DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The main control unit in claims 6-10. One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood the MCU to be disclosed in the form of a general-purpose computer processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, in the first element, the terms “the acceleration value” and “the reference value.” These terms lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) of a mathematical activity algorithm for assessing damage to a battery (i.e., determining a battery change in state and determining the crossing of an acceleration threshold or acceleration count threshold).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no improvement to the underlying battery is realized through performance of the algorithm.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recitation of the acceleration sensor is necessary to gather data used by the algorithm. The recitation of the computer components for performing the algorithm amount to the recitation of general-purpose computer components for performing the algorithm and do not serve to amount to significantly more than the recitation of the abstract idea itself (see Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. 208 (2014)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 20230205300 A1)[hereinafter “Cooper”] and Johnson (US 20090309745 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 6, Cooper discloses a method (and corresponding system including an accelerometer and MCU [See Fig. 1]) for measuring an impact for a battery, the method comprising: receiving an acceleration sensor signal from an acceleration sensor when the battery is either in use and not in use (i.e., being transported)[Abstract – “Battery management systems and methods for using the same to obtain battery shock and/or rollover data. An exemplary battery management system of the present disclosure comprises an accelerometer configured to obtain acceleration data, a microcontroller operably connected to the accelerometer and configured to receive the acceleration data from the accelerometer, and a data storage medium in communication with the microcontroller, the data storage medium configured to store the acceleration data therein, wherein when the battery management system is in communication with a battery, the accelerometer can obtain the acceleration data relating to the battery, and the microcontroller can operate to disconnect the battery from a load connected thereto should the acceleration data meet or exceed a threshold limit.”Paragraph [0045] – “As referenced herein, accelerometer 102 is configured to obtain accelerometer data in connection with a handling status of battery 150. For example, accelerometers 102, in various embodiments, are configured to determine whether or not a battery 150 has been tilted (and to what degree of tilt), experienced shock (a force against battery 150) and to what extent/degree, rolled over, and/or whether or not battery 150 has fallen, which can be determined based on potential forces/impacts and/or acceleration data, in various axes (x-, y-, and/or z-, as referenced herein), such that potential crash or other damage (including vibration damage) can be identified/determined. Said data can be obtained during transport of battery 150 and/or during use of battery 150, such as when battery 150 is connected to a load 175, and can be used to determine if battery 150 has been mishandled, inappropriately/improperly transported, damaged, etc., so that use of battery 150 can be discontinued if necessary. For example, accelerometer 102 can obtain acceleration data during transport (such as by use of a fork truck or other transport mechanism) and/or during use, as referenced herein. Said acceleration data could identify potential future concerns with battery 150, such as prolonged vibration, shock, etc., so that battery 150 can be disconnected from load 175 prior to battery 150 becoming potentially dangerous to use.”].
Cooper fails to disclose storing, by a main control unit (MCU), a previous operation mode of a battery system in a first area of a memory; storing, by the MCU, a current operation mode of the battery system in a second area of the memory; determining, by the MCU, whether the previous operation mode stored in the first area and the current operation mode stored in the second area are the same as each other; and storing, by the MCU, a change flag in a third area of the memory as a first value when the previous operation mode stored in the first area and the current operation mode stored in the second area are determined to be different from each other.
However, Johnson discloses tracking the state of a device (such as an “on,” “off,” or “sleep” state) in order to better track the manner in which the device has become damaged [Paragraph [0068] – “The abuse detection system 34 may also be configured to store device state information. For example, the device 10 may be configured to periodically write the state of the device 10 to the abuse detection system 34. State information may include, for example, an "on" state indicating that the device 10 is powered on, an "off" state indicating that the device 10 is powered off, or a "sleep" state indicating that the device 10 is powered but in a sleep or stand-by mode. Additional states may be defined based on the particular functionalities of the device 10. For example, a device 10 capable of placing cellular phone calls may include an "in-call" state to indicate that a user using the device 10 is currently on a telephone call. When an abuse event is detected by the abuse detection system 34, the above discussed timestamp and the last known state of the device 10 may be recorded into the storage device 64 of the abuse detection system 34. Additionally, the state information may be temporally correlated with the timestamp information. By analyzing state and timestamp information, a service technician may be able to determine how the device 10 was being used at the moment an abuse event was detected by the abuse detection system 34. This analysis may be particularly useful in verifying the occurrence or non-occurrence of consumer abuse.”]. It would have been obvious to track the state of a battery in such a manner through use of appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto.
