DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (JP 2019517719-previously cited) in view of Li et al. (“Biomass-derived activated carbon/sulfur composites as cathode electrodes for Li-S batteries by reducing the oxygen content” RSC Adv. 2020; 10 (5):2823-2829, hereinafter, Li).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
A nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device (Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 7 non-aqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium-sulfur battery) comprising:
a positive electrode containing a composite of sulfur and a carbon material (Lee Method of Producing Sulfur-Carbon Complex ¶ 25 the sulfur-carbon composite produced by the above-mentioned
method may be used as a positive electrode active material);
a negative electrode containing lithium (Lee Negative Electrode ¶ 5 the negative electrode may be
lithium metal or lithium alloy);
and a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent containing a carbonate (Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 4 the non-aqueous organic solvent is a substance capable of dissolving a lithium salt well, preferably propylene carbonate, etc.),
wherein a content of oxygen extracted in a range of 1,000 °C to 1,200 °C in the carbon material is 0.11% by mass or more (while not explicitly mentioned, the method used by Lee (Lee Method of Producing Sulfur-Carbon Complex ¶ 6) is similar to the method used in the instant application (Specification ¶ 86). Nitric acid is used to oxidize the carbon. Therefore, if measured, it would have a similar % by mass of oxygen removed).
Lee does not teach that a BET specific surface area of the carbon material is 300 m2/g or more and 6000 m2/g or less. In a related field of endeavor, Li teaches an activated carbon for carbon/sulfur electrodes in lithium sulfur batteries (Li Abstract). The activated carbons have a BET specific surface area ranging from 441 to 3001 m2/g (Li Table 1). The activated carbon is also oxidized by nitric acid (Li Introduction), similar to the instant application (Specification ¶ 86). Therefore, if measured, it would have a similar % by mass of oxygen removed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the carbon material of Lee with the activated carbon of Li because both are carbon materials to be used in the synthesis of positive electrodes for lithium sulfur batteries and this is considered a substitution of one known element for another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Li teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the carbonate is a main component of the nonaqueous solvent (Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 4 carbonates are mentioned for the non-aqueous organic solvent that can dissolve a lithium salt well).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Li teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the carbonate includes a fluorinated carbonate (Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 8 the non-aqueous electrolyte solution may further include other additives such as fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC)).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Li teaches:
A method for manufacturing a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device, the method comprising:
oxidizing a carbon material (Li Introduction, corncob derived activated carbon is firstly oxidized with nitric acid);
fabricating a positive electrode containing a composite of the oxidized carbon material and sulfur (Lee Method of Producing Sulfur-Carbon Complex ¶ 31 The lithium-sulfur battery electrode of the present invention can be manufactured by a conventional method, and specifically, the sulfur-carbon composite of the present invention, which is an active material, a conductive material, and a binder on an organic solvent);
preparing a negative electrode containing lithium (Lee Negative Electrode ¶ 1 The negative electrode according to the present invention comprises a negative electrode active material formed on a negative electrode current collector; Lee Negative Electrode ¶ 5 The negative electrode may be lithium metal or lithium alloy); and
preparing a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent containing a carbonate (Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 1 The electrolyte solution according to the present invention is a non-aqueous electrolyte solution containing a lithium salt, which comprises a lithium salt and a solvent, Lee Electrolyte Solution ¶ 4 and the solvent can be a non-aqueous organic solvent, which is a substance capable of dissolving a lithium salt well, preferably propylene carbonate, etc.),
wherein a BET specific surface area of the carbon material is 300 m2/g or more and 6,000 m2g or less (Li Table 1, activated carbons have a BET specific surface area ranging from 441 to 3001 m2/g).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Li teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device of claim 1, wherein a pore volume of the carbon material is 1.0 mL/g or more and 50 mL/g or less (Li Table 1, pore volumes ranging from 1.27 to 1.72 cm3/g which lie within the claimed range of 1 to 50 mL/g).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Li teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device of claim 1, wherein an average pore diameter of the carbon material is 1 nm or more and 50 nm or less (Li Results and Discussion, the pore size range from 0.3 nm to 5 nm, and they show a similar shape and the pore diameters mainly distributes at around 1.2 nm and 3 nm, which lie within the claimed range of 1 nm to 50 nm.)
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Li teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device of claim 1, wherein an average pore diameter of the carbon material is 2 nm or more and 50 nm or less (Li Results and Discussion, the pore size range from 0.3 nm to 5 nm, and they show a similar shape and the pore diameters mainly distributes at around 1.2 nm and 3 nm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 2 nm to 50 nm.)
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Li teaches the method of claim 4, wherein a pore volume of the carbon material is 1.0 mL/g or more and 50 mL/g or less (Li Table 1, pore volumes ranging from 1.27 to 1.72 cm3/g which lie within the claimed range of 1 to 50 mL/g).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Li teaches the method of claim 4, wherein an average pore diameter of the carbon material is 1 nm or more and 50 nm or less (Li Results and Discussion, the pore size range from 0.3 nm to 5 nm, and they show a similar shape and the pore diameters mainly distributes at around 1.2 nm and 3 nm, which lie within the claimed range of 1 nm to 50 nm.)
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Li teaches the method of claim 4, wherein an average pore diameter of the carbon material is 2 nm or more and 50 nm or less (Li Results and Discussion, the pore size range from 0.3 nm to 5 nm, and they show a similar shape and the pore diameters mainly distributes at around 1.2 nm and 3 nm, which overlap with the claimed range of 2 nm to 50 nm.)
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Li teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the oxidization of the carbon material is performed by contacting the material with at least one oxidizing agent selected from the group consisting of nitric acid, ozone, hydrogen peroxide, halogen, and hypochlorous acid (Li introduction, the corncob derived activated carbon is firstly oxidized with nitric acid).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 4, filed 17 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Lee does not teach that the BET specific surface area of the carbon material is 300 m2/g or more and 6000 m2/g or less. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee and Li as outlined above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784