DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 9/3/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1 and 9 are amended. No new matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/36/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach or suggest “the shell does not comprise a binder”.
It is noted that this limitation was not previously presented and will be addressed hereinafter.
Double Patenting
__________________________________________________________________
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 5-11 of copending Application No. 18/283,139 in view of STRICKLAND et al. (US 2006/0191548) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901)
With respect to claim 1¸ copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a tobacco material comprising: a core comprising a first tobacco mixture; and a shell formed around the core and comprising a second tobacco mixture, wherein the first tobacco mixture comprises first tobacco particles and a first flavor material, and the second tobacco mixture comprises second tobacco particles (Claim 1), wherein the tobacco material comprises 5.0 to 8.0 parts by weight of moisture with respect to 100 parts by weight of the tobacco material (Claim 2). Copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims that the tobacco material is free of binders, and that the tobacco material comprises the core and shell (Claim 1). Thus, both of the core and shell necessarily do not have binders.
Copending Application No. 18/283,139 does not explicitly claim a natural flavor in the core, such as freeze dried fruit peels. STRICKLAND et al. discloses tobacco compositions (Abstract) that includes flavor components (Paragraphs [0003], [0004]). The flavor components include natural flavor extracts (Paragraphs [0053]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide natural flavors in the tobacco material of copending Application No. 18/283,139, as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so that the user can be provided with natural, organic materials in the tobacco material, rather than synthetic ones.
ONNO discloses that the flavorings includes freeze dried fruits, such as their peels are used as flavors (Paragraph [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a freeze dried fruit peel as the flavoring of Copending Application No. 18/283,139, as taught by ONNO so that natural flavors can be used.
With respect to claim 2, STRICKLAND et al. discloses that the flavors are derived from plants (Paragraph [0053]).
With respect to claim 3¸ STRICKLAND et al. discloses that the flavors include oils extracted from plants (e.g., natural oils) (Paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 4, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims wherein the tobacco material comprises 5.0 to 8.0 parts by weight of moisture with respect to 100 parts by weight of the tobacco material (Claim 2).
With respect to claim 5, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a core diameter of between 0.1 and 0.5 mm, while the shell has a diameter of 0.4 to 1.2 mm (Claim 5).
With respect to claim 6, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a tobacco material viscosity of 5 to 200 cps (Claim 6).
With respect to claim 7, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims wherein the tobacco material has a surface roughness of 0.1 to 10.0 (Claim 7).
With respect to claim 8¸ copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a smoking article comprising: a tobacco rod comprising the tobacco material according to claim 1; and a filter segment (Claim 8).
With respect to claim 9, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a method of preparing a tobacco material, the method comprising: a first operation of forming a core by growing a first composition; and a second operation of forming a shell surrounding the core (Claim 9). Copending Application No. 18/283,139 does not explicitly claim a natural flavor in the core. STRICKLAND et al. discloses tobacco compositions (Abstract) that includes flavor components (Paragraphs [0003], [0004]). The flavor components include natural flavor extracts (Paragraphs [0053]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide natural flavors in the tobacco material of copending Application No. 18/283,139, as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so that the user can be provided with natural, organic materials in the tobacco material, rather than synthetic ones.
Copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims that the tobacco material is free of binders, and that the tobacco material comprises the core and shell (Claim 1). Thus, both of the core and shell necessarily do not have binders.
ONNO discloses that the flavoring includes freeze dried fruits, such as their peels are used as flavors (Paragraph [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a freeze dried fruit peel as the flavoring of Copending Application No. 18/283,139, as taught by ONNO so that natural flavors can be used.
