraph 8.
Ra1 to Ra4 are each independently defined the same as Ra of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 in claim 1 above in Paragraph 8.
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently
of Group 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura further teaches wherein the second compound is represented by Chemical Formula 3-II
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 3-II, Z1 to Z3, L3 to L5, Ar3, Ar4, and R11 to R15 are defined the same as those of Chemical Formula 3 as described in claim 1 above in Paragraph 8.
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura further teaches wherein Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura further teaches wherein Ar3 and Ar4 are each
of Group II.
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura further teaches wherein the second compound is
which is compound D-8
of instant application.
Regarding claim 12, Kawamura further teaches wherein the organic optoelectronic device (Example 4, Table 2, para. [0288] – [0295]) comprises an anode (ITO, para. [0288]) and a cathode (Al, para. [0295]) facing each other, and at least one organic layer (hole injection layer, para. [0289], first hole transporting layer, para. [0290], second hole transporting layer, para. [0291], emitting layer, para. [0292], electron transporting layer, para. [0293], electron injection layer, para. [0294]) disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer includes a light emitting layer (para. [0292]), and the at least one light emitting layer includes the composition (compound EP-1 and compound EN-4) for an organic optoelectronic device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kawamura further teaches wherein the composition for an organic optoelectronic device is a host of the emitting layer (para. [0292]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US 2019/0194219 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 12-13 above.
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura teaches the composition the composition for an organic optoelectronic device of claim 2 as described above in Paragraph 9.
In Example 4, Kawamura does not specifically teach wherein the first compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1A or Chemical Formula 1B.
However, Kawamura teaches that compound EP-1 is a specific compound of formula (1)
.
Examiner notes that the compound of formula (1) of Kawamura is a structural isomer of claimed Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B that differs only in the bonding of the indole group to the dibenzofuran or dibenzothiophene core structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Kawamura to provide a structural isomer and arrive at the claimed Chemical Formula 1A or Chemical Formula 1B.
The Office points out that sections 2144.09 I and II of the MPEP state “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c). and “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamura teaches the composition for an organic optoelectronic device of claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 8.
In Example 4, Kawamura does not specifically teach a composition wherein the first compound is a compound of Group 1.
However, Kawamura teaches that compound EP-1 of Example 4, is a specific compound of formula (1) (para. [0100]) and that compounds of formula (1) are suitable compounds for the emitting layer of the OLED (para. [0012]). Compound
is a specific compound of formula (1).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Kawamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute compound EP-1 of Example 4 with a suitable compound of formula (1) such as
. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a host compound in the emitting layer of the OLED of Kawamura and possess the benefits taught by Kawamura. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select compound
, because it would have been choosing one suitable host for another, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host compound in the emitting layer of the OLED device of Kawamura and possessing the benefits taught by Kawamura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising
having the benefits taught by Kawamura in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Compound
of Kawamura reads on compound A-18
of instant application.
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura teaches the organic optoelectronic device of claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 8 wherein,
The second compound is represented by Chemical Formula 3-II
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 3-II
Z1 to Z3 are each N
Ar3 and Ar4 are an unsubstituted phenyl group
L3 to L5 are each a single bond
R11 to R15 are each hydrogen
In Example 4, Kawamura does not specifically teach wherein the first compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1A or Chemical Formula 1B.
However, examiner notes that the compound of formula (1) of Kawamura is a structural isomer of claimed Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B that differs only in the bonding of the indole group to the dibenzofuran or dibenzothiophene core structure, as stated above for claim 3 in Paragraph 23.
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura teaches the organic optoelectronic device of claim 12 as describe above in Paragraph 16.
In Example 4, Kawamura does not specifically teach a display device that comprises the organic optoelectronic device.
However, Kawamura teaches that their organic electroluminescence devices may be use to equip an electronic apparatus (para. [0271]). Kawamura teaches that an electronic apparatus may be flat panel displays of wall-hanging televisions; backlights of copiers, printers, and liquid crystal displays; light sources of measuring instruments; displaying boards; and marker lamps (para. [0271]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic electroluminescence device claim 12 in a display devices, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Kawamura according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with the organic optoelectronic device of claim 12, as taught by Kawamura. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (US 2017/0256719 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (US 2019/0194219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a compound (P-30) represented by a combination of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2
a1 and a2 are linking carbons
b2 and b3 are linking carbons
b1 and b4 are each a CRa
a1 is linked to b2
a2 is linked to b3
Ra and R1 to R10 are each a hydrogen
L1 is an unsubstituted C10 arylene group
L2 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene group
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group
X is S
Jang teaches that compound P-30 is a compound of Formula 5 which represents Formula 1 (para. [0076]). Additionally, Jang teaches that compounds of Formula 1 are used in the light emitting layer to improve the lifetime and efficiency of an organic optoelectronic device (organic electronic element, para. [0052]).