It would have been obvious to place the battery in a sleep state during transport so that the battery could be transported in a safe manner while also allowing for appropriate data gathering.
The combination would disclose receiving, by the MCU, an acceleration sensor signal from an acceleration sensor when the current operation mode stored in the second area is a sleep mode and the change flag is the first value; and receiving, by the MCU, the acceleration sensor signal from the acceleration sensor when the current operation mode stored in the second area is not the sleep mode [Paragraph [0045] of Cooper – “[A]ccelerometer 102 can obtain acceleration data during transport (such as by use of a fork truck or other transport mechanism) and/or during use, as referenced herein.”].
Regarding Claim 6, “pre-storing” an initial memory value is inherent in implementing the algorithm using the computer.
Regarding Claim 2, Cooper discloses determining, by the MCU, whether an acceleration value indicated by the acceleration sensor signal exceeds a reference value; and adding, by the MCU, 1 to an impact count stored in a fourth area of the memory when the acceleration value is determined to exceed the reference value [See Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0047] – “As shown therein, exemplary battery management systems 100 of the present disclosure are configured to not only obtain data relating to whether or not a threshold amount of shock (left side of FIG. 4) and/or rollover (right side of FIG. 4) of battery 150 has been met or exceeded, but also how many times the threshold has been met or exceeded. The number of times (and associated date, time, and or extent of shock or degree of rollover) can be obtained by accelerometer 102 and stored within data storage medium 106 as desired”].
Regarding Claim 3, the combination would disclose determining, by the MCU, whether the acceleration value indicated by the acceleration sensor signal exceeds the reference value [See Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0047] of Cooper – “As shown therein, exemplary battery management systems 100 of the present disclosure are configured to not only obtain data relating to whether or not a threshold amount of shock (left side of FIG. 4) and/or rollover (right side of FIG. 4) of battery 150 has been met or exceeded, but also how many times the threshold has been met or exceeded. The number of times (and associated date, time, and or extent of shock or degree of rollover) can be obtained by accelerometer 102 and stored within data storage medium 106 as desired”];
setting, by the MCU, the change flag stored in the third area to a second value and storing the second value in the third area when the acceleration value is determined to be equal to or less than the reference value, and storing, by the MCU, the current operation mode stored in the second area in the first area of the memory [Using appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto (in light of Johnson) where a lack of significant vibration indicates no impact has occurred (in light of Cooper).].
Regarding Claim 4, Cooper discloses voiding a battery warranty if there are repeated detected shocks and/or rollovers [Paragraph [0048] – “A battery management system 100 of the present disclosure can be used to monitor levels of shock and/or rollover (tilt and the degree of the same) using accelerometer 102, and should accelerometer 102 detect high and or repeated levels of shock and/or rollover, that acceleration data can be the basis of voiding a warranty of guarantee of the battery 150 being monitored by battery management system 100.”] and disconnecting the battery when its operation could be dangerous [Paragraph [0002] – “Large battery systems are used in environments where high shock levels can be dangerous to the battery operation. In addition, due to the heavy weight of certain battery systems, they can be mishandled/dropped during transportation which can render the battery unsafe for usage. During handling the batteries may be rolled over which can also damage the internal components of the battery making them unsafe for operation.”Paragraph [0004] – “In view of the foregoing, a system for determining the extent of shock and/or rollover of a battery that can not only store said data to be accessed in the future, but also configured to disable said potentially damaged or dangerous battery, would be well received in the marketplace.”], but fails to disclose:
determining, by the MCU, whether the impact count reaches a predetermined impact threshold; and
performing, by the MCU, a protection operation for an impact when the impact count is determined to have reached the predetermined impact threshold.
However, it would have been obvious to use the impact count that indicates that an impact has been repeated enough times to void the battery warranty in order to trigger disabling of that battery because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a battery that has been damaged enough to void its warranty could also pose a safety risk requiring reassessment as to whether the battery can safely be continued to be used.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination would disclose setting, by the MCU, the change flag stored in the third area to a second value, and storing the second value in the third area when the impact count is determined to not have reached the predetermined impact threshold, and storing, by the MCU, the current operation mode stored in the second area in the first area [Using appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto (in light of Johnson) where a lack of repeated significant vibration indicates no impact has occurred (in light of Cooper).].
