DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 09/20/2026 in which claims 1,5,9 and 10 have been amended while claims 11-14 have been newly added. By this amendment, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues that:
In the pending claim 1, it clearly defines that a battery system comprising a plurality of parallel- connected battery clusters, each battery cluster comprising a plurality of series-connected battery packs. On the contrary, it is clearly shown in Mu that…(incomprehensible as there is no continuation).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Mu discloses and shows in annotated Fig. 1 below: each of the plurality of battery clusters comprises: a plurality of battery packs ((P1Y….P12)….(PXY….PX2))which are connected in series(see annotated Fig. 1); pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)), in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of battery packs(see annotated Fig. 1 below), each of the pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)) having a first end and a second end(see annotated Fig. 1), each of the first end and the second end comprising a positive electrode(bottom part of ellipse which is connected to positive terminals of respective battery packs)and a negative electrode(top part of ellipse which is connected to respective negative terminals of battery packs), wherein the positive and negative electrodes of the first end are connected to two terminals of a corresponding battery pack and the second end is connected(via DC/DC1….DC/DCX) to a power source(PCS); and cluster equalizers(DC/DC1….DC/DCX), each of the cluster equalizers having a first end and a second end(see annotated Fig. 1 below), each of the first end and the second end comprising a positive electrode(bottom part of circle which is connected to bus 2)) and a negative electrode(top part of circle which is connected which is connected to bus 1), wherein the first end is connected in series in the current path(see current path indication in annotated Fig. 1 below) formed by the plurality of series-connected battery packs((P1Y….P11)…(PXY…PX1) and the second end is connected(via bus 2) to the power source(PCS).
Therefore, Mu clearly teaches all the claimed features and therefore rejections have been maintained where arguments were found less persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-7,9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mu et al., (Mu) CN 110912235A(Machine Translation)(also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claims 1 and 10: Mu at least discloses and shows in Fig. 1: A battery system(see Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of battery clusters(C1….CX) which are connected in parallel(see Fig. 1)(note-Each of the battery clusters is connected in parallel and therefore their respective terminal polarities match one another), wherein the plurality of battery clusters(C1….CX) are connected to a power conversion system(DC/DC1….DC/DCX) via a battery bus(see Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of battery clusters comprises: a plurality of battery packs ((P1Y….P12)….(PXY….PX2))which are connected in series(see annotated Fig. 1); pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)), in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of battery packs(see annotated Fig. 1 below), each of the pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)) having a first end and a second end(see annotated Fig. 1), each of the first end and the second end comprising a positive electrode(bottom part of ellipse which is connected to positive terminals of respective battery packs)and a negative electrode(top part of ellipse which is connected to respective negative terminals of battery packs), wherein the positive and negative electrodes of the first end are connected to two terminals of a corresponding battery pack and the second end is connected(via DC/DC1….DC/DCX) to a power source(PCS); and cluster equalizers(DC/DC1….DC/DCX), each of the cluster equalizers having a first end and a second end(see annotated Fig. 1 below), each of the first end and the second end comprising a positive electrode(bottom part of circle which is connected to bus 2)) and a negative electrode(top part of circle which is connected which is connected to bus 1), wherein the first end is connected in series in the current path(see current path indication in annotated Fig. 1 below) formed by the plurality of series-connected battery packs((P1Y….P11)…(PXY…PX1) and the second end is connected(via bus 2) to the power source(PCS).
Regarding claim 3, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further discloses, wherein the power source is a battery(C1…CX is a cluster of parallel battery packs formed of serially plurality of battery unit cells) or a supercapacitor.
Regarding claim 4, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further teaches, wherein the power source is a current cluster of batteries(C1….CX).
Regarding claim 5, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 4. Mu further teaches, wherein each of the plurality of battery clusters(C1….CX), positive and negative electrodes of the second end of each of the pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)) are respectively connected to positive and negative electrodes of the second end of each of the cluster.
Regarding claim 6, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further teaches, wherein each of the cluster equalizers comprises a first DCDC circuit(DC/DC1….DC/DCX)(see annotated Fig. 1 below) and a battery-cluster power-distribution device(C1…CX).
