DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On pg. 10 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that Claim 1 recites (in part): ...wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to: acquire a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area; and instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage
which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, and any combination thereof, fail to teach or suggest the above features and, therefore, claim 1 is patentable
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
Keshavamurthy teaches wherein the processor (Keshavamurthy In Fig. 2, Topology Processor 204 is contained in Region Management Application 120, which is contained in Management Server 101 of Fig. 1) is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to (Keshavamurthy [0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”);
Keshavamurthy teaches acquiring a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area (Keshavamurthy [0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~modified) to the target coverage region (~(prior to reducing (~modifying))-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area (~acquiring a provision state of a predetermined service) being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”; [0075], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may also determine the target coverage region to be covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~acquiring a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area). As the target coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107, the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) will be able to communicate and provide vehicle applications to the vehicular traffic (~provide predetermined service) in the target coverage region”); and
Keshavamurthy teaches instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area (Keshavamurthy [0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service (~the predetermined service is instructed to be not provided (~instructed to be reduced - by reducing to a smaller area service different from the predetermined service))) to the target coverage region (~prior to reducing (~prior to instructing not to provide the predetermined service)-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”.
On pg. 11, par. 3 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that Contrary to Keshavamurthy, however, according to one or more example embodiments consistent with claim 1, a topology of "each road section included in the service target area" is not modified based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
Keshavamurthy states in par. 92, “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~modified) to the target coverage region (~(prior to reducing (~modifying))-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”.
On pg. 11, par. 4 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that In contrast to Keshavamurthy, claim 1 recites a configuration to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area. That is to say, a number of base stations which provides the predetermined service is modified based on the service coverage.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
Keshavamurthy states in par. 92, “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service (~predetermined service is instructed to be not provided (~instructed to be reduced - by reducing to a smaller area service different from the predetermined service))) to the target coverage region (~prior to reducing (~prior to instructing not to provide the predetermined service)-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Keshavamurthy (US 2020/0275286 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Keshavamurthy teaches a base station control apparatus (Fig. 1, Management Server 101), comprising:
at least a processor (In Fig. 2, Topology Processor 204 is contained in Region Management Application 120, which is contained in Management Server 101 of Fig. 1); and
a memory in circuit communication with the processor (Fig. 1, Management Server Data 124 (~memory) communicates with Topology Processor 204 of Fig. 2 contained in Region Management Application 120a of Management Server 101),
wherein the processor (Fig. 2, Topology Processor 204 is contained in Region Management Application 120, which is contained in Management Server 101 of Fig. 1) is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to ([0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”):
acquire a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area (On par. 69 of Applicant’s published application, a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target is described as the base station selected or not selected to provide coverage (~Applicant’s published application [0069], “selects one or more base stations to suspend provision ... selects one or more base stations to start provision of the service ... selects one or more base stations in such way that a coverage for ... approaches a value close to the target value”); [0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~modified) to the target coverage region (~(prior to reducing (~modifying))-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area (~acquire a provision state of a predetermined service) being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”; [0075] of Keshavamurthy describes a first regionalized server 107 (~base station) determined/selected to provide coverage (~[0075], ”coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~base station))”; [0075], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may also determine the target coverage region to be covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~to acquire a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area). As the target coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107, the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) will be able to communicate and provide vehicle applications to the vehicular traffic (~provide predetermined service) in the target coverage region”); and
instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area ([0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service (~predetermined service is instructed to be not provided (~instructed to be reduced - by reducing to a smaller area service different from the predetermined service))) to the target coverage region (~prior to reducing (~prior to instructing not to provide the predetermined service)-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”;
[0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) is larger than the first coverage region (~ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided) of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold) (~based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 . In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service), and initiate a replacement regionalized server 107 to replace the first regionalized server 107 ”).
Regarding claim 2, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the service coverage is calculated using a ratio of a length of the section where the predetermined service is provided to a whole length of the road section ([0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold)”).
Regarding claim 3, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio (On pg. 78 of Applicant’s published application, a predetermined target coverage ratio is described as a percent/ratio of a region (~each region contains a road section/segment) to target for coverage (Applicant’s published application on pgs. 77-78 states, “a target coverage of 0% (~Keshavamurthy [0086], “the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~0%)”) is set to the road B section 1 ... in the example shown in FIG. 12, a target coverage is set to 100% (~wherein any (whole) coverage region is 100% - Keshavamurthy “target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107”) for all of road A section 1 to road C section 1”; [0084], “ topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107. In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~base station control apparatus instructs the base station not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio)“).
