03Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed on 9/6/2023 has been crossed out since this IDS duplicates the same documents as filed in IDS dated 8/30/2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation of “R2TM14B1-type” in the instant claims is suggested to be amended as “R2TM14B1-type”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda et al (US-PG-pub 2018/0294079 A1, thereafter PG’079).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, PG’079 teaches an R-T-B magnet material in powder form with anisotropic property (Abstract, claims, and examples, par.[0008], and [0068] of PG’079), which reads on the rare-earth anisotropic magnet powder comprising magnetic particles, the magnetic particles containing rare-earth elements, boron, and a transition metal element as recited in the instant claim. The comparison between the material composition ranges disclosed in example #16 in table 1 of PG’079 and those disclosed in the instant claims are listed in the following table. All of the alloy composition ranges and elements ratios disclosed by PG’079 read the claimed alloy composition ranges and elements ratios as claimed in the instant claims. Since PG’079 teaches all of the limitations as claimed in the instant claims, claims 1 and 3-5 is anticipated by PG’079.
Element
From instant Claim 1 (at%)
Example #16 in table 1 of PG’079 (at%)
within range
(at%)
R
First R: Ce and/or La
Second R: Nd and/or Pr
Ce: 1.5
Nd: 15.12
Ce: 1.5
Nd: 15.12
TM
Fe included (cl.1)
Fe: 77.75
Fe: 77.75
B
B: 4.91
B: 4.91
R1/Rt
5-57
About 9
About 9
Ga
0.35 or less
0.32
0.32
From instant Claim 3 (at%)
Al
0.2-3
0.25
0.25
From instant Claim 4 (at%)
Nb
0.05-0.7
0.14
0.14
From instant Claim 5 (at%)
Rt
12-18
16.62
16.62
Regarding the instant claim 6, PG’079 teaches that the R-T-B based permanent magnet including a main phase including a compound having an R2T14B type tetragonal structure and a grain boundary phase existing between the main phases (abstract, Fig.3, par.[0064], [0088] and claims of PG’079), which reads on the claimed limitations as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, PG’079 teaches that the R-T-B based permanent magnet including a main phase and a grain boundary phase existing between the main phases manufactured by reduction diffusion method (par.[0122] and claims of PG’079), which reads on the claimed diffusion step as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, PG’079 teaches that HDDR (Hydrogenation-Disproportionation-Desorption-Recombination) process is performed on the raw material alloy. The HDDR process is a process to chemically obtain a powder including a refined crystal grains by sequentially performing hydrogenation, disproportionation, desorption (dehydrogenation), and recombination of the raw material alloy. By producing the R-T-B based permanent magnet by using the powder obtained by the HDDR process, the diameter of the main phase crystal grains after sintering can be reduced and the particle size distribution thereof can be narrowed. (par.[0124] of PG’079), which is the same method as claimed in the instant claim.
. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’079 in view of Suzuki et al (US-PG-pub 2013/0271249 A1, thereafter PG’249) .
Regarding claim 2, PG’079 teaches an R-T-B magnet material in powder form with anisotropic property (Abstract, claims, and examples, par.[0008], and [0068] of PG’079). The example #16 in table 1 of PG’079 including 0.02 at% Cu in the alloy, which is outside the claimed 0.1-3 at% Cu range in the instant claim. PG’249 teaches a composition of an R-T-B-based rare-earth magnet material (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’249) including all of major alloy elements (par.[0022] of Pg’249) as claimed in the instant invention. PG’249 specify that the magnetic body contains 1.0 to 1.25 mass % of Cu with respect to the total mass thereof in order to form the desired coercive force (par.00440] of PG’249), which is within the claimed Cu range as claimed in the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize amount of Cu amount from the disclosure of PG’249 for the alloy of PG’079 in order to obtain the desired coercive force (par.00440] of PG’249).
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734