Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 8 line 13 to page 14 line 2, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 41-44 and 50-57 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240031056 to Rastegardoost et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63128267) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63058956), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200351951 to Shi et al.
Referring to the argument that Rastegardoost et al and Chou et al do not disclose the claimed “decode first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP ..” since the pending claims are SIB-based and Chou et al teaches DCI-based runtime scheduling (arguments: page 9 line 33 to page 11 line 26): Refer to the updated rejection of independent claims 41, 51, and 54 using U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al. Ma et al disclose in Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS encodes and transmits a SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE. UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. The arguments also argue that Rastegardoost et al do not disclose the claimed “the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS”. However, in Section 0125: Rastegardoost et al disclose that “… a base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP”, and in Sections 0128, 0132: Rastegardoost et al disclose that an initial downlink BWP can be an active downlink BWP; so, the initial DL BWP can include downlink resources of a CSS, as claimed.
Referring to the argument that Rastegardoost et al and Chou et al do not disclose the claimed “decode second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP ..” since the pending claims are SIB-based and Chou et al teaches DCI-based runtime scheduling (arguments: page 11 line 27 to page 12 line 10): Refer to the updated rejection of independent claims 41, 51, and 54 using U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al. Ma et al disclose in Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS encodes and transmits a SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE. UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP.
Referring to the argument that Shi et al do not disclose “perform the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources” (page 12 line 11 to page 13 line 16): Shi et disclose in Sections 1-9 and Sections 0097, 0113 0126, 0178, 0209-0213, and 0228 wherein the network device configures a mapping relationship between random access resources configured on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs; so network device configures random access resources on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs, and a mapping relationship between a target uplink BWP and a target downlink BWP for random access. UE sends a random access preamble to the network device on a PRACH resource configured on the uplink BWP (claimed “encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “uplink resources” of the uplink BWP in Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306). In response, the network device sends RAR to the UE on the configured corresponding downlink BWP, and then UE receives the RAR on the corresponding downlink BWP and uses the RAR to perform random access (claimed “perform the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “downlink resources of the CSS” of the downlink BWP in Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311, so the RAR can be transmitted on the downlink resources of the CSS or the downlink BWP). In Section 0125: Rastegardoost et al disclose that “… a base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP”, and in Sections 0128, 0132: Rastegardoost et al disclose that an initial downlink BWP can be an active downlink BWP; so, the initial DL BWP can include downlink resources of a CSS, as claimed. The arguments also argue that Rastegardoost et al and Shi et al do not disclose that the first random access communication is received via a PDCCH is a Type-1 CSS; however, this limitation is not claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41, 50, 51, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240031056 to Rastegardoost et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63128267) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63058956), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200351951 to Shi et al.
Referring to claim 41, Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1A-26C an apparatus for RedCap UE (Figure 15) configured for operation in a 5G NR network (Sections 0053, 0057, 0062, 0067), the apparatus comprising:
Processing circuitry (processing system 1518), wherein to configure the RedCap UE for a random access procedure in the 5G NR network, the processing circuitry is to:
Receive first … configuration signaling (Section 0294) to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS (Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311: the initial DL BWP comprises downlink RBs and resources of a CSS), wherein for the RedCap UE, the first … configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first … configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial DL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information.
Receive second … configuration signaling (Section 0294) to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources (Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306: the initial UL BWP comprises uplink RBs and resources of PUCCH), and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second … configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the … second configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial UL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial UL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information.
…
A memory (memory 1524) coupled to the processing circuitry ... Refer to Sections 0040-0350.
Rastegardoost et al do not disclose … decode first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; decode second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs; … ; and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to store the first SIB configuration signaling and the second SIB configuration signaling.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS transmits a SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE (claimed “decode first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP …; decode second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP …”). UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. By applying Ma et al to Rastegardoost et al: BS of Rastegardoost et al can transmit a SIB to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for RedCap UE, an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UE, an initial UL BWP for RedCap UE, and an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UE, since a SIB can be used by BS to configure an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP for UE, as disclosed by Ma et al. Ma et al also disclose in Sections 0131, 0134, 0136, 0147, 0179, 0184, 0193, 0198, and 0205 wherein UE comprises a SIB receiver 730,820 that receives the SIB configurations, and must store the SIB configurations in a memory, such as memory 1330, in order to decode and process the SIB configurations (claimed “a memory coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to store the first SIB configuration signaling and the second SIB configuration signaling”). Refer to Sections 0062-0263. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … decode first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; decode second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs; … ; and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to store the first SIB configuration signaling and the second SIB configuration signaling. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can decode the BWP configuration from BS in a SIB to configure the BWP for communication with BS, and store the BWP configurations from the SIB for use in communication with BS.