Regarding claim 5, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to hold a plurality of patterns in which the target coverage rates are set, for the each road section ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) can either provide a zero pattern or a non-zero pattern in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)), and
wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to determine whether or not the one or more base stations provide the predetermined service by switching over the plurality of patterns ([0086], during a low traffic condition window, topology processor 204 determines that the first regionalized server 107 does not provide the predetermined service by switching over from a non-zero pattern to a zero pattern; [0086], “traffic pattern indicates a low traffic condition in a coverage area of a regionalized server 107 during a time window ... topology processor 204 may inactivate the first regionalized server 107 during the time window due to the low traffic condition in the first coverage region. As the first regionalized server 107 is no longer available, the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~zero pattern)”).
Regarding claim 8, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program instructions to ([0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”):
instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a traffic flow of the road section ([0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”).
Regarding claim 9, Keshavamurthy teaches a base station control method (Fig. 1, Topology Processor 204 of Fig. 2 contained in Region Management Application 120a implements the control method), comprising:
by a base station control apparatus which controls one or more base stations (Fig. 1, Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) controls Regionalized Server 107a (~base station)):
acquiring a provision state of a predetermined service by the one or more base stations in a service target area (On par. 69 of Applicant’s published application, a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target is described as the base station selected or not selected to provide coverage (~Applicant’s published application [0069], “selects one or more base stations to suspend provision ... selects one or more base stations to start provision of the service ... selects one or more base stations in such way that a coverage for ... approaches a value close to the target value”); [0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~modified) to the target coverage region (~(prior to reducing (~modifying))-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area (~acquire a provision state of a predetermined service) being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”; [0075] of Keshavamurthy describes a first regionalized server 107 (~base station) determined/selected to provide coverage (~[0075], ”coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~base station))”; [0075], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may also determine the target coverage region to be covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~to acquire a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area). As the target coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107, the first regionalized server 107 will be able to communicate and provide vehicle applications to the vehicular traffic in the target coverage region”); and
instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area ([0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service (~predetermined service is instructed to be not provided (~instructed to be reduced - by reducing to a smaller area service different from the predetermined service))) to the target coverage region (~prior to reducing (~prior to instructing not to provide the predetermined service)-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”;
[0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) is larger than the first coverage region (~ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided) of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold) (~based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 . In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service), and initiate a replacement regionalized server 107 to replace the first regionalized server 107”).
Regarding claim 10, Keshavamurthy teaches a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording a program, the program causing a computer mounted on a base station control apparatus which controls one or more base stations to perform processings comprising (Fig. 1, Topology Processor 204 of Fig. 2 contained in Region Management Application 120a is a computer mounted on a Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus containing a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording a program) which controls one or more base stations (~Regionalized Server 107a) to perform):
acquiring a provision state of a predetermined service by the one or more base stations in a service target area (On par. 69 of Applicant’s published application, a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target is described as the base station selected or not selected to provide coverage (~Applicant’s published application [0069], “selects one or more base stations to suspend provision ... selects one or more base stations to start provision of the service ... selects one or more base stations in such way that a coverage for ... approaches a value close to the target value”); [0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~modified) to the target coverage region (~(prior to reducing (~modifying))-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area (~acquire a provision state of a predetermined service) being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”; [0075] of Keshavamurthy describes a first regionalized server 107 (~base station) determined/selected to provide coverage (~[0075], ”coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~base station))”; [0075], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may also determine the target coverage region to be covered by the first regionalized server 107 (~acquire a provision state of a predetermined service by one or more base stations in a service target area). As the target coverage region is covered by the first regionalized server 107, the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) will be able to communicate and provide vehicle applications to the vehicular traffic (~provide predetermined service) in the target coverage region”); and
instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area ([0092], “coverage region 762 (Note: labeling mistake in drawing 782I of Figure 7E below, should be 762 instead of 782) associated with the first regionalized server 107 (~one base station) is reduced (~instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service (~predetermined service is instructed to be not provided (~instructed to be reduced - by reducing to a smaller area service different from the predetermined service))) to the target coverage region (~prior to reducing (~prior to instructing not to provide the predetermined service)-based on a service coverage indicating a ratio of service coverage area being larger than a target area). In this example, the coverage region manager 206 may initiate an additional regionalized server 107 to cover the difference region 784”;
[0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (~base station) is larger than the first coverage region (~ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided) of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold) (~based on a service coverage which indicates a ratio of one or more areas in which the predetermined service is provided by the one or more base stations for each road section included in the service target area), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107. In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service), and initiate a replacement regionalized server 107 to replace the first regionalized server 107”).
