DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on April 28, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 9 of claim 1, delete “is” from “the vision unit .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110328461 A (Wu ‘461).
Regarding claim 1, Wu ‘461 teaches a battery module assembly apparatus (a weld point positioning device for a work piece/battery module; [0040] & [0077]) comprising:
a transfer unit configured to move a battery module (a workpiece 230 is to be transferred, i.e., must include a transfer unit to move the workpiece 230, to a first location located below the welding mechanism 210; [0078] & Fig. 6) having a cylindrical battery cell received therein seated in a module carrier (the workpiece 230 to be welded can be a battery module, which includes multiple cylindrical battery cells and a support, corresponding to the module carrier, for supporting the battery cells; [0040]);
a vision unit configured to check position information of the battery module and the module carrier (a visual positioning mechanism 220; [0078] & Fig. 6; the visual positioning mechanism 220 acquires information via an image and sends the obtained information of the workpiece 230 to be welded to the welding mechanism 210; [0078]); and
at least one bonding unit (the welding mechanism 210) each configured to electrically connect an electrode of the cylindrical battery cell received in the battery module to a busbar (the method disclosed in Wu ‘461 is used to locate the solder/welding joints on the battery cell and weld the battery cell to the busbar at the located joints thereof; [0040]),
wherein the battery module assembly apparatus is configured to transmit the position information from the vision unit to the bonding unit (the visual positioning mechanism 220 acquires information via an image and sends the obtained information of the workpiece 230 to be welded to the welding mechanism 210; [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer unit is movable forwards and rearwards in a first lateral direction (as shown in Fig. 6, the workpiece 230 is moved in a first direction from the visual positioning mechanism to the welding mechanism 210; [0078]) or leftwards and rightwards in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction.
Regarding claim 10, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the bonding unit comprises a bonding vision portion for position identification when electrically connecting the electrode to the busbar (the welding mechanism 210 may include a sub-vision locator for acquiring a first image of the workpiece 230 to be welded at the first station and to identify feature points in the acquired first image; [0078] & [0080]; the sub-vision locator includes an image processing unit for obtaining the coordinates of a first feature point on the first image based on the acquired first image; [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110328461 A (Wu ‘461) in view of CN 208423080 U (Wang ‘080 - citing to the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 2, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the transfer unit comprises a height adjustment portion configured to move the battery module and the module carrier upwards and downwards in a vertical direction.
Wang ‘080 discloses a battery module assembly device that includes a frame, wherein the top of the frame is provided with a battery module base that can move up and down ([0010]). The top of the frame is provided with a transport chain, and a transport platform is provided on the transport chain with the battery module base located on the upper surface of the transport platform ([0012]). The transport platform is provided with guide rails below, and the lower surface of the battery module base is provided with guide rods that correspond one-to-one with the guide rails, with the guide rods passing through the corresponding guide rails ([0013]). The guide rail and guide rod mechanism are used to maintain the stability of the battery module base when it moves up and down ([0013]). When the laser inspection instrument 18 detects that the battery modules have moved to the designation position, the transport of the battery modules is stopped ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the transfer unit of the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wang ‘080, to include a frame with a battery module base that can move up and down, to move the battery module to a designated position, as suggested by Wang ‘080.
Regarding claim 3, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the transfer unit comprises a plurality of transfer unit portions respectively disposed within each of a plurality of zones of the battery module assembly apparatus, the battery module assembly apparatus being configured to independently operate each of the transfer unit portions.
Wang ‘080 discloses a battery module assembly device ([0010]). The battery module assembly device includes a slide table with a vertical moving unit 11, a front-back moving unit 12, and a left-right moving unit 13 ([0028]). The front-back moving unit 12 includes a front-back moving track 121 and a front-back moving chain 122, and the left-right moving unit includes a left and right moving track 131 and a left-right moving chain 132 ([0028]). As shown in Fig. 3, a top view of the battery module assembly device ([0023]), the moving units 12, 13 are located in different zones of the battery module assembly device. When the laser inspection instrument 18 detects that the battery modules have moved to the designation position, the transport of the battery modules is stopped ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the transfer unit of the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wang ‘080, to include a plurality of transfer unit portions, i.e., a front-back moving unit and a left-right moving unit in a plurality of zones that are able to be operated independently, as suggested by Wang ‘080, to move the battery module to a designated position in a front to back direction and a left to right direction.
Regarding claim 4, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer unit is movable forwards and rearwards in a first lateral direction (as shown in Fig. 6, the workpiece 230 is moved in a first direction from the visual positioning mechanism to the welding mechanism 210; [0078]), but does not disclose that the transfer unit is also movable leftwards and rightwards in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction.
