DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the preliminary amendment filed on August 29, 2023, having claims 1-20 (claims 18-20 are new claims).
Claim Objections
3. Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 19-20 are method claims that are improperly dependent upon apparatus claim 15. The preamble of the claims or their dependency must be amended to render the claims definite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2023/0030443 A1).
For claims 1 and 14, Chen discloses a user equipment (Fig 3, node 300 may be a UE) comprising: at least one processor (Fig 3, processor 326); and at least one non-transitory memory (Fig 3, memory 328) storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to perform:
obtaining a status of at least one control element regarding allowability of small data transmission by the user equipment ([0081] the UE receives an indication from the BS indicating a configured grant which allows small data transmission in RRC inactive state, wherein the configuration comprises a TA timer (a control element) and the data radio bearer(s) allowed to be used for the small data transmission);
examining the status to determine whether small data transmission by the user equipment is prohibited or allowed in an inactive state of the user equipment ([0081] the UE determines whether the TA timer is valid (i.e., not expired) and whether the size of data volume is less than or equal to a threshold to determine whether the configured grant is valid for the small data transmission);
causing, based on the determination, the user equipment to perform either:
initiating a small data transmission procedure in the inactive state of the user equipment when the status indicates that initiation of the small data transmission is not prohibited ([0081] step 206, when the UE determines that the TA timer is valid and the small data volume is less than or equal to a threshold, the UE initiates the small data transmission using the configured grant); or
prohibiting initiation of the small data transmission procedure (page 12, [0081], if the TA timer is not valid or the configured grant is not valid, the UE transmits the data using a regular RA procedure (not a CG-SDT procedure)).
For claims 2, 16, and 18, Chen discloses at least one control element comprising one or more of the following: a prohibit timer ([0081] TA timer); a small data transmission counter.
For claims 3 and 19, Chen discloses that initiation of the small data transmission is not prohibited when the prohibit timer is not running (page 12, [0081], if the TA timer is not valid (not running) or the configured grant is not valid, the UE transmits the data using a regular RA procedure (not a CG-SDT procedure)).
For claim 8, Chen discloses starting the prohibit timer upon performing the small data transmission or when receiving an RRC release message terminating the small data transmission procedure ([0081] the TA timer is configured and started when the UE receives an RRC release message from the BS).
For claim 12, Chen discloses initiating a configured grant based small data transmission or random access based small data transmission when the examining reveals that the status of any of the at least one control element is not indicating that initiation of small data transmission by the user equipment is prohibited ([0081] the UE initiates a CG-SDT procedure when the TA timer is valid, the configured grant is valid, and the small data volume is less than or equal to a threshold; OR (page 12, [0081]) the UE initiates an RA (random access) procedure when the TA timer is not valid, the configured grant is neither received nor valid, and the small data volume is greater than a threshold).
For claims 15 and 17, Chen discloses a network element (Fig 3, node 300 may be a BS which is a network element) comprising: at least one processor (Fig 1, processor 326); and at least one non-transitory memory (Fig 3, memory 328) storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to perform:
determining that a user equipment is to implement at least one control element for determining by the user equipment whether transmission of a message using a small data transmission procedure in an inactive state of the user equipment is prohibited and providing the user equipment indication of the usage of the at least one control element ([0081] the UE receives an indication from the BS indicating a configured grant which allows small data transmission in RRC inactive state, wherein the configuration comprises a TA timer (a control element) and the data radio bearer(s) allowed to be used for the small data transmission).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0030443 A1) in view of Shi et al. (US 2024/0080785 A1).
For claim 9, Chen does not expressly disclose stopping the prohibit timer or setting the small data transmission counter to an initial value when at least one of a certain amount of time elapses, cell selection or cell reselection occurs, or when an RRC connection is established or resumed.
Shi, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches stopping the prohibit timer or setting the small data transmission counter to an initial value when at least one of a certain amount of time elapses, cell selection or cell reselection occurs, or when an RRC connection is established or resumed ([0120] the UE stops a first timer for SDT upon receiving an RRC resume message from the network). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to configure the timer in the communication network of Chen to stop when an RRC resume message is received based on the teachings of Shi at the time of the invention.
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0030443 A1) in view of Yue et al. (US 2023/0180340 A1).
For claim 13, Chen does not expressly disclose an access stratum layer of a protocol stack of the user equipment informing a non-access stratum layer of the protocol stack that initiation of the small data transmission is allowed.
Yue, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches an access stratum layer of a protocol stack of the user equipment informing a non-access stratum layer of the protocol stack that initiation of the small data transmission is allowed ([0046] the AS layer of the UE indicates to the NAS layer of the UE the data radio bearer(s) (DRB) and their corresponding logical channels (LCHs) that are allowed for small data transmission). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the implement the SDT admission procedure of Yue in the communication network of Chen at the time of the invention to indicate the allowance of the SDT procedure.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-7, 10-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471