Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The preliminary amendment submitted 08/29/2023 was received and is being examined on its merits herein. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 08/29/2023 was received and has been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings submitted 08/29/2023 were received and are approved by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recite s the limitation s " the mass " in line 4, “the sum” in line 4,” and “the masses” in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the zinc negative electrode" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the alkaline solution" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the alkalinity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-8 all recite the limitation “A secondary electrochemical generator” in line 1, which is inconsistent with the preamble of independent claim 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nogami et al. (JPH1074511A, presented in IDS submitted 08/29/2023). With respect to claim s 1 and 5-6 , Nogami discloses A zinc-manganese hybrid secondary electrochemical generator ([0008]) , comprising : a) a positive hybrid electrode containing a mixture of manganese dioxide (MnO2) and nickel hydroxide (Ni(OH)2) ([0008]) , the mass of Ni(OH)2 being 9% when compared to the sum of the masses of Ni(OH)2 and MnO2 (Table 1, Example 3), thus overlapping the greater than 5% with sufficient specificity , and b) an electrolyte that is an alkaline aqueous solution with a molarity of 9M (35 wt % KOH (thus reading on claim 6 ) ([0019]), thus falling into the claimed range between 4 M and 15 M and 7M to 13 M ( Claim 5 ) of hydroxyl anions with sufficient specificity . With respect to claim 7 , Nogami discloses a negative zinc electrode contains zinc oxide (Table 1, Example 3), thus the electrolyte will necessarily contain zincate ions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim 2 i s rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al. as applied to claim 1 above . With respect to claim 2 , Nogami discloses the mass of Ni(OH)2 being 9% when compared to the sum of the masses of Ni(OH)2 and MnO2 (Table 1, Example 3), but does not disclose a specific example of the mass of Ni(OH)2 being over 20% when compared to the sum of the masses of Ni(OH)2 and MnO2 . However, generally, Nogami does disclose that the amount of nickel present in the positive electrode when compared to the sum of manganese and nickel present in the electrode should be in the range of 2-35% ([0014]), thus overlapping the claimed range of greater than 20%. Applicant is reminded that In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) . Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bugnet et al. (U.S. 20 050121655 ) . With respects to claims 3-4 , Nogami disclose a negative zinc electrode (Table 1, Example 3), but does not disclose the electrode further contains a conductive ceramic, specifically titanium nitride. Bugnet discloses a zinc anode for an alkaline secondary electrochemical generator (abstract]) and teaches adding titanium nitride ( claim 4 ) as a ceramic ( claim 3 ) powder to the anode ([abstract]). Bugnet further teaches that the titanium nitride is used as electronic conduction in the anode active mass and as zincates retention which are produced by generator discharge ([abstract]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to add titanium nitride as taught by Bugnet to the zinc anode disclosed by Nogami in order to use the titanium nitride as e lectronic conduction in the anode active mass and as zincates retention which are produced by generator discharge . Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smedley et al. (U.S. 20040053132). With respect to claim 8 , Nogami discloses an alkaline aqueous electrolytic solution containing potassium hydroxide and zincate ions (see above rejection of claims 1 and 7), but does not disclose the electrolyte further contains borate, silicates, and/or aluminates. Smedley discloses an electrolyte solution containing potassium hydroxide (KOH) and zinc ([0017]) and teaches the electrolyte further contains sodium silicate ([0017]). Smedley further teaches that the silicate functions as a zincate stabilizer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to include a silicate as taught by Smedley in the electrolyte disclosed by Nogami to act as a zincate stabilizer. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JORDAN E BERRESFORD whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0641 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (572)272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /BARBARA L GILLIAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727