DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment dated 16 April 2024, in which claims 3-14, 24, 29, 30, 31, 32, 34, 36, 38 have been amended, and claims 25-28 have been cancelled, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-24, 29-40 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 4-11, 13-17, 24, 30-40 are withdrawn, as being drawn to a non-elected invention or to a non-elected species.
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are being examined on their merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of International Application No. PCT/CA2022/050356, filed on 10 March 2022, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/159,325, filed on 10 March 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 April 2024 and 4 September 2024 are acknowledged and considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group (I), claims 1-24, 29, drawn to a compound of formula (I), or a prodrug thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition thereof, in the reply filed on 11 February 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 30-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant traverses the requirement for restriction (Remarks of 11 February 2026, page 31, last paragraph) and argues that it would not be unduly burdensome to perform a search on all of the claims together in the present application.
This argument is not persuasive. As indicated in the requirement for restriction mailed on 15 December 2025, there are six distinct inventions, Groups (I) to (VI). The inventions Groups I-VI do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: even though the common feature of Groups I-VI is a compound of formula (I), said common technical feature is not a special technical feature because it is anticipated by Minchinton et al. (WO 2021/050059, international filing date 11 September 2019, cited in IDS).
Minchinton (WO 2021/050059) discloses (page 100) compound 52 below
,
which is a compound of instant formula II
of claim 1, for which the following definitions apply:
m = n = 0; R1 is C(O)R7, where R7 is OR5, where R5 is H.
Since the common technical feature, a compound of instant formula (II), is anticipated by the prior art, this common feature is not a special technical feature. Therefore, no unity of invention exists.
Further, there is a burden to perform a search on all of the claims together in the present application, because Groups (I)-(VI) require different search based on different structural elements present in a compound of formula (II), and based on the different classification corresponding to each Group of inventions. For example, based on their structural elements, the instant compounds of formula (II), Group (I), can be classified, at a minimum, in CPC class C07D471/04, A61K31/5377, A61K31/5386, A61K31/541, A61K31/55, C07D519/00; while a method of Group (III) is classified in A61P35/00; and method of Group (VI) is classified, for example, in CPC class C12N9/22, C12N9/99, C12N15/111, C12N15/63.
For all the reasons above, the requirement for restriction is herein maintained and is made FINAL.
Applicants’ election without traverse of the compound below (compound 69, [00954]-[00955], page 251 Specification):
as the species of a compound of formula (II)
, for initial examination, in the Reply of 11 February 2026, is acknowledged.
The elected species is a compound of formula (II) of instant claim 1, for which the following definitions apply:
m = n = 0; R3 is H;
R1 is NR6R7, where
R6 = H;
R7 is pyrimidine (5-10-membered heteroaryl), which is substituted with one R11 substituent which is ethoxy (C2-alkoxy), which is substituted with one R12 substituent which is piperazine (3 to 8-memebered heterocycloalkyl), which is substituted with one R13 substituent which is methyl (C1-alkyl).
Claims 1-3, 12, 18, 21, 23, 29 read on the elected species.
The requirement for restriction/election is herein maintained and is made FINAL.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner has extended the search to a subgenus of compounds of formula (II) encompassing the elected species, namely compounds of formula (II) where
m = n = 0;
R1 is NR6R7, where
R6 = H;
R7 is 6-membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted;
R3 is H;
and the claims have been examined to the extent they read on this subgenus.
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 read of this subgenus.
Claims 4-11, 13-17, 24 are withdrawn, as being drawn to a non-elected species/subgenus encompassing elected species.
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 have been examined to the extent they read on this subgenus and the following objections and rejections are made below.
Claims Objections
Claims 4-11, 13-17, 24, 30-40, while currently withdrawn, are objected to because of the following informality: The withdrawn claims are objected to for being presented in a non-compliant form. Specifically, the status identifier states the claims is “(Previously presented)”, but the claims are withdrawn because of the election made by the Applicant on 11 February 2026. As such, claims 4-11, 13-17, 24, 30-40 should be identified as "(Withdrawn)" until such time as examiner rejoins the claims for examination. Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP 714(C).
Claims 1, 18, 20 are objected to because the text “halo” could read --halogen--.
Objection to the Specification
The Specification is objected to because it recites
.
The instant application is a National Stage entry of International Application No. PCT/CA2022/050356, filed on 10 March 2022, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/159,325, filed on 10 March 2021.