With respect to claim 10¸ copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims The method of claim 9, wherein the first operation comprises: introducing the first composition into a chamber; and growing the first composition at a temperature in a range of about 30 *C to about 60 *C, and under an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (Claim 10) and placing the core in a chamber; introducing a second composition into the chamber; and growing the second composition around the core in the chamber under conditions of a temperature in a range of about 50 *C to about 90 *C, and an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (Claim 11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of LIU et al. (US 2012/0024305) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901) and ZHUANG et al. (US 2007/0000505 )
With respect to claim 1, SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavoring (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising tobacco particles (Paragraph [0028]; Figures 1A-1D).
SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the shell comprises moisture. LIU et al. discloses tobacco material (Paragraphs [0046]-[0048]) having core/shell structures (Abstract; Title). The shells, when dried, are dried to remove excess moisture from the shells in order to leave them less tacky (Paragraph [0033], [0037]) so that they are highly storage stable (Paragraph [0038]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a reduced moisture content in the shell of SUN et al., as taught by LIU et al., so that the tobacco material can be highly storage stable.
The scope of “reduced moisture content” includes values of zero and greater than zero moisture content, and thus overlaps with the claimed moisture in the shell.
SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the flavors are natural flavors. ONNO discloses that the flavoring includes freeze dried fruits, such as their peels are used as flavors (Paragraphs [0013] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a freeze dried fruit peel as the flavoring of SUN et al., as taught by ONNO so that natural flavors can be used, rather than synthetic ones.
SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the shell is free of binders. ZHUANG et al. discloses tobacco particles having a coating thereon (Abstract; Paragraphs [0002], [0042]). The composition may have binders, but is preferably held together without the addition of a binder (Paragraph [0042]) and results in enhanced flavor in the tobacco (Paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to hold the tobacco together without the use of binders in any of the tobacco material in SUN et al., as taught by ZHUANG et al. so that the resulting beads can have enhanced flavor.
With respect to claim 2, STRICKLAND et al. discloses that the flavors are derived from plants (Paragraph [0053]).
With respect to claim 3¸ STRICKLAND et al. discloses that the flavors include oils extracted from plants (e.g., natural oils) (Paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 4, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the moisture content is 5-10 parts by weight to 100 parts of the tobacco material. STRICKLAND et al. discloses that a moisture content of 2-50 % of the final product (Paragraph [0208]) so that the products are sufficiently rigid so as to be easily handled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the coating of SUN et al. with a moisture content of between 2 and 50 percent of the weight of the tobacco product, as taught by STRICKLAND et al., so that it can be easily handled.
With respect to claim 5¸ SUN et al. discloses that the core has a diameter of 300 microns (e.g., 0.3 mm) (Paragraph [0007]) and the shell has a diameter of 500 microns (e.g., 0.5 mm) (Paragraph [0010]). Specifically, the overall diameter is 500 microns, and since the shell is the outer component of the granule, the shell also has this diameter.
With respect to claim 6¸ SUN et al. discloses that the formulations forming the granules can be sprayed (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) but does not explicitly disclose the viscosity of the tobacco material. STRICKLAND et al. discloses that spraying is performed with a liquid having a viscosity of 50 cPs (Paragraph [0335]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tobacco material with a viscosity of 50 cPs, as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so that it can be sprayed.
With respect to claim 8, modified SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed smoking article comprising the tobacco material of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
ZHUANG et al. discloses a smoking article with tobacco beads (e.g., tobacco material) (Abstract; Title). The smoking article comprises a tobacco rod having the tobacco material therein ((Paragraphs [0002], [0020], [0027], [0050]-[0052]) and a filter segment (Paragraphs [0019]-[0021]). Such a configuration allows the flavor of the cigarette to be enhanced (Paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a tobacco rod, having the tobacco particles of modified SUN et al. therein, and a filter segment to form a smoking article, as taught by ZHUANG et al. so that the flavor of a cigarette can be enhanced.
_______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of LIU et al. (US 2012/0024305) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901) and ZHUANG et al. (US 2007/0000505 ) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of ROJO-CALDERON et al. (US 2018/0295885)
With respect to claim 7, modified SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the surface roughness of the tobacco material.
