DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/04/2025 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-12 and 15-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-12 and 15-21 in view of Ueno et al (US 2019/0082071), applicant argues that the internal access points disclosed in Ueno are internal functions of the electronic apparatus 200, and not separate from the electronic apparatus as required by the amended limitations of Claims 1, 9 and 12.
Examiner maintains that making the internal access points of Ueno separate devices, as required by the claim amendments, is legally obvious under KSR, since constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Applicant further argues that in Ueno the two access points do not operate at the same time, as such Ueno and Xu (US 2022/0167164) fail to teach wherein the router supports the 2.4G wireless network and the 5G wireless network simultaneously, as required by the amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The router supporting simultaneous operation of both the 2.4G and 5G wireless network is rejected below as being new matter contradictory to explicit disclosure in the specification. The word “simultaneously” does not appear in the instant specification in any form, and the explicit disclosure directly contradicts the assertion that the frequency bands are operating on the same device concurrently. Particularly, at [0047], “The dual frequency optimization function means that SSIDs and passwords of a 5G Wi-Fi network and a 2.4G Wi-Fi network of the router are the same. If the router enables the dual frequency optimization function, the electronic device selects a frequency band from the two wireless networks based on a distance to the router, for example, selects a frequency band from 2.4G and 5G. The electronic device automatically selects a faster frequency band under the same signal strength.” Selecting between the frequency bands is the opposite of simultaneous operation, therefore the amended limitations are new matter.
For the reasons above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 9, and 12 have been amended to recite “wherein the router . . . supports the 2.4G wireless network and the 5G wireless network simultaneously.” The word “simultaneously” does not appear in the instant specification in any form, and the explicit disclosure directly contradicts the assertion that the frequency bands are operating on the same device concurrently. Particularly, at [0047], “The dual frequency optimization function means that SSIDs and passwords of a 5G Wi-Fi network and a 2.4G Wi-Fi network of the router are the same. If the router enables the dual frequency optimization function, the electronic device selects a frequency band from the two wireless networks based on a distance to the router, for example, selects a frequency band from 2.4G and 5G. The electronic device automatically selects a faster frequency band under the same signal strength.” Selecting between the frequency bands is the opposite of simultaneous operation, therefore the amended limitations are new matter.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, and 15-21 are rejected for the same reasons by virtue of their dependency on Claims 1, 9, and 12, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2019/0082071).
Regarding Claim 1, Ueno teaches a network configuration method (Fig. 5), applicable to a first electronic device ([0073], Fig. 5, electronic apparatus 200), wherein the first electronic device is connected to a 5G wireless network of a router ([0073], electronic apparatus 200 is activating the WFD in the band of 5 GHz before starting connection to the terminal apparatus 100), and the method comprises:
discovering a second electronic device by scanning ([0079],Fig. 5, scanning of SSID of second internal access point starts S109), wherein the second electronic device supports a 2.4G wireless network ([0079], Fig. 5, In a case where the SSID of the second access point is found, the new connection terminal 300 recognizes the operation frequency band of the first internal access point depending on whether the found SSID is “xxx-2.4G” or “xxx-5G” (S110), and performs the temporary connection to the second internal access point (S111), [0082], in a case where at least one existing connection terminal 400 includes a device corresponding to only the band of 2.4 GHz, the WFD connection of S101 and S102 is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz. In this case, even though the wireless capability of the new connection terminal 300 is only the band of 2.4 GHz, it is possible for the new connection terminal 300 to connect to the first internal access point in the operation frequency band as it is); and
sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when service set identifiers and passwords of the 5G wireless network and a 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same ([0083], Fig. 5, electronic apparatus 200 transmits connection information, which is necessary for the connection, to the new connection terminal 300 (S113). In S113, the SSID and the password of the first internal access point are transmitted, [0069], although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited).