Rastegardoost et al and Ma et al do not disclose … perform the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources… Rastegardoost et al only disclose in Section 0306 wherein configuration parameters of an initial UL BWP indicates RACH configurations comprising RACH resources for the at least one initial UL BWP; RACH resources comprise periodic RACH occasions for transmitting preambles.
Shi et disclose in Sections 1-9 and Sections 0097, 0113 0126, 0178, 0209-0213, and 0228 wherein the network device configures a mapping relationship between random access resources configured on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs; so network device configures random access resources on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs, and a mapping relationship between a target uplink BWP and a target downlink BWP for random access. UE sends a random access preamble to the network device on a PRACH resource configured on the uplink BWP (claimed “encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “uplink resources” of the uplink BWP in Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306). In response, the network device sends RAR to the UE on the configured corresponding downlink BWP, and then UE receives the RAR on the corresponding downlink BWP and uses the RAR to perform random access (claimed “perform the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “downlink resources of the CSS” of the downlink BWP in Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311 ). Refer to Sections 0083-0249. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … perform the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources… One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can perform random access using information from the downlink BWP and transmit random access messages using the uplink BWP, thereby facilitating the random access procedure.
Referring to claim 50, Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1A-26C further comprising: transceiver circuitry (TX processing circuitry 1520, RX processing circuitry 1522) coupled to the processing circuitry; and one or more antennas (Sections 0202, 0205, and 0212-0214: antenna on TX processing circuitry 1520, antenna on RX processing circuitry 1522) coupled to the transceiver circuitry. Refer to Sections 0040-0350.
Referring to claim 51, Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1A-26C a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 1514) that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors (processing system 1508; memory 1514 stores instructions to be executed by processing system 1508 to perform BS functions) of a source base station (Figure 15), the instructions to configure the base station for RedCap operation in a 5G NR network (Sections 0053, 0057, 0062, 0067), and to cause the base station to perform operations comprising:
Transmitting first … configuration signaling (Section 0294) for transmission to a RedCap UE, the first configuration signaling associated with an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS (Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311: the initial DL BWP comprises downlink RBs and resources of a CSS), wherein for the RedCap UE, the first … configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first … configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial DL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information.
Transmitting second … configuration signaling (Section 0294) for transmission to the RedCap UE, the second configuration signaling associated with an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources (Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306: the initial UL BWP comprises uplink RBs and resources of PUCCH) of the RedCap UE, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second … configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second … configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial UL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial UL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information. Refer to Sections 0040-0350.
…
Rastegardoost et al do not disclose … encoding first SIB configuration signaling for transmission to a RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling associated with an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; encoding second SIB configuration signaling for transmission to a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling associated with an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs …
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS encodes and transmits an encoded SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE (claimed “encoding first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP …; encoding second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP …”). UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. By applying Ma et al to Rastegardoost et al: BS of Rastegardoost et al can transmit a SIB to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for RedCap UE, an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UE, an initial UL BWP for RedCap UE, and an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UE, since a SIB can be used by BS to configure an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP for UE, as disclosed by Ma et al. Refer to Sections 0062-0263. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … encoding first SIB configuration signaling for transmission to a RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling associated with an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; encoding second SIB configuration signaling for transmission to a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling associated with an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can decode the BWP configuration from BS in a SIB to configure the BWP for communication with BS.
Rastegardoost et al and Ma et al do not disclose … encoding a random access procedure for transmission to the RedCap UE using the downlink resources of the CSS. Rastegardoost et al only disclose in Section 0306 wherein configuration parameters of an initial UL BWP indicates RACH configurations comprising RACH resources for the at least one initial UL BWP; RACH resources comprise periodic RACH occasions for transmitting preambles.
Shi et disclose in Sections 1-9 and Sections 0097, 0113 0126, 0178, 0209-0213, and 0228 wherein the network device configures a mapping relationship between random access resources configured on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs; so network device configures random access resources on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs, and a mapping relationship between a target uplink BWP and a target downlink BWP for random access. UE sends a random access preamble to the network device on a PRACH resource configured on the uplink BWP. In response, the network device sends RAR to the UE on the configured corresponding downlink BWP, and then UE receives the RAR on the corresponding downlink BWP and uses the RAR to perform random access (claimed “… encoding a random access procedure for transmission to the RedCap UE using the downlink resources of the CSS”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “downlink resources of the CSS” of the downlink BWP in Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311 ). Refer to Sections 0083-0249. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … performing the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources… One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can perform random access using information from the downlink BWP, thereby facilitating the random access procedure.
