DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 4, 6, and 7 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments, arguments, and terminal disclaimer filed on 12/24/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejections of claims 1-3 and 5-8 over Yamaki et al. (US 2018/0289610 A1) in view of Friedman (US 2015/0202139 A1) and of claims 1-6 and 8 over Ujimoto et al. (WO 2020/032242 A1) and Friedman (US 2015/0202139 A1) and nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection of claims 1-6 and 8 over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,630 B2 and Friedman (US 2015/0202139 A1) from the previous Office Action. The approval of the terminal disclaimer has overcome the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,740 B2 and claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,419,814 B2 from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections maintained
The following rejection of the claims is remained for reasons of record and the following. The rejections are modified based on the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112/Second paragraph
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of "a ratio of the oxyethylene groups to a total of the oxyalkylene groups and the oxyethylene groups is 20 to 80 mass%" can be interpreted in more than one way: mass ratio of EO : (EO+AO) = 20 : 80 OR mass ratio of EO : (EO+AO) = 20-80 : 100 mass%, i.e., mass ratio of EO : AO = 20-80 : 80-20. Claims 2-7 are rejected as dependent claims of a rejected claim.
The instant specification discloses 6/14 - 9/2 EO/PO molar ratio in paragraph 39. Given the MW of EO monomer 44 /mol, the MW of PO monomer 58 /mol, the mass% ratio of EO/(PO +EO) is calculated to be: 6x44=264, 14x58=812, 264/(264+812)=264/1076=24.5%, i.e., EP/PO mass% ratio of 24.5% : 75.5%; 9x44=396, 2x58=116, 396/(396+116)=396/512=77.3%, i.e., EP/PO mass% ratio of 77.3% : 22.7%.
Thus, to expedite the prosecution "a ratio of the oxyethylene groups to a total of the oxyalkylene groups and the oxyethylene groups is 20 to 80 mass%" is given its broadest reasonable interpretations by the examiner in light of the specification in the 103 rejections as mass% ratio of EO : (EO+AO) = 20-80% : 100%, i.e., mass% ratio of EO : AO = 20-80% : 80-20%.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that the amendments obviate the rejection.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The recitation in the amended claim 1 is the same as the recitation in previously claim 2. “20-80%” is not an expression of ratio. The examiner suggests the amendment of: mass% ratio of EO : (EO+AO) = 20-80% : 100%, or mass% ratio of EO : AO = 20-80% : 80-20%, or EO is 20-80% by mass relative to the total mass of EO and AO.
New ground of rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment
The amendments necessitate the following new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yamaki et al. (US 2017/0333301 A1) in view of Friedman (US 2015/0202139 A1).
Yamaki et al. teach a water-in-oil sunscreen cosmetic (the instant claims 1 and 8) (abstract) and exemplified a composition, in paragraph 95, comprising
4-tert-butyl-4′-methoxydibenzoylmethane (component A in the instant claim 1, avobenzone) which is a random copolymer (the instant claim 3) (paragraph 65);
polyoxyethylene(14) polyoxypropylene(7) dimethyl ether (component C in the instant claim 1 according to the instant specification paragraph 36-40);
2 mass% of octocrylene (within the claimed ≤ 2 mass% in the instant claim 5);
no ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, i.e., 0% by weight of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (within the claimed ≤ 2 mass% in the instant claim 1).
Yamaki et al. do not teach the composition further comprising butyloctyl salicylate (component B in the instant claim 1).
This deficiency is cured by Friedman who teaches skin care formulations (abstract) comprising sunscreens including avobenzone (paragraph 49-56) and a SPF enhancer for reduced degradation of avobenzone including butyloctyl salicylate (paraph 59 and 61).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Yamaki et al. and Friedman to add butyloctyl salicylate in the composition taught by Yamaki et al. for the benefit of reduced degradation of avobenzone and enhanced SPF. Butyloctyl salicylate being a SPF enhancer for reduced degradation of avobenzone was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for adding it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose with the added benefit.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,630 B2 in view of Friedman (US 2015/0202139 A1) and Iwami et al. (WO 2021/125211 A1, effective filing date of 12/16/2020, US 2023/0046650 A1 as English translation).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The instant application claims 1-6 and 8 recite a cosmetic comprising an ultraviolet absorber including t-butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane; butyloctyl salicylate; and an alkylene oxide derivative.
The 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 recite an oil-based cosmetic containing an ultraviolet protectant4-tert-butyl-4′-methoxy dibenzoyl methane; and (B) polyoxyalkylene/polyoxyethylene copolymer dialkyl ethers.
The 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 do not recite the composition further comprising butyloctyl salicylate.
This deficiency is cured by Friedman whose teachings are discussed above and applied in the same manner.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recitation in the 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 and the teachings Friedman to add butyloctyl salicylate in the composition recited in the 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 for the benefit of reduced degradation of avobenzone and enhanced SPF. Butyloctyl salicylate being a SPF enhancer for reduced degradation of avobenzone was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for adding it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose with the added benefit.
The 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 do not recite the composition being water-in-oil emulsion.
This deficiency is cured by Iwami et al. who teach a sunscreen cosmetic being in forms of oil-based or water-in-oil emulsion (paragraph 56).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recitation in the 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 and the teachings of Iwami et al. to modify the composition recited in the 11,771,630 B2 patent claims 1-10 to be water-in-oil emulsion. Both oil-based or water-in-oil emulsion are suitable sunscreen cosmetics was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for modifying flows from both forms having been used in the prior art, and from both forms being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose with the added benefit.
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same composition in view of Friedman.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/24/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614