Applicant is required to correct the priority statement in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 depends on claim 1 and recites, for example,
, which contains a cis substituted 1,4-cyclohexane ring; yet, claim 1 does not recite cis or trans stereoisomers of a compound of formula (II). As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the compound above (of claim 21) containing a cis substituted 1,4-cyclohexane ring, in claim 1.
A similar analysis applies to claims 22, 23.
Appropriate clarification is required.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets claim 1 as being drawn to a compound of formula (II) […], or a stereoisomer, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Claims 1-3, 12, 18, 19, 20, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 20 recite 5-membered aryl (several instances in claim 1 in the definitions of R2, R7, R9, R10, R11; in the definition of R11 in claim 20). It is unclear what is meant by 5-membered aryl (a cyclopentadienyl ring?- it is unclear how it would be part of the structure of formula (II)).
The examiner notes that the claims distinguish between aryl and heteroaryl.
Claim 1 recites (under the definition of R4): “wherein two R4 groups are optionally linked to form a 5- to 7-membered heterocycloalkyl”. It is unclear what is encompassed by this recitation, because it is unclear how two R4 groups such as halogen or alkyl or haloalkyl can be “linked” to form a heterocycloalkyl. It is confusing how different substituents on a morpholine ring (which is a heterocycloalkyl ring in itself) can be linked to form (another?) heterocycloalkyl ring- and what would be the relationship between the hetyerocycloalkyl ring newly formed and the morpholine ring. The examiner notes that claim 21 lists (page 19) a number of structures containing bridged morpholine rings; if that is what Applicant wants to claim in claim 1, Applicant is encouraged to draw such bridged rings as alternatives to the morpholine ring.
Appropriate clarification of the claim language is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minchinton et al. (WO 2021/050059, international filing date 11 September 2019, cited in IDS).
Minchinton (WO 2021/050059) discloses (page 100) compound 52 below
,
which is a compound of instant formula II
of claim 1, for which the following definitions apply:
m = n = 0; R1 is C(O)R7, where R7 is OR5, where R5 is H; R3 is H.
Minchinton discloses a number of compounds of instant formula (II), namely
compound 3 (page 93), compound 5 (page 93), compound 54 (page 100),
(page 101)
(page 102),
compounds 66-69 (pages 103-104), compounds 70, 71, 72 (pages 105-106), compounds 74, 75, 76, 77, 78-81 (pages 106-110), compound 162, 163, 164, 166-168 (pages 135-136), compounds 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175 (pages 137-140). The list is not exhaustive. These are compounds of instant formula II of instant claim 1, for which the following definitions apply:
R3 is H; R1 is 5-membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted; n = 0; m = 0 or m = 1 and R2 is halogen (Br).
Minchinton pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds of the invention, as in instant claim 29.
As such, a compound of instant claims 1-3, 12, 29, or a composition comprising said compound, is anticipated by Minchinton.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minchinton et al. (WO 2021/050059, international filing date 11 September 2019, cited in IDS).
Minchinton (WO 2021/050059) teaches broadly ([0015], page 4, also claim 1) the following compounds of formula (I) as DNA-PK inhibiting compounds [0016], and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, as in instant claim 29, useful to treat cancer [0074]
wherein
Y is, for example, O;
R4 is -L1-L2-R9a;
-Ll- is , for example, absent;
-L2- is -L3-L4-; where -L3- is, for example, C3-C8-cycloalkyl; and -L4-is, for example, absent or -NR13a-, where R13a is H;
R9a is, for example, a 5, 6, 9 or 10 membered heteroaryl optionally substituted with 1 to 4 R15 substituents; R15 is , for example, C1-C6-alkyl, C2-C6-alkenyl, C2-C6-alkynyl, C1-C6- haloalkyl, cyano, halo, nitro, (CRR7)xOR6c, (CR7CR7)xNR7CR8c, C(O)R7c, C(O)NRR7C, C(O)OR7c, S(O)2R7c, S(O)R7C, S(O)2NR7R7, optionally substituted;
R1 is, for example, C1-C6-alkyl or C1-C6-haloalkyl; and n is 0, 1, 2, or 3;
R2 is H, C1-C6-alkyl, C1-C6-haloalkyl, or halogen;
R3 is, for example, halogen, OH, or O-alkyl; and m is 0, 1, 2, or 3.