Ueno discloses all aspects of the claimed invention except wherein the router is separate from the first electronic device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to making the internal access points separate devices, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 2, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein sending, to the second electronic device, the service set identifier and the password of the wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when service set identifiers and passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same comprises: obtaining a device configuration file of the router; and sending, to the second electronic device, the service set identifier and the password of the wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when a field value corresponding to a first function is extracted from the device configuration file of the router, wherein the first function represents that the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same, and the first electronic device is allowed to be connected to the 5G wireless network or the 2.4G wireless network when the first function is enabled ([0065], the internal access point (first internal access point) and the second internal access point have different pieces of identification information (SSID). That is, in a case where the first internal access point operates in 2.4 GHz, the operation frequency band is the same as in the second internal access point. However, the SSID of the first internal access point (2.4 GHz) does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Naturally, the SSID of the first internal access point, which operates in the band of 5 GHz, does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Meanwhile, although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited, [0072], In a case where the temporary connection is used, the wireless communication unit 220 transmits the identification information and the password of the internal access point (the first internal access point) to the terminal apparatus 100 in the second wireless communication process. In this manner, it is possible to realize transmission of the information of the operation frequency band of the first internal access point and transmission of the SSID or the like of the first internal access point through the same wireless communication process. That is, it is possible to securely connect the terminal apparatus 100 and the electronic apparatus 200 through an effective communication sequence, and it is possible to improve the convenience of the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein when the field value corresponding to the first function is a target value, it is determined that the router enables the first function ([0065, 0071]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising: controlling the router to enable the first function when the router does not enable the first function ([0011], In a case where the connection demand with respect to the internal access point is provided, the wireless communication unit may stop the internal access point, may activate the second internal access point for temporary connection, and may transmit information of the operation frequency band of the internal access point before stopping the internal access point with respect to the terminal apparatus through the second wireless communication process. In a case where the demand to change the operation frequency band into the first frequency band is received from the terminal apparatus through the second wireless communication process, the processing unit may change the operation frequency band from the second frequency band into the first frequency band, and may reactivate the internal access point).
Regarding Claim 5, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device was connected when the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are different; or sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of an available wireless network near the first electronic device when the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are different ([0069], Meanwhile, the internal access point (first internal access point) and the second internal access point have different pieces of identification information (SSID). That is, in a case where the first internal access point operates in 2.4 GHz, the operation frequency band is the same as in the second internal access point. However, the SSID of the first internal access point (2.4 GHz) does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Naturally, the SSID of the first internal access point, which operates in the band of 5 GHz, does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Meanwhile, although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited).
Regarding Claim 6, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining network configuration data of the router set by a user, wherein the network configuration data of the router comprises at least the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router being the same; and writing the network configuration data of the router into a device configuration file of the router ([0071], In a case where the temporary connection is not used, for example, in a case where the user selects the SSID of the first internal access point from an SSID list screen displayed on the display unit 130 of the terminal apparatus 100 after the first internal access point is activated by the electronic apparatus 200, the connection (the WFD connection) is performed between the terminal apparatus 100 and the electronic apparatus 200, [0075], a connection start operation is performed by the user with respect to the electronic apparatus 200 as the connection demand with respect to the first internal access point (S103). The electronic apparatus 200 ends the activated WFD based on the operation in S103 (S104). In S104, the first internal access point is stopped. The WFD connection of the existing connection terminal 400 is cut together with the end of the WFD (S105), and each of the existing connection terminals 400 starts a process of searching for the SSID of the first internal access point (S106). In addition, the electronic apparatus 200 activates the second internal access point for the temporary connection (and for operation frequency band notification) after stopping the first internal access point (S107)).
