DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the mixture”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 6-11 are rejected as depending upon claim 5 but fail to correct the 112 issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2019/0044135A1 (Du).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 and 12-13, Du teaches a lithium ion battery comprises a positive electrode , a negative electrode, a separator and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0040]-[0046]).
Du teaches that the positive electrode comprises a modified positive electrode active material comprising a positive electrode active material substrate, a first oxide layer coated on the surface of the positive electrode active material substrate, and a second oxide layer coated on the surface of the first oxide layer ([0005] and Fig. 1).
Du exemplifies the positive electrode active material substrate as LiNi0.8 Co0.1Mn0.1O2 ([0050]), which meets the claimed nickel amount and formula 1 wherein a is 1, x is 0.8, y is 0.1, M1 is Mn, z is 0.1 and w is 0.
Du teaches the first oxide layer is selected from one or more of the oxides of one or more Al, Zr, Mg, Ti, etc., in an amount of 0.01% to 2% ([0005], [0021] and [0024]), and the second oxide layer includes B exemplified in an amount of 0.01 to 0.3% ([0021], [0024] and Table 1), thus the presence of Ti in the coating layer in an amount of 0.01 to 2%, i.e., 100 ppm to 20000 ppm, and B in an amount of 0.01 to 0.3%, i.e., 100 ppm to 3000ppm, which encompasses the claimed amount of Ti and B, respectively.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to include titanium and boron in the coating layer at the instantly claimed range since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside range disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. See MPEP 2144.05, In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Aller, 220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and In re Hoeschele, 406 F2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claim 3, Du teaches that the positive electrode active material substrate comprises s secondary particles formed by agglomeration of the primary particles([0027] and Fig. 2), wherein the coating is distributed inside and on a surface of the secondary particles (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 11, Du teaches a process for preparing the modified positive electrode active material comprises the steps of: (i) dry mixing homogeneously a positive electrode active material substrate LiNi0.8 Co0.1Mn0.1O2 with first oxide layer itself or the precursor thereof, exemplified as TiO2, (ii) mixing homogeneously the substance obtained in step (i) with second oxide itself or the precursor thereof, exemplified as H3BO3 followed by sintering([0006], [0029], [0080] and [0085]), which meets the claimed method.
Regarding claim 8, Du teaches that elemental Ti is present in an amount of 0.01% to 2% ([0005], [0021] and [0024]), and exemplifies 0.50 g TiO2 raw material mixed with 100 g positive electrode active material substrate LiNi0.8 Co0.1Mn0.1O2 to achieve 0.3% elemental titanium in the coating([0080]), thus the amount of the titanium raw material TiO2 mixed needs to be in an range of 0.016 part to 3.3 part per 100 part of positive electrode active material substrate to achieve the 0.01% to 2% of elemental Ti in the coating, estimated by the examiner, which overlaps with the claimed range and a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 9, Du exemplifies 0.03 g and 0.65g boron oxide is mixed to achieve 0.01 and 0.2% of elemental boron in the coating layer, respectively ([0051] and [0073]), which overlaps with the claimed amount and a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 10, Du exemplifies a sintering temperature of 450°C ([0051] and [0085]), which meets the claimed temperature.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766