Minchinton specifically teaches [0038] Y is O; in combination with
R4 being -L1-L2-R9a, wherein -L1- is absent [0040];
where -L2- is -L3-L4- [0041], wherein -L3-is C3-C6-cycloalkyl [0042];
;
[0044] defines -L4- as being absent or -NH-; and
R9a is a 5 or 6 membered heteroaryl [0053],
where the 5-membered heteroaryl is, for example, pyrazole, imidazole, 1,2,3-triazole or 1,2,4-triazole [0054], and
the 6 membered heteroaryl is pyridine, pyrimidine, pyrazine, or pyridazine [0055]; pyrimidin-2-yl (as in the instant elected species) is specifically taught as R9a [0055].
Minchinton teaches [0022] the following compounds of formula (III)
wherein R9a is, for example, a 5, 6, 9 or 10 membered heteroaryl optionally substituted.
The compounds of formula (III) correspond to (in formula (I))
Y is O; in combination with
R4 is -L1-L2-R9a, wherein -L1- is absent;
where -L2- is -L3-L4- [0041], wherein -L3-is cyclohexyl 1,4-substituted;
-L4- is absent; and
R9a is a 5 or 6 membered heteroaryl.
Minchinton exemplifies a number of such compounds of formula (III), namely
compound 5
(page 93),
compound 54
(page 100),
(page 101)
(page 102),
compounds 66-69 (pages 103-104), compounds 70, 71, 72 (pages 105-106), compounds 74, 75, 76, 77, 78-81 (pages 106-110), compound 162, 163, 164, 166-168 (pages 135-136), compounds 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175 (pages 137-140).
All these compounds contain a common 7-morpholino-1,6-naphthyridine core, with a 5-substituent which is -O-cyclohexyl-L4-R9a, where -L4- is absent; and R9a is a 5 membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted.
Minchinton does not exemplify compounds of formula (I) having a 7-morpholino-1,6-naphthyridine core, with a 5-substituent which is -O-cyclohexyl-L4-R9a, where -L4- is -NH- and
R9a is a 6 membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted, as the instant elected species/subgenus encompassing elected species.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a compound from the genus taught by Minchinton to arrive at the instant invention.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized a compound from the genus of Minchinton
by replacing a 5-substituent which is -O-cyclohexyl-L4-R9a, where -L4- is absent; and R9a is a 5 membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted, in the 7-morpholino-1,6-naphthyridine compounds of formula (I) specifically taught by Minchinton,
with a 5-substituent which is -O-cyclohexyl-L4-R9a, where -L4- is -NH-; and R9a is a 6 membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted,
because Minchinton teaches compounds of formula (I) where -L4- is absent or is -NH-; and R9a is a 5 membered heteroaryl, or a 6-membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced a 5-substituent in the 7-morpholino-1,6-naphthyridine compounds above specifically taught by Minchinton with a 5-substituent which is -O-cyclohexyl-L4-R9a, where -L4- is -NH-; and R9a is a 6 membered heteroaryl, optionally substituted, with the expectation that the compounds retain DNA-PK inhibitory activity. Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected a 6 membered heteroaryl R9a which is pyridine, pyrimidine, pyrazine, or pyridazine, and specifically pyrimidin-2-yl (as in the instant elected species), because Minchinton teaches these very moieties R9a in compounds of formula (I).
Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have explored different combination of substituents R1, R2, R3, and the 5-substituent above, in the genus taught by Minchinton, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting compounds retain biological activity as DNA-PK inhibitors effective to treat cancer.
As such, claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 20-22, 24, 27 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 (reference application, published as US 2023/0063457, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a compound of claims 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 20-22, 24, 27 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 anticipates or renders obvious the instant invention.