Referring to claim 54, Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1A-26C a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 1524) that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors (processing system 1518; memory 1524 stores instructions to be executed by processing system 1518 to perform RedCap UE functions) of a RedCap UE (Figure 15), the instructions to configure the RedCap UE for RedCap operation in a 5G NR network (Sections 0053, 0057, 0062, 0067), and to cause the RedCap UE to perform operations comprising:
Receiving first … configuration signaling (Section 0294) to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS (Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311: the initial DL BWP comprises downlink RBs and resources of a CSS), wherein for the RedCap UE, the first … configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first … configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial DL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information.
Receiving second … configuration signaling (Section 0294) to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources (Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306: the initial UL BWP comprises uplink RBs and resources of PUCCH), and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second … configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second … configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs. Section 0294: BS configures an independent initial DL/UL BWP for each type of UE; BS configures a first initial DL/UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs and a second initial UL/DL BWP, different from the first initial DL/UL BWP, for RedCap UEs. Sections 0125, 0126, 0128-0130, 0265, 0296, 0305, and 0306: BS configures DL BWP and UL BWP using various configuration parameters. So: BS sends configuration information comprising configuration parameters to UE to configure an initial UL BWP for the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UEs; the RedCap UE receives the configuration information to configure an initial UL BWP based on the configuration parameters of the configuration information. Refer to Sections 0040-0350.
…
Rastegardoost et al do not disclose … decoding first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; decoding second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs …
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS transmits a SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE (claimed “decode first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP …; decode second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP …”). UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. By applying Ma et al to Rastegardoost et al: BS of Rastegardoost et al can transmit a SIB to UE to configure an initial DL BWP for RedCap UE, an initial DL BWP for non-RedCap UE, an initial UL BWP for RedCap UE, and an initial UL BWP for non-RedCap UE, since a SIB can be used by BS to configure an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP for UE, as disclosed by Ma et al. Refer to Sections 0062-0263. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … decoding first SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial DL BWP, the initial DL BWP including downlink resources of a CSS, wherein for the RedCap UE, the first SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial DL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial DL BWP signaled in the first SIB configuration signaling for use by non-RedCap UEs; decoding second SIB configuration signaling to obtain an initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE, the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE including uplink resources, and wherein for a RedCap UE, the second SIB configuration signaling indicates the initial UL BWP for use by the RedCap UE that is different than an initial UL BWP signaled in the second SIB configuration signaling for use by the non-RedCap UEs … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can decode the BWP configuration from BS in a SIB to configure the BWP for communication with BS.
Rastegardoost et al and Ma et al do not disclose … performing the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources… Rastegardoost et al only disclose in Section 0306 wherein configuration parameters of an initial UL BWP indicates RACH configurations comprising RACH resources for the at least one initial UL BWP; RACH resources comprise periodic RACH occasions for transmitting preambles.
Shi et disclose in Sections 1-9 and Sections 0097, 0113 0126, 0178, 0209-0213, and 0228 wherein the network device configures a mapping relationship between random access resources configured on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs; so network device configures random access resources on uplink BWPs and downlink BWPs, and a mapping relationship between a target uplink BWP and a target downlink BWP for random access. UE sends a random access preamble to the network device on a PRACH resource configured on the uplink BWP (claimed “encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “uplink resources” of the uplink BWP in Sections 0123, 0126, 0207, 0286, 0295, and 0306). In response, the network device sends RAR to the UE on the configured corresponding downlink BWP, and then UE receives the RAR on the corresponding downlink BWP and uses the RAR to perform random access (claimed “performing the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS”; Rastegardoost et al disclose the claimed “downlink resources of the CSS” of the downlink BWP in Sections 0123, 0125, 0268, 0295, and 0311 ). Refer to Sections 0083-0249. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … performing the random access procedure based on decoding a first random access communication received using the downlink resources of the CSS and encoding a second random access communication for transmission using the uplink resources… One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can perform random access using information from the downlink BWP and transmit random access messages using the uplink BWP, thereby facilitating the random access procedure.
Claims 42, 52, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240031056 to Rastegardoost et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200351951 to Shi et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210045100 to Park et al.
Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1A-26C wherein a center frequency of the … DL BWP of the RedCap UE is same as a center frequency of the … UL BWP of the RedCap UE. Section 0124: “ … a UE may expect that a center frequency for a downlink BWP is the same as a center frequency for an uplink BWP.”. Refer to Sections 0040-0350.
Rastegardoost et al, Ma et al, and Shi et al do not disclose wherein a center frequency of the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE is same as a center frequency of the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE.
Park et al disclose in Figures 1-18 and Section 0105: “… an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP may share the same center frequency.”. Refer to Sections 0041-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a center frequency of the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE is same as a center frequency of the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE. One would have been motivated to do so so that the initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP can share the same center frequency, thereby simplifying the system.
Claims 43, 53, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240031056 to Rastegardoost et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200351951 to Shi et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230072513 to Fang et al.
Referring to claims 43 and 56, Rastegardoost et al and Shi et al do not disclose wherein the processing circuitry is to: … while in RRC_CONNECTED state, third configuration signaling, wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB.
Fang et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0055, 0082, and 0092 wherein while in an RRC_connected state, BS can configure the dedicated active DL BWP for the RedCap UE to include SSB. Refer to Sections 0042-0108. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a center frequency of the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE is same as a center frequency of the initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE. One would have been motivated to do so so that while UE is in RRC_connected state, UE can configure an active DL BWP with SSB in order to facilitate synchronization.
Rastegardoost et al, Shi et al, and Fang et al do not disclose wherein the processing circuitry is to: decode while in RRC_CONNECTED state, third configuration signaling, wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS transmits a SIB to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE (claimed “decode while in RRC_CONNECTED state, third configuration signaling …”). UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. Refer to Sections 0062-0263. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processing circuitry is to: decode while in RRC_CONNECTED state, third configuration signaling, wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can decode the active DL BWP configuration from BS in a SIB to configure the active DL BWP for communication with BS.
Referring to claim 53, Rastegardoost et al and Shi et al do not disclose wherein the operations further comprising: … encoding third configuration signaling for transmission to the RedCap UE, wherein the RedCap UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, and wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB.
Fang et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0055, 0082, and 0092 wherein while in an RRC_connected state, BS can configure the dedicated active DL BWP for the RedCap UE to include SSB. Refer to Sections 0042-0108. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operations further comprising: … encoding third configuration signaling for transmission to the RedCap UE, wherein the RedCap UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, and wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB. One would have been motivated to do so so that while UE is in RRC_connected state, UE can configure an active DL BWP with SSB in order to facilitate synchronization.
Rastegardoost et al, Shi et al, and Fang et al do not disclose wherein the operations further comprising: … encoding third configuration signaling for transmission to the RedCap UE, wherein the RedCap UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, and wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0062, 0091 wherein BS encodes and transmits a SIB (claimed “encoding third configuration signaling for transmission…”) to UE. UE receives and decodes the SIB, wherein the SIB configures an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP at UE. UE then performs random access on the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP. Refer to Sections 0062-0263. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operations further comprising: … encoding third configuration signaling for transmission to the RedCap UE, wherein the RedCap UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, and wherein the third configuration signaling configures an active DL BWP for the RedCap UE, and wherein the active DL BWP includes a SSB. One would have been motivated to do so so that BS can encode the BWP configuration for transmission to UE to configure the BWP in a SIB for communication with BS.
Claims 44 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240031056 to Rastegardoost et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038240 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200351951 to Shi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230072513 to Fang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200154446 to Yerramalli et al.
Rastegardoost et al, Ma et al, Shi et al, and Fang et al do not disclose wherein the SSB is a non-cell defining SSB.
Yerramalli et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Section 0107 wherein some BWPs have non-cell defining SSBs and other BWPs have cell defining SSBs. Refer to Sections 0053-0260. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the SSB is a non-cell defining SSB. One would have been motivated to do so so that the system can support non-cell defining SSBs and cell defining SSBs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 45-49 and 58-60 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230422296 to Feng et al disclose in Figures 1-26 and Section 0150 wherein RedCaps UEs are configured a different initial UL BWP than regular NR UEs. Refer to Sections 0125-0199.
U.S. Publication No. 20230179374 to Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-20 Section 0098 wherein the initial DL BWP can be an initial DLBWP dedicated to the RedCap terminal, which is different from the initial DL BWP of the NR terminal. Refer to Sections 0072-0269.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
January 6, 2026