Regarding Claim 9, Ueno teaches a network configuration method, applicable to a first electronic device ([0073], Fig. 5, electronic apparatus 200), wherein the first electronic device is connected to a 5G wireless network of a router ([0073], electronic apparatus 200 is activating the WFD in the band of 5 GHz before starting connection to the terminal apparatus 100), and the method comprises:
discovering a second electronic device by scanning ([0079],Fig. 5, scanning of SSID of second internal access point starts S109), wherein the second electronic device supports a 2.4G wireless network ([0079], Fig. 5, In a case where the SSID of the second access point is found, the new connection terminal 300 recognizes the operation frequency band of the first internal access point depending on whether the found SSID is “xxx-2.4G” or “xxx-5G” (S110), and performs the temporary connection to the second internal access point (S111), [0082], in a case where at least one existing connection terminal 400 includes a device corresponding to only the band of 2.4 GHz, the WFD connection of S101 and S102 is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz. In this case, even though the wireless capability of the new connection terminal 300 is only the band of 2.4 GHz, it is possible for the new connection terminal 300 to connect to the first internal access point in the operation frequency band as it is); and
sending a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to the second electronic device ([0083], Fig. 5, electronic apparatus 200 transmits connection information, which is necessary for the connection, to the new connection terminal 300 (S113). In S113, the SSID and the password of the first internal access point are transmitted, [0069], although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited).
Ueno discloses all aspects of the claimed invention except wherein the router is separate from the first electronic device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to making the internal access points separate devices, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 10, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein sending the service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to the second electronic device comprises: sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network provided by the router; or sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device was connected; or sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of an available wireless network near the first electronic device ([0065], the internal access point (first internal access point) and the second internal access point have different pieces of identification information (SSID). That is, in a case where the first internal access point operates in 2.4 GHz, the operation frequency band is the same as in the second internal access point. However, the SSID of the first internal access point (2.4 GHz) does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Naturally, the SSID of the first internal access point, which operates in the band of 5 GHz, does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Meanwhile, although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited, [0072], In a case where the temporary connection is used, the wireless communication unit 220 transmits the identification information and the password of the internal access point (the first internal access point) to the terminal apparatus 100 in the second wireless communication process. In this manner, it is possible to realize transmission of the information of the operation frequency band of the first internal access point and transmission of the SSID or the like of the first internal access point through the same wireless communication process. That is, it is possible to securely connect the terminal apparatus 100 and the electronic apparatus 200 through an effective communication sequence, and it is possible to improve the convenience of the user).
Regarding Claim 11, Ueno teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising: prompting to change a network connection of the first electronic device in response to a network configuration failure indication when the second electronic device supports the 2.4G wireless network and the first electronic device is not connected to the 2.4G wireless network; and outputting a network configuration failure reason when the second electronic device supports the 2.4G wireless network and the 5G wireless network or when the second electronic device supports the 2.4G wireless network and the first electronic device is connected to the 2.4G wireless network ([0099-0100], new connection terminal 300 compares the operation frequency band of the first internal access point, which is recognized in S206, with the wireless capability of the new connection terminal 300. Furthermore, in a case where it is not possible to perform connection as it is, the operation frequency band change demand is transmitted to the electronic apparatus 200 using the BLE connection established in S207 (S208). In addition, the electronic apparatus 200 transmits connection information, which is necessary for the connection, to the new connection terminal 300 using the BLE connection established in S207 (S209). In S209, the SSID and the password of the first internal access point are transmitted, Since transmission and reception of the information, which is necessary to perform the connection, are completed through the process in 5209, the new connection terminal 300 starts the process of searching for the SSID of the first internal access point using the information which is transmitted from the electronic apparatus 200 in S209 (S210)).
Regarding Claim 12, Ueno teaches a first electronic device ([0073], electronic apparatus 200 is activating the WFD in the band of 5 GHz before starting connection to the terminal apparatus 100), comprising: one or more processors and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions ([0118]), the first electronic device is enabled to perform:
discovering a second electronic device by scanning ([0079],Fig. 5, scanning of SSID of second internal access point starts S109), wherein the second electronic device supports a 2.4G wireless network, and the first electronic device is connected to a 5G wireless network of a router ([0079], Fig. 5, In a case where the SSID of the second access point is found, the new connection terminal 300 recognizes the operation frequency band of the first internal access point depending on whether the found SSID is “xxx-2.4G” or “xxx-5G” (S110), and performs the temporary connection to the second internal access point (S111), [0082], in a case where at least one existing connection terminal 400 includes a device corresponding to only the band of 2.4 GHz, the WFD connection of S101 and S102 is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz. In this case, even though the wireless capability of the new connection terminal 300 is only the band of 2.4 GHz, it is possible for the new connection terminal 300 to connect to the first internal access point in the operation frequency band as it is); and
sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when service set identifiers and passwords of the 5G wireless network and a 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same ([0083], Fig. 5, electronic apparatus 200 transmits connection information, which is necessary for the connection, to the new connection terminal 300 (S113). In S113, the SSID and the password of the first internal access point are transmitted, [0069], although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited).