Regarding claim 11, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control method according to claim 9,
wherein the service coverage is calculated using a ratio of a length of the section where the predetermined service is provided to a whole length of the road section ([0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold)”).
Regarding claim 12, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control method according to claim 9, further comprising:
by the base station control apparatus: instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio (On pg. 78 of Applicant’s published application, a predetermined target coverage ratio is described as a percent/ratio of a region (~each region contains a road section/segment) to target for coverage (Applicant’s published application on pgs. 77-78 states, “a target coverage of 0% (~Keshavamurthy [0086], “the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~0%)”) is set to the road B section 1 ... in the example shown in FIG. 12, a target coverage is set to 100% (~wherein any (whole) coverage region is 100% - Keshavamurthy “target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107”) for all of road A section 1 to road C section 1”; [0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 . In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~base station control apparatus instructs the base station not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio)“).
Regarding claim 14, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control method according to claim 12,
further comprising: by the base station control apparatus: holding a plurality of patterns in which the target coverage rates are set, for the each road section ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) can either provide a zero pattern or a non-zero pattern in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)); and
determining whether or not the one or more base stations provide the predetermined service by switching over the plurality of patterns ([0086], during a low traffic condition window, topology processor 204 determines that the first regionalized server 107 does not provide the predetermined service by switching over from a non-zero pattern to a zero pattern; [0086], “traffic pattern indicates a low traffic condition in a coverage area of a regionalized server 107 during a time window ... topology processor 204 may inactivate the first regionalized server 107 during the time window due to the low traffic condition in the first coverage region. As the first regionalized server 107 is no longer available, the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~zero pattern)”).
Regarding claim 16, Keshavamurthy teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording the program according to claim 10,
wherein the service coverage is calculated using a ratio of a length of the section where the predetermined service is provided to a whole length of the road section ([0084], “topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold)”).
Regarding claim 17, Keshavamurthy teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording the program according to claim 10,
wherein the program causes the computer to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio (On pg. 78 of Applicant’s published application, a predetermined target coverage ratio is described as a percent/ratio of a region (~each region contains a road section/segment) to target for coverage (Applicant’s published application on pgs. 77-78 states, “a target coverage of 0% (~Keshavamurthy [0086], “the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~0%)”) is set to the road B section 1 ... in the example shown in FIG. 12, a target coverage is set to 100% (~wherein any (whole) coverage region is 100% - Keshavamurthy “target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107”) for all of road A section 1 to road C section 1”; [0084], “ topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) may determine that the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 is larger than the first coverage region of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., to cover the first road segment that has the vehicle density satisfying the vehicle density threshold), and also determine that the resource amount of the first regionalized server 107 (e.g., the total resource amount) does not satisfy the required resource amount to accommodate the vehicle platforms 103 located within the target coverage region of the first regionalized server 107. In some embodiments, the topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) may then remove (e.g., inactivate) the first regionalized server 107 (~base station control apparatus instructs the base station not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a predetermined target coverage ratio)“; [0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”).
Regarding claim 19, Keshavamurthy teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording the program according to claim 17,
wherein the program causes the computer to ([0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”; [0066], “region management application 120 (~of Management Server 101 in Fig. 1) is computer logic executable to manage the coverage regions of regionalized servers 107 in a geographical area”; [0118], “the technology can take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system”):
hold a plurality of patterns in which the target coverage rates are set, for the each road section ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) can either provide a zero pattern or a non-zero pattern in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)); and
determine whether or not the one or more base stations provide the predetermined service by switching over the plurality of patterns ([0086], during a low traffic condition window, topology processor 204 determines that the first regionalized server 107 does not provide the predetermined service by switching over from a non-zero pattern to a zero pattern; [0086], “traffic pattern indicates a low traffic condition in a coverage area of a regionalized server 107 during a time window ... topology processor 204 may inactivate the first regionalized server 107 during the time window due to the low traffic condition in the first coverage region. As the first regionalized server 107 is no longer available, the topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 to be zero (~zero pattern)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keshavamurthy in view of Ding (US 2019/0281477 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 1.