Regarding claim 7, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 6. Mu further teaches, wherein each of the pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)) comprises a second DCDC circuit(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1) and a battery-pack power-distribution device((CX) with series connected battery packs PX1, PX2…PXY).
Regarding claim 9, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further discloses, further comprising a control module(PCS), wherein the control module comprises: a power detection apparatus, configured to be capable of measuring a state of charge of each of the battery packs((P1Y….P12)….(PXY….PX2))(see Fig. 1) and a state of charge of each of the plurality of battery cluster(C1….CX); and a controller(included in PCS as is well known in BMS), configured to be capable of determining charge and discharge logic of each of the pack equalizers((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1)) and each of the cluster equalizers(DC/DC1….DC/DCX) according to the state of charge of each of the battery packs(note the PCS is capable of performing the recited functions below as is well known in a BMS. For example Mu discloses that Periodically determine the rate of change of the SOC (State Of Charge) of each battery cluster in the energy storage system until the energy storage system is in a fully charged / discharged state. According to the SOC change rate of each of the battery clusters, determine whether the energy storage system needs current sharing adjustment. If the energy storage system requires current sharing adjustment, determine the balance current value of each battery pack in the energy storage system, and send each balance current value to the corresponding current sharing unit, so that the corresponding current sharing unit By adjusting the PWM (Pulse Width Modulation, pulse width modulation) signal to provide the corresponding balanced current for the corresponding battery pack. Optionally, if the energy storage system is in a charging process, the periodically determining the SOC change rate of each battery cluster in the energy storage system includes: Periodically taking the maximum value of the SOC of each battery pack of each battery cluster as the current SOC of each battery cluster, and calculating the corresponding difference and time between the current SOC of each battery cluster and the previous SOC)(see pages 2 and 3 of Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 11, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 3. Mu further discloses, wherein the power source is a battery(C1…CX is a cluster of parallel battery packs formed of serially plurality of battery unit cells) or a supercapacitor connected to the second ends of the cluster equalizers(DC/DC1….DC/DCX).
Regarding claim 12, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further discloses, wherein the power source for each of the plurality of battery clusters(C1….CX)is provided by the respective battery cluster.
Regarding claim 13, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further discloses, wherein each of the cluster equalizers comprises a first DCDC circuit(see DC/DC1….DC/DCX).
Regarding claim 14, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu further discloses, wherein each of the pack equalizers comprises a second DCDC circuit((DC/DC 1Y….DC/DC 11)…(DC/DC XY…DC/DCX1))(see annotated Fig. 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu et al., (Mu) CN 110912235A(Machine Translation) (also cited by Applicants) in view of . Ikriannikov et al., (Ikriannikov) US 20120043923A1
Regarding claim 2, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Mu does not expressly teach the limitations of, “wherein the power source is a grid or a generator”.
Ikriannikov teaches factual evidence of, wherein the power source is a grid(grid-tie system 400 comprises battery system 426; see [0107] and Fig. 13) or a generator.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide to the battery system of Mu, a grid-tie battery system, as disclosed by Ikriannikov, as recited, for the advantages of providing power back to the grid at the time of high power cost.
Accordingly claim 2 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Mu discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 7. Mu does not expressly teach the limitations of:
wherein a bidirectional boost/buck or buck- boost circuit is used as the first DCDC circuit, and/or an isolation circuit is used as the second DCDC circuit.
However, Ikriannikov discloses factual evidence of, wherein a bidirectional boost/buck(DC-DC converters 360, 362 and 364 in Fig. 12; see [0104] and [0110]) or buck- boost circuit is used as the first DCDC circuit, and/or an isolation circuit is used as the second DCDC circuit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mu with the teachings of Ikriannikov by having in the battery system, wherein a bidirectional boost/buck or buck- boost circuit is used as the first DCDC circuit, and/or an isolation circuit is used as the second DCDC circuit as recited, for the advantages of permitting use of higher voltages and thinner wires for the energy transfer bus than practical with equal-voltage embodiments. Further, each unidirectional converter in each interface unit may be separately controlled by a microcontroller, such that power transfers in the energy exchanger may be controlled with considerable precision, as per the teachings of Ikriannikov ([0110]).
Accordingly claim 8 would have been obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 October 1, 2026