DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 10140943 A, hereinafter CN ‘943.
CN ‘943 discloses a gadolinium (III) chelate produce by the reaction of oligomeric ethylenediamine-N,N’-bis(acetanilide)-diactate with GdCl3 aqueous solution, with a molecular weight of 2885 (Example 1). The chelate is disclosed to have lower toxicity, good biocompatibility and improved stability as a contrast agent (description and pg 2 ¶ 3).
Claims 1-3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unaleroglu et al (J of Appl Polymer Sci, v 56, no 10, 1239-1243, 1995).
Unaleroglu et al discloses a PAA aqueous solution having a molecular weight of 230,000 produced by reacting a metal nitrate solution to obtain gadolinium(III)-PAA chelate (Experiment, ¶ 1, Table 1, and solution 1).
Claims 1, 4, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hummel et al (US 20090238767).
Hummel et al discloses gadolinium chelated to polylysine was well known as imaging agents abstract and (¶ 45).
Claims 1, 5-8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama et al (Magn Reson Mater Phy 33, 527–536 2020).
Yokoyama et al discloses known Gd chlelates for macromolecular MRI contrast agents include chelates of polyserine, polylactic, PEG, and polyglutamine (pg 532 Table 2, .
Claims 1-2, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111643684 A, hereinafter CN ‘684.
CN ‘684 discloses gadolinium chelated to human proteins for use as contrast agents (abstract, Example 1, and claim 1).
Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Zhou et al (Wires, Nanomedicien and Nanibiotechnology, V 5, Iss 1, 2013, 1-18).
Zhou et al discloses gadolinium chelated to RGD peptides (see Tumor-Targeting Small Molecular Gd(III) CA).
Claims 1-2, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Podgorna et al (Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces Volume 153, 1 May 2017, Pages 183-189).
Podgorna et al discloses gadolinium alginate nanogels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 10140943 A, hereinafter CN ‘943.
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1-3, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unaleroglu et al (J of Appl Polymer Sci, v 56, no 10, 1239-1243, 1995).
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1, 4, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hummel et al (US 20090238767).
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1, 5-8, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama et al (Magn Reson Mater Phy 33, 527–536 2020).
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1-2, 9, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111643684 A, hereinafter CN ‘684.
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Zhou et al (Wires, Nanomedicien and Nanibiotechnology, V 5, Iss 1, 2013, 1-18).
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Claims 1-2, 11, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Podgorna et al (Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces Volume 153, 1 May 2017, Pages 183-189).
The reference is discussed above, but does not teach the specific molarity for forming the chelates.
Where the prior art teaches the components to formulate the chelates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to produce the desired reaction.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612