Wang ‘080 discloses a battery module assembly device ([0010]). The battery module assembly device includes a slide table with a vertical moving unit 11, a front-back moving unit 12, and a left-right moving unit 13 ([0028]). The front-back moving unit 12 includes a front-back moving track 121 and a front-back moving chain 122, and the left-right moving unit includes a left and right moving track 131 and a left-right moving chain 132 ([0028]). As shown in Fig. 3, a top view of the battery module assembly device ([0023]), the moving units 12, 13 are located in different zones of the battery module assembly device. When the laser inspection instrument 18 detects that the battery modules have moved to the designation position, the transport of the battery modules is stopped ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the transfer unit of the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wang ‘080, to include a plurality of transfer unit portions, i.e., a front-back moving unit and a left-right moving unit in a plurality of zones that are able to be operated independently, as suggested by Wang ‘080, to move the battery module to a designated position in a front to back direction and a left to right direction.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110328461 A (Wu ‘461) in view of CN 207474603 U (Liu ‘603 - citing to the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 5, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the module carrier comprises a stationary guard and a moving guard, and the moving guard is configured to move forwards and rearwards or leftwards in a first lateral direction and rightwards in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction to fix the battery module received in the module
carrier to the stationary guard.
Liu ‘603 teaches a battery module assembly device with a base 10, a housing limiting member 20 for limiting and fixing the housing 70 of the battery module, a pressing member 30 including a first side pressing plate 31 and a second side pressing plate 32 disposed opposite to each other and spaced apart along a second direction ([0033]). The pressing member 30 can press the multiple battery units 60 located between the first side pressing plate 31 and the second side pressing plate 32 ([0033]). The first side pressing plate 31is slidably disposed so that the distance between the first side pressing plate 31 and the second side pressing plate 32 is variable ([0043]).
The battery module assembly device further includes a pressing member 50 to provide a pushing force on the multiple battery cells 60 toward the housing limiting member 20, so that the multiple battery cells 60 enter the housing 70 to complete the assembly of the battery module ([0026]). The housing limiting member 20 can limit and fix the housing 70 of the battery module ([0040]). The multiple battery cells 60 are pushed towards the housing limiting member 20 ([0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wu ‘461, to include a pressing member, corresponding to the moving guard, that is configured to move in a first direction and a second direction, to fix the multiple battery cells in the housing with a housing limiting member, corresponding to the stationary guard, to complete the assembly of the battery module, as suggested by Liu ‘603.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110328461 A (Wu ‘461) in view of CN 207474603 U (Liu ‘603 - citing to the attached English translation), and further in view of US 20180284197 A1 (Cui ‘197).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 5, but does not disclose at least one datum portion provided at an outer side of the stationary guard, wherein the datum portion has a marker for position identification located at an upper surface thereof.
Cui ‘197 discloses a battery positioned within a housing, and the housing may include one or more reference markers with a monitoring system that may include an imaging device that captures images based on recognition of the reference markers by the image device ([0012]). Based at least in part on the recognized edges and reference markers within the captured images, a dimension and/or a dimensional change may be determined ([0012]). For example, a change in position may be determined ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wu ‘461, to include at least one reference marker provided at an outer side of the stationary guard housing, wherein the reference marker may be used for position identification by the imaging device, as suggested by Cui ‘197.
Regarding claims 8, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the vision unit is configured to scan the marker for position identification, a position of the electrode of the cylindrical battery cell, and a position of the busbar (the visual positioning mechanism 220 acquires information via an image and sends the obtained information of the workpiece 230 to be welded to the welding mechanism 210; [0078] of Wu ‘461; the visual positioning mechanism has high positioning accuracy, so it can accurately identify the position of the weld point on the workpiece 230 to be welded; [0079]; the imaging device may be an imaging device capable of capturing images of the edges of the cells and the reference markers on the housing in order to determine dimension or dimension changes of the edges relative to the reference markers; [0040] of Cui ‘197; for example, a change in position may be determined; [0080] of Cui ‘197).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110328461 A (Wu ‘461) in view of KR 20070094259 A (Song ‘259 - citing to the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Wu ‘461 teaches the battery module assembly apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the bonding unit and the vision unit are disposed on the transfer unit, the transfer unit being arranged in a straight line (as shown in Fig. 6 of Wu ‘461, the visual positioning mechanism 220 and the welding mechanism 210 are disponed on the transfer unit in a straight line, because the workpiece 230 is transferred from the vision positioning mechanism 220 to the welding mechanism 210; [0078] of Wu ‘461).
Wu ‘461 does not disclose the battery module assembly apparatus further comprising an additional bonding unit provided on the transfer unit and diverging from the vision unit.
Song ‘259 discloses a wire bonding apparatus equipped with material transfer unit to eliminate the need for a separate device for transferring materials fed into the wire bonding devices when a plurality of wire bonding devices are connected in-line (top of page 10). The wire bonding apparatus has at least two wire bonding devices that are connected in line by the material transfer units being disposed in close contact with each other in the longitudinal direction (middle of page 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an additional bonding unit provided in line with the first bonding unit on the transfer unit apart from the vision unit in the battery module assembly apparatus, as taught by Wu ‘461, to connect multiple bonding devices in line and eliminate the need for a separate device for transferring materials fed into the wire bonding devices, as suggested by Song ‘259.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725