Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2 and 7 in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 7 are presented for this examination. Claims 3-6 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/29/2023, 07/23/2024, 04/28/2025 and 05/23/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (WO2020195012) in view of Nakano (US20200024706A1).
As for claims 1-2 and 7, Honda discloses a steel sheet for hot stamping use consisting of overlapping compositions as illustrated in Table 1 below. Area ratio of granular bainite is 10-95% and remainder of ferrite is 5-90%.
Table 1
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Honda et al.
(weight %)
Overlap
(weight %)
C
0.4-0.7
0.15-0.7
0.4-0.7
Si
0.01-1.3
0.01-0.5
0.01-0.5
Mn
0.6-3
0.01-3
0.6-3
P
<=0.1
<=0.1
<=0.1
S
<=0.01
<=0.1
<=0.01
N
<=0.013
<=0.01
<=0.01
O
<=0.02
0
0
Al
0.001-0.5
0.0002-3
0.001-0.5
Cr
0.01-0.8
0-1
0.01-0.8
Nb
0-0.1
0-0.15
0-0.1
Ti
0-0.1
0-0.15
0-0.1
B
0-0.01
0-0.01
0-0.01
Mo
0-1
0-1
0-1
Co
0-2
0
0
Ni
0-3
3-15
3
Cu
0-1
0-1
0-1
V
0-1
0-1
0-1
W
0-1
0-1
0-1
Ca
0-0.01
0-0.01
0-0.01
Mg
0-1
0
0
REM
0-1
0-0.3
0-0.3
Sb
0-1
0
0
Zr
0-1
0
0
Sn
0-1
0-1
0-1
As
0-0.1
0
0
Nb (Claim 2)
0.001-0.1
0-0.15
0.001-0.1
Honda does not disclose instant claims 1 and 7 required wherein clause with respect to total area ratio of granular bainite and ferrite and ratio of granular bainite to total area ratio of granular bainite and ferrite.
Nakano discloses a steel with similar elemental compositions as Honda. Nakano discloses granular bainite and ferrite contained in the steel with appropriate area factions in order to obtain a high strength and excellent elongation and bendability. ([0047]) Broad range of ferrite is 30-50% and granular bainite is 5-20% by area. Hence, total area ratio of granular bainite and ferrite is expected to be 35-70%. In particular, Table 8 (Col 13) discloses Inventive Examples 5, 10, 18, 23, 29, 31 and 37 all have total area ratio of granular bainite and ferrite is 10-50%; and ratio of granular bainite to total area ratio of granular bainite and ferrite is 0.3-0.7 as claimed. Nakano discloses 30-50% ferrite and 5-20% granular bainite are achieved by annealing the cold rolled steel sheet at maximum heating temperature of Ac1 to Ac3 for 10 seconds or more followed by first cooling rate of 0.5-50 C/s and second cooling rate of 0.5-5 C/s. ([0105]-[0107])
It should be noted primary reference Honda expressly desires excellent strength and bendability in his claimed invention. (English translation pate 2 paragraph 5) Honda also discloses annealing after cold rolling. (English translation Page 12 last paragraph)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made, to modify annealing condition of Honda by applying maximum annealing temperature and time followed by first and second cooling rates as suggested by Nakano, in order to arrive at claimed steel sheet with the claimed ratios for the benefit of obtaining high strength and excellent elongation and bendability.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733