Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 were previously pending and subject to a non-final office action mailed December 1, 2025. Claims 1, 3 and 6 were amended, claims 4 and 5 were left as previously presented, claim 7 is newly added and claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1 and 3-7 are currently pending and subject to the final office action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 27, 2026 concerning the previous rejections of claims 1 and 3-7 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the previous rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore the 35 USC 112 rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations is: “a bucket illuminating unit” and “imaging init” in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. referred herein as Vaz (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0043272) in view of Li et al. referred herein as Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0342770).
As to claim 1, Vaz teaches an automatic vending machine comprising:
a box-shaped cabinet internally including a plurality of shelves spaced apart from each other in an up-down direction; (fig. 2, show a vending machine with shelves shaped as a box cabinet)
a product outlet provided at a lower portion of a front panel of the cabinet; (para 33)
a product discharging device provided on each of the plurality of shelves in the cabinet and configured to discharge a product loaded thereon forward; (para 33)
a bucket supported between the front panel and the plurality of shelves so as to be movable in the up-down direction and configured to receive the product discharged from the product discharging device, the automatic vending machine being configured to move the bucket having received the product to the product outlet, wherein the automatic vending machine comprises imaging units provided on the bucket to capture an image including a placement surface on which the product received is loaded in the bucket. (para 29, 33, 46-47 and fig. 1)
Vaz comprises 2 cameras. (para 47)
Vaz does not teach:
wherein one imaging unit is provided on one side of the bucket in a width direction and another imaging unit is provided on another side of the bucket in the width direction.
However, Li teaches:
wherein one imaging unit is provided on one side of the bucket in a width direction and another imaging unit is provided on another side of the bucket in the width direction. (para 53, 63 and fig. 5 items 120A)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to provide two cameras opposite to each other in Vaz as taught by Li. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that having two cameras on opposite sides of the vending machine makes it easier to identify the item to be dispensed.
As to claim 5, Vaz in view of Li teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Vaz further teaches:
a bucket illuminating unit provided at a predetermined part on a front panel side of the bucket in an orientation directed toward the placement surface and configured to illuminate the placement surface. (para 47)
As to claim 6, Vaz in view of Li teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Vaz further teaches:
wherein the bucket illuminating unit includes a plurality of light sources disposed in a line across an entire width of the bucket. (para 44-45 and 47)
As to claim 7, Vaz teaches an automatic vending machine comprising:
a box-shaped cabinet having a plurality of internal shelves spaced apart from each other in an up-down direction; (fig. 2, show a vending machine with shelves shaped as a box cabinet)
a product outlet provided at a lower portion of a front panel of the cabinet; (para 33)
a product discharging device provided on each of the plurality of internal shelves and configured to discharge a product loaded thereon forward; (para 33)
a bucket supported between the front panel and the plurality of internal shelves so as to be movable in the up-down direction and configured to receive the product discharged from the product discharging device, the automatic vending machine being configured to move the bucket having received the product to the product outlet, wherein the automatic vending machine comprises: an imaging unit that is provided on the bucket to capture an image including a placement surface on which the product received is loaded in the bucket; (para 29, 33, 46-47 and fig. 1)
Vaz comprises 2 cameras. (para 47)
Vaz does not teach:
a bucket illuminating unit provided at a predetermined part on a front panel side of the bucket in an orientation directed toward the placement surface and configured to illuminate the placement surface,
wherein the bucket illuminating unit includes a plurality of light sources disposed in a line across an entire width of the bucket.
However, Li teaches:
a bucket illuminating unit provided at a predetermined part on a front panel side of the bucket in an orientation directed toward the placement surface and configured to illuminate the placement surface, wherein the bucket illuminating unit includes a plurality of light sources disposed in a line across an entire width of the bucket. (para 53, 63 and fig. 5 items 120A)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to provide two cameras opposite to each other in Vaz as taught by Li. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that having two cameras on opposite sides of the vending machine makes it easier to identify the item to be dispensed.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. referred herein as Vaz (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0043272) in view of Li et al. referred herein as Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0342770), further in view of Collins et al. referred herein as Collins (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0108222).
As to claim 3, Vaz in view of Li teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Vaz does not teach:
wherein the bucket has a width corresponding to a width of each of the plurality of shelves.
However, Collins teaches:
wherein the bucket has a width corresponding to a width of each of the plurality of shelves. (fig. 1 show that the conveyor shelf is the same width as the product shelf)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to use a conveyor belt shelf having the same width as the dispensing shelf in Vaz as taught by Collins. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that having a conveyor box using the same width of the dispensing shelf would allow safe and secure arrival of the product to the user.
As to claim 4, Vaz in view of Li, further in view of Collins teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Vaz further teaches:
wherein the plurality of shelves each include a plurality of the product discharging devices provided thereon in parallel in a width direction of each of the plurality of shelves, the bucket includes a product moving device in a form of a belt conveyor that moves the product in the width direction of the bucket, and an upper surface of an upper run of a belt of the product moving device forms the placement surface. (para 29-30, 39 and 66)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628