Jang does not teach wherein P-30 or the compounds of formula 1 are used in a composition wherein the second compound is represented by Chemical Formula 3.
Kawamura teaches similar compounds of a seven ring fused system, compounds of formula (1), used in OLEDs. Additionally, Kawamura teaches that compounds of formula (1), when used in combination with compounds of formula (2) as a host material of the emitting layer, it results in prolonged lifetime of the device (para. [0036]).
In Example 4, Kawamura teaches a seven ring fused system compound of formula (1) in combination with compound EN-4 of Kawamura’s formula (2). Compound EN-4 reads of Chemical Formula 3 of instant application.
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 3
Z1 to Z3 are N
L3 is an unsubstituted C12 arylene group
Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group
R11 to R15 are each a hydrogen
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine compound P-30 of Jang as the first host and compound EN-4 of Kawamura as a second host in a composition for an organic optoelectronic device, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Jang and Kawamura according to known methods to yield predictable results of an optoelectronic device with prolonged lifetime, as taught by Kawamura. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Jang teaches wherein the first compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1A.
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 1A
R1 to R10, L1, L2, Ar1, Ar2, and X are defined the same as in Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 in claim 1 above in Paragraph 28.
Ra1 to Ra4 are each independently defined the same as Ra of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 in claim 1 above in Paragraph 28.
Regarding claim 3, modified Jang further teaches wherein the first compounds is represented by Chemical Formula 1A as depicted in claim 2 above in Paragraph 29.
Regarding claim 4, modified Jang further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jang further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently
of Group 1.
Regarding claim 6, modified Jang teaches the composition for an organic optoelectronic device of claim as described above in Paragraph 28.
Modified Jang does not specifically teach wherein the first compound is selected from Group 1. However, Jang teaches that compound P-30 is a compound of Formula 5 which represents Formula 1 (para. [0076]).
Jang teaches that L1 is an aryl group and that from within a list of aryl possible aryl groups, phenylene is a specific example of L1 (para. [0068]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Jang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the L1 of compound P-30 with a phenylene group in place of the naphthalene. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as first host compound in the light emitting layer of the OLED of modified Jang and possess the benefits taught by Jang. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a phenyl group as L1, because it would have been choosing an L1 group, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the first host in the light emitting layer of the OLED device of modified Jang and possessing the benefits taught by Jang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds with a phenyl linker having the benefits taught by Jang in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Modified compound P-30
of further modified Jang is claimed compound A-27
of Group 1 of instant application.
Regarding claim 7, modified Jang further teaches wherein the second compound is represented by Chemical Formula 3-II.
where in the claimed Chemical Formula 3-II, Z1 to Z3, L3 to L5, Ar3, Ar4, and R11 to R15 are defined the same as those of Chemical Formula 3 as described in claim 1 above in Paragraph 28.
Regarding claim 8, modified Jang further teaches wherein Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Regarding claim 9, modified Jang further teaches wherein Ar3 and Ar4 are each
of Group II.
Regarding claim 10, further teaches wherein the second compound is
which is compound D-8
of instant application.
Regarding claim 11, modified Jang teaches the organic optoelectronic deice of claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 28.
Modified Jang further teaches wherein the first compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1A, as described above in Paragraph 28,
Modified Jang further teaches wherein the second compound is represented by Chemical Formula 3-II, as described above for claim 7 in Paragraph 34,
Regarding claim 12, modified Jang further teaches an organic optoelectronic device (para. [0197]), comprising an anode (ITO layer, para. [0197]) and a cathode (Al, para. [0197]) facing each other, and at least one organic layer (hole transport layer, light emitting layer, hole blocking layer, electron injection layer, para. [0197]) disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer includes a light emitting layer (para. [0197]), and the light emitting layer includes the composition for an organic optoelectronic device of claim 1 (as described above in Paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jang further teaches wherein the composition for an organic optoelectronic device is a host of the light emitting layer, as described above for claim 1 in Paragraph 28.
Regarding claim 14, modified Jang teaches the organic optoelectronic device of claim 12 as describe above in Paragraph 39.
Modified Jang does not specifically teach a display device that comprises the organic optoelectronic device.
Kawamura teaches that their organic electroluminescence devices may be use to equip an electronic apparatus (para. [0271]). Kawamura teaches that an electronic apparatus may be flat panel displays of wall-hanging televisions; backlights of copiers, printers, and liquid crystal displays; light sources of measuring instruments; displaying boards; and marker lamps (para. [0271]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic optoelectronic device of claim 12 in a display device, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of modified Jang and Kawamura according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with the organic optoelectronic device of claim 12, as taught by Kawamura. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789