ROJO-CALDERON et al. discloses an aerosol generating article comprising aerosol pellets (Abstract; Title). The particles may be provided with a desired rough or smooth surface finish (Paragraphs [0039], [0041], [0083], [0127]) to form compacted particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the particles of modified SUN et al. with a rough surface, as taught by ROJO-CALDERON et al. so as to provide the desired compacting properties.
ONNO discloses a tobacco product (Abstract). The surface of the tobacco layer has a roughness, Ra, of below about 0.002 microns (Paragraph [0047]) to provide a smooth surface. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the roughness of the coating surface of modified SUN et al. with a roughness, Ra, of greater than 0.002 microns, as taught by ONNO so as to provide a rough surface.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05, I. Thus, a surface roughness of greater than 0.002 microns implicitly overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 to 10.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of STRICKLAND et al. (US 2006/0191548) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901) and ZHUANG et al. (US 2007/0000505 )
With respect to claim 9¸ SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavoring (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising tobacco particles (Paragraph [0028]; Figures 1A-1D).
SUN et al. further discloses a method (Paragraph [0017]) for forming said granules. The method comprises a first operation of forming the core (Paragraph [0015]) and a second operation of forming the shell surrounding the core (Paragraph [0016]).
SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the flavors are natural flavors. STRICKLAND et al. discloses tobacco compositions (Abstract) that includes flavor components (Paragraphs [0003], [0004]). The flavor components include natural flavor extracts (Paragraphs [0053]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide natural flavors in the tobacco material of SUN et al., as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so that the user can be provided with natural, organic materials in the tobacco material, rather than synthetic ones.
ONNO discloses that the flavoring includes freeze dried fruits, such as their peels are used as flavors (Paragraphs [0013] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a freeze dried fruit peel as the flavoring of SUN et al., as taught by ONNO so that natural flavors can be used, rather than synthetic ones.
SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the shell is free of binders. ZHUANG et al. discloses tobacco particles having a coating thereon (Abstract; Paragraphs [0002], [0042]). The composition may have binders, but is preferably held together without the addition of a binder (Paragraph [0042]) and results in enhanced flavor in the tobacco (Paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to hold the tobacco together without the use of binders in any of the tobacco material in SUN et al., as taught by ZHUANG et al. so that the resulting beads can have enhanced flavor.
With respect to claim 10, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed chamber, temperature and pressure.
STRICKLAND et al. discloses placing the core in a chamber and then introducing the coating material (e.g., tobacco composition of SUN et al.) into the chamber to coat the core (Paragraphs [0164]-[0167]) under 22 psi and a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius, to form the granulated material of a desired size (Paragraph [0168]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a chamber, placing the core of SUN et al. in the chamber, introducing the tobacco material coating into the chamber at a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius and a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar), as taught by STRICKLAND et al., so that the granules can be produced having the desired size. SUN et al. also discloses that the temperature for coating is between 10 and 80 C (Paragraph [0053]).
________________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of STRICKLAND et al. (US 2006/0191548) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901) and ZHUANG et al. (US 2007/0000505 ) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of ATCHLEY et al. (US 2003/0070687).
With respect to claim 11¸ modified SUN et al. discloses that the moisture content of a “dry” tobacco product is about 8 vol% (SUN et al.; Paragraph [0004]), and the tobacco powder comprises about 0 to 99 wt% (SUN et al. Paragraph [0033]). The amount of water depends on the properties of the desired finished product (SUN et al.; Paragraph [0027]), but modified SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the water is about 30 to 60 vol% water.
ATCHLEY et al. discloses that soft tobacco includes a moisture content of greater than 15 vol% (Paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include greater than 15 vol% in the tobacco composition of modified SUN et al., as taught by ATCHLEY et al., so that the feel of the particles to the user can be in the form of a “soft” and “moist” particle.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to provide greater than 15 vol% water, and up to and including 60 vol%, so as to provide the desired moist and soft feel of the particles.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745