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply, and
wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to, in a case where a power outage occurs, instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a second target coverage ratio.
However, Ding teaches wherein one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply ([0004], “In the distributed power supply scenario, a plurality of sets of power systems and a plurality of sets of standby power systems are used to supply power to primary devices of the base station. When a mains supply outage occurs on some devices, standby power systems corresponding to the devices are used to supply power to the devices”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … implemented by a controller in a base station … receiving, by the controller in the base station, notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source … instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption”), and
wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to, in a case where a power outage occurs, instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a second target coverage ratio ([0065], “A plurality of RUs may be disposed in a base station, and different RUs may correspond to different frequency bands, or different RUs (~radio units) may process different services. Specific RUs connected to the first power source and in the working mode in which power consumption reduction is allowed are instructed (~by base station control apparatus) to reduce power consumption (~radio unit lowering power output reduces the coverage area to a different/second target coverage ratio)”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … receiving, by the controller in the base station (~base station control apparatus), notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source; determining, by the controller based on connection relationships between N power sources and M radio units, a radio unit connected to the first power source; and instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption, where the base station includes the M radio units, and the M radio units are supplied with power by N power sources, where each power source is connected to at least one radio unit, to supply power to the at least one radio unit”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ding with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to ensure as much as possible that a high-priority service works normally by preferentially instructing reduction of power consumption and coverage for a lower-priority service (Ding [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control method according to claim 9.
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach wherein one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply, and
wherein the base station control method further comprises: in a case where a power outage occurs, by the base station control apparatus, instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a second target coverage ratio.
Ding teaches wherein one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply ([0004], “In the distributed power supply scenario, a plurality of sets of power systems and a plurality of sets of standby power systems are used to supply power to primary devices of the base station. When a mains supply outage occurs on some devices, standby power systems corresponding to the devices are used to supply power to the devices”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … implemented by a controller in a base station … receiving, by the controller in the base station, notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source … instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption”), and
wherein the base station control method further comprises: in a case where a power outage occurs, by the base station control apparatus, instructing the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes to be a second target coverage ratio ([0065], “A plurality of RUs may be disposed in a base station, and different RUs may correspond to different frequency bands, or different RUs (~radio units) may process different services. Specific RUs connected to the first power source and in the working mode in which power consumption reduction is allowed are instructed (~by base station control apparatus) to reduce power consumption (~radio unit lowering power output reduces the coverage area to a different/second target coverage ratio)”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … receiving, by the controller in the base station (~base station control apparatus), notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source; determining, by the controller based on connection relationships between N power sources and M radio units, a radio unit connected to the first power source; and instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption, where the base station includes the M radio units, and the M radio units are supplied with power by N power sources, where each power source is connected to at least one radio unit, to supply power to the at least one radio unit”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ding with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to ensure as much as possible that a high-priority service works normally by preferentially instructing reduction of power consumption and coverage for a lower-priority service (Ding [0065]).
Regarding claim 18, Keshavamurthy teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording the program according to claim 10.
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply, and
wherein the program causes the computer, in a case where a power outage occurs, to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a second target coverage ratio.
However, Ding teaches wherein one or more base stations respectively comprise a backup power supply ([0004], “In the distributed power supply scenario, a plurality of sets of power systems and a plurality of sets of standby power systems are used to supply power to primary devices of the base station. When a mains supply outage occurs on some devices, standby power systems corresponding to the devices are used to supply power to the devices”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … implemented by a controller in a base station … receiving, by the controller in the base station, notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source … instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption”), and
wherein a program causes a computer, in a case where a power outage occurs, to instruct the one or more base stations whether or not to provide the predetermined service in such way that the service coverage becomes a second target coverage ratio ([0090], “The memory 403 may be configured to store program code required by the processor 402 to execute a task, and may be further configured to store data; [0065], “A plurality of RUs may be disposed in a base station, and different RUs may correspond to different frequency bands, or different RUs (~radio units) may process different services. Specific RUs connected to the first power source and in the working mode in which power consumption reduction is allowed are instructed (~by base station control apparatus) to reduce power consumption (~radio unit lowering power output reduces the coverage area to a different/second target coverage ratio)”; [0007], “a power outage processing method … receiving, by the controller in the base station (~base station control apparatus), notification information sent by a first power source, where the notification information is used to indicate that a power outage has occurred on the first power source; determining, by the controller based on connection relationships between N power sources and M radio units, a radio unit connected to the first power source; and instructing, by the controller, all or some of radio units connected to the first power source to reduce power consumption, where the base station includes the M radio units, and the M radio units are supplied with power by N power sources, where each power source is connected to at least one radio unit, to supply power to the at least one radio unit”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ding with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to ensure as much as possible that a high-priority service works normally by preferentially instructing reduction of power consumption and coverage for a lower-priority service (Ding [0065]).
