DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fixture in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the adapter tube comprises an inlet tube, an outlet tube, and a low pressure tube; the capillary tube comprises a first capillary tube and a second capillary tube, wherein both ends of the first capillary tube are in communication with the first valve cavity and the second valve cavity respectively, a first end of the second capillary tube is in communication with the inlet tube or the low pressure tube, and a second end of the second capillary tube is in communication with the second valve cavity” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite how the adapter tube is made up of three different tubes and the capillary tube is made of up two different tubes. The tubes are all separate and therefore it is unclear and indefinite how the adapter tube comprises an inlet tube, an outlet tube, and a low pressure tube and how the capillary tube comprises a first capillary tube and a second capillary tube. For examination purposes, the tubes will all be read as separate tubes.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein an end of a reducing section of the second capillary tube protrudes from an inner wall face of the adapter tube, an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm” is unclear and indefinite. As seen in Figure 3, the second capillary tube is 224. Element 224 does not attach to adapter tube 12. Element 224 attaches to low pressure tube 123, while the first capillary tube protrudes from an inner wall of the adapter tube. Due to the reducing section and attachment requirements both being related to the first capillary tube, the claims will be interpreted as --wherein an end of a reducing section of the first capillary tube protrudes from an inner wall face of the adapter tube, an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm--.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang Sanhua Intelligent Controls Co. Ltd., hereinafter Zhejiang (CN 111765270).
Regarding claim 1, Zhejiang discloses a reversing valve, comprising: a main valve (8) comprising a first valve body (8) and an adapter tube (81), the first valve body (8) having a first valve cavity, and an end of the adapter tube (81) being in communication with the first valve cavity (see translation paragraph 0035); a pilot valve (1) comprising a second valve body (11) and a capillary tube (2), the second valve body (11) having a second valve cavity, a first end of the capillary tube (2) being in communication with the adapter tube (81) or the first valve cavity, and a second end of the capillary tube (2) being in communication with the second valve cavity (see paragraphs 0035 and 0037); and a sleeve (4, 5), wherein a side wall of the adapter tube (81) is provided with a first mounting hole in communication with an inner hole of the adapter tube 81; the first valve body (8) is provided with a second mounting hole in communication with the first valve cavity; and the first end of the capillary tube (2) passes through the sleeve 4, 5 (see Figure 12).
Zhejiang fails to disclose the sleeve passes through the first mounting hole or the second mounting hole.
Zhejiang teaches the sleeve (4, 5) passing through a mounting hole (13) of the second valve body 11 (see Figure 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide the sleeve passes through the first mounting hole or the second mounting hole. Doing so would improve the connection reliability between the adapter tube and the capillary tube (see translation paragraph 0059), as recognized by Zhejiang.
Regarding claim 3, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein, the sleeve (4, 5) is welded to the adapter tube 81 (translation paragraph 0058 discusses the welding of the sleeve to the flange 13 and the rejection of claim 1 modifies the sleeve to be connected to the adapter tube).
Zhejiang fails to disclose welding by a tunnel furnace.
Zhejiang teaches welding a sleeve by a tunnel furnace (see translation paragraph 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide welding by a tunnel furnace, as taught by Zhejiang. Doing so would provide uniform heating as well as high temperature control accuracy.
Regarding claim 4, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the capillary tube (2) comprises a main body section and a reducing section (22), wherein the reducing section (22) is located at the first end of the capillary tube (2) and passes through the sleeve (4, 5), and an outer diameter of the main body section is greater than an aperture of the sleeve 4, 5 (see Figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the adapter tube (81) comprises an inlet tube 81 (see translation paragraph 0035); wherein the reversing valve comprises an outlet tube (82), and a low pressure tube 83 (see translation paragraph 0035); the capillary tube (2) comprises a first capillary tube 2 (see translation paragraph 0035); wherein the reversing valve comprises a second capillary tube 72 (see translation paragraph 0035); wherein both ends of the first capillary tube (2) are in communication with the first valve cavity and the second valve cavity respectively, a first end of the second capillary tube (72) is in communication with the inlet tube (81) or the low pressure tube (83), and a second end of the second capillary tube (72) is in communication with the second valve cavity (see Figure 13).
Regarding claim 6, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein an end of a reducing section (22) of the first capillary tube (2) protrudes from an inner wall face of the adapter tube 81 (see Figure 12).
Zhejiang fails to teach an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm, because Applicant has not disclosed that having an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm, provides an advantage, is used for any particular purpose, or solves any stated problem, beyond that the interval provides both a stable connection and stable flow, which is an expected result. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Zhejiang’s valve, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with the interval taught by Zhejiang or the claimed ratio because both intervals would perform the same function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide an interval between the end of the reducing section and the inner wall face of the adapter tube is L, and 1mm≤L≤3.5mm, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Zhejiang.
Regarding claim 7, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein an end of the reducing section (22) of the first capillary tube (2) is located outside an inner wall face of the first valve body 8 (see Figure 13).
