Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The preliminary amendment submitted 08/30/2023 was received and has been considered by the examiner. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 08/30/2023, 02/28/2025, 05/23/2025, 09/08/2025 were received and have been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “420” has been used to designate both “second part” (pg. 13) and “seating portion” (pg. 14). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 430 in Fig. 6 and 912 in Fig. 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: Battery Module Comprising Corner Cover Covering Connection to Battery Processor . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. 20120003505, referenced in IDS submitted 08/20/2023 as U.S. 9136513) . With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses a battery pack (100) (Fig. 1) , comprising: at least one battery module (180 – battery cells) (Fig. 3) ; a processor (170 – BMS substrate including means to control charge/discharge) having a housing (110 – housing) with a corner (labeled) formed by two side plates (150 – middle cover and 160 – end plate) and a first opening (labeled) at the corner (labeled) (Fig. 2 – below; [0045])) , wherein the processor (170) is electrically connected to the at least one battery module (180) and controls charge/discharge of the at least one battery module (180) (Fig. 2, [0045]) ; and a first corner cover ( 140 – connector ) which is coupled to the corner (labeled) and covers the first opening (labeled) (Fig. 1 and 2 – below) . 3985260 1318260 0 0 4213860 1638300 right 1402080 First opening 0 0 First opening 4495800 1082040 Corner 0 0 Corner center 45720 0 0 With respect to claim 2 , Kim discloses a cable (141a and 141b – power lines) which passes through the first opening (labeled) (Fig. 2 – above) , and electrically connects the at least one battery module (180) to the processor (170) (Fig. 2; [0045]) . With respect to claim 3 , Kim discloses a front cover (130) which is disposed on a front surface of the processor (170) and covers a front side of the first corner cover (140) (Fig. 1 and 2 - above) . With respect to claim 4 , Kim discloses the first corner cover includes a protruding portion (labeled) which protrudes toward from the front side of the first corner cover (140) and is inserted into the front cover (130) (via connector protruding hole 135) (Fig. 3) . 3413760 3520440 0 0 4183380 3345180 Protruding portion 0 0 Protruding portion 1418590 327660 0 0 With respect to claim 5 , Kim discloses the at least one battery module (180) is disposed at a rear of the processor (170) (Fig. 3) , and wherein the battery pack (100) further comprises a coupling member (145 – connection terminals and inside surface of 143 – second portion) (Fig. 3- below) , wherein a first side (inside surface of 143) of the coupling member is secured to the corner of the processor (170) and a second side (145) of the coupling member is secured to the corner of the at least one battery module (180) (Fig . 3). 1607820 1752600 754380 1844040 Second side 0 0 Second side 1661160 350520 0 0 Allowable Subject Matter Claims 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claims 6 and 7 , because the examiner identified the first side of the coupling member (underside of 143) as the inside surface of the identified corner cover (140) (see above rejection of claim 5), it would be inappropriate to suggest that the corner cover is “coupled to” (claim 6) or “covers” (claim 7) the first side of the coupling member, as they are integral in structure. With respect to claim 8 , there is no part of the corner cover (140) of Kim that can read on a hook which protrudes from an inner surface of the corner cover. Such a modification to the corner cover of Kim would render the corner cover of Kim ineffective for its intended use, as it is clear to the examiner that the inside surfaces of the corner cover of Kim need to be flushed with the top surfaces of the battery module (180), as well as a side surface of the processor (17) (Fig. 3). Any protruding hook would interfere with the snug fit of the corner cover (140) and the rest of the stacked assembly. With respect to claim 9 , Kim does not include a second corner cover that covers the second side of the coupling member. The second side of the coupling member as identified by the examiner is the contacts 145. Again, because the examiner identified part (140) as the corner cover, it would be inappropriate to suggest the cover (140) “covers” the contact (145). Further, there is no modification or rationale that suggests a second, separate cover to cover the second side (145) of the coupling member would provide any benefits to the battery pack. Additionally, due to the arrangement of the pack, there is no space for an additional cover to cover the second side of the coupling member. Claims 10-12 contain allowable subject matter due to their dependency on claim 9. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JORDAN E BERRESFORD whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0641 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (572)272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /BARBARA L GILLIAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727