Ueno discloses all aspects of the claimed invention except wherein the router is separate from the first electronic device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to making the internal access points separate devices, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 15, Ueno teaches the first electronic device according to claim 12, wherein sending, to the second electronic device, the service set identifier and the password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when service set identifiers and passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same comprises: obtaining a device configuration file of the router; and sending, to the second electronic device, the service set identifier and the password of the wireless network to which the first electronic device is currently connected when a field value corresponding to a first function is extracted from the device configuration file of the router, wherein the first function represents that the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are the same, and the first electronic device is allowed to be connected to the 5G wireless network or the 2.4G wireless network when the first function is enabled ([0065], the internal access point (first internal access point) and the second internal access point have different pieces of identification information (SSID). That is, in a case where the first internal access point operates in 2.4 GHz, the operation frequency band is the same as in the second internal access point. However, the SSID of the first internal access point (2.4 GHz) does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Naturally, the SSID of the first internal access point, which operates in the band of 5 GHz, does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Meanwhile, although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited, [0072], In a case where the temporary connection is used, the wireless communication unit 220 transmits the identification information and the password of the internal access point (the first internal access point) to the terminal apparatus 100 in the second wireless communication process. In this manner, it is possible to realize transmission of the information of the operation frequency band of the first internal access point and transmission of the SSID or the like of the first internal access point through the same wireless communication process. That is, it is possible to securely connect the terminal apparatus 100 and the electronic apparatus 200 through an effective communication sequence, and it is possible to improve the convenience of the user).
Regarding Claim 16, Ueno teaches the first electronic device according to claim 15, wherein when the field value corresponding to the first function is a target value, it is determined that the router enables the first function ([0065, 0071]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ueno teaches the first electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: controlling the router to enable the first function when the router does not enable the first function ([0011], In a case where the connection demand with respect to the internal access point is provided, the wireless communication unit may stop the internal access point, may activate the second internal access point for temporary connection, and may transmit information of the operation frequency band of the internal access point before stopping the internal access point with respect to the terminal apparatus through the second wireless communication process. In a case where the demand to change the operation frequency band into the first frequency band is received from the terminal apparatus through the second wireless communication process, the processing unit may change the operation frequency band from the second frequency band into the first frequency band, and may reactivate the internal access point).
Regarding Claim 18, Ueno teaches the first electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of a wireless network to which the first electronic device was connected when the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are different; or sending, to the second electronic device, a service set identifier and a password of an available wireless network near the first electronic device when the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router are different ([0069], Meanwhile, the internal access point (first internal access point) and the second internal access point have different pieces of identification information (SSID). That is, in a case where the first internal access point operates in 2.4 GHz, the operation frequency band is the same as in the second internal access point. However, the SSID of the first internal access point (2.4 GHz) does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Naturally, the SSID of the first internal access point, which operates in the band of 5 GHz, does not coincide with the SSID of the second internal access point. Meanwhile, although the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 2.4 GHz is described as the same as the SSID of the first internal access point in a case where the operation is performed in the band of 5 GHz, a configuration in which different SSIDs are used is not inhibited).