Regarding Claim 7, the combination would disclose that the MCU further includes the memory including the first area, the second area, the third area, and a fourth area [Use of appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto (in light of Johnson).],
and that the MCU stores an impact count in the fourth area indicating a number of times at which an acceleration value indicated by the acceleration sensor signal exceeds a reference value [See Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0047] of Cooper – “As shown therein, exemplary battery management systems 100 of the present disclosure are configured to not only obtain data relating to whether or not a threshold amount of shock (left side of FIG. 4) and/or rollover (right side of FIG. 4) of battery 150 has been met or exceeded, but also how many times the threshold has been met or exceeded. The number of times (and associated date, time, and or extent of shock or degree of rollover) can be obtained by accelerometer 102 and stored within data storage medium 106 as desired”].
Regarding Claim 8, the combination would disclose that the MCU: adds 1 to the impact count when the acceleration value indicated by the received acceleration sensor signal exceeds the reference value [See Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0047] – “As shown therein, exemplary battery management systems 100 of the present disclosure are configured to not only obtain data relating to whether or not a threshold amount of shock (left side of FIG. 4) and/or rollover (right side of FIG. 4) of battery 150 has been met or exceeded, but also how many times the threshold has been met or exceeded. The number of times (and associated date, time, and or extent of shock or degree of rollover) can be obtained by accelerometer 102 and stored within data storage medium 106 as desired”], and sets the change flag stored in the third area to a second value and stores the second value in the third area, and stores the current operation mode stored in the second area in the first area when the acceleration value indicated by the received acceleration sensor signal is equal to or less than the reference value [Using appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto (in light of Johnson) where a lack of significant vibration indicates no impact has occurred (in light of Cooper).].
Regarding Claim 9, Cooper discloses voiding a battery warranty if there are repeated detected shocks and/or rollovers [Paragraph [0048] – “A battery management system 100 of the present disclosure can be used to monitor levels of shock and/or rollover (tilt and the degree of the same) using accelerometer 102, and should accelerometer 102 detect high and or repeated levels of shock and/or rollover, that acceleration data can be the basis of voiding a warranty of guarantee of the battery 150 being monitored by battery management system 100.”] and disconnecting the battery when its operation could be dangerous [Paragraph [0002] – “Large battery systems are used in environments where high shock levels can be dangerous to the battery operation. In addition, due to the heavy weight of certain battery systems, they can be mishandled/dropped during transportation which can render the battery unsafe for usage. During handling the batteries may be rolled over which can also damage the internal components of the battery making them unsafe for operation.”Paragraph [0004] – “In view of the foregoing, a system for determining the extent of shock and/or rollover of a battery that can not only store said data to be accessed in the future, but also configured to disable said potentially damaged or dangerous battery, would be well received in the marketplace.”], but fails to disclose:
determining, by the MCU, whether the impact count reaches a predetermined impact threshold; and
performing, by the MCU, a protection operation for an impact when the impact count reaches the predetermined impact threshold.
However, it would have been obvious to use the impact count that indicates that an impact has been repeated enough times to void the battery warranty in order to trigger disabling of that battery because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a battery that has been damaged enough to void its warranty could also pose a safety risk requiring reassessment as to whether the battery can safely be continued to be used.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination would disclose setting, by the MCU, the change flag stored in the third area to a second value, and storing the second value in the third area when the impact count is determined to not have reached the predetermined impact threshold, and storing, by the MCU, the current operation mode stored in the second area in the first area [Using appropriate memory and change flag values in order to better assess the cause of any impact detected to the battery through continual monitoring of device state and any changes thereto (in light of Johnson) where a lack of repeated significant vibration indicates no impact has occurred (in light of Cooper).].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jangamshetti, Design, Implementation and Testing of Theft and Maintenance Monitoring of Batteries of Stand-alone SPV systems, IEEE, 2015
Zanelli et al., Sensor Nodes for Continuous Monitoring of Structures Through Accelerometric Measurements, IEEE, 2020
US 11599180 B1 – Battery Management Systems And Methods To Use The Same To Obtain Battery Shock And/or Rollover Data
US 20070250732 A1 – PORTABLE DEVICE WITH AN AUTOMATIC POWER OFF PROTECTION AND METHOD FOR SAME
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857