DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “locking pieces" of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the X-direction connecting piece”, however no antecedent basis is provided for this element. The claims previously recite “the X-direction extension piece”, but it is unclear whether “the X-direction connection piece” is intended to refer to the same structure or a different structure. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “the X-direction connection piece” as “the X-direction extension piece.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 12078217).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a safety caliper cover (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a cover body (1), safety buckles (see Fig. 3), and locking pieces, wherein a length direction of the cover body (1) is an X-direction, a width direction of the cover body (1) is a Y-direction, and a thickness direction of the cover body (1) is a Z-direction;
the cover body (1) covers an outer surface side of a caliper of a wheel hub of an automobile; Z-direction connecting columns (231) are arranged on an inner surface of the cover body (1);
each of the safety buckles (see Fig. 3) comprises a fastening piece (4) and a Z-direction connecting lug (41) connected to the fastening piece (4);
the Z-direction connecting lug (41) corresponds to one of the Z-direction connecting columns (231);
a corresponding one of the locking pieces is used for locking with the one of the Z-direction connecting columns (231);
and the fastening piece (4) extends in at least two directions of the X-direction, the Y-direction, and the Z-direction, and forms a limit contact fit with an outer surface of the caliper.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover according to claim 3, wherein the fastening piece (4) comprises a Z-direction extension piece (43) connected with the Y-direction extension piece (see J, Annotated Fig. 1A, Zhang below); and there is one or more right angle bends between the Z-direction extension piece and the Y-direction
extension piece (see Annotated Fig. 1A, Zhang below).
Annotated Fig. 1A, Zhang
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the Z-direction connecting columns (231) are integrally molded with the cover body (1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover (1), wherein each of the safety buckles (see Fig. 3) is an integrally molded structural part.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses one end of the Z-direction connecting lug (41) which is butted with the one of the Z-direction connecting columns (231) is flush with or is protruded from one side, close to the cover body (1), of the fastening piece (4).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover (1) according to claim 1, wherein for each of the locking pieces, the locking piece is a screw bolt (see Z, Annotated Fig. 1B, Zhang) or a screw, and penetrates through the Z-direction connecting lug (41) to be locked with the one of the Z-direction connecting columns (231), or the locking piece is a nut; the one of the Z-direction connecting columns is provided with external screw threads; the Z-direction connecting lug is connected to the one of the Z-direction connecting columns in a sleeving manner and is matched and locked with the external screw threads through the nut; or the locking piece is a circlip; the one of the Z-direction connecting columns is provided with a clamping groove; and the Z-direction connecting lug is connected to the one of the Z-direction connecting columns in the sleeving manner and is matched and locked with the clamping groove through the circlip. (Note: the claim features are recited in the alternative and are not
positively required by the claim).
Annotated Fig. 1B, Zhang
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 12078217) in view of Park (US 10962067).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover according to claim 1, and a Z-direction connecting lug that is arranged on one side, deviating from the caliper.
Zhang does not disclose the fastening piece comprises a Y-direction extension piece.
Park teaches the fastening piece comprises a Y-direction extension piece (260).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the Y-direction extension piece taught by Park with the Z-direction connecting lug disclosed in Zhang in order to maintain the caliper cover in close contact with the brake caliper so as to not move left or right, thereby reducing a stress applied to the fastening portion by movement of the caliper cover (see Park, Col. 5:26-29).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover according to claim 2.
Zhang does not disclose the fastening piece comprises an X-direction extension piece connected with the Y-direction extension piece; and the X-direction extension piece is bent at an angle or bent in an arc shape.
Park teaches the fastening piece comprises an X-direction extension piece (210) connected with the Y-direction extension piece (260); and the X-direction extension piece (210) is bent at an angle or bent in an arc shape (see B, Annotated Fig. 1A, Park below).
Annotated Fig. 1A, Park
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the X-direction extension piece taught by Park with the safety caliper cover disclosed in Zhang in order to tightly couple the fasten piece to the caliper cover in three orthogonal directions as disclosed by Park (Col. 5:30-35).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover as claimed in claim 4.
Zhang does not disclose the X-direction extension piece is disconnected from or connected with the Z-direction extension piece.
Park teaches the X-direction extension piece (210) is disconnected from or connected with the Z-direction extension piece (230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the X-direction extension piece that is disconnected from or connected with the Z-direction extension piece taught by Park with the safety caliper cover disclosed in Zhang in order to firmly fix the safety caliper cover to the brake caliper to ensure stability (see Park, Col. 1:7-10).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 12078217) in view of Park (US 10962067), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zenzen (US 12516705).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the safety caliper cover according to claim 1.
Zhang does not disclose the Z-direction connecting lug is connected to an outer end of the one of the Z-direction connecting columns in a sleeving manner.
Zenzen teaches the Z-direction connecting lug (7) is connected to an outer end of the one of the Z-direction connecting columns (43) in a sleeving manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the Z-direction connecting lug connected to an outer end of the one of the Z-direction connecting columns in a sleeving manner as taught by Zenzen with the safety caliper cover disclosed by Zhang in order to securely and permanently hold the cover so that is it able to be mounted in a simple manner (see Zenzen, Col. 1:45-49).
Conclusion
/K.A.A./
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616