Regarding Claim 19, Ueno teaches the first electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: obtaining network configuration data of the router set by a user, wherein the network configuration data of the router comprises at least the service set identifiers and the passwords of the 5G wireless network and the 2.4G wireless network of the router being the same; and writing the network configuration data of the router into a device configuration file of the router ([0071], In a case where the temporary connection is not used, for example, in a case where the user selects the SSID of the first internal access point from an SSID list screen displayed on the display unit 130 of the terminal apparatus 100 after the first internal access point is activated by the electronic apparatus 200, the connection (the WFD connection) is performed between the terminal apparatus 100 and the electronic apparatus 200, [0075], a connection start operation is performed by the user with respect to the electronic apparatus 200 as the connection demand with respect to the first internal access point (S103). The electronic apparatus 200 ends the activated WFD based on the operation in S103 (S104). In S104, the first internal access point is stopped. The WFD connection of the existing connection terminal 400 is cut together with the end of the WFD (S105), and each of the existing connection terminals 400 starts a process of searching for the SSID of the first internal access point (S106). In addition, the electronic apparatus 200 activates the second internal access point for the temporary connection (and for operation frequency band notification) after stopping the first internal access point (S107)).
Claims 7-8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2019/0082071), in view of Xu (US 2022/0167164).
Regarding Claims 7 and 20, Ueno teaches the inventions according to Claims 6 and 19 above except the following, which in analogous art, Xu teaches synchronously updating the device configuration file of the router in a server ([0108], smart device may further synchronize progress of the network configuration and registration process to the mobile phone, and the mobile phone may refresh the display information 609 on the “connect devices” interface 608 shown in FIG. 6(c). For example, when the mobile phone determines that the network configuration process of the smart device is completed, the display information 609 is updated to “100%”. Then, the mobile phone displays a main interface 610 of the management APP shown in FIG. 6(d), and the smart device completing the network configuration and registration and a running smart device are displayed on the main interface 610. For example, the user may set and manage the smart socket by tapping a “smart socket” icon on the main interface 610, [0182], network configuration information refreshing module may be configured to update and store a device parameter assigned by the smart home cloud to the smart device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xu into the system of Ueno in order to more efficiently configure batches of smart devices while enhancing user experience.
Regarding Claims 8 and 21, Ueno, as modified by Xu, teaches all aspect of the invention according to Claims 7 and 20 above, where Xu further teaches wherein synchronously updating the device configuration file of the router in the server comprises: sending, to the server, the device configuration file of the router into which the network configuration data is written; or sending a device configuration file updating instruction to the server, wherein the device configuration file updating instruction carries the network configuration data, and writing, by the server, the network configuration data into the device configuration file of the router stored in the server ([0108], smart device may further synchronize progress of the network configuration and registration process to the mobile phone, and the mobile phone may refresh the display information 609 on the “connect devices” interface 608 shown in FIG. 6(c). For example, when the mobile phone determines that the network configuration process of the smart device is completed, the display information 609 is updated to “100%”. Then, the mobile phone displays a main interface 610 of the management APP shown in FIG. 6(d), and the smart device completing the network configuration and registration and a running smart device are displayed on the main interface 610. For example, the user may set and manage the smart socket by tapping a “smart socket” icon on the main interface 610, [0182], network configuration information refreshing module may be configured to update and store a device parameter assigned by the smart home cloud to the smart device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xu into the system of Ueno in order to more efficiently configure batches of smart devices while enhancing user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Singla et al (US 2017/0272317) discloses he distributed Wi-Fi systems and methods ensure that all access points 14 that provide Wi-Fi client access services in the distributed Wi-Fi system 10 will have a single, secure and reliable data path through the Wi-Fi network to the gateway 18 which has the connection to the cloud 12. One of the problems with the mesh, repeaters, or conventional distributed Wi-Fi approaches is initial network setup. Typically, Wi-Fi network setup requires some sort of manual user interactions, typically to enter Wi-Fi network SSID and password used for inter-node connections. This procedure is cumbersome and prone to errors. The problem is multiplied when multiple nodes must be set up as in mesh, repeater, or distributed Wi-Fi approaches ([0121]) and the access points 14 support dual band operation simultaneously operating 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz ([0087]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641