Claims 6, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keshavamurthy in view of Makoto ("Traffic Monitoring Mobile Communication Method and Device", JP2001333458A, pub. date 2001-11-30).
Regarding claim 6, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to hold, as the patterns, at least control patterns which can be selectable ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) provides/holds at least a zero pattern and a non-zero pattern (~selectable control patterns) in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)).
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach that the control patterns are for weekdays and holidays.
However, Makoto teaches control patterns for weekdays and holidays ([0023], [0023], “when allocating service resources, an averaged day is categorized into services, weekdays, holidays, holidays, days of the week, months, or simply days as necessary. The traffic trend chart 209 is stored as data in a base station or a device that controls the base station, and voice is preferentially accommodated”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Makoto with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to provide no call loss in a priority communication by reducing communication speed of data communication mobile station in communication with a base station or initiating communication to leave room for supply of radio resources for the priority communication (Makoto [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control method according to claim 14, further comprising, as the patterns, by the base station control apparatus: holding at least control patterns which can be selectable ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) provides/holds at least a zero pattern and a non-zero pattern (~control patterns) in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)).
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach that the control patterns are for weekdays and holidays.
However, Makoto teaches control patterns for weekdays and holidays ([0023], [0023], “when allocating service resources, an averaged day is categorized into services, weekdays, holidays, holidays, days of the week, months, or simply days as necessary. The traffic trend chart 209 is stored as data in a base station or a device that controls the base station, and voice is preferentially accommodated”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Makoto with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to in order to provide no call loss in a priority communication by reducing communication speed of data communication mobile station in communication with a base station or initiating communication to leave room for supply of radio resources for the priority communication (Makoto [0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Keshavamurthy teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium recording the program according to claim 19, wherein the program causes the computer as the patterns, to hold at least control patterns which can be selectable ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) provides/holds at least a zero pattern and a non-zero pattern (~selectable control patterns) in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)).
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach that the control patterns are for weekdays and holidays which can be selectable.
However, Makoto teaches control patterns for weekdays and holidays ([0023], [0023], “when allocating service resources, an averaged day is categorized into services, weekdays, holidays, holidays, days of the week, months, or simply days as necessary. The traffic trend chart 209 is stored as data in a base station or a device that controls the base station, and voice is preferentially accommodated”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Makoto with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to provide no call loss in a priority communication by reducing communication speed of data communication mobile station in communication with a base station or initiating communication to leave room for supply of radio resources for the priority communication (Makoto [0023]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keshavamurthy in view of Kobayashi ("Radio Parameter Control Apparatus, Base Station Apparatus, Radio Parameter Control Method, and Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium", CN 103262595 A, pub. date 2013-08-21).
Regarding claim 7, Keshavamurthy teaches the base station control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the base station control apparatus is configured to hold, as the patterns, at least control patterns which can be selectable ([0086], topology processor 204 (~of Management Server 101 (~base station control apparatus) in Fig. 1) provides/holds at least a zero pattern and a non-zero pattern (~selectable control patterns) in which a target coverage rates are set (~either zero rate when the regionalized server 107 is inactivated or a non-zero rate when the regionalized sever 107 is not inactivated/remain activated) to a regionalized server 107 for each road section (~[0075], “topology processor 204 may determine the target coverage region for the first regionalized server 107 based on the traffic condition of the road segment associated with the traffic trigger event”)).
Keshavamurthy does not explicitly teach that the control patterns are for daytime and night-time.
However, Kobayashi teaches control patterns for daytime and night-time ([0112], “determined for each time period of the wireless parameter (i.e., cell coverage) and effectively reduce the cell edge UE of the number. for example, it can be between day time and night time period classification”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kobayashi with the teaching of Keshavamurthy in order to improve network efficiency, reduce costs, and enhance the user experience by matching resource allocations to real-time demands adjusting for data traffic surges during daytime hours and reduction at night.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643