Regarding claim 8, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein in a case where the sleeve (4) passes through the second mounting hole (inner 13), an outer wall of the first valve body (8) is provided with a ring flanging (13), the ring flanging (13) is arranged around a periphery of the second mounting hole (inner 13), and the sleeve (4) passes through the ring flanging 13 (see Figure 12).
Regarding claim 9, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the main body section has a first through hole, the reducing section (22) has a second through hole, the first through hole is in communication with the second through hole, and an aperture of the first through hole is equal to an aperture of the second through hole.
Further regarding this limitation, the through hole right above 22, as shown in Figure 12, is part of the reducing section and is the same size as a through hole further upward in the capillary tube.
Regarding claim 14, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches a four-way valve (see translation paragraph 0002).
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Zhejiang discloses an assembly method of a reversing valve, wherein the assembly method of the reversing valve is configured to assemble the reversing valve according to claim 1 (see rejection above), and the assembly method of the reversing valve comprises:S1, enabling a sleeve (4, 5) to pass through a mounting hole 13 (see Figure 12); S2, tightly assembling an outer wall of the sleeve (4, 5) with a hole wall of the mounting hole by using a fixture (spot weld; see translation paragraph 0051); S3, welding the sleeve (4) to a tube using a tunnel furnace (see translation paragraph 0048); and S4, enabling a capillary tube (2) to pass through the sleeve (4), and when the capillary tube (2) passes to a preset position, welding the capillary tube (2) to the sleeve 4 (see paragraph 0057).
Zhejiang fails to disclose enabling a sleeve to pass through a first mounting hole or a second mounting hole; welding the sleeve to an adapter tube.
Zhejiang teaches the sleeve (4, 5) passing through a mounting hole (13) of the second valve body 11; welding the sleeve (4, 5) to a tube 11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide enabling a sleeve to pass through a first mounting hole or a second mounting hole; welding the sleeve to an adapter tube. Doing so would improve the connection reliability between the adapter tube and the capillary tube (see translation paragraph 0059), as recognized by Zhejiang.
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 20, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the capillary tube (2) comprises a main body section and a reducing section (22), wherein the reducing section (22) is located at the first end of the capillary tube (2) and passes through the sleeve (4, 5), and an outer diameter of the main body section is greater than an aperture of the sleeve 4, 5 (see Figure 12).
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang in view of Ranco Japan Ltd., hereinafter Ranco (JP 2005121131).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed but fails to teach wherein a material of the adapter tube is different from a material of the sleeve, and the material of the sleeve is the same as a material of the capillary tube.
Ranco teaches a reversing valve wherein a material of an adapter tube is different from a material of a sleeve, and the material of the sleeve is the same as a material of a capillary tube (see translation paragraph 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide wherein a material of the adapter tube is different from a material of the sleeve, and the material of the sleeve is the same as a material of the capillary tube, as taught by Ranco. Doing so would allow dissimilar materials to be connected efficiently, as the sleeve can be attached to the adapter tube first and then the capillary tube can be easily attached to the sleeve.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang in view of Yoshizawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,684,651).
Annotated Figure 1 from Yoshizawa.
Regarding claims 10-12, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and but fails to teach wherein the capillary tube further comprises a transition section, wherein one end of the transition section is connected with the main body section, the other end of the transition section is connected with the reducing section, and an outer diameter of the transition section gradually increases in a direction towards the main body section; wherein an outer wall of the transition section is an inclined plane or a curved surface; wherein the transition section is located outside an orifice of the sleeve.
Yoshizawa teaches a reversing valve wherein a capillary tube (8) further comprises a transition section, wherein one end of the transition section (see annotated figure above) is connected with a main body section (see annotated figure above), the other end of the transition section (see annotated figure above) is connected with a reducing section (see annotated figure above), and an outer diameter of the transition section (see annotated figure above) gradually increases in a direction towards the main body section (see annotated figure above); wherein an outer wall of the transition section (see annotated figure above) is an inclined plane or a curved surface; wherein the transition section (see annotated figure above) is located outside an orifice of a sleeve 11 (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide wherein the capillary tube further comprises a transition section, wherein one end of the transition section is connected with the main body section, the other end of the transition section is connected with the reducing section, and an outer diameter of the transition section gradually increases in a direction towards the main body section; wherein an outer wall of the transition section is an inclined plane or a curved surface; wherein the transition section is located outside an orifice of the sleeve, as taught by Yoshizawa. Doing so would allow the flow rate to be altered to a desired flow rate without disturbing the flow, due to the gradual/smooth transition.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang in view of Songyan et al. (CN 101852300).
Regarding claim 13, Zhejiang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed but fails to teach wherein a welding gap is arranged between an outer wall of the reducing section and a hole wall of the sleeve.
Songyan teaches a reversing valve wherein a welding gap (204) is arranged between an outer wall of a reducing section and a hole wall of a sleeve 202 (see Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhejiang to provide wherein a welding gap is arranged between an outer wall of the reducing section and a hole wall of the sleeve. Doing so would prevent solder from entering the inner wall or port of the capillary (see translation paragraph 0044), as recognized by Songyan.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753