Claims 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 20-22, 24, 27 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 are drawn to a compound of formula (I)
wherein
Y is, for example, O;
R4 is -L1-L2-R9a;
-Ll- is , for example, absent;
-L2- is -L3-L4-; where -L3- is, for example, C3-C8-cycloalkyl; and -L4-is, for example, absent or -NR13a-, where R13a is H;
R9a is, for example, a 5, 6, 9 or 10 membered heteroaryl optionally substituted with 1 to 4 R15 substituents; R15 is , for example, C1-C6-alkyl, C2-C6-alkenyl, C2-C6-alkynyl, C1-C6- haloalkyl, cyano, halo, nitro, (CRR7)xOR6c, (CR7CR7)xNR7CR8c, C(O)R7c, C(O)NRR7C, C(O)OR7c, S(O)2R7c, S(O)R7C, S(O)2NR7R7, optionally substituted;
R1 is, for example, C1-C6-alkyl or C1-C6-haloalkyl; and n is 0, 1, 2, or 3;
R2 is H, C1-C6-alkyl, C1-C6-haloalkyl, or halogen;
R3 is, for example, halogen, OH, or O-alkyl; and m is 0, 1, 2, or 3.
Further, claims 5, 7-10, 12-14 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 define
Y is O; in combination with
R4 being -L1-L2-R9a, wherein -L1- is absent; where -L2- is -L3-L4-, wherein -L3-is C3-C6-cycloalkyl;
claims 12-14 define -L4- as being absent or -NH-; and
R9a is a 5 or 6 membered heteroaryl.
As such, there is considerable overlap between the genus of compounds of formula (I) in claims 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 20-22, 24, 27 of copending Application No. 17/641,813, and the genus of compounds of formula (II) in the instant claims.
Furthermore, claim 24 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 specifically recites the following compounds:
which are compounds of formula (II) which is a compound of instant formula II
of claim 1, for which the following definitions apply:
n = 0; R1 is 5-membered heteroaryl optionally substituted;
R3 is H;
m = 0 or 1, and
R2 is halogen (Br) when m = 1.
Thus, compounds of claim 24 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 anticipate the instant claims.
Furthermore, claim 24 of copending Application No. 17/641,813 teaches the following compound
and claim 1 teaches that the morpholine ring can be substituted with up to 3 (n = 0, 1, 2 or 3) substituents R1 such as methyl. It would have been obvious to synthesize a direct homolog n = 4 vs. n = 3 of a compound taught by claims of copending Application No. 17/641,813, to arrive at a compound of the instant invention (instant claim 21, page 8)
, with a reasonable expectation that said compounds retain therapeutic effect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14, 16, 17, 19, 23-25, 32 of copending Application No. 18/279,377 (reference application, published as US 2024/0246960, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a compound of claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14, 16, 17, 19, 23-25, 32 of copending Application No. 18/279,377 renders obvious the instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14, 16, 17, 19, 23-25, 32 of copending Application No. 18/279,377 are drawn to a compound of formula (I)
wherein
R1a is, for example, H;
R1b is, for example, 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl, NR6R7, C(O)R7, C(O)NR6R7, wherein each heteroaryl is optionally substituted with from 1 to 5 R8 substituents;
each R6 is, for example, H or C1-C6-alkyl;
each R7 is, for example, H, C1-C6-alkyl, C3-C8-cycloalkyl, 3- to 8-membered heterocycloalkyl, 5- to 10-membered aryl, 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl, -SO2-alkyl or -SO2-cycloalkyl, optionally substituted with 1 to 5 R9 substituents (such as, for example, halogen, cyano, alkyl);
each R8 is, for example, halogen, or alkyl or C-C6-haloalkyl;
where the definitions of R2, R4, m, n and R3 are similar to those in the instant claims.
Further, claims 16, 17, 19 of of copending Application No. 18/279,377 recite compounds of formula (Ia)
wherein R7 is a 6-membered hetereoaryl (as in the instant elected species).
As such, there is considerable overlap between the genus of compounds of formula (I) in claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14, 16, 17, 19, 23-25, 32 of copending Application No. 18/279,377, and the genus of compounds of formula (II) in the instant claims.
Furthermore, claim 23 of copending Application No. 18/279,377 specifically recites the following compounds:
and claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/279,377 recites that R2 is, for example, halogen; OH; or NR6R7 where R6 is H and R7 is, for example, -SO2-alkyl or -SO2-cycloalkyl, optionally substituted with R9 halogen.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to synthesize compounds from the genus of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/279,377, and replace the R2 halogen or OH (in the compounds above) by R2 = NR6R7 where R6 is H and R7 is -SO2-alkyl or -SO2-cycloalkyl, optionally substituted with halogen, to arrive at compounds of the instant invention (instant claim 21, page 16), with a reasonable expectation that said compounds retain therapeutic effect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 12, 18-